Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aintree

• 05-04-2011 5:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭

Aintree Festival

Aintree 14:00
    This could be the rematch of Big Bucks vs Grand Crus and could well turn out that way in the race. Big Bucks in my opinion only ever does enough to win and that is why his win in this race last year didn’t look that good. Grand Crus I think was given a good ride at Cheltenham and still wasn’t good enough and i don’t think he will reverse the form here, especially as his only previous run at Aintree was very poor. I would imagine that Big Bucks will go off favourite and Grand Crus will be about 4-1, at these prices I would not touch either as no value here for me. I would be looking for the horse that i feel will finish 3rd if the 2 protagonists run up to their best. This horse i think will be Oscar Whisky should he run. He ran a very good 3rd in the Champion Hurdle beaten by 2 superstars i think. He has won over 2m4f and this would be an easy 3 miles. His previous efforts he had won without breaking sweat and I feel his speed was not quite there over 2 miles and this will suit much more. One lively outsider that could also surprise is Souffleur, who has terrific form around Aintree including 2nd in this race last year.

Oscar Whisky 2pt e/w
    Souffleur 1/2pt e/w

14:30
    The Juvenile Hurdle I feel can only go the way of Zarkander. A fast learning individual has looked impressive in both starts to date. Zarkander is related to Zarkarva so running on an easy 2 miles will really suit. I have looked through the rest of the field and can’t see anything that could be worth an e/w bet.

Zarkander 5 pt win

15:05
    What A Freind is surely going in the National so wont be contesting this. Long Run has also been declared a non runner for this and could well go to the ‘Tank’ Denman, who finished a gallant 2nd to Long Run in the Gold Cup, however he hasn’t impressed much round Aintree before and I feel he could let himself down again. Voy Por Ustedes finished a great 5th on his comeback in the Ryanair and should be there or thereabouts again with horse form reading 2141 at Aintree and his 4th he was only beaten by 5 lengths. 3 miles would stretch him at most places but as I have said before this is an easy track and so he should be able to stay the distance. Mon Parrain is a complete unknown who made a very easy british debut success at Sandown however this is a big step up in class. I would give a chance to Carole’s Legacy who is ever so consistent and also Punchestowns who if he bounced back to form would have a great chance. I would be interested to see the jockey bookings for these two and would side with the horse than Barry Geraghty selects.

Voy Por Ustedes 1.5pt e/w
    Punchestown or Carole’s Legacy 1pt e/w

15:40
    Baby Run was very unlucky when falling 2 out at Cheltenham under Willie Twiston-Davies and will surely go close to making amends if accident free. Blu Teen has gone back to Paul Nicholls and was 3rd in this race last year and could make the frame again. Kilty Storm skipped Cheltenham for this race and always runs well under rules in this company. My Way De Solzen showed he was still a force in this company when winning easily last time and has a previous 2nd to Mighty Man at the course. Silver Adonis last years winner who has been out of sorts since also contests this race. Turko is the other that makes the shortlist after his very easy win last time out.

Baby Run 1pt e/w
    Kilty Storm 1pt e/w
    My Way De Solzen 1pt e/w

16:15
    The Red Rum Handicap chase will leave a lot out of the handicap if Woolcombe Folly runs for Paul Nicholls. A claimer is down to ride to take some of the weight off but surely something lower down is better handicapped. Tchico Polos is Ruby Walsh’s ride and could go close after running well this season with only one poor run behind Master Minded at Ascot. Last years winner Chaninbar is up 15 lb since and isn’t very reliable when starting his races. Keki Buku could be interesting here, sent off favourite for a hurdle race at Aintree last November and travelled wide the whole way before getting tired. If I was forced into a bet I would suggest a small e/w on Keki Buku.

Keki Buku 1/2pt e/w

16:50
    This Grade 2 Novice Chase features the Jewson Novice chase runner up Wishful thinking, however his poor run at Aintree last time doesn’t fill me with confidence. A lot of these could run well but all have question marks. Champion Chase 4th Medermit has course form albeit in a 3 runner race against 2 much inferior opposition, however his speed could help him more than at Cheltenham. I think the unexposed Royal Charm could well win this as all his races he has been impressive with the exception being his latest where he was very reluctant to run and only just got up past Leo’s Lucky Star. I would be keen on backing him as he has the flat speed and should go close if he improves a bit.

