Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When was the last time you went to confession?

• 05-04-2011 8:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Seeing as we're a catholic nation (apparently) and confession (penance) is one of the sacraments which catholics are obliged to participate in (on pain of eternal damnation), when was the last time you went to confession?

Me personally, I think I was about 12 (and that was only because my youngest brother was doing his first confession at the time)

I'm not a christian anymore so I was about 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

My last time was my first time. Couldn't think of any sins so I made some up.

Think I was about 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Akrasia wrote: »
    Seeing as we're a catholic nation (apparently) and confession (penance) is one of the sacraments which catholics are obliged to participate in (on pain of eternal damnation), when was the last time you went to confession?

Me personally, I think I was about 12 (and that was only because my youngest brother was doing his first confession at the time)

(Cold beer, large packet of Hunky Dorys) Awaiting the usual suspect with "This makes me uncomfortable" so i shall plead that it gets moved to another forum.

Oh but about 16 for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Do you have to go before your confirmation, in the same way you go before communion? If not, then whenever the school last made me go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

According to the Census Religion thread, most people around here are atheist/agnostic, with I'd say about half them actually having a clue that either of those words mean, so all you get is "when I got First Confession." Then other lads will think that isn't cool enough so the age will get smaller and smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

The last time would have been when I decided I didn't believe in religion. So prob about 17yrs ago. Would have been 14yrs old I think.
    Even though I was made go to mass, I never took part in communion, confession or pray. Was there in body for a few years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Last time I went to confession was in primary school when we were made to do so.

I didn't care, got me out of class for a while :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

Oh look, another lets-make-fun-of-the-Catholics troll thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

According to the Census Religion thread, most people around here are atheist/agnostic, with I'd say about half them actually having a clue that either of those words mean, so all you get is "when I got First Confession." Then other lads will think that isn't cool enough so the age will get smaller and smaller.
    Never. How cool am I huh? Dont hate me because you aint me, uncool Catholic people. You confess your uncoolness

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Confession, I can't even remember the last time I had commuinion...

...not that I'm looking to get some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

ha it was whenever they make you go to confession i cant remember if its during communion or confirmation but i remember one of my "sins" was not emptying the dishwasher when my mam told me to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Went in secondary school I believe... bout 15.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Probably when I was about 11/12! I was leaving primary school at the time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

JonJoeDali wrote: »

Who's making fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I guess that must have been before my first communion... decades ago.

If you really think this is making fun of anybody, you need to get out more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Who's making fun?

Bit of a persecution complex me thinks..

Throw them to the lions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

When I was being confirmed probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

TPD wrote: »
    My last time was my first time. Couldn't think of any sins so I made some up.

Think I was about 10.

Either you're a saint, or there really is nothing to do in Donegal!

For me, it was just after my confirmation. The bishop opened my eyes to the Catholic church when he said to me "Kneel down you stupid idiot" when I went to be confirmed (I'd been in hospital, and didn't know what I had to do.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Oh look another "lets make fun of non Catholics who call them selves Catholic but don't actually do anything Catholic other than call them selves Catholic and tick the catholic box on the census form thread"
    Down with this sort of thing:D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

T'was a simple time, many moons ago! In short, don't remember.

Oh, and I'm also Atheist.

Oh look another "lets make fun of non Catholics who call them selves Catholic but don't actually do anything Catholic other than call them selves Catholic and tick the catholic box on the census form thread"
    Down with this sort of thing:D

*Waits for someone to mention child abuse*

I think that's why they put in the partition... :pac:

Nevore wrote: »
    I think that's why they put in the partition... :pac:

Evidently you haven't been to confession in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Just before my confirmation the school brought us over to the curch

"Bless me Father for I have sinned I said a bad word to my mammy and i hit my brother"

Got 2 hail marys and 1 our father

Its a load of crap confession

Evidently you haven't been to confession in years.

Is it done face to face now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Was a teen when I stopped because I no longer bought into that lark. A few years later, coming down from an eventful acid trip I popped in for a confession because I thought I had opened a third eye but it was just the drugs. Fair play to the padre for giving me his time, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I used to go at christmas every year but just to appease the religious parents. Then I let it all spill out and the priest went and snitched on me. Broadband is quite good in Portlaoise jail these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Never. What do I win?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

dpe wrote: »
    Never. What do I win?

