Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lenihan claims FG bailing out banks more than FF did!

• 06-04-2011 10:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭

Brian Lenihan was just in a clip on Vincent Browne claiming that the current government were guaranteeing banks more than the FF shower did.

He pointed out that the bank guarantee EXPIRED LAST SEPTEMBER, so - according to him - paying capital guarantees was extending it and was a bad approach.

Pity he forgot that important fact IN JANUARY when they paid out UNGUARANTEED BONDS.

Does their arrogance and ever-changing double-standards know no bounds ? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

I have turned off tis the only way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Fine Gael have been in office for about a month.

We've had credible stress tests have which have started returning confidence, such that our bond rates have moved in the right direction, for the first time in a long time.
    Portugal seeking a bailout means that the EU is going to have to start seriously considering a Eurobond system.
    Morgan Stanley have even gone so far as to say it's time to start buying Irish bonds.

Aside from not being able to fix it, Lenihan was one of the key players in creating this mess.
    Leave him say what he likes. History will judge him, Cowen and Bertie, and will not be kind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I read as far as "Lenihan claims..." then stopped.

Cheapest bail out in history...

We've turned a corner...

Don't know what's in the water where he got elected but the voters must have been ingesting something or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dangerous sociopaths that whole party. This country can never afford to see them in power again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

johngalway wrote: »

We've turned a corner...

I stopped at the word "Leninhan", and it doesnt matter which of the two it is, they're both spoofers of equal ineptitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Lennie's comments are now beyond amusing, they are the pathetic ramblings of a sore loser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

For the next 5 years he'll be telling us how he put us on the road to recovery and if he'd been re-elected we'd have recovered more quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

We've turned a corner...

Don't know what's in the water where he got elected but the voters must have been ingesting something or other.

Indeed, Lendahand has zero credibility. He should just shut up and sit in a corner of the Dail for the next 5 years while people try to fix the mess that him and Clowen forced on the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Paddyo

Im not FF or FG nor a supporter of any politcal party.

I do have a question though. What have Fine Gael done that wasnt going to happen anyway?

Stress test - was going to happen anyway
    Money gone into banks - was going to happen anyway

Im am really finding it hard to see the change

Listening to Lucinda last night was like listening to FF before the election

Paddyo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Lenihan's speech was made all the more farcical by the fact that the one and only FF deputy sitting next to him at the time was Willie O'Dea. The same Willie O'Dea who tried to put as much distance between himself and Lenihan's 2008 bank guarantee as possible just 3 days earlier in The Sindo.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/cabinet-got-no-say-on-guarantee-willie-odea-2607504.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Gunmonkey

*smack*

That was the sound of me face-palming so hard my hand went through my head and came out the back.

Granted it seems the whole remit of the opposition falls into claiming the Government is doing everything wrong, saying how they would do it so much better and calling for an election "to let the people decide", but WOW that is some amount of bull by Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭jprender

That man should just keep his mouth shut now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

And a man texted into VB saying he was ready to go back to FF again at the next election. God help us if there are many more as easlily fooled as him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Were we not told that no further capital would go into the banks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Paddyo wrote: »
    Im not FF or FG nor a supporter of any politcal party.

I do have a question though. What have Fine Gael done that wasnt going to happen anyway?

Stress test - was going to happen anyway
    Money gone into banks - was going to happen anyway

Im am really finding it hard to see the change

Listening to Lucinda last night was like listening to FF before the election

Paddyo

To be fair, unlike the last shower who were languishing at 10% in the polls and desperately trying to avoid an election by refusing to hold by-elections, FG and Labour together have a credible mandate to do what has to be done. They bring stability and confidence to the table. Even if they are only doing the same thing or something similar, people believe it will get done.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

dlofnep wrote: »
    Were we not told that no further capital would go into the banks?

Until the results of the stress test I do believe. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Sit your treasonous ass back down.

You and FF have no credibility left .

You should have joined bev flynn and Biffo and bertie and Callely under whatever rock they are all hiding.

