Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cannabis skunk, heart problems!!

• 03-04-2011 2:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭

yesterday i smoked skunk weed for the first time and it was a very unplesant experience, i have gotton high on cannabis resin plenty of times never had a problem. i smoked a 2 third's of a joint & felt good for 5 mins, then my heart rate went through the roof, my chest got tight and i went very pale and white as a ghost. i was stone cold and looked as though i was about to die, i felt faint like and had really rapid heart palpitations. i thought i was having a heart attack or my heart would stop. i had to go to hospital and i have to go back again to get a scan of my heart in case i have underlying problems with my heart or anything. yes i know stupid of me, i never had this problem before.
    i know skunk is alot more stronger than regular weed, but i wanted to know if anyone else has ever had similar experience or has it affected it you like that before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭twinsen

why would you smoke cannabis in first place ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Maybe your boxers were too small

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

twinsen wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Are you related to this guy OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

You pulled a whitey, it was too strong a hit for you.

Light weight!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Did it look anything like this?

http://inthu.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/skunk.jpg

If it did, you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Nodferatu wrote: »
    yesterday i smoked skunk weed for the first time and it was a very unplesant experience, i have gotton high on cannabis resin plenty of times never had a problem. i smoked a 2 third's of a joint & felt good for 5 mins, then my heart rate went through the roof, my chest got tight and i went very pale and white as a ghost. i was stone cold and looked as though i was about to die, i felt faint like and had really rapid heart palpitations. i thought i was having a heart attack or my heart would stop. i had to go to hospital and i have to go back again to get a scan of my heart in case i have underlying problems with my heart or anything. yes i know stupid of me, i never had this problem before.
    i know skunk is alot more stronger than regular weed, but i wanted to know if anyone else has ever had similar experience or has it affected it you like that before.

I've heard of heart palpitations from strong stuff before. All things in moderation, oul flower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Probably a panic attack...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Why would you smoke a Skunk sure? Poor thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Everyone knows that smoking is bad...

Friend of mine had one hit off a bong and same thing happened. It's just too strong for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Just don't smoke it, problem solved.

I honestly think the negatives of cannabis are somewhat overlooked,
    seen it mess quite a few people up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

eejit ..a whitey is all you got, but you panicked like a bitch and went to the hospital, have you any of that skunk left ? iv only polm hash here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

You got the greenies, then you freaked out and may have had a panic attack by the sounds of it. Very unpleasant, but nothing to worry about in the long-term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

i had to go to hospital and i have to go back again to get a scan of my heart in case i have underlying problems with my heart or anything. .

If I was in your position I'd be suing the hospital for malpractice. The correct treatment should have been 60g of mars bar to be ingested orally followed by 300ml of coffee while listening to Kashmir by Led Zeppelin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Whitener, you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Chloroplast

There is weed going around Ireland thats mixed with grit to add weight and other chemicals to increase effect,

the "other chemicals" are known to seriously increase the heart rate.

don't buy off the street, or your friends,don't even take smokes off your friends weed. grow your own, its the only way to be sure your not getting poisoned, which is one of the many reasons it needs to be legalized.

latenia wrote: »
    If I was in your position I'd be suing the hospital for malpractice. The correct treatment should have been 60g of mars bar to be ingested orally followed by 300ml of coffee while listening to Kashmir by Led Zeppelin.

not sure about the coffee... big glass glass of OJ!

first time i was in Amsterdam I had a bit a flip out in the coffee shop simular to the OP.. the people there were pros and just gave me a glass of sugar water and after a few mins I was sorted.

All I'd smoked prior to that visit was ditch weed and soap bar so I was taken quite by surprise as to how strong the strains were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I think the OP means weed by "skunk". It's what they always call it on the news :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

LoL, you had a "whitey", a mild panic attack enduced by the skunk. Well done though, your place in the ER was probably not required by someone who actually needed medical attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Just don't smoke it, problem solved.

I honestly think the negatives of cannabis are somewhat overlooked,
    seen it mess quite a few people up.

No, you didn't.

You saw people mess themselves up with it, huge difference. It's not like it jumped into their bloodstream and accosted their lives.

Bit of self control ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

Guill wrote: »
    You pulled a whitey, it was too strong a hit for you.

Light weight!

