Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orwell/Lucan/IRC/Tiernans/UCD League, Race 2, 07/04/2011

• 07-04-2011 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭

Yo.

Any boardsies heading up this evening? I'll be trundling up from Ballycullen through Scholarstown/Old Bawn about 6 ish if anyone's about.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I shall be there. Marshalling tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

I'll be spinning 34x25 up the Firhouse Road from Rathfarnham for this, not sure what time exactly. Will look out for the club jerseys.

Limit will probably be a lot of fun. Was out on the sunday spin with two fellow limit noobs, and their form was alarmingly savage. Certainly put paid to my dreams of first race glory alright. If there's more of the same in the category (and I suspect there is) we're in for some white-knuckle stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

oflahero wrote: »
    I'll be spinning 34x25 up the Firhouse Road from Rathfarnham for this, not sure what time exactly. Will look out for the club jerseys.

Limit will probably be a lot of fun. Was out on the sunday spin with two fellow limit noobs, and their form was alarmingly savage. Certainly put paid to my dreams of first race glory alright. If there's more of the same in the category (and I suspect there is) we're in for some white-knuckle stuff.

Sandbagger.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Thread title changed given that we'll no doubt get into race chat later on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

I'll be heading across after work. Chucked the bike in the car as I don't fancy the commute across from Swords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Anyone know the distance for this evening's race?

Given the daylight, it's only going to be two laps, 30km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Count me in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

Enjoyed that. Didn't know what to expect from myself, but my sole aim was to practice not losing the wheel in corners, and, if possible, not to get dropped (within a lap :rolleyes:) - like last Sat!
    Succeeded on both counts, but as the saying goes, a lot done, more to do...

How did we all do. I know Diamuid picked up third in semi scratch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Jaysus. I enjoyed that! First race this year, and didn't race at all last year, so first race in frickin ages!

Decided I'd give it a decent go and spend as much time as I could at or near the front, and I must say it makes for a much more enjoyable and safer race.

Who was the Canyonero on the matt black Ultimate Al with orangey stripes that I mistook for Lumen??:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

just home, showered and first beer cracked. great fun, decent pace. never really managed to split the group (limit) so wasted a fair bit of energy again. finished outside the points, think it was around 10th it 12th.
    despite going past the finish line about 20 mins earlier, couldn't remember exactly where it was so probably wasted a bit more there too. ah well. good craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Picked up 3rd in semi scratch. Attacked a good few times but I only got a gap on my own so that didn't go anywhere. Positioned myself well for the sprint and when Patrick from Orwell went, I jumped too. A Lucan lad came around me 5m from the line. Had to settle for 3rd.
    Great evening out, nice weather and good fun. The descent back home down Ballinascorey with Patrick was great fun.

Thanks marshals and organisers!

Looking forward to oflahero's report. Elbows were flying in the limit sprint, and that was after the line :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

yeah, that was good craic alright. Orwell took 1st in Scratch (can't remember the guys name) & Semi-Scratch (Pat O'Brien). John Priest took 1st in Semi-limit for LCRC. Didn't hear what happened in Limit.

Started in semi-scratch myself & while the pace was up on the semi-limit group back in Feb, it was never savage. Had a few goes off the front on the first lap, more to warm up for second lap than out of any ambition to stay away. There were actually a few guys trying breaks all evening, but nothing stuck. Race ended in a bunch sprint, with Pat taking the win (this guy seems to be flying right now!), & Diarmuid third. Finished about 15th i think.

It was one of those days when I worked my legs & lungs really hard, but not my brain :rolleyes:. Was told after I did too much work when at the front to pull back breaks & should have saved myself for the end. Tbh, don't think i'd have had the legs for the final sprint anyways. Didn't help that I forgot to check where the finish line was the first time round.

Have to say the vets are great for picking up racing tips. Apart from the advice re chasing breaks, there was one incident when we were on the main road on the second lap, I was sitting about 7-8th from the front. I get a tap on the backside & turned to hear one of the senior guys in the club tell me: "when he goes, go with him" as he pointed to someone ahead of me. There was a guy in an Usher jersey two bikes ahead of me on the inside. I turn around to ask "the Usher guy". He goes "yeah, when he goes, go after him".

