Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do I break the cycle?

• 05-04-2011 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭

<rant alert>

I love cars and I'm finicky about them but I've never been able to afford newer ones. I've tried to get the best older cars I could and I've never been mean with the maintenance.

Since the recession has fully kicked in, I've been chasing my tail. I've been able to keep working full time for the most part albeit with pay cuts etc. I don't have a mortgage or children. I don't drink, I don't smoke, I'll be thirty this year and I'm permanently broke because of stupid old cars, of all things. I'm fit to ******* scream after the airbg light went off just as I was trying to plan other repairs.

Since 2009, I had a gorgeous 98 A6 that I spent thousands keeping in good condition. I eventually had to sell it for next to nothing when I literally didn't have the money to fix the back suspension.

Since then, I had to borrow for a '02 Passat that was really just too rough. I would have had to have it re-sprayed and would have had to replace most of the suspension to make me happy with it. It just had a rough life and it was a boggo spec car anyway.

I got lumbered with my buddy's Legacy B4 with a knackered auto box. I couldn't afford to repair that and had to sell it for next to nothing.

I then got an €800 316 which lasted 2 months before packing up. I gave up 'bangernomic' cars and had to borrow for my '02 mazda 323 last autumn. I've spent about €1,500 on it since then and now it has an EML and airbag light on aswell as needing wishbones, shocks, a cat, a/c re-gas and service aswell as other stuff.

I've gone halves with my dad on fixing the 316 in the meantime. It passed the NCT but it still isn't right. It might still need a head gasket aswell as more suspension work aswell as other stuff.

I'm an ordinary guy and I'm at the end of my tether. I have no idea how other people just get into a car every morning with some reasonable expectation that it won't develop ANOTHER NCT fail at any moment.

How do I break the cycle? When the last crop of stuff befell the car after Christmas, I went back to the bank for a proper loan to get me into a decent car for a change. I thought that this would make my outgoings predictable at least. They turned me down because I'd only got another loan for the 323 in the autumn. What am I supposed to do? I don't seem to be able to earn enough to run ANY car. I could literally spend the value of my car getting it into decent condition. I'm out of ideas.

I don't mean this to be a rant. I'm seriously sick of cars and don't know what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

cantdecide wrote: »
    <rant alert>

I love cars and I'm finicky about them but I've never been able to afford newer ones. I've tried to get the best older cars I could and I've never been mean with the maintenance.

Since the recession has fully kicked in, I've been chasing my tail. I've been able to keep working full time for the most part albeit with pay cuts etc. I don't have a mortgage or children. I don't drink, I don't smoke, I'll be thirty this year and I'm permanently broke because of stupid old cars, of all things.

sounds just like me, except for the 30 bit.

its a bit of a pest, but from reading your rant it sounds like you need to make better car choices, why haven't you considered more japanese makes?

it sounds like you enjoy driving 'bigger' cars, considered maybe an early IS200 or a maxima perhaps? buying japanese seems to be a safer bet when it comes to reliability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Buy something small, reliable and clean, and work on recovering yourself financially that way.

I did the same, went back to a 1.3 Colt that was clean as a bell, and just drove it without getting distracted by other cars...I saved a fortune very quickly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Are you a member of a credit union? They can be way more flexible and helpful than banks in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Buy a 90's jap car...easier to fix and well more reliable than anything out there now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You've a habit of buying ****boxes!:D

You want something reliable and boring buy an early 0's jap car.

You want something reliable and a bit of fun I have found you can't go wrong with bimmers but I wouldn't be interested in anything post '02. I've had lots of bimmers and they've all served me well with no major problems. You seem to like them so next time get a mechanic to check out the car before you buy.

Older Audi's are money pits - end of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

<rant alert>

I think you need to change the way you approach your car buying. No offence but you seem to have recently landed up with some poor cars borne of optimism as regards your future expenses rather than considering the 'worst case' scenarios.

There's no proper saving for you in buying an older car (less up front payment) which you then spend a shed load on to keep running and up to a standard which pleases you (albeit over time).

Better to confine yourself to something low cost and reliable (looks and spec immaterial) if you absolutely must have a car for practical reasons, while you save up against a better quality car. Then you spend the money you have saved in the expectation of less expenses on your motoring into the future.