So sit back down and keep quiet

And for anyone that needs to be reminded why this was economic treason please watch this clip.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qtL06DVaZ00&feature=player_embedded

The cheek of these ffers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Brian Lenihan was just in a clip on Vincent Browne claiming that the current government were guaranteeing banks more than the FF shower did.

He pointed out that the bank guarantee EXPIRED LAST SEPTEMBER, so - according to him - paying capital guarantees was extending it and was a bad approach.
    Of course if David McWilliams pointed out the very same fact everyone would be outraged not at David McWilliams but at FG.

Can people, for one second, leave personalities out of this and examine the facts of what Lenihan is saying? Regardless of the fact than none of us clearly like the man - nobody seems to be seriously asking Inda what happened to his ''not one red cent'' speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

hardCopy wrote: »
    For the next 5 years he'll be telling us how he put us on the road to recovery and if he'd been re-elected we'd have recovered more quickly.

And the sad thing is, there are those who'll believe him. Not even funny.

Having Lenihan in charge of the economy was like having Gary Glitter mind your kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Indeed, Lendahand has zero credibility. He should just shut up and sit in a corner of the Dail for the next 5 years while people try to fix the mess that him and Clowen forced on the nation.

Indeed, and also I have a strong feeling that they won't be able to fix it, try as they may, FF have banjaxed it that badly.

FG are only another backward Civil War party anyway.

Default in six months to a year, I'd say. We're fooked.

later10 wrote: »
    Of course if David McWilliams pointed out the very same fact everyone would be outraged not at David McWilliams but at FG.

Can people, for one second, leave personalities out of this and examine the facts of what Lenihan is saying? Regardless of the fact than none of us clearly like the man - nobody seems to be seriously asking Inda what happened to his ''not one red cent'' speech.
    Enda said no more money for the banks until the stress tests were completed and we had an accurate picture of the nations finances.

Sully wrote: »
    Until the results of the stress test I do believe. :)

Wrong.

Leo Varadkar stated that the banks would not be getting another cent until they can show that they will impose losses on junior and senior bondholders. This is not the case, and therefore the said banks should not be receiving further capital.

"...any bank coming to us looking for more money, are going to have to show how they are going to impose losses on their junior bondholders.. on senior bondholders and their other creditors before they coming looking to us for anymore money. Not another cent!".

-Leo Varadkar, February 2011.

Fine Gael have since back-peddled on burden-sharing. Noonan has already stated that Fine Gael is no longer considering the imposition of losses on senior bondholders.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Wrong.

Leo Varadkar stated that the banks would not be getting another cent until they can show that they will impose losses on junior and senior bondholders. This is not the case, and therefore the said banks should not be receiving further capital.

"...any bank coming to us looking for more money, are going to have to show how they are going to impose losses on their junior bondholders.. on senior bondholders and their other creditors before they coming looking to us for anymore money. Not another cent!".

-Leo Varadkar, February 2011.

Fine Gael have since back-peddled on burden-sharing. Noonan has already stated that Fine Gael is no longer considering the imposition of losses on senior bondholders.

True ...... varadkar should not have made that statement. He is a doctor not an economist.

However it doesn't make the FF lies any less sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

We've turned a corner...

And don't forget about putting the green shirt on for Ireland.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Enda said no more money for the banks until the stress tests were completed and we had an accurate picture of the nations finances.
    Sorry, meant Varadkar.

So what happened to this notion? Why did Varadkar say it? The silence from the FGers, (apart from their appropriate criticisms of Fianna Fail that has nothing to do with the latest decision on bailout policy) is quite telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    Fine Gael have been in office for about a month.

We've had credible stress tests have which have started returning confidence, such that our bond rates have moved in the right direction, for the first time in a long time.
    Portugal seeking a bailout means that the EU is going to have to start seriously considering a Eurobond system.
    Morgan Stanley have even gone so far as to say it's time to start buying Irish bonds.

Aside from not being able to fix it, Lenihan was one of the key players in creating this mess.
    Leave him say what he likes. History will judge him, Cowen and Bertie, and will not be kind.