I'm sitting there thinkin, "how does he know that yer man...." 5 seconds later Usher attacks on the right! I barely even noticed he moved out. Luckily a gap opened on the inside & I gave chase with a guy from Orwell on Usher's wheel. As i'm catching them I realise it's Sean Bracken who I'd heard has done the RAS something like 22 times & who i was watching in the A1/2 break in the Stagg Cycles GP a few weeks ago. Break didn't stick, but it was gas to be chasing him down for a bit! Can't wait for the next one.

@tawfreedux Shane Bracken in semi limit???

He'd have been in scratch surely. What were you riding/gear were you wearing?

fat bloke wrote: »
    @tawfreedux Shane Bracken in semi limit???

He'd have been in scratch surely. What were you riding/gear were you wearing?

Sean Bracken, pretty sure. I was in LCRC gear on a white Giant TCR, arm warmers rolled down cos the pace was a bit hot at times!

Was he riding a Felt F1 SL? Cos that was me & I'm pretty sure I was the only Usher semi-limiter tonight! :D

Jaysus. I enjoyed that! First race this year, and didn't race at all last year, so first race in frickin ages!

Decided I'd give it a decent go and spend as much time as I could at or near the front, and I must say it makes for a much more enjoyable and safer race.

Who was the Canyonero on the matt black Ultimate Al with orangey stripes that I mistook for Lumen??:)

That was me, lumen has no stripes !! i got 3rd in semi limit died in last few meters to the line

levitronix wrote: »
    That was me, lumen has no stripes !! i got 3rd in semi limit died in last few meters to the line

Hey man. Fair play to you. I was at the front up the hill, I could see the checkered flag but then boom, got swallowed up by the galloping posse. Lost 20 places in 50 yards!

At least I'll know you the next time :)

Was he riding a Felt F1 SL? Cos that was me & I'm pretty sure I was the only Usher semi-limiter tonight! :D

sorry, twas semi-scratch i was in, typo in original post now fixed. Brain still not engaged:rolleyes:

Hey man. Fair play to you. I was at the front up the hill, I could see the checkered flag but then boom, got swallowed up by the galloping posse. Lost 20 places in 50 yards!

At least I'll know you the next time :)

Was a werid finish the way it played out because i almost gave up in the last km becasue i coulndt make the break and killed myself trying. will catch up with you went i get off nights will be spinning out to sign ons in a few weeks, had to leg it straight into work from the finish

The aim for my racing debut was to make it out alive without having taken down the bunch on the first corner, so to have taken 4th after a dodgy uphill sprint duel had me practically turning cartwheels up to Ballysmuttan. The first lap started off reasonably sedately in perfect weather, so I tried pushing the pace up the front a couple of times. Made a few attempts to get a break with a couple of the other lads (notably the lads I referred to in that post earlier, as it happened) but no attack ever got a gap. We didn't really have a 'working together' plan to be honest.

The pace gathered momentum when we hit the N81 again and I think we had two distinct groups at that stage, though can't be sure, as I was mostly concentrating on not overdoing it at the front (and failing). Still, it's a great feeling up the front, you could swear you were out by yourself on a solo spin, then you look over your shoulder, oh mother of jaysis, there's ten lads breathing down your neck inches from your back wheel. Time to sit up and let someone else have a go. Still, keeping up near the top paid off as a few of us were well positioned for the final sprint up the hill when we got around the lake and down the road. Breath rasping, muscles failing, legs hurtee. I could feel the power fading on the final stretch, and Eddy, who I had half-jokingly tipped on Sunday to win the thing, sure enough motored on through to take first. Can't remember who got second, what with the red haze around the field of vision and all. Meanwhile I was neck and neck with a fellow Orwell, Joe as it turned out, who was starting to make alarming roaring noises. It was contagious, I started honking too. Must have been hilarious for everyone at the finish. Both of us were so keen to keep our lines that we were knocking elbows for the last twenty metres, piled over the line and nearly took out the crowd. Brilliant.