If you can I'd consolidate the 316 and 323 into a low cost economical 'nothing' car which gets you from A to B, or if possible run no car at all, while you save up so that you can re-enter the market at a more desirable price point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

I think you are buying too expensive cars, spending too much to them to keep them in the road and then when you run out of money, you have to sell them for nothing. Most buyers are looking for cheap car and are not that interested if you spend 1000e for suspension job to get the car right. If you invest 1000e for 1000e car, you will never get that money back.

So buy cheaper cars and get rid of them when the maintenance starts to cost too much and buy something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

OP, how do you pick your cars? Tell us that and we'll have a better idea of what to suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Thanks all. My current car is a 2002 Mazda 323F Sport with 130000 miles. I thought that it should have been a reasonable expectation that it might hold together reasonably well. I have €1,500 put in and I could spend the same again. This was supposed to be my breaking-the-cycle car.

TBH, I'm afraid to move left or right at this stage. The only thing I can think to do is spend nothing on it and scrap it in January when the NCT expires.

Confab wrote: »
    OP, how do you pick your cars? Tell us that and we'll have a better idea of what to suggest.

Alll along, I would have said higher spec, good source, reasonably rare, decent mileage, FSH but it had to be affordable. I'm not rich and I don't like being too much in debt. I prefer bigger cars. I always try to stay as open minded as possible beyond that. Budget has forced me into getting worse examples of cars in the last few years.

After the current fiasco, I've decided that whatever I get, it must be a specimen example, even if it's a dull as dishwater car.

Currently, I have no money and no options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Alll along, I would have said higher spec, good source, reasonably rare, decent mileage, FSH but it had to be affordable. I'm not rich and I don't like being too much in debt. I prefer bigger cars. I always try to stay as open minded as possible beyond that. Budget has forced me into getting worse examples of cars in the last few years.

After the current fiasco, I've decided that whatever I get, it must be a specimen example, even if it's a dull as dishwater car.

Toyota_Carina_E_1.6i_bj1995_zijkant(2).JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Flog the Mazda, please, and buy this http://www.carzone.ie/search/BMW/5-Series/520-I-@R/201108201373710/advert?channel=CARS

best car I had ever owned.

Just bad luck I reckon, I've had some really old yokes over the last few years and there was loads of life left in them. As mentioned above buy a decent ole japper and enjoy the reliability. Not being a pr1ck but ..........

98 A6 - not known for low maintenance costs

'02 Passat - if it needed a respray you shouldn't have bought it, suspension bits and bobs are common on them.

Legacy B4 with a knackered auto box - asking for trouble

€800 316 - bad luck I reckon, plenty good ones out there, although a 320i would always be a better bet.

'02 mazda 323 last autumn - iirc that's a 2.0 version, could well have had a hard life, more or less a GTi really.

If you really want to have cheap motoring the likes of a well kept low mileage Hyundai Accent or pre 00 Corolla or civic saloon would be very wallet friendly.

Regarding chasing your tail financially, you're not alone, the country is in the sh1t, there are folks earning €70,000+ that are up sh1ts creek so don't worry about it once you can get by :) That universal social charge has us all robbed :(

Also doing your own oil changes and mini services etc can keep the costs down a bit, you probably do that anyway though.

To break the cycle ditch that idea, don't let a few battle scars or a rusty arch turn you off a decent, cheap, NCTd motor ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

An IS200 as metioned only thing wrong with them is they are known to pigs on juice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

Toyota_Carina_E_1.6i_bj1995_zijkant%282%29.JPG

Can't go wrong with one of these. It's not the most glamorous of cars but it'll get you where you're going and won't break the bank to maintain.

