Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you Join the PSNI?

• 03-04-2011 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

I'm going with a girl from Omagh and have been the last number of years.

We live together down south together and I have wanted to join the Gardai for the last 3 or 4 years but with the recruitment ban i cannot.

We haven't ruled out living up the North at some stage together in the future and I would have considered joining the PSNI if i was to move North.

The latest happening north of the border would cause one to rethink, would it completely deter you?

I have plenty of Catholic friends from the North who would love to join the PSNI also by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Saila wrote: »
    no

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Unless you want your live to be ruled by militant republicans, then no. But if you enjoy freedom, then go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

If you want to join the PSNI then go for it, don't let the actions of a few cowardly scumbags deter you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If I couldn't find a job down here then I'd have no problem joining the PSNI. There's actually a recruitment forum here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I wouldn't join the PSNI, i'd join the British army though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

What reasons do you have for wanting to join An Gardi Siochana? Would those same reasons not apply to a different police force?

So...

If you can't get into AGS, then why not the PSNI? Plus they have bigger guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Yeah of course I would.

What reasons do you have for wanting to join An Gardi Siochana? Would those same reasons not apply to a different police force?

So...

If you can't get into AGS, then why not the PSNI? Plus they have bigger guns.

Its just something I've always been interested in to be honest.

I cant understand why the "militant republicans wouldn't want some catholics in the police force.

Would they not want some of "their own" so to speak within the force, maybe pulling for them in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Go for it. And the best of luck if you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

no, but I wouldn't be a cop of any sort tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Wouldn't join anything like that personally, but if I was interested in working in that type of service I can't see why not. Who gives a **** what pseudo-Republics/Loyalists think?

Is it only protestants in other civil servant jobs up north or are catholics in the Police force the only ones targeted?

no, but I wouldn't be a cop of any sort tbf

Each to their own. One of my mates said he would never be a copper anywhere too.
    Whats your excuse? No interest in it?

whycliff wrote: »

I cant understand why the "militant republicans wouldn't want some catholics in the police force.

Would they not want some of "their own" so to speak within the force, maybe pulling for them in some way.
    Is it only protestants in other civil servant jobs up north or are catholics in the Police force the only ones targeted?

First off, stop all this bolox of bringing religion/sectarianism into it.

Join them if you want to, leave religion at the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Each to their own. One of my mates said he would never be a copper anywhere too.
    Whats your excuse? No interest in it?

because it would require me to enforce laws I don't believe in.

I cannot abide cops turning a blind eye to some sh1t because they feel like it.

I don't think it's so bad anymore to be honest, and if you do find yourself in any trouble I'd imagine Catholics, Protestants, Muslims, Jews, Buddhists, Atheists and everything else you can think of would be at the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Didn't they target a Dominos pizza delivery guy for been “collaborators of British rule in Ireland”. They would shoot a cat for letting a soldier rub it they are that stupid.

They're genuine questions. I'm not trolling.
    How can you say join them if you want to and leave religion at the door with what has happened.
    Thats a bolox of a statement to be honest.
    Would these not be things you would consider if you were to join the PSNI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I would if I was Robocop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Would it deter me? Yes. Working for one of the more overtly political government agencies there (though of all the people you might 'go after' my crowd probably wouldn't rank too highly) we all had to be trained on how to check our cars for carbombs and were given equipment to keep to be able to do it wherever we were. If I have to do that to be a desk jockey I can only imagine what the PSNI are up against with their officers.

So in short, no, I'd pass.

They're genuine questions. I'm not trolling.
    How can you say join them if you want to and leave religion at the door with what has happened.
    Mmm... Let me think — Because it's a thing of the past?! Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

I think after what happened yesterday, its not as easy as leaving it at the door.

These lads have no respect for lives and people trying to get on with their daily lives, they will kill anyone they think deserves killing, and if I did ever think about joining the PSNI, I couldnt help but have this in the back of my mind all the time.

Nailz wrote: »

I am over it. I would consider joining the PSNI and have thought about it.
    Did you even read the entire thread?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

I would never join any police force.

Are you a practising catholic or do you only consider yourself one because that's what you were born into? I really don't see why it should be a deciding factor in whether or not you join the police force. It's the PSNI.. people who do join, know what to expect and what the threats are.

That's a good question, I was born into it. I dont practice it whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Call me crazy if ya want but I wouldn't be deterred by the recent death in Northern Ireland. I reckon that when my time is up, it's up. That's what's made me want to join the PSNI or the British army in the hope of deployment. I want to experience something that can't be experienced in civilain life, and I believe that these avenues exceed my expectations.

CHealy wrote: »
    I think after what happened yesterday, its not as easy as leaving it at the door.

These lads have no respect for lives and people trying to get on with their daily lives, they will kill anyone they think deserves killing, and if I did ever think about joining the PSNI, I couldnt help but have this in the back of my mind all the time.

Weighing up the dangers is all well and good, but that ****e of "Having one on the inside" is utter bolox, and is what I meant by leaving it at the door.

The dangers are something you have to make a judgement call on youself.

Would I join any police force? No. Simply because I'm not cut out for it, and my occasional bending of the law would probably not be looked kindly upon.

Can I ask a what if here? What if you got into AGS? What if NI was signed back over to the Republic? What if sectarian forces on the other side of the fence went on a combing campaign of AGS? Would that deter you from joining?