It happens mate. No big deal. Me and 3 mates said we would split an ounce one day and 2 of em pulled a whitey and left...... num num for me and my other buddy ;)

On a side note never pulled a whitey but that head shop stuff(king B in particular) drove me loopy a few times, and I mean absolutely dotty:o. Had hollucinations and everything, MIGHTY STUFF :D

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    I think the OP means weed by "skunk". It's what they always call it on the news :pac:

Skunk is a potent version of weed is all. Harder to get in Ireland but a very nice stoned off it compared to normal weed that goes around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

LoL, you had a "whitey", a mild panic attack enduced by the skunk. Well done though, your place in the ER was probably not required by someone who actually needed medical attention.

Aren't panic attacks considered to be a medical condition? I doubt even the doctors would chastise someone for visiting the ER under such circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The word skunk is as generic as weed these days. You just had weed. If you've been smoking hash or soap you just never had a spliff before and you overdid it on your first try.

If your ever in that situation again, sugar calms you down.

Lavattack wrote: »

It happens mate. No big deal. Me and 3 mates said we would split an ounce one day and 2 of em pulled a whitey and left...... num num for me and my other buddy ;)

On a side note never pulled a whitey but that head shop stuff(king B in particular) drove me loopy a few times, and I mean absolutely dotty:o. Had hollucinations and everything, MIGHTY STUFF :D
    I wouldn't trust that head shop stuff at all. I'd rather some weed any day.

Skunk is a potent version of weed is all. Harder to get in Ireland but a very nice stoned off it compared to normal weed that goes around
    It's pretty low down on the strength graph these days. It's generic weed.

That's a myth perpetrated by the media. Skunk is actually quite a mild strain and is usually a lot cheaper in seed banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Yep, thats the obvious rational and sensible solution. Not an overreaction at all.

It wasn't an overreaction, I was just voicing my own experiences with it.

Smoked the stuff for years myself and know people that have smoked it for 15 years without any negative affects.

I also know people that had psychotic episodes that cannabis contributed to and ended up in mental hospitals, rehabs and other such institutions.

I was just stating what I have seen of it, others would obviously have different views of it.

There is weed going around Ireland thats mixed with grit to add weight and other chemicals to increase effect,

the "other chemicals" are known to seriously increase the heart rate.

don't buy off the street, or your friends,don't even take smokes off your friends weed. grow your own, its the only way to be sure your not getting poisoned, which is one of the many reasons it needs to be legalized.

In general its not "grit". Grit could be any number of different things.

Most of the weed is sprayed with fibreglass. I dont condone it but given how much weed ive smoked I have consumed plenty fibreglass im guessing, and it has never effected me or any my mates.

That's a myth perpetrated by the media. Skunk is actually quite a mild strain and is usually a lot cheaper in seed banks.

Try some cheese plant! :pac:

Most of the weed is sprayed with fibreglass. I dont condone it but given how much weed ive smoked I have consumed plenty fibreglass im guessing, and it has never effected me or any my mates.

:(

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's pretty low down on the strength graph these days. It's generic weed.

Ahh sorry been gone from home a while now. It used to be the better of it :(

Sorry and thanks for correction as im heading back home next week :)

Ahh sorry been gone from home a while now. It used to be the better of it :(

Sorry and thanks for correction as im heading back home next week :)
    Pay no attention to names at all unless you know the grower. They'll start putting names that people know on it when in actual fact they have no clue what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

It was definitely a panic attack, I had one with skunk before, not fun, thought it was a heart attack. As was said, all things in moderation. Just remember, you cannot die from cannabis, so the idea it gives you a heart attack is nonsense.

not all of it is sprayed with fibreglass,there are other better methods used now as this is only used to add to the weight of it , to make more money.

a common techique used is a chemical thats found in hair spray to give it that frosty coated look to make it look like its packed to the rafters with THC, when its totally not.

and if you think smoking weed mixed with fibreglass is not going to effect your lungs i think you need to reconsider. mixing weed with tobacco alone is bad enough, but to add fibreglass and hairspray onto it then hello short lifespan..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

you my good buddy pulled a whitey , plain and simple :cool:
    done the same in Barbados after some wicked green , at a beach front bar ,
    legs went , down like a cheap hooker getting punched in the gut
    this stuff was so strong after 2 weeks i had most of it left and GAVE IT BACK to the guy i bought it off :eek:
    and trust me i can smoke and have never got a whitey like this one
    people i was with said it was one of the highlights of the night seeing me
    go down
    Bastards :D:D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

lmao
    ha ha ha

i had the same experience when i was in amsterdam. only that i had to hold onto my bunkbed in case i jumped from the hotel window

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

You got THE FEAR.

not all of it is sprayed with fibreglass,there are other better methods used now as this is only used to add to the weight of it , to make more money.

a common techique used is a chemical thats found in hair spray to give it that frosty coated look to make it look like its packed to the rafters with THC, when its totally not.

and if you think smoking weed mixed with fibreglass is not going to effect your lungs i think you need to reconsider. mixing weed with tobacco alone is bad enough, but to add fibreglass and hairspray onto it then hello short lifespan..