I thought, "Fantastic, maybe there's points for most aggressive rider." Dave said, "You two are disqualified for dangerous sprinting." Arse.*

Pity was taken on us after a suitable meaningful and didactic pause, happily. Points awarded in the end. After all, we were both first-timers. Bumped up to semi-limit next week. So - congrats to Eddy (a triathlete!) on living the dream and winning the first race he's ever entered, and thanks to the organisers and marshals for a great evening's entertainment. See you next week in semi-limit.

* Arse, as in "Oh, arse", not as in "Dave is an arse." I don't want him changing his mind and snaffling the points back.

I rode in Limit. The group split roughly in two, I'd guess, somewhere in or around the end of the first lap as we went up the climb. Based on what my legs were telling me I was waiting for them to blow throughout the second lap, in particular, but it turns out they lie to me a lot. Coming up towards the finish line for the last time I made a bid for freedom and was surprised to find no-one on my wheel. My internal monologue went something like "Wheee! G'wan doozerie, g'wan! ...where's the finish line? ...WHERE'S THE SODDING FINISH LINE?". 'Twas further up the road, seems like a few more twists and turns were added since the previous lap (or my memory isn't as good as it likes to think it is).

As I got swamped again by the bunch that I had pointlessly attacked from I managed to hang in there in about 4th spot or so in the group but my legs really weren't lying to me when they screamed that they had nothing left this time as the real sprint started. I could hear some ferocious grunting behind me and two guys went past me in the closing metres seemingly neck and neck. Think I managed sixth spot. On the far side of the line there was a near collision between two guys, somehow or other. A few minutes later the rest of limit came in to the roars of "Don't f**ckin' sprint! There's no f**ckin' sprint! The f**ckin' race was over half an hour ago!" from one of the guys in the group. 'Tis all controversy in limit, that's how we roll...

On the way home, about 2 miles from my house, some muppet in a car decided to try to overtake me on a roundabout. When he had pushed his car to within a foot of my rear wheel he blow the horn, as you do when you are convinced that you alone have a right to space on "your" roads. Closest I came to coming a cropper all evening. Suddenly my legs were game for a sprint, all fired up to go after yer man and explain the finer points of the rules of the road to him. I could have used that enthusiasm from my pins an hour earlier but my legs and I seem to have differing priorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭LCRC_BAX

Blue & White Colnago with deep section Mavics. Lovely machine!

oflahero wrote:
    Meanwhile I was neck and neck with a fellow Orwell, Joe as it turned out, who was starting to make alarming roaring noises. It was contagious, I started honking too.

'Twas all a but Gruffalohero alright, but fair play for fighting your way up that last stretch. Incidentally, it didn't seem like a dangerous sprint to me and seeing as you want past me mid sprint I think it would have been scarily obvious to me if it had been particularly mad. Can't vouch for it beyond the finish line though as my mind was focusing on other things by then, such as getting air back into my lungs. Glad you both managed to rescue your points.

Meanwhile I was neck and neck with a fellow Orwell, Joe as it turned out, who was starting to make alarming roaring noises. It was contagious, I started honking too. Must have been hilarious for everyone at the finish. Both of us were so keen to keep our lines that we were knocking elbows for the last twenty metres, piled over the line and nearly took out the crowd. Brilliant.

Didn't realise that was you. I was one of the people you nearly flew into at the end. Instant fame as "these two lads in limit went across the line shouting and headbutting eachother".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

First time out for me - just home from the pub now after after a few pints to take the edge of the adrenaline so apologies if it's a rambling post. :p

Got there early - about 6.15pm - got kitted out (Orwell jersey, boards shorts, Planet X, Limit group), didn't really know where I was going for the start of the race but saw a few cyclists gathering so knew I was in the right place. Went for a warm up spin - 20 minutes up the back road from Brittas towards Lacken, didn't really how much to do, wanted to get properly warmed up but not tired. Back to the start line - met up with Owen and Eddie who I'd been out with the previous Sunday with Orwell, all 3 of us first timers so not really knowing what's going on or what the etiquette was. Signed on, then a lot of hanging round - next time I think I'll sign in and then go for the warm up spin.

