Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New routine, what ye think?

• 09-04-2011 1:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭

Alright folks,

Have been looking for a new routine after 3 months of a full body 5x5. Came across this on a app called jefit. Might give it a go, what ye think?

Monday (chest/triceps)
    Flat Bench
    Incline Bench (on smith machine)
    Decline Bench (this is ment to be chest dips but there's no dip in my gym :mad: )
    Machine Fly
    EZ Bar lying Tricep Extension
    Triceps Rope Pushdown

Wednesday (back/biceps)
    Deadlift
    Bent over row
    Widegrip lat pulldown
    Barbell Curl
    Incline Dumbell Curl
    Alternate Hammer Curl

Friday (legs/shoulders)
    Barbell Squats
    Barbell Lunge
    Barbell Shoulder Press
    Dumbell Shoulder Press
    Dumbell Lateral Raise
    Barbell Shrugs

I also do abs on 1 or 2 days which is a variation of kettlebell exercises i use dumbells for

As said i'm finishing a full body routine very loosely based on stronglifts. Currently lifting 65/70kg on bench, squat 160kg (this may be higher, i switched to squat machine 3 weeks ago to mix it up and lifting 250kg on it) over head pressing 55kg and deadlifting 130kg.

Cheers :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

1: Why only two exercises for Triceps over the smaller Bicep which has three?
    2: I dont think Decline is entirely nessecary.
    3: Id go with DB flye over machine.
    4: Only three exercises for back?
    5: Only two exercises for legs??...
    6: Again over emphasis on shoulders with legs day.
    7: Your squat seems so far advanced (160kg) compared to your other lifts (130kg deadlift), are you getting to parallel?

There just some of the things I dont really like about your proposed programme. Id give the Jefit app a rest I think lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

What's a squat machine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

squod wrote: »
    What's a squat machine?
    We had one in my GAA club's gym. From what I recall, you duck in under it and push up from there. You don't have to control the weight on the way down, the ROM is ****, and you can lift silly weights with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

Op, programme is pretty good IMO. Yes, theres too much shoulder work but other than that it's in line with the majority of 3 day splits I've seen. Personally I like less exercises and more sets but that's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

Cheers for the replies.

All is taken into consideration, gonna throw more legs in there and maybe loose some shoulders.

As for my squat being higher then the rest of my lifts.... just have freakishly strong legs i guess :) Always seem to be able to throw size onto them very easily.

@pace your right on the squat machine, its the upside down job like the pic below.... without having to control you can lift stupid weight with it, my 1rm must be 300kgish

GLPH1100_517l.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

That's a leg press, not a squat machine. Every time you call it a squat machine you make baby Jesus cry.

Leg presses are grand, but you shouldn't be doing them instead of squats. Unless there is some issue that prevents you from squatting.

I completely disagree with the others who said it's a good program. With the weights your lifting you would be better off stucking with a decent strength routine. Did you stop gaining strength on stronglifts? If so, try Madcow5x5.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Tonto86 wrote: »

@pace your right on the squat machine, its the upside down job like the pic below.... without having to control you can lift stupid weight with it, my 1rm must be 300kgish

It's a leg press. Big difference. Also the model in the pic has the back-rest positioned to give himself little range of movement. If that's your set up you'll be hitting 500kg before the month is out. A positive superman.

Use the oly bar and powercage, squat deep. That's my advice.

BBFullSquat.gif

http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/Quadriceps/BBFullSquat.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

squod wrote: »
    Use the oly bar and powercage, squat deep. That's my advice.

I have a powercage at home, and do squats twice each week. Only 3 weeks ago i started going Deep as in bum getting close to the ground. I find it takes me about 4 days to recover from it. If i do squats and running in the same day my legs are so dead i cant go faster then 8kph on the running machine :P.

So ya go deep to give your legs a good work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Cole

No pull ups:eek::) I just have a thing about them, have to incorporate them into every workout.

I'm a fan of the bodyweight stuff - dips, press ups, hindu presses, pistol squats etc. and you can always make them harder by adding weight....if you're feeling adventurous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 acerelic

No idea how anyone can call this a good routine.

The goal can't be strength because your only doing the main compound lifts once a week.
    On the other hand it can't be a bodybuilding type routine because you exclude a lot of minor muscle groups.

What exactly is the goal?

You never gave numbers for reps or sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

acerelic wrote: »
    No idea how anyone can call this a good routine.

The goal can't be strength because your only doing the main compound lifts once a week.
    On the other hand it can't be a bodybuilding type routine because you exclude a lot of minor muscle groups.

What exactly is the goal?

You never gave numbers for reps or sets.

Each individual compound lift (Deads, Squats, Press, Bench) once a week is ok for a strenght programme, take 5/3/1 for example.
    And what would you call the "minor muscle" groups?

I do sets of 3, aiming for 8 reps in each, 120 second rest on compounds, 60 seconds on everything else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

As for my squat being higher then the rest of my lifts.... just have freakishly strong legs i guess :) Always seem to be able to throw size onto them very easily.

"freakishly strong legs" deadlifting 130kg? i'd put a fiver on saying your squats should be deeper.

Parsley wrote: »
    "freakishly strong legs" deadlifting 130kg? i'd put a fiver on saying your squats should be deeper.

They are very very very close to parallel... your right tho. Gonna throw some weight off and try to get my arse below the knees :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

It's the crease at your hips below knees not arse.
    If you arse isn't below your knees either now they are a good bit off.

Not putting you down, when i first heard of "parallel". I squated high for a while until I asked how its judged for comps/correct form etc

Or maybe you were just using arse for the craic ;)

They are very very very close to parallel... your right tho. Gonna throw some weight off and try to get my arse below the knees :pac:

"Very very very close to parallel" is squatting high I'm afraid. Is there a reason you're not squatting below parallel, e.g. mobility, flexibility, technique?

they/them/theirs

"Very very very close to parallel" is squatting high I'm afraid. Is there a reason you're not squatting below parallel, e.g. mobility, flexibility, technique?

I'm gonna say technique.... its feels like that's as low as I can go without lifting my heels.

Legs day is friday.... I'm leaving the gym with me arse on the floor

I'm gonna say technique.... its feels like that's as low as I can go without lifting my heels.

Legs day is friday.... I'm leaving the gym with me arse on the floor

Plenty of folks squat in their' trainers. Sets up an imbalance in your structure like. Try squat in your socks. Forget about big weight for a while. Rome wasn't built etc.

That could be down to any of the three though.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 acerelic

gymsoldier wrote: »
    Each individual compound lift (Deads, Squats, Press, Bench) once a week is ok for a strenght programme, take 5/3/1 for example.
    And what would you call the "minor muscle" groups?

Unless I'm misunderstanding Tonto is saying it's a 3x8 type routine.
    I can understand with 5/3/1 when you are working up close to max weight that doing the main compound lifts (squat, deadlift, bench and overhead) once per week might be adequate but with lighter weights ...
    I should perhaps retract my "I don't know how anyone can call this a good program" comment. Slightly harsh.

Just back doin legs today, dropped the weight a fair bit to work on form. Down to 90kg (bout 100kg 1rm) but im as low as i can go.... feels like my calfs are the bit lettin me down but sure with a a bit of work ill be right back up to 160kg :D

Tried squatin in my socks, works a hell of a lot better, feel my balance is much better and not liftin my heels

cheers for the advice!

Just wondering, is it ok to do two days of this routine together? i.e. workout Monday, Tuesday, Friday?

Will be a once a month, otherwise ill be stickin to day on, day off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

*unsubs from forum*