I'm here for a good time my friend not for a long time. I have 2 heart conditions that are gonna shorten my life considerably at any rate so I just enjoy myself and there is no hope in hell that id not smoke weed just cos they added something to bump up the weight.

so not only are you making it more acceptable to contaminate, you're buying weed off gangs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

ah listen lads will ya all cop on , proof of ANY grass in ireland EVER being
    seized with fiberglass or grit or ANY dangerous chemicals on it , you wont find any because it does not happen , go to tescos and buy apples and tomatoes and you will find **** sprayed on them , not grass

strong grass will blow the head off you first time you smoke it , the more you smoke it your body develops a tolerance to that strain , then you stop " having heart attacks "
    this is why it should be legal because the rubbish information being spouted as fact here is mental , FFS if you dont know the truth then please don't smoke it and stay drinking becardi breezers

i swear if you are all that gullible then you should really stay away from mind altering intoxicants , they are for grown ups who have the proper information and can make informed decisions and not run off clogging up A+E because they pull a ****ing whitey

and more power to you, but if that is your current status then i would strongly advise picking up a book and start learning to grow your own.might even extend your lifespan a bit.

It's a shame that this even has to be the case. There's a March on April 20th (420) outside the Department of Health to draw attention to the issue of medical cannabis. I hope a lot of people go along and we finally get a bit of reform in our draconian laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

whitey pure and simple,

before taking anything you should know what are it's effects, good and bad. you could have saved yourself a lot of trouble by eating something sweet. if you eat brownies that are too strong, you'll be sick, but again, trying to resist vomiting will make you feel worse (like having the flu).

i would strongly recommend
    www.erowid.org
    to anyone considering taking anything, from street drugs, headshop stuff , herbal remedies or antidepressants.

They give you the essential info, and have peoples stories of good and bad experiences (many stories like your own). then if things go bad for you or friends, you will know the right thing to do.

RichieC wrote: »
    so not only are you making it more acceptable to contaminate, you're buying weed off gangs!

How am I making it more acceptable? Not meaning to be arrogent but dont understand your post?
    and more power to you, but if that is your current status then i would strongly advise picking up a book and start learning to grow your own.might even extend your lifespan a bit.

I would and will when I settle down but I travel too much to grow my own weed. I am never in the one country for 6 months :) Try and see as much of the world as I can while I can kinda thing.
    It's a shame that this even has to be the case. There's a March on April 20th (420) outside the Department of Health to draw attention to the issue of medical cannabis. I hope a lot of people go along and we finally get a bit of reform in our draconian laws.

I will be in Ireland before that. Should be back the 11th. Whats going on at that march? Is it to legalise weed??

dj jarvis wrote: »
    ah listen lads will ya all cop on , proof of ANY grass in ireland EVER being
    seized with fiberglass or grit or ANY dangerous chemicals on it , you wont find any because it does not happen , go to tescos and buy apples and tomatoes and you will find **** sprayed on them , not grass

strong grass will blow the head off you first time you smoke it , the more you smoke it your body develops a tolerance to that strain , then you stop " having heart attacks "
    this is why it should be legal because the rubbish information being spouted as fact here is mental , FFS if you dont know the truth then please don't smoke it and stay drinking becardi breezers

i swear if you are all that gullible then you should really stay away from mind altering intoxicants , they are for grown ups who have the proper information and can make informed decisions and not run off clogging up A+E because they pull a ****ing whitey

your clearly still living in the dark ages. i know how you think : """it wasn't on rte news so it defo not true""

there is contaminated weed out there for sale,full stop.

weather the OP smoked some or not is another subject in itself...

How am I making it more acceptable? Not meaning to be arrogent but dont understand your post?

Because that stuff in the weed is obvious, you should pack it back in the bag and demand your money back off the toerag that sold it to you, or never ask him again. if people stop buying contaminated weed they'll be forced to stop doing it.