It was a DMS race, which suited us first timers - all the faster groups headed off and the limit group was free then to make it's own way. Pace started off leisurely enough, a bit of initial jostling but then it settled down. Course was 30kms (2 laps of a circuit or Lacken/lakes), not much happening in terms of breakaways for the first half - a couple of attempts but nobody got away. I think then about half way through (could be corrected on that) we went up a hill and the group split from 37/38 down to about 15. Stayed with the 15, happy enough but didn't realise until the end that we'd dropped the rest - I was more concerned what was going on in front of me than what was going on behind. Over the 15 - 25kms mark a couple of breakaways were attempted, was involved in 1 or 2 but none succeeded, so coming off the bridge to the run in home we were more or less in a big group. A fellow boardsie spotted the shorts - kenmc - we were hoping to get away and stay away a couple of times I think, but it didn't happen. The pace was fast enough but increased significantly after the bridge - foolishly I went out on the front and expended too much energy - was trying to break free with a couple behind me, but turned around to see I was on my own and knew it was too far out to be able to keep the gap, so was caught and then clung on for dear life the group that powered through. Pace then went up a few notches, a lot of jostling for position in preparation for the sprint. Was taking as much of a breather as I could here - knew the sprint was coming and I was blowing fairly hard, so tried to just hang on and see if anyone else was running out of gas. When the sprint happened I knew I wasn't going to be in contention - had done too much earlier on but even if I hadn't - don't know if I would have been able for it. It was an uphill sprint finish - when I saw the finish line the adrenline kicked in bigtime - I was probably 11/12 at that stage and think I passed those 3 or 4 riders and ended up at the finish line 8/9th.

Overall happy enough - first time out and the training was interrupted last month through a nasty chest infection, I know it's easy to make excuses - I think that definitely on the night there were a few lads stronger than me, even if my training had gone to plan I'm not sure I would have placed. Good news is thought that 4 or 5 of them have been bumped up to the next category :D

Looking forward to next week now - learnt a good few lessons this time that will hopefully serve me well next time out

The aim for my racing debut was to make it out alive without having taken down the bunch on the first corner, so to have taken 4th after a dodgy uphill sprint duel had me practically turning cartwheels up to Ballysmuttan. The first lap started off reasonably sedately in perfect weather, so I tried pushing the pace up the front a couple of times. Made a few attempts to get a break with a couple of the other lads (notably the lads I referred to in that post earlier, as it happened) but no attack ever got a gap. We didn't really have a 'working together' plan to be honest.

The pace gathered momentum when we hit the N81 again and I think we had two distinct groups at that stage, though can't be sure, as I was mostly concentrating on not overdoing it at the front (and failing). Still, it's a great feeling up the front, you could swear you were out by yourself on a solo spin, then you look over your shoulder, oh mother of jaysis, there's ten lads breathing down your neck inches from your back wheel. Time to sit up and let someone else have a go. Still, keeping up near the top paid off as a few of us were well positioned for the final sprint up the hill when we got around the lake and down the road. Breath rasping, muscles failing, legs hurtee. I could feel the power fading on the final stretch, and Eddy, who I had half-jokingly tipped on Sunday to win the thing, sure enough motored on through to take first. Can't remember who got second, what with the red haze around the field of vision and all. Meanwhile I was neck and neck with a fellow Orwell, Joe as it turned out, who was starting to make alarming roaring noises. It was contagious, I started honking too. Must have been hilarious for everyone at the finish. Both of us were so keen to keep our lines that we were knocking elbows for the last twenty metres, piled over the line and nearly took out the crowd. Brilliant.

I thought, "Fantastic, maybe there's points for most aggressive rider." Dave said, "You two are disqualified for dangerous sprinting." Arse.*

Pity was taken on us after a suitable meaningful and didactic pause, happily. Points awarded in the end. After all, we were both first-timers. Bumped up to semi-limit next week. So - congrats to Eddy (a triathlete!) on living the dream and winning the first race he's ever entered, and thanks to the organisers and marshals for a great evening's entertainment. See you next week in semi-limit.