Weighing up the dangers is all well and good, but that ****e of "Having one on the inside" is utter bolox, and is what I meant by leaving it at the door.

The dangers are something you have to make a judgement call on youself.

Would I join any police force? No. Simply because I'm not cut out for it, and my occasional bending of the law would probably not be looked kindly upon.

Can I ask a what if here? What if you got into AGS? What if NI was signed back over to the Republic? What if sectarian forces on the other side of the fence went on a combing campaign of AGS? Would that deter you from joining?

I don't think that would be the same thing. The sectarian forces who targeted the chap yesterday done so because he was a catholic in the PSNI. Sectarian forces who might target AGS if NI was "signed" back to the republic might target either AGS as a whole or predominantly protestants who joined.

It probably is utter bollox alright, it was thinking out loud more than anything, I just can't get my head around why they targeted that chap yesterday.

Of what benefit is it to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Nailz wrote: »

how can he "leave it at the door" if the inbreds are targeting Catholic members of the PSNI?

That's a good question, I was born into it. I dont practice it whatsoever.

I'd say the same goes for many of the 'catholic' members of the PSNI. They use this thing called 'perceived community background' to split members into one of two groups.. protestant & catholic. It's a bit ridiculous really.

http://www.psni.police.uk/index/updates/updates_statistics/updates_workforce_composition_figures.htm

I don't think that would be the same thing. The sectarian forces who targeted the chap yesterday done so because he was a catholic in the PSNI. Sectarian forces who might target AGS if NI was "signed" back to the republic might target either AGS as a whole or predominantly protestants who joined.

They're targeting the PSNI in general. My view on yesterdays attack is to try and drive a wedge back into the community in Northern Ireland, so that catholics are afraid to join the PSNI in case mouth breathing ****ebags attack them, so that the PSNI is a wholly Protestant organisation again, so that they can continue with the ****e of "Oh, well they're all durty black probs, which is why we're attacking them."

I'd be happier seeing people join the PSNI en masse, regardless of their religion, to put these ****ebags behind bars.

Forget about my "What If" statement, it missed the mark altogether.

It probably is utter bollox alright, it was thinking out loud more than anything, I just can't get my head around why they targeted that chap yesterday.

Of what benefit is it to them.

Because they are scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Yes I would join the PSNI, But unfortunately iv convictions in the Republic so I wouldn't have a hope of hell of getting a job off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭fran17

if your interested in that type of career then dont let the actions of a cowardly few deter you.but as a catholic in the psni i would'nt be expecting too many promotions either

They're targeting the PSNI in general. My view on yesterdays attack is to try and drive a wedge back into the community in Northern Ireland, so that catholics are afraid to join the PSNI in case mouth breathing ****ebags attack them, so that the PSNI is a wholly Protestant organisation again, so that they can continue with the ****e of "Oh, well they're all durty black probs, which is why we're attacking them."

I'd be happier seeing people join the PSNI en masse, regardless of their religion, to put these ****ebags behind bars.

Forget about my "What If" statement, it missed the mark altogether.

Agree.

There are plenty of Irish all over the world members of local police forces, its madness to think that you'd be in fear of joining the one closest to you .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Not a chance, no desire to be a cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

Don't see myself as a cop but comparing the professional standards and general ability of the PSNI and AGS is laughable, I know many guards and two PSNI officers, essentially I'd pick the PSNI because its twice the force AGS is and they get GUNS :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

thank you, people have to see that segregrating people because of their religion is not a natural or human thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I would be deterred a bit by recent events, but not enough to stop me if it was something on which I had set my heart. Funnily enough though, while I wouldn't mind being a cop in the UK and would love to be a Guard, the PSNI as a job just doesn't seem anywhere near as attractive, because of all the security measures, the fact they are heavily armed, among other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

Know a lot of Catholic guys in the NI police force. They say its a great place to work. They actually have a 50:50 ratio recruitment from both communities. Real pity to see those F****ing terrorists ruin peoples lives over nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I wouldn't join the PSNI, I would have no interest in having pot shots taken at me by knuckledraggers in Celtic jerseys who have a collective IQ of about room temperature.

Also if I did die in the line of duty, I would hate the fact that some equally stupid/blinkered/bigoted people in the southern Irish media would use my death as a political football in order to attack the Good Friday Agreement or something.

I wouldn't join the PSNI, I would have no interest in having pot shots taken at me by knuckledraggers in Celtic jerseys who have a collective IQ of about room temperature.

Slightly ironic sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭ForzaSaints

No, definatly not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

i tried to join the gardai but i errrr failed to get in so yeah id join the PSNI if i lived in the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Slightly ironic sentiment.

What's ironic about not wanting to get blown sky high by morons who have just about discovered fire?

sonic85 wrote: »
    i tried to join the gardai but i errrr failed to get in so yeah id join the PSNI if i lived in the north.

If you lived in the North, or if you were from the North?

There's a difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

sonic85 wrote: »
    nothing stopping you renting up north during your application process and from there on,you're able to join the PSNI.

I spent a lot of time in the training barracks for the PSNI and Befast harbour police,both outfits are highly equipped to deal with any situation and the training and facilities are top notch,i'd love to do it myself.