Royal Charm 1 ½ pt e/w

17:25
    The final race of the day is a listed hurdle in which some old stalwarts take on the new crop of decent hurdlers. Sir Harry Ormesher beat Black Jack Blues in this race last year and is only 5lb higher here and despite not showing any recent form could run a big race. Ski Sunday also has a decent 2nd at the course when finishing behind Walkon but beating the very class Starluck. Orsippus won well around the course last year and is only 5lb higher this year and showed some form last time out when 3rd at Cheltenham. Kangaroo Court never really took to fences and despite a poor effort in the Imperial Cup he could go close if recapturing his early hurdle form.

Ski Sunday 1pt e/w
    Orsippus 1pt e/w
    Kangaroo Court ½ pt e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Peddlers to beat Binocular again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Voy Por Ustedes doesn't go for the bowl.
    Punchestowns definitely for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

00dyel wrote: »
    Aintree Festival

<snip>

17:25
    The final race of the day is a listed hurdle in which some old stalwarts take on the new crop of decent hurdlers. Sir Harry Ormesher beat Black Jack Blues in this race last year and is only 5lb higher here and despite not showing any recent form could run a big race. Ski Sunday also has a decent 2nd at the course when finishing behind Walkon but beating the very class Starluck. Orsippus won well around the course last year and is only 5lb higher this year and showed some form last time out when 3rd at Cheltenham. Kangaroo Court never really took to fences and despite a poor effort in the Imperial Cup he could go close if recapturing his early hurdle form.

Ski Sunday 1pt e/w
    Orsippus 1pt e/w
    Kangaroo Court ½ pt e/w

WTF? I'm using that like fecker from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Oscar Whisky obviously going for the 2.5mile.
    Souffleur not in the race.
    Voy Por going for the 2.5mile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Voy Por absent for the declarations. Not going to Aintree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

He's been retired. Wasn't sound after his run in the Ryanair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

2.00 - Grands Crus - each way
    2.30 - Zarkandar - Win
    3.05 - Denman - Win
    3.40 - Baby Run - Win
    4.15 - Woolcombe Folly - each way
    4.50 - Medermit - Win
    5.25 - Problema Tic - each way

Looks easy money to me, never said that before though :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

just 2 bets today, carlito brigante e/w and turko to win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Here are my opinion on the first for what its worth,

14.00 - Carlito B to win, he ran a blinder to win at Cheltenham, however this is a tiny stake as Big Bucks is probably free money, Im just hoping that his age will mean he has peaked at cheltenham and is off form for this.

14.00 - Won in the Dark to place, his finish at cork last time out was brilliant, another 10 yards and he would have won, at 50/1 its a nice E/W

Now back to my essay ugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

eilo1 wrote: »
    Here are my opinion on the first for what its worth,

14.00 - Carlito B to win, he ran a blinder to win at Cheltenham, however this is a tiny stake as Big Bucks is probably free money, Im just hoping that his age will mean he has peaked at cheltenham and is off form for this.

14.00 - Won in the Dark to place, his finish at cork last time out was brilliant, another 10 yards and he would have won, at 50/1 its a nice E/W

Now back to my essay ugh!

You do know BB is only 8 yes !!

Im backing Won in the Dark also however im backing ew at 14/1 without Big Bucks and Grand Crus take them out of the race and its pretty open imo.

Just checked the post there, Your right!

I just assumed he was older since he has won (the world hurdle) 3 times and only ran 3 times this season.

ah well still hope he is knackered!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Big Bucks - nuff said :D
    Grandouet - Think the flatter track will suit, look how he travelled in Chelt
    Punchestowns - Jumping the main concern, dont think the quick return and flat track will suit Denman , not at those prices anyway.
    Baby Run - again slight concern that he fell here last year and at Chelt but really is the best of these
    Tchio Polos - Himself on board Wollcombe left in to keep he's weight down and Q marks over most of these.
    Medermit - Think he will really appreciate the step up and never settled in Chelt, better than that.
    Russian War - This is a red hot handicap and could make a case for half a dozen of them but this looks a plot job from Gordon Elliot, small e/w.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Morgans

Turko for me. Taken 6/1. Have done a small reverse forecast with Fort View. Think he is the danger.

