Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BOARDS AC Tee-shirts order

• 07-04-2011 9:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭

Hi.
    There have been several posts over the past year or so where people were looking to buy A/R/T forum or Boards AC tops. My brother has a contact who would be able to print up a batch of t-shirts so I've asked him to suss it out.
    As I haven't got permission from boards.ie to use their name or branding and some people seem to object to paying to plug a business we've gone with the simple white BOARDS AC logo on a dark blue plain tee which would compliment the BAC singlet if you have one (excuse the crude mock-up:)). Even though Boards AC is no longer an AAI-affiliated club there is plenty of interest in BAC as an informal club.
    A couple of things to note - he can't print on technical t-shirts and having everyone's usernames on the back, as suggested before, means a batch run for every individual tee and hence would be much more expensive. However, there can be ladies or gents fit as suggested!
    T-shirts would be €15 each including post, packaging and PayPal fee. Just want to see how many would be interested? We need a minimum of 25

-Sklarker

Mockup:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/album.php?albumid=1656&pictureid=9171
    album.php?albumid=1656&pictureid=9171

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Hi Sklarker - thanks for following this up, but to be honest I'm only interested in getting something I can wear while running, a technical t-shirt or singlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

RayCun wrote: »
    Hi Sklarker - thanks for following this up, but to be honest I'm only interested in getting something I can wear while running, a technical t-shirt or singlet.
    me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,549 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Love to have one! Thanks for organizing it.
    Still have my singlet for those all important races (i.e. WW Relay).

Here's the picture:

picture.php?albumid=1656&pictureid=9171

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Sklarker

Cheers Krusty. Was all chuffed I was able to do the graphic then couldn't get it to embed :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

Sklarker wrote: »
    A couple of things to note - he can't print on technical t-shirts]

How come he can't print on technical tshirts? Is it due to expense? For some reason I thought technical t-shirts had got much cheaper these days due to their popularity.Although some of the ones being handed out at the end of races are shocking quality:eek:

ElectraX wrote: »
    How come he can't print on technical tshirts? Is it due to expense? For some reason I thought technical t-shirts had got much cheaper these days due to their popularity.Although some of the ones being handed out at the end of races are shocking quality:eek:
    Hi ElectraX. He couldn't provide a high-quality print on technical t-shirts as they are meshed and this requires a special print machine capable of a process called sublimation. They would also be much more expensive (I've seen quotes of about €30 not including P&P for decent quality)...so I guess that's why the ones given out at races are poor quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Lads, this is a take-it-or-leave-it offer. I asked on the other thread if there was anyone willing to put in the grunt work to get these tshirts done, Sklarker was the only one willing to step up and do all the work, and this is the offer he's come up with. Anyone who wants to get better quality tech tops done, and do all the work, is more than welcome to PM me and we'll get them done (I've run this by the BAC guys).

Nice one Sklarker, I'll go for a L :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

XL please :o I'll pay the extra P&P to the CIs.

Cheers all. Here's who's on board so far:
    Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown
    donothoponpop
    RoyMcC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I'll take one, small please or extra small (gents) if there is such a thing! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Oh me too! Ladies small please:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Cheers all. Here's who's on board so far:
    Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown
    donothoponpop
    Seres
    RoyMcC

Didnt see before that he cant print on a tech t-shirt but will gladly take one anyway ! fairplay to ya , ladies small for me , love the singlet so something to add to the Boards Collection :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Probably need to add your size guys... Thanks for organising this.

Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown
    donothoponpop (Large)
    RoyMcC
    Bally8 (small)
    Ruu (small)
    Seres
    Slogger Jogger (Large)

Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown (Medium)
    donothoponpop (Large)
    RoyMcC
    Bally8 (small)
    Ruu (small)
    Seres
    Slogger Jogger (Large)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Grumble, grumble ...

No technical t-shirt. :( FYI the Boards.ie graphics are available from here and they don't have a problem with them being used, they just like to be told. I also don't quite get peoples reasoning behind not wanting to wear the Boards logo, surely the point is to advertise this particular part of Boards? It might be a company, it's also the place where we hang out for free...

Grumble, grumble.

Anyway, despite that I'll take one, plus a bit of extra postage to get it delivered to foreign climes:

Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown (Medium)
    donothoponpop (Large)
    RoyMcC
    Bally8 (small)
    Ruu (small)
    Seres
    Slogger Jogger (Large)
    robinph (large)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

Can I order a Female medium thanks(unless they are gonna be unisex t-shirts in which case I'd take a small)

Sklarker x 2
    Krusty_Clown (Medium)
    donothoponpop (Large)
    RoyMcC
    Bally8 (small)
    Ruu (small)
    Seres
    Slogger Jogger (Large)
    robinph (large)
    ElectraX (Medium)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

To be honest lads I'd much prefer the boards logo, its worked extremely well for the boards.ie cycling jersey here's an example of it from one of the mods of the cycling forum

Cheshirecat.jpg

also
    Front and back can be viewed here (large image)
    http://www.daraghotoole.com/boards/Boards_6.jpg

The 410 on the jersey refers to the forum number of the cycling forum on boards :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=410

The jersey has proven extremely popular with at least 5 large orders to date, its a good talking point for many boards users at events or for those just out on spins that come across others with the jersey. Yet another thing to create a community feel on the forum.