Would have thought he was one of the ones instrumental in getting us out of this mess:D

This Government will be judge on the decesions it makes:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Dangerous sociopaths that whole party. This country can never afford to see them in power again.

It's unfortunate but they will inevitably come back to power again some day, possibly after FG/Lab have 2 terms in office. They are the main party in opposition and I can't see ULA or Sinn Féin ever getting as powerful as FG or Labour. By rights Labour should have stayed in opposition to keep a plug on FF down the line but they had to think of the immediate problems of the country first. It really shows you how much of a mess the Dáil is in.

Sorry, meant Varadkar.

So what happened to this notion? Why did Varadkar say it? The silence from the FGers, (apart from their appropriate criticisms of Fianna Fail that has nothing to do with the latest decision on bailout policy) is quite telling.

I agree , FG should be held to account for any promises .

However this thread is expressing the rage at Brian Lenihan forgetting that he and Biffo ruined the country.

So please start a new thread calling on Varadkar to explain his promises. Don't let FG get away with anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

And possibly so, because McWilliams didn't ruin the country. However two-faced double-standards of FF & is what this thread is about.

Lenihan - supposedly - objects to paying out unguaranteed sums but only when it's not his shower of incompetents that are doing so

THAT is the topic of this thread.

And it is perfectly appropriate to highlight FF's ongoing double-standards. We were told that the country needed FF "to provide strong effective opposition", however opposition for the sake of it is pointless and lacks credibility or authority; if you'd have done - and actually did something as bad or worse yourself, you haven't a leg to stand on.

Lenihan - supposedly - objects to paying out unguaranteed sums but only when it's not his shower of incompetents that are doing so
    Wrong, wrong. wrong.

A quick search on google brings up Lenihan's Dail speech. You are being completely misleading in the suggestion that Lenihan was criticising Minister Noonan and objecting to honouring bonds - in fact there is outright praise

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2011/04/06/00009.asp
    The Minister, by and large, takes a very constructive approach in proposing these measures. As he did last week he does today. There is an element of politics and he cannot absolve himself from making a few references to the alleged mistakes of his predecessors. I notice that last week he referred to the guarantee of 30 September 2008 but the Minister has now given a more extensive guarantee than occurred on that night. That guarantee lapsed on 30 September 2010 and when it did, a large amount of bank bonds became unguaranteed. The Minister has decided, through capital reassurance, that those bonds should be honoured and paid in full. That is the effect of the Minister’s announcement last Thursday and it is confirmed today. We should not speak of disastrous guarantees when the Minister has given a broader guarantee than that given by the previous Government.
    Throughout that period of great difficulty in the past two or three years, when a number of initiatives were taken, the Minister can hold his head high as one of those who took a very responsible approach on banking. That was not the case with all other members of his and the Labour Party, many of whom openly and consistently called for undermining the credit of the country’s banking system. In its own way that contributed to the loss of confidence in the system; if we keep talking about burning bonds, as friends on my right like to do at regular intervals, we can hardly be surprised if depositors want to remove deposits from the Irish banking system or have very little faith or confidence in it. We all know that senior debt ranks at the same level of insolvency as a deposit. Depositors will not leave their money in the Irish banking system if we have a constant barrage and chorus of calls for the dishonouring of Irish senior debt.
    Deputy Noonan never engaged in that practice and I give him full credit for doing so but many in this House have done so.

In this light, Brian Lenihan's comments are completely understandable - he is merely praising FG for following the same procedure as FF.

You really shouldn't exaggerate so much.

Lenihan wrote:
    "I notice that last week he referred to the guarantee of 30 September 2008 but the Minister has now given a more extensive guarantee than occurred on that night. That guarantee lapsed on 30 September 2010 and when it did, a large amount of bank bonds became unguaranteed. The Minister has decided, through capital reassurance, that those bonds should be honoured and paid in full. That is the effect of the Minister’s announcement last Thursday and it is confirmed today. We should not speak of disastrous guarantees when the Minister has given a broader guarantee than that given by the previous Government."