An IS200 as metioned only thing wrong with them is they are known to pigs on juice

Hardly frugal motoring really, the lad said he has no money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

I'm in the same boat as the OP, except, Im 18, and its my first car.
    bought a 99 corolla sr last august for 900euro. nct till may coming.
    since then, iv replaced a hub, wishbone, clutch, bushings, brake drums, and got the tacking done 3 times, yet it still pulls left.
    had it backed into:mad:, panel beating and spraypainting.
    then last wek the exhaust fell out of it. i really cat be arsed(cant afford) fixing it, even though petrol is now pissing out of it at a ferocious rate, so its tied up with fencing wire. makes some racket in the cabin, even at low speeds/revs/ idling even!!.
    my friends are pulling the piss big time, telling me scrap it, or sell it, but no matter what i get for it that way, wont pay off what i owe on it, let alone buy me a new bus.
    and the bumpers are in ****, just from dopes doing the bollox.
    for a lad so into my cars, im really getting down about this crock.
    so dont just go for a 90's jap, their not ALL bulletproof.

s-cogan wrote: »
    so dont just go for a 90's jap, their not ALL bulletproof.

You either bought a heap of **** or you have wrecked it :)

s-cogan wrote: »
    ...so dont just go for a 90's jap, their not ALL bulletproof...

You have wisdom beyond your years. I'll never forget the day the EML came on in my car and later I hopped into my dad's van and the EML came on in that, too :rolleyes: I'm just ******* jinxed. I have no reason to believe that if I change my car, experience has shown me that I'll probably end up worse off. I wouldn't dare assume that X car is reliable.

RoverJames wrote: »
    ...'02 mazda 323 last autumn - iirc that's a 2.0 version, could well have had a hard life, more or less a GTi really...Regarding chasing your tail financially, you're not alone, the country is in the sh1t, there are folks earning €70,000+ that are up sh1ts creek so don't worry about it once you can get by :) That universal social charge has us all robbed :( ... Also doing your own oil changes and mini services etc can keep the costs down a bit, you probably do that anyway though.

I ended up €7/ week better off after the USC. That's the benefit of being poor :rolleyes:

Ya, my car's a 2.0 sport. It's had lady owners all it's life and it's fundamentally a good, solid car. It's running perfectly except for the dash lighting up like a christmas tree and a myriad of minor, perfectly understandable snags. Oil changes won't scratch the surface I'm afraid.

I know I can buy an auto Altezza for reasonable money. I love auto cars too. My problem is my mazda is worth next to nothing with the dash lights let alone the other stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

You have wisdom beyond your years. I'll never forget the day the EML came on in my car and later I hopped into my dad's van and the EML came on in that, too :rolleyes: I'm just ******* jinxed. I have no reason to believe that if I change my car, experience has shown me that I'll probably end up worse off. I wouldn't dare assume that X car is reliable.

I ended up €7/ week better off after the USC. That's the benefit of being poor :rolleyes:

Ya, my car's a 2.0 sport. It's had lady owners all it's life and it's fundamentally a good, solid car. It's running perfectly except for the dash lighting up like a christmas tree and a myriad of minor, perfectly understandable snags. Oil changes won't scratch the surface I'm afraid.

I know I can buy an auto Altezza for reasonable money. I love auto cars too. My problem is my mazda is worth next to nothing with the dash lights let alone the other stuff.
    Ah, now I can see where the problem lies .. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2043000

Full?id=5909090

Good example of a great car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I tend to run a mile when I see a car has had a lady owner tbh. No offence I'm sure there are women out there who service there cars regularly and look after the clutch and gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

NCT is near out and a month of tax left? No thanks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I totally agree with the lady owner comment, more likely to put me off than anything else!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I really can sympathise with the OP.
    When I began my driving career I was a perfectionist, but I didnt really have the cash to be one. There was never a single fault with my car. I did many repairs myself and regular maintenance, but I also paid a dealer for annual servicing. A squeek or rattle would be hunted down and murdered. A streak in the wipers? Replaced.
    This left me with an immaculate but extremely expensive car that I got nothing extra for on sale.

Irish people couldnt care less about service historys, and this is reflected in the secondhand car prices. But you should. Dont buy a car that doesnt have a 100% full manufacturers/dealers(not mechanic etc) service history.

The amount I spent on maintaining my car was unsustainable for my age (I was early 20's in my 1st career job).
    Luckily my salary continued to rise and these rapidly became problems of the past. New/nearly new cars rarely rattle, and I can afford professional maintenance. No Haynes manuals any more.