Honestly can't understand why people would have an issue with the proper boards logo yet they'll wear branded tec shirts and runners

Anyway any chance of getting the old-style Boards AC singlet instead of just a t-shirt?, where did the first order of them come from?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

First time I've seen the new cycling jersey in action. Very pretty.

I'm pretty sure running imp do fairly cheap tech t-shirts. Think they start at about £4 per (plain)shirt. Have an account with them already, think I have a catalouge around somewhere. Though not sure what the quality would be...

Edit: Not wanting to take away from sklarker's efforts, winning ways and running imp both do tech t-shirts that you can design yourself so you could make a boardsac one. Winning ways also do vests. Smallest order from both also seems to be 25 shirts. They both also do hoddies, I know people were interested in hoodies before.

ElectraX wrote: »
    Can I order a Female medium thanks(unless they are gonna be unisex t-shirts in which case I'd take a small)
    Yep the t-shirts are available in male or female fits, so I'll update the list as such:
    Sklarker - Mens Large
    Sklarker's bro - Mens Large
    Krusty_Clown - Mens Medium
    donothoponpop- Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    Slogger Jogger - Mens Large
    Robinph- Mens Large
    ElectraX - Womens Medium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

To be honest lads I'd much prefer the boards logo

But great work to those who put their neck [and wallets] on the line and getting the ball rolling.

You will never make us all happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

I have to agree with the previous sentiment. I would like something that could be worn racing. I have a singlet so I'm good that way and you get a lot of support wearing it. I'm aware this sounds terrible when I haven't made any effort at all to organise this. But the demand is there. Understand the argument about the usernames though.

Also think that people have to be prepared to pay up front for this.

Here's a link to the previous Boards T-shirt thread. Everyone was agreed, we wanted a blue tech top, with discrete Boards.ie logo on the sleeve, a zipped pocket for an ipod, personalized username on the back, optional hoodie, tailored fit, ...

What's the difference between that thread and this one? Someone is willing to do the grunt work on this thread.

Here's a link to the previous Boards T-shirt thread. Everyone was agreed, we wanted a blue tech top, with discrete Boards.ie logo on the sleeve, a zipped pocket for an ipod, personalized username on the back, optional hoodie, tailored fit, ...

What's the difference between that thread and this one? Someone is willing to do the grunt work on this thread.

Everyone was agreed on all those features? Really?

The other difference between that thread and this one is there were 18 orders compared to 11 at this early stage and 4 pages of responses. There is a real opportunity here to get this right first time round. I think I paid 25€ for my singlet and it is really brilliant. I don't mean any disrespect to the organizer but are we limiting the options here.

I really believe though, money has to be made available up front by all interested parties and they have to be prepared to wait three months Max for receipt of item.

Everyone was agreed on all those features? Really?

The other difference between that thread and this one is there were 18 orders compared to 11 at this early stage and 4 pages of responses. There is a real opportunity here to get this right first time round. I think I paid 25€ for my singlet and it is really brilliant. I don't mean any disrespect to the organizer but are we limiting the options here.

I really believe though, money has to be made available up front by all interested parties and they have to be prepared to wait three months Max for receipt of item.

Should have used a smiley there about the agreement thing :D

Genuine question, if you believe there is a better opportunity, are you willing to organize better t-shirts? Because after numerous separate threads about this, we've had hundreds of posts and opinion's about how best to progress, and only two posters willing to do the work (Woddle originally, and now Sklarker on this thread).

Ill send you a PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

This doesn't have to be the only option.

Sklarker has stepped up and organised a Boards AC t-shirt. Classic design, decent price, suitable for casual wear and conversation starting "This? Oh yeah, I'm a runner... want to come see my medal collection?"

If someone else wants to organise a singlet, or a tech t-shirt, or a t-shirt with a different logo, or one with pouches... I'm sure that wouldn't be a problem. But it involves work and commitment and hassle that someone has to take on, or it won't happen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

People are free to ignore me(yee usually do) seen as I'm not buying a shirt anyway, but, sklarker has the hard part done with a design. Why not forward the design etc to running imp and see what they throw up for you with the tech t-shirt? I assume they'd send on a freebie sample.

http://www.runningimp.co.uk/index.php/promotional-products/clothing/tech-t-shirts.html

This doesn't have to be the only option.