An eternity in hell, enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I'm a heathen too, but i just find it quite interesting that most catholics will make the effort to go to mass at least once a year at christmas but confession doesn't even seem to make it onto the calender.

Especially considering the fact that going to mass won't by itself save your soul but dying without having been to confession could result in a face to face introduction to the hooved horned fella.

Is it all down to appearances? people can see that you were at mass, but confession is private and usually done when the church is empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

An eternity in hell, enjoy!

*buys factor 10 million sunblock*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Either you're a saint, or there really is nothing to do in Donegal!

For me, it was just after my confirmation. The bishop opened my eyes to the Catholic church when he said to me "Kneel down you stupid idiot" when I went to be confirmed (I'd been in hospital, and didn't know what I had to do.)

I was in London at the time, was either well behaved or didn't view my actions as sinful..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

What's confession? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 celts

1996 shocking.I'm going to try and go sometime though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm not a catholic... so never. :)

When I was younger though I used to be jealous of people who did do it. I thought it looked really interesting. Like how does it work? Do you save up all the bad things you do and make a mental note to confess them or do you just go in and see what you can remember? Do you make stuff up for something to say?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

watna wrote: »
    I'm not a catholic... so never. :)

When I was younger though I used to be jealous of people who did do it. I thought it looked really interesting. Like how does it work? Do you save up all the bad things you do and make a mental note to confess them or do you just go in and see what you can remember? Do you make stuff up for something to say?
    When you're a kid, pretty much. Either that or just make something up to have something to say. For older people it's probably more serious, and lots might go in with something specific in mind to confess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

Akrasia wrote: »

confession is not a real sacrament it was invented by the catholic church so that they would know what was going on in the community

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Many, many years ago when I was a child and brainwashed into swallowing such rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I was probably 11 the last time and made do it primary school thinking back I don't think I've ever believed in "our lord".

When I was in secondary school we went down to the local Cathedral to look at some of the art work. Confession was taking place as we walked in, very liberal art teacher rather loudly came out with.....

*old woman comes out of confession box*

Teacher: Would you look at that auld one coming out of the confession box! At her age what fecking sins would you have!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Fergality

It's got to be about twelve or thirteen years ago at this stage. But really - I'm not just saying this for the lulz - being in a dark box with a priest never appealed to me. For what it's worth, I don't know anyone I grew up with or anyone around my age that actually goes to confession these days. I would presume it's mainly just the really old, the really young, and the odd teacher wandering in these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm not a christian anymore so I was about 10

there is a big difference between being a christian and a member of the catholic cult

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

there is a big difference between being a christian and a member of the catholic cult
    not really cause catholics are christians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

2 months ago. and christmas before that. around sep before that. Kinda every few months for me.

If i go to hell though i figure i wont be alone and at least its warm ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

2/3 years ago, could never think of any sins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Funny enough I was talking about this in class today, first year trip to knock :).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I reckons I've committed more infractions than sins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

About 14 years since I last went to confession.

I always felt stupid making up 'sins' while I waited to go in.
    "I didn't do what my ma told me to do, I took my brothers crunchie and ate it, then lied about eating it":rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

i went for a while after i made my communion i think, but nowadays i take my six year old to mass so he has some idea what's going on when it comes to making his communion and it wont just be an exercise in how much money he gets.

i hadnt really been to a church in the intervening years but i have to admit that going to mass on a sunday now is totally different to when i used go to mass as a child. my teenage years i used sneak out the back of the church to the arcade across the road soon as my father's back was turned!

its actually quite refreshing. and if i say to people lately "cant meet because im going to mass", i do get some looks like "huh?", but i find for myself that its like a half hour away from the madness of the world outside as such... :o

i will tell the truth in the census - i am a roman catholic, enough of this "no religion" nonsense!

yes the sigs bother me, but only because i see no point in them so didnt comment before! there, i said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

1975, I was 15.