However (though I'm the same age as the OP) with hindsight, I would not have bought the car if I was thinking right. Like lads here say, get yourself an early 00's or late 90's Japanese car. Get a Haynes manual. Become familiar with online parts websites. Full history, 1 experienced owner.
    Dont try to be a cute hoor. Pay more if it makes sense. Getting a car that was properly cared for is 90% of it. Then its down to luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

OP, you seem to be a magnet for lemons unfortunately. I suspect there is something in the way you pick your cars that causes you to have such bad luck, but if I'm right that that's something you can change.

I would suggest striking low mileage and service history off your list first. On a cheap car, these things sound too good to be true (I know I don't have to explain what "sounds too good to be true" means when it comes to used cars ;) )

Depending on what you mean by 'rare', I'd take another look at that too. If you just mean slightly less common than a Corolla or Civic, fair enough, but if really mean rare, well you should know that rare cars command a premium just because they're rare, so if the price is low then there will probably be something wrong.

The best value for money cars, in my opinion, will be higher mileage, few owners, few signs of wear in the interior, and ideally serviced by an independent mechanic, so don't expect the whole authorized dealership service history. The price should be low because the mileage is high, the owner wants a quick sale, and because you have done a lot of leg work to find weed through all the over priced bangers out there. In my experience so far, at least, that is how you get value for your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Hardly frugal motoring really, the lad said he has no money.

Ah didnt see that bit I thought he was sick of buying cars that broke down all the time well yea in that case get a carina or avensis

fluffer wrote: »
    Full history, 1 experienced owner.
    Dont try to be a cute hoor. Pay more if it makes sense. Getting a car that was properly cared for is 90% of it. Then its down to luck.

In all fairness there are not many one owner cars out there with full service histories in the 5+ years old category. There are 10 to 20 year old cars out there with more than a handful of previous owners and no service histories that make great buys and will be reliable.

To break the cycle ditch that idea, don't let a few battle scars or a rusty arch turn you off a decent, cheap, NCTd motor ;)

I went car hunting last time around with a friend of mine. I almost had a deal done for a cheap but rough Prelude with long NCT etc. I think it was about €1,500 or thereabouts. My friend quite rightly pointed out that I shouldn’t buy it. He said if I did, I’d want to get it painted and then lowered and then find new alloys etc etc etc. I knew he was right and I let it go.

Last March, I bought a cheap but rough, mechanically decent bike (low mileage 1998 Honda Blackbird). The plan was to use it as a guilt free daily driver. By September I had doubled my original outlay by getting it resprayed and a ton of other stuff < then I got clothes-lined by a chemical sprayer on a tractor and now it’s dead >

In other words, I know it just can’t be rough example. I’m too anal about bodywork. It would bug me too much to drive a rough car no matter how cheap it was.

How heavy on the juice is and auto Altezza? I'm not destitute, like. I don't mind fuelling a car. I just want some certainty that maintaining/ repairing my car (exluding bikes) won't continue to cost an average of €50/ €60 a week like it has done for the last 2+ years.

Sounds to me like you just want a minty car, I can't really relate to that :pac:

Auto Altezza would be 20 to 25mpg I would think.

Sounds to me like you just want a minty car, I can't really relate to that :pac:

Auto Altezza would be 20 to 25mpg I would think.

I can assure you it's an awful affliction when you're bouncing along the breadline :rolleyes:

20/25 mpg? How powerful are they? My B4 was getting about 22/23 mpg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

....I don't mean this to be a rant. I'm seriously sick of cars and don't know what to do.

Hand your drivers licence back to the State.

I can assure you it's an awful affliction when you're bouncing along the breadline :rolleyes:

20/25 mpg? How powerful are they? My B4 was getting about 22/23 mpg.

The 2.0 3SGEs are 200+bhp, dunno if there was auto ones. The 2.0 straight six IS200s are 150ish bhp I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

How much have you got to spend OP? Because frankly I'd be wary of an Altezza. I'd only buy one straight off the boat because there is a high likelihood it has been thrashed. I know some Altezza drivers will be up-in-arms, tarring everyone with the same brush etcetera etcetera but...that's the way I see it.