Big Bucks at 4/6 is very tempting as is Denman at 11/8. 11/4 for the double. Hard to turn your nose up at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Technophobe

for me....

Grand Crus and Karabak e/w
    Grandouet Kumbeswhar e/w
    Carole Legacy e/w
    Turko and Mr Apples e/w
    Sportsline & safari journet e/w
    Medemerit
    Bothy & Notus de la Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Some race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    You do know BB is only 8 yes !!

Im backing Won in the Dark also however im backing ew at 14/1 without Big Bucks and Grand Crus take them out of the race and its pretty open imo.

GET IN !!!!!!!!!!!!

Delighted with Won in the Dark coming 3rd,

Also great to see a great horse win even if I did loose:)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

What a horse. He made that look so easy.

Big Bucks is so sexy, free money every time, god i love him.

Dont do doubles and now the question is whether or not to throw the lot on Denman as if it was a double.

I'd like to take on Denman but I cant see with what.

I can't believe Big Bucks was 4/6, not complaining though. :)

Morgans wrote: »
    Dont do doubles and now the question is whether or not to throw the lot on Denman as if it was a double.

I'd like to take on Denman but I cant see with what.

Pretty much thinking the same, if and its a big if Punchestowns can put in a clean round of jumping could be dangerous but its highly unlikely.

Have a feeling Grandouet might do Zarkandar here.

Grandouet ew the safe option here I think. Think he has a decent chance of turning over the fav and playing it safe as I think it would be a big disappointment (for me financially) if he found three better.

Why do I continue to doubt Ruby and the favourites :(

Morgans wrote: »
    Grandouet ew the safe option here I think. Think he has a decent chance of turning over the fav and playing it safe as I think it would be a big disappointment (for me financially) if he found three better.

Thought it was a winner coming to the hurdle but also saw it happening four strides before the hurdle. Especially after Palawi had flattened the one down the back.

Hmm Zarkandar backers lucky there, would have been tight but Grandouet was travelling well.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Hmm Zarkandar backers lucky there, would have been tight but Grandouet was travelling well.

I think Grandouet would have won and I was on Zarkandar(well a treble).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭naughto

went for deman in the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,030 ✭✭✭Soarer

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Why do I continue to doubt Ruby and the favourites :(

I literally know next to nothing about horses, and even I know don't back against Ruby when he's on a favourite.

I think it's Rule 1 in Horse Racing For Dummies, 3rd Edition.

Carole's Legacy in the next, avoiding Ruby and the favourite again :P

Love the see Denman jump them into the ground, for him to have only won one race in the past three years is very harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Denman must win here

Carole's Legacy second, not bad.

Exact same performance as Imperial Commander last year. Could have been pulled up after five fences.

I know he has die hard fans but he is costly. I doubt there has been a better horse ever that has failed to win a graded chase in 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Eire-Dearg wrote: »
    Carole's Legacy second, not bad.

i had her e/w. for a second i tought she was going to catch nacarat. nice way to end her racing career

Same, I thought she had Nacarat reeled in but his jumping was terrific.

Baby Run, what a horse. :)

delighted baby run won it! didnt back it, but had the 3rd at 25/1 woop woop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

Wonder will the guy on here who gave young Twiston Davies all the stick after the Cheltenham fall admit he was wrong.

I was waiting on Baby Run in Chelt for a nice patent... but wasn't to be. Made up for some it today though: had him in a patent with Big Bucks and Zarkandar :)

edit- it wasn't me who gave him stick over it!

Wonder will the guy on here who gave young Twiston Davies all the stick after the Cheltenham fall admit he was wrong.

LOL I was thinking the same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,370 ✭✭✭naughto

any thing for the next lads lost big on deman the f1cker

Woolcombe Folly e/w for me.

im going for woolcombe folly, I think he is talented but has a questionable attitude unfortunately so a small stake.

Oiseau De Nuit for me, tentatively. Carrying a lot of weight ... but @ 15-2 worth a small e/w shot I think

Big gamble on sports line... so a second small e/w bet for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Great ride on a great horse for Twiston Davies on Baby Run

Waiting on Ruby in the last for a 4 figure lucky 31, one time and all that ;)

Didnt quite click but with 4 winners and having Russian War backed(see my selections page1) well up for the day and cant be greedy!