Those two sentences together comprise a dig and an attempt to deflect discussion from "disastrous guarantees".

1) If the ORIGINAL guarantee hadn't been so disastrous, all-encompassing and ill-thought-through, then Noonan wouldn't have his current problem

2) The guarantee expired. FF should not have paid Anglo bonds in January. Lenihan conveniently does not even refer to this and is deliberately implying that 30 Sept 2010 is a valid reference date

3) You are claiming that Lenihan is "praising FG for following the same procedure as FF" however the paragraph that you quoted has Lenihan claiming "the Minister has given a broader guarantee", which is a downright lie [by him], because FF already did this in January.

Please don't try to excuse the lies by Lenihan; he has zero credibility and twisting what he said in order to make him look less bad will reflect on you too.

We can and will speak of disastrous guarantees, and while FG are stuck between a rock and a hard place following FF's disastrous guarantee, and thereby get a little more leeway as they try to solve the FF-caused problem, they should get their act together.

However, as I said, Lenihan should not be allowed to prevent discussion on his ruinous track record.

Those two sentences together comprise a dig and an attempt to deflect discussion from "disastrous guarantees".
    Don't be so melodramatic. He is not attempting to deflect discussion, Lenihan was actively discussing the previous government's policies and pointing out that they are being continued by the present government.
    2) The guarantee expired. FF should not have paid Anglo bonds in January. Lenihan conveniently does not even refer to this and is deliberately implying that 30 Sept 2010 is a valid reference date
    He agrees with honouring unguaranteed bonds. There is no debate over that. Are you suggesting he argue with himself?
    3) You are claiming that Lenihan is "praising FG for following the same procedure as FF" however the paragraph that you quoted has Lenihan claiming "the Minister has given a broader guarantee", which is a downright lie [by him], because FF already did this in January.
    You appear to completely misunderstand the situation.

Lenihan is saying that the bank guarantee of 30 September is often criticised, and that Noonan has widened its scope. He is not saying he disagrees with Noonan or with honouring bond payments, what is being states is irrefutable fact.
    However, as I said, Lenihan should not be allowed to prevent discussion on his ruinous track record.
    He didn't attempt to. I don't particularly like Lenihan, but you started this thread and are giving a very misleading picture of what he said and I am simply correcting that. He is praising Noonan for carrying on with FF policy, and pointing out inconsistencies of criticism - that's about the extent of it.

It's unfortunate but they will inevitably come back to power again some day, possibly after FG/Lab have 2 terms in office. They are the main party in opposition and I can't see ULA or Sinn Féin ever getting as powerful as FG or Labour. By rights Labour should have stayed in opposition to keep a plug on FF down the line but they had to think of the immediate problems of the country first. It really shows you how much of a mess the Dáil is in.
    Yeah it would have been better if labour had stayed in opposition. We might have had a proper political system if that had happened. If FF get back in power within 10 years I dont think I'd want to raise kids in this country.

raymon wrote: »
    True ...... varadkar should not have made that statement. He is a doctor not an economist.

Regardless of what he should of or should have not said, he said it. Noonan backed him up. The premise was that unless banks could show that they would inflict burden-sharing on junior and senior bond-holders, they would not receive support. Noonan backpeddled and has now acknowledged that there will not be burden-sharing inflicted on senior bondholders.

This was a very distinct and clear cut promise by Fine Gael, and they have failed. They went into the elections with guns blazing with rhetoric that they would show that Ireland is no pushover. What happened? They folded at the first hurdle. No burden sharing by senior bondholders, despite the fact that the most vulnerable in society (and I say this without the cliché) are forced to take a hit.

It's absolutely sickening, and Fine Gael/Labour should be ashamed for bending to the EU and allowing the EU to dictate our economic affairs to such a level that our elected representatives no longer even have a smidgen of a say.