You're dead right, it doesn't, and the BAC guys have made it clear they would be happy for a decent BAC tech top to be sourced.
    If someone else wants to organise a singlet, or a tech t-shirt, or a t-shirt with a different logo, or one with pouches... I'm sure that wouldn't be a problem. But it involves work and commitment and hassle that someone has to take on, or it won't happen.

The issue throughout the many threads on getting a decent BAC tech top, is someone "else".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭srvhead

I'm an amrchair athlete. Thats actually a lie. I watch female tennis once a year on the box:) Does lugging guitars, amps, speakers, woofers and tweeters in and out of music venues count for athleticism?:)

Anyways i'd like to order a male medium t-shirt please. Let me know payment details etc.
    Crackin' idea guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

Please add me in for a male large.

Might need to join the weight challenge to make it fit, but that's the one for me!

To follow up on a few comments there:
    I completely endorse anyone (else) interested in organising tech tops (especially ones with an iPod pocket and hand-stitched username on the shoulder :p)...stick me down for a Large :)
    As regards payments/waiting for up to 3 months...we should follow the steps as used by other forums (someone had them in an A/R/T thread there recently, I'll need to dig it out, but basically payment upfront via PayPal when we get some decent numbers, whatever everyone feels most comfortable with) and the tshirts are being printed/collected/posted in Dublin so should be in the post within the next few weeks

My idea was a non runner anyway so plough on divil.

The only reason I suggested three months wait is because I've seen this kind of time frame used before for processing internet orders.

Ultimately you will be running one batch of t shirts so you will need to allow a 2 - 3 week period for receipt of monies. Put a deadline on it and stick rigidly to it, any faffers then will be eliminated. The rest is then testing, production and p&p time and probably time to spare yes, just a cushion if things go wrong.

I'm not involved in business so I may be talking through my arse.

Fair play to ya and apologies if I came across as being disrespectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Yep the t-shirts are available in male or female fits, so I'll update the list as such:
    Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    Robinph- Mens Large
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium

Great idea, was able to meet a few people in Mallow recently due to the boards ac singlet so t-shirt would help with that as well.

TheTubes wrote: »
    Ok, i'm not sure if its worth opening another thread on the tech tshirt debate....
    I think it would be best to start another thread TheTubes. Just trying to get tshirt numbers here. The tech vs tee debate will swamp this thread. Nice one for volunteering to arrange the tech top order :) €30 sounds about right

I moved that discussion to this thread. Anyone wanting to organize tech Ts can continue from there. <mod>

Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    Robinph- Mens Large
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium
    srvhead - Mens medium
    slowsteady - Mens large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭iamjenko

Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    Robinph- Mens Large
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium
    srvhead - Mens medium
    slowsteady - Mens large

iamjenko - Mens medium

Thank you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    Robinph- Mens Large
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium
    srvhead - Mens medium
    slowsteady - Mens large
    iamjenko - Mens medium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Copy this list to other thread and lock this one?

I think this is a good idea, no point in having two people doing 2 different things, lets all now row in behind dnhp and avoid fragmentation. I think the tech t is the preferred option.

I've put a lot of work into arranging this t-shirt order. If 15 (hopefully we can get to 25) people still want to go ahead I will put the order in. If everyone's lost interest no worries. Anyone who wants a tech top can put their name in the other thread when the details are finalised...I will be one of them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

I still want the tshirt please.

Bally8 wrote: »
    I still want the tshirt please.

Me too! It's a lot of work you put in, no reason some won't prefer cotton T's (at half the price of the Tech ones, too!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭srvhead

?????? Not on this thread!
    I still want a t-shirt please skylarker

srvhead wrote: »
    ?????? Not on this thread!
    I still want a t-shirt please skylarker

Let me just explain where I was coming from because I'm feeling like a bit of a d1ck.

Tech shirts are worn before, during and immediately after races. They are noticed and all boardsies can hook up at races, introduce themselves etc. It reinforces the community spirit here and I guess I'm somewhat, maybe sadly passionate about that.

I admit now it was a limited view and I underestimated the demand for the t-shirt. Please hope the OP takes absolutely no offence from my remarks. Thanks for all the hard work. I look forward to seeing people wearing them.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium
    srvhead - Mens medium
    slowsteady - Mens large
    iamjenko - Mens medium

Sorry, I've changed my mind and going for the tech version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,554 ✭✭✭plodder

Sklarker - Mens Large
    RoyMcC - Mens XL
    Ruu - Mens Small
    Bally8 - Womens Small
    Seres - Womens Small
    ElectraX - Womens Medium
    opus - Mens Medium