* Arse, as in "Oh, arse", not as in "Dave is an arse." I don't want him changing his mind and snaffling the points back.
    Congrats Owen - some effort you put in - as you say yourself - probably did a little too much on the front.

Just couldn't stay with it for the sprint (Neal here by the way) - but at least I won't have you two sandbaggers in limit next week! :)

doozerie wrote: »
    I rode in Limit. The group split roughly in two, I'd guess, somewhere in or around the end of the first lap as we went up the climb. Based on what my legs were telling me I was waiting for them to blow throughout the second lap, in particular, but it turns out they lie to me a lot. Coming up towards the finish line for the last time I made a bid for freedom and was surprised to find no-one on my wheel. My internal monologue went something like "Wheee! G'wan doozerie, g'wan! ...where's the finish line? ...WHERE'S THE SODDING FINISH LINE?". 'Twas further up the road, seems like a few more twists and turns were added since the previous lap (or my memory isn't as good as it likes to think it is).

As I got swamped again by the bunch that I had pointlessly attacked from I managed to hang in there in about 4th spot or so in the group but my legs really weren't lying to me when they screamed that they had nothing left this time as the real sprint started. I could hear some ferocious grunting behind me and two guys went past me in the closing metres seemingly neck and neck. Think I managed sixth spot. On the far side of the line there was a near collision between two guys, somehow or other. A few minutes later the rest of limit came in to the roars of "Don't f**ckin' sprint! There's no f**ckin' sprint! The f**ckin' race was over half an hour ago!" from one of the guys in the group. 'Tis all controversy in limit, that's how we roll...

On the way home, about 2 miles from my house, some muppet in a car decided to try to overtake me on a roundabout. When he had pushed his car to within a foot of my rear wheel he blow the horn, as you do when you are convinced that you alone have a right to space on "your" roads. Closest I came to coming a cropper all evening. Suddenly my legs were game for a sprint, all fired up to go after yer man and explain the finer points of the rules of the road to him. I could have used that enthusiasm from my pins an hour earlier but my legs and I seem to have differing priorities.
    I heard that, and I saw the guy who was saying it - earlier on he'd been all over the road, then on the up and overs pulled in and forced me to brake suddenly - then gave out to me for not letting him in. Complete cóckhead, and if he does it again next week he'll get told as much.

to have taken 4th after a dodgy uphill sprint duel had me practically turning cartwheels up to Ballysmuttan.

I knew it!

Well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Went out in SL. Sat out the back for the first lap. Strong lad from UCD went off the front down the main road so I jumped across with about 6km to go. Spent about 8 minutes mostly hanging on to his wheel. Too weak to contribute more than a couple of brief turns and my cornering was abysmal; we got caught with a couple of hundred metres to go and I rolled in dead last. :pac:

edit: 41.6kph/325W in the break. Not enough!

Updated league table is here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭LCRC_BAX

joker77 wrote: »

It was a handicap race, which suited us first timers - all the faster groups headed off and the limit group was free then to make it's own way.

Just a heads up Joker77 - It was a DMS (Delayed Mass Start) which means you were racing soley against the guys in the group you started in. That's why the slower groups go off last - so they don't get caught by the scratch groups.

A handicap would mean the slowest group would start first and be allowed a time advantage over the faster groups with the hope of managing to stay away.

Due to the huge numbers last night a DMS was decided on as a handicap would have invariably led to a massive group of riders on those narrow potholed roads.

IMO the Brittas circuit is much better suited for DMS racing and should always be run as such, numbers permitting.

doozerie wrote:
    Incidentally, it didn't seem like a dangerous sprint to me and seeing as you want past me mid sprint
    el tonto wrote: »
    Didn't realise that was you. I was one of the people you nearly flew into at the end. Instant fame as "these two lads in limit went across the line shouting and headbutting eachother".

2lszbdt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

LCRC_BAX wrote: »

Due to the huge numbers last night a DMS was decided on as a handicap would have invariably led to a massive group of riders on those narrow potholed roads.