Fianna Fáil put Ireland's sovereignty on sale, and Fine Gael/Labour did the deal. Fine Gael & Labour promised change, and they haven't delivered and will not deliver change. It was bullsh*t rhetoric that they used to scoop up votes, and now they should and will be held accountable for it,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

I was very active on here with FF/ABFF threads before the election to ensure maximum exposure of FFs mistakes, mismanagement and incmpetence. They needed to be torn apart and supporters needed to be challenged on any spin they tried to churn out.

They were decimated in the election. If you are of the belief that Lenihan and FF should keep their two-faced mouths shut then you really should try to just ignore them when they open their mouths. FF were a problem before the election, they are now an irrelevancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

FF are a small party of failures who knew nothing about Finance or anything else when in power, just squandered our wealth. Anything from Lenny's mouth is not worth a jot, even less when it is anything to do with economics.

later10 wrote:

He agrees with honouring unguaranteed bonds. There is no debate over that. Are you suggesting he argue with himself?

You appear to completely misunderstand the situation.

Lenihan is saying that the bank guarantee of 30 September is often criticised, and that Noonan has widened its scope He is not saying he disagrees with Noonan or with honouring bond payments, what is being states is irrefutable fact.

He didn't attempt to. I don't particularly like Lenihan, but you started this thread and are giving a very misleading picture of what he said and I am simply correcting that. He is praising Noonan for carrying on with FF policy, and pointing out inconsistencies of criticism - that's about the extent of it.

Bar the bolded bit, you have a point; FG were elected to stop punishing those who had no part in creating the crisis and to get bondholders to accept the principle that "the value of your investment may go down as well as up".

Lenihan explicitly claimed that FG had guaranteed more than FF by "honouring" the expired guarantee.

That is a 100% lie and should not go unchallenged, as FF had already paid out over and above the guarantee, making the new reference point for relevant comparisons the end of January .

Mind you, as others have pointed out, he can do no more damage to us where he is now.

FF have entered into a period of amnesia.

You had Brian Lenihan lecture FG on finance .

You had Mehole Martin lecturing FG on corporate donations , when previously developers donations were showing up in his wife's bank account..( i still am shocked that nobody investigated that)

In fact even SF stood up to talk out against money laundering.

The neck of these people.

Even Ivor Callely is offering his services as a peace commissioner.( witnessing sworn statements and other duties normally reserved for honest people )

What's next ?? Willie o Dea lecturing on how to tell the truth?

FF what a shower ....

Having said all of that FG are still on probation and better shape up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

Brian Lenihan is the finance spokesman for the opposition. It is his job to highlight what the MoF is doing and if you actually read his Dail statements you will see that he has been very balanced in his criticism of Michael Noonan.

The only purpose of this thread is to give the ranters another opportunity to rant about FF . . At some point we have to move on and focus on the future.

People like Liam Byrne and Raymon who have claimed over the past years to care so much about the economic future of Ireland would be better off focusing on why FG are abandoning their economic manifesto.

I, for one voted for FG because I believed people like Varadkar.

People like Liam Byrne and Raymon who have claimed over the past years to care so much about the economic future of Ireland would be better off focusing on why FG are abandoning their economic manifesto.

I agree that FG should be held to account , ( it is rare that I agree with you )
    In fact I have specifically mentioned Varadkar's pre election statements twice already - once in this thread.

So don't cast me as a FG cheerleader .

You are confusing my dislike for FF corruption and incompetence, with a love for FG. This is not the case

However this thread is focussing on Lenihan ..... the man who wrecked the economy in partnership with Biffo .

He should hang his head in shame, rather than stand up and criticize others.

Lenihan preaching about finance is like , Gary Glitter dishing out advice on child care.
    Or Michael Martin lecturing on how not to put corporate donations into your wife's bank account

Cheek of them

raymon wrote: »
    However this thread is focussing on Lenihan ..... the man who wrecked the economy in partnership with Biffo .
    ... and who was re-elected by his constituents in Dublin West to the largest opposition party of the house, where he has been appointed spokesman on Finance.
    He should hang his head in shame, rather than stand up and criticize others.
    He was not criticizing the Minister in the example given here.