You seem to be choosing 2nd/3rd/4th hand cars that appeal to young male drivers. There are lots of people in here that practice bangernomics pretty successfully. But they mostly go for old barges that have had a few corpulent, flatuant businessmen wafting about as the first few owners. Or mundane Japanese fodder. I know you tried that with the 323 but it sounds like that was an abused example also...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

You need to do your research on whatever car you are buying. For example - decide on a particular car / engine - do your research on whats the common faults, write a list of what you want to check on the viewing and take you time going over this list. Dont get tempted by how the car looks or what you could do with it - buy with your head.

Ive had a bunch of cars I would have liked to get eibach+koni suspension added, resprayed, remapped - but I havnt cus of the cost involved. What you need is a fixer-upper to tinker with that you are gonna keep and a every day solid car that is cheap to run (id go for an older diesel or small engine petrol - both pre 03 in order to keep the sensors at a reasonable level).

andyseadog wrote: »
    ...why haven't you considered more japanese makes?...
    ottostreet wrote: »
    ...Buy something small, reliable and clean, and work on recovering yourself financially that way...
    Buy a 90's jap car...easier to fix and well more reliable than anything out there now :D
    MCMLXXV wrote: »
    ...You want something reliable and boring buy an early 0's jap car...
    pburns wrote: »
    ...I'd only buy one straight off the boat because there is a high likelihood it has been thrashed. I know some Altezza drivers will be up-in-arms, tarring everyone with the same brush etcetera etcetera but...that's the way I see it....You seem to be choosing 2nd/3rd/4th hand cars that appeal to young male drivers. There are lots of people in here that practice bangernomics pretty successfully. But they mostly go for old barges that have had a few corpulent, flatuant businessmen wafting about as the first few owners. Or mundane Japanese fodder. I know you tried that with the 323 but it sounds like that was an abused example also...
    voxpop wrote: »
    ...do your research on whats the common faults, write a list of what you want to check on the viewing and take you time going over this list. Dont get tempted by how the car looks or what you could do with it - buy with your head...

I do appreciate the advice lads. Believe me, I've done variations of everything mentioned above but nothing has worked. The car is worthless the way it is and I have no money tucked away to replace it.

To be fair, I was careful about buying the 323F. That was supposed to be my dull yet reliable compromise car. The stuff that's gone wrong with it has nothing to do with maintenance or it being abused. It's a nice clean, honest car that belonged to the family of the main dealer that sold it for most of it's life. I got it looked over. I checked the common problems. Everything that's gone wrong has been unusual, according the enthusiast forums.

If I managed to get something for my car and I bought a €1,000 carina, I'd have a €2,500 loan for a €1,000 Carina. On top of that, it would break my heart to drive a rough yet reliable car. I think I can handle a dull car though.

I think the only option I can think of now, is try my best to not spend a penny on the ugly thing and just scrap it when the NCT expires next January. It will break my heart to drive a car that has so much wrong with it.
    snubbleste wrote: »
    Hand your drivers licence back to the State.

Coincidentally, I just renewed my license yesterday!!

If I managed to get something for my car and I bought a €1,000 carina, I'd have a €2,500 loan for a €1,000 Carina. On top of that, it would break my heart to drive a rough yet reliable car. I think I can handle a dull car though.

I think the only option I can think of now, is try my best to not spend a penny on the ugly thing and just scrap it when the NCT expires next January. It will break my heart to drive a car that has so much wrong with it.

How much did the 2.0 Mazda cost last August?

The stuff that's gone wrong with it has nothing to do with maintenance or it being abused. It's a nice clean, honest car that belonged to the family of the main dealer
    It's you. You've got the curse.

Have you tried motorbikes? After the initial licencing and safety gear there is fantastic value in not just buying them but running them. For the same cash you could have a great motorbike...

fluffer wrote: »
    It's you. You've got the curse.

Have you tried motorbikes? After the initial licencing and safety gear there is fantastic value in not just buying them but running them. For the same cash you could have a great motorbike...
    Last March, I bought a cheap but rough, mechanically decent bike (low mileage 1998 Honda Blackbird). The plan was to use it as a guilt free daily driver. By September I had doubled my original outlay by getting it resprayed and a ton of other stuff < then I got clothes-lined by a chemical sprayer on a tractor and now it’s dead >

^^^^ Jaysus it's definitely him.