IMO the Brittas circuit is much better suited for DMS racing and should always be run as such, numbers permitting.

Word is that given the numbers now racing and likely to turn up next week that next week will also be a DMS. While the roads and particularly the finishing stretch at Batterstown are better, the numbers are so large that it would be dangerous as groups were caught (being the perfect opportunity to get past quickly and up the road) and in a sprint finish. It would however encourage more aggressive racing (and possibly bigger handicaps:().

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Great race, really enjoyed it, good to see everyone out in the sunshine again.

Don't know who the horse of a Lucan rider I was with at the start was, but if anyone knows him, send him my apologies for taking the wrong turn off the Batterstown road.

I got the route wrong in my head.

joker77 wrote: »
    Congrats Owen - some effort you put in - as you say yourself - probably did a little too much on the front.

Just couldn't stay with it for the sprint (Neal here by the way) - but at least I won't have you two sandbaggers in limit next week! :)

Thanks - had the finish been flat, I think you would've been out of sight.

el tonto wrote: »
    Updated league table is here.

Balls! I forgot to sign on

Yes, there's a very good chance that next week's race will be a DMS too. Given the numbers in the league this year, it's likely to be a regular occurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

It was a DMS? I almost regret not turning up, didn't fancy a handicap with the amount of guys bumped straight up to semi-scratch after the winter spins.

I take some credit for the performances of Eddy, Oflhero, and Joker77 in Limit after the Sunday spin last week. They learned so much from me!:rolleyes:

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Lumen wrote: »
    edit: 41.6kph/325W in the break. Not enough!
    Hurray - 32 posts in and we finally get some stats

I get the impression that some of you guys get too engrossed in the race to check the computer...

Beasty wrote:
    Hurray - 32 posts in and we finally get some stats

I get the impression that some of you guys get too engrossed in the race to check the computer...

My Garmin 705 decided I hadn't asked it politely enough so it refused to record my race session, which I didn't realise until the very end. It sat there, arms folded, and showed nothing but the profile of my ride to the race. Even after I'd powered it on and off it still showed that profile and it took several efforts to blank it so that I could just record the ride home. Sometimes I find myself wondering why I still have an old-fashioned speedo on my bike when my stem is adorned with (not quite) the latest in Garmin technology, and sometimes the question is answered for me.

My stats? Garmin 1 - doozerie 0 ...but the war's not over yet and no doubt it'll clock up many more victories over me before I eventually get the better of it (possibly with a hammer!) :(

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

doozerie wrote: »
    My Garmin 705 decided I hadn't asked it politely enough so it refused to record my race session
    Did you call it an idiot? If so I could fully understand where it's coming from.:D

EDIT: try and download the data anyway (use the import function) - if the profile of the course was there, the other data may also be

@Beasty, I tried calling it all manner of things. Strangely though, none of that elicited any reaction at all. I must be losing my touch!

I hooked it up to my laptop later but there is nothing even vaguely resembling a raw profile file in its internal storage at all. When it works well the Garmin is great, but it is seriously frustrating when it starts acting the bollix.

Oh, and I wonder whose kid was standing at the side of the road on the second lap holding up a "Go on dad!" sign? That made me smile.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    It was a DMS? I almost regret not turning up, didn't fancy a handicap with the amount of guys bumped straight up to semi-scratch after the winter spins.

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Don't know who the horse of a Lucan rider I was with at the start was, but if anyone knows him, send him my apologies for taking the wrong turn off the Batterstown road.

I got the route wrong in my head.

That's called team tactics. Eliminate the competition, leave your team mates collecting the points!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

That's called team tactics. Eliminate the competition, leave your team mates collecting the points!

I WISH it were that crafty a move, I rode possibly the least tactical race of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I WISH it were that crafty a move, I rode possibly the least tactical race of all time.

How did you ride off the course?! I just don't understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

How did you ride off the course?! I just don't understand...

Dirk basically races like a moth circling a lamp. Every time he sees a marshall, he turns.