Generally, however, he is fully entitled to criticize government policy, as is his parliamentary duty and his duty as finance spokesman for the opposition.

Agree completely !! .. we are paying everyone in DE to do a job. His job, right now, regardless of his past history and based entirely on his electoral mandate is to hold the government to account on their economic policies . . .

Yes he is entitled to speak out about financial issues . Just like Gerry Adams can lecture on money laundering, or Willie can talk about telling the truth , or Martin can talk about declaration of corporate donations. I agree. You are correct

Brian Lenihan is the finance spokesman for the opposition. It is his job to highlight what the MoF is doing and if you actually read his Dail statements you will see that he has been very balanced in his criticism of Michael Noonan.

The only purpose of this thread is to give the ranters another opportunity to rant about FF . . At some point we have to move on and focus on the future.

Better off why? Because you'd prefer it?

We are keeping an eye on FG (in fact, I avoided giving them first-preference due to parts of their manifesto) so please stop trying to imply that being anti-corruption and lies is biased.

Better off why? Because you'd prefer it?

We are keeping an eye on FG (in fact, I avoided giving them first-preference due to parts of their manifesto) so please stop trying to imply that being anti-corruption and lies is biased.

Better off because you would be impacting on the group who are actually running the country and making the decisions rather than whining about the group who have no power !

I personally don't care if you want to live in the past and continue to whine about FF. Eventually you will realise that it is a waste of energy.

Intrigued that you didn't give FG your first preference . . . Care to share who you did deem worthy of it ??

Better off because you would be impacting on the group who are actually running the country and making the decisions rather than whining about the group who have no power !

As FF people have been quick to point out when they want to pass around the blame for the disaster, we need effective and credible opposition.
    I personally don't care if you want to live in the past and continue to whine about FF. Eventually you will realise that it is a waste of energy.

It's not "in the past"! The consequences are NOW and it is sickening to have the likes of Lenihan spouting lies and misdirection. We are still paying his wages, and if he's as irrelevant as you want to claim, why are we paying him ?
    Intrigued that you didn't give FG your first preference . . . Care to share who you did deem worthy of it ??

No, because you shouldn't be intrigued.......I've regularly stated that I'm party neutral and therefore my vote was obviously up for grabs. Some of FG's proposals were indeed objectionable, including the "NAMA for those with mortgages (but not for those who saved and bought)" and as a result they weren't getting my #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I don't accept that :pac:

As FF people have been quick to point out when they want to pass around the blame for the disaster, we need effective and credible opposition.

You are right, but it seems that your constituency are unwilling to accept the fact that the electorate have selected FF to lead this opposition . .

EG . .
    raymon wrote:
    Sit your treasonous ass back down.

You and FF have no credibility left .

You should have joined bev flynn and Biffo and bertie and Callely under whatever rock they are all hiding.

So sit back down and keep quiet

Liam Byrne wrote:
    It's not "in the past"! The consequences are NOW and it is sickening to have the likes of Lenihan spouting lies and misdirection. We are still paying his wages, and if he's as irrelevant as you want to claim, why are we paying him ?

I never claimed he was irrelevant . . I claimed that your energies might be better directed towards the government in power. Others (eg Raymon, see quote above) seem to think that we should pay him to sit in the Dail and keep quiet.

Liam Byrne wrote:
    No, because you shouldn't be intrigued.......I've regularly stated that I'm party neutral and therefore my vote was obviously up for grabs. Some of FG's proposals were indeed objectionable, including the "NAMA for those with mortgages (but not for those who saved and bought)" and as a result they weren't getting my #1

I am intrigued . . I read a lot of your comments pre-election and I always felt that no party or politician would satisfy your demands 100%.. That said, I felt that FG were closer to your position than any other party.

So . . who did you vote for ? ?

What I am saying is that Lenihan has no credibility in the area of finance.

Gerry Adams has no credibility in the area of money laundering.

Willie has no credibility in the area of honesty.

Michael Martin has no credibility in the area of corporate donations.

So these individuals should not speak on these topics