The OP must weigh 20 metric tonnes and somehow leak salt and sand into all mechanical devices all whilst driving his vehicles at full throttle down country laneways.

If not then he should never buy a lotto ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭natnifnolnacs

I was in a similar enough position about 18 months ago. I had some bad luck with a trade I took on a mk2 golf gti (which I had poured money into and just couldn't afford it any more). I took on a polo van which sheared a bolt in the gearbox meaning there was nowhere to attach one of the mounts without buying a new gearbox.

I cut my losses, sold it for a few quid, got a loan and started again. I bought the best focus I could find. In the 18 months outside of regular servicing it has cost me 2 front tyres. They are more entertaining to drive than most of their rivals and are pretty frugal on juice as well.

Incidentally, mine is up for sale. If you would like some details pm me, but even if you don't, buying something like this as long as you buy a good one should pretty much guarantee you no big bills and give you a chance to get your finances sorted out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I abide by these rules when buying older cars.
    Is it the type of car that previous owners would have drove the sh1t out of?
    Has it spent a lot of time near the coast?
    Is it in above average condition for its age.
    Buy a car with factory fitted extras, 1 owner from new. If they paid extra for a new car, they likely serviced it properly.
    Avoid multiple owner/ after market accessories. Car very likely got better stereo instead of oilchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

You can get a new Toyota Aygo for around 8000eur or a Renault Clio for around 9000eur and there are a few more cars you can get around that price range after the scrappage scheme... If you wanna get a new car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

STOP BEING A PERFECTIONIST :D

Seriously if you don't hang onto the 323 go down to a smaller engined car, mabey an early '00s corolla and DON'T modify the car! Just drive it and service it and don't give a fcuk if its scratched/dented/steelies etc etc. Drive it for a few years and save your pennys and then and only then get a decent car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Banger-nomics really only works out if you or someone you know can fix them either before or when something goes wrong (eg sort out the little noise before the timing belt breaks etc). Even with a reasonably priced mechanic the parts bills can soon mount up, so you'd want to look at getting bits second hand if possible.

Older cars need a bit of TLC and a lot of attention. Just keep driving them till they stop never really works out too well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

I could not agree more!

Bought pug 406 oo', it had scratches, bruises, battlescars on it, at that time I got very very cheap. No one wanted it because it had those scars. It was a spotless in engine bay and suspension was like brand new!

I drove it, misses drove it, I sold it to friend and she still drives it! She even forgot her nct was out, she just booked it off, went there and got her cert! Mechanic did not even touched it!

Clean running bits > clean body.

I got 500eu worth ford Mondeo now. Got 200eu spent on it on bushings, filters, service, brake hoses.

So far my savings: insurance stoped from 1100eu to 513eu. Taxed droped from 1000eu to 445. Petrol: 50 eu weekly to 15~20 eu weekly.

That little Mondeo payed for it self already, but by driving it I die inside little by little...

Point is: you get really really unlucky. Buy old jap mobile. Or old ford as Ford parts prices are cheap as hell!

Don't be afraid of dent,but be carefull, usually sellers try to distract you with them: " oh she is mint lad, only that dent on there! "

How much did the 2.0 Mazda cost last August?

It looks great, like
    323F-1.jpg
    I paid €1,800 I think. It was on the basis that it needed about €600 spent on a TB, service and a drop link. Both coil packs went soon after that, and there was some other stuff. I'm about €3,500 into the car, all told. I have yet to do both front wishbones and shocks, cat, possible sticking caliper, noisey pulley (or a/c pump or alternator etc) and now this airbag thing :rolleyes: I'd have to put at least another €1,000 in just to get it through the NCT (which isn't until January, luckily).

It's nothing major. It's all reasonable stuff but it's a bread and butter car with big parts bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Hmmm - what's it costing you to tax & insure (and when is it taxed until) and what are you spending weekly on petrol ?

Are the shocks leaking ? Looks a decent car at a good price :)