Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where are all the 'RS4' TDi's coming from?

• 03-04-2011 1:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭

I've spotted at least 8 in Cork in the last week. At least some have left the TDi badge on ... is there a company importing them and fitting the bits or something? They're gonna be the new Glanza before long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I've spotted at least 8 in Cork in the last week. At least some have left the TDi badge on ... is there a company importing them and fitting the bits or something? They're gonna be the new Glanza before long.

The `felt spec`ones with the chicken wire grill???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

i have to say, i dont mind the ones wich still have the TDi badge left on or at least no badges, the ones with RS4 TDi do my head in.

there a nice car with a nice kit imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Spanners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

-Corkie- wrote: »

Some, but some are pretty authentic kits.
    kceire wrote: »
    there a nice car with a nice kit imo.

+1 if it's done properly, but the problem IMHO, is that drivers who have these are tending to drive like muppets on the road. When I last had the JCW out on the road before I sold it, I'd 2 of these in the same day try to egg me on for a race off the lights. Pointless stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Testament1

-Corkie- wrote: »

There are a lot with a shoddy job made of the kits but done properly they can look good. Its an improvement on the incredibly boring look of a bog standard A4 TDi anyway. Anyone that even thinks of putting an RS4 badge on should be shot though. I dont mind people putting a kit on if it improves the look of the car but dont stick a badge on of something its clearly not even in the same league as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Testament1 wrote: »
    There are a lot with a shoddy job made of the kits but done properly they can look good. Its an improvement on the incredibly boring look of a bog standard A4 TDi anyway. Anyone that even thinks of putting an RS4 badge on should be shot though. I dont mind people putting a kit on if it improves the look of the car but dont stick a badge on of something its clearly not even in the same league as.

I hate them plastic kits. I see quite a few B5.5 Passats done the same.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Halfords?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I was just wondering myself whether it was something offered by Audi at the time or were these a DIY job.

No worse than all the BMW's with the Msport badges on the rear with no other car badges IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

+1 if it's done properly, but the problem IMHO, is that drivers who have these are tending to drive like muppets on the road. When I last had the JCW out on the road before I sold it, I'd 2 of these in the same day try to egg me on for a race off the lights. Pointless stuff.

Whats a JCW :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

a John Cooper Works Mini?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Elbow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Oh a Mini Cooper thanks

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Hootanany wrote: »
    Whats a JCW :confused:

John Cooper Works Mini?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I drive a 2.0 tdi myself I know my limitations and that includes trying it on even with a normal Cooper let alone a JCW, there are some muppets about. I know one guy with an RStd4i and his packs a whopping 110bhp at least mine has 170bhp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

I think they have long since become the new Glanza. I'm out of the country at the moment but I thought before i had left that they were actually declining in numbers having peaked around 2 years ago in my opinion.

As far as I remember there were two popular bodykits for the B6, one that was referred to as the 'Quattro GMBH' kit which was available from audi dealers, it's nice and subltle and another referred to as the Votex kit, which I think is the one that has been used for all the felt spec a4s (don't think this was a OEM kit though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

It's normal practice in Ireland to buy the boggo spec 5-series, A4, Passat, etc... and stick bits onto it so it looks like a higher spec model.
    Kind of like buying a bicycle and making it look like a Harley.
    I'm sure if all the above where available in Ireland with a 1.4 petrol engine their sales would triple.
    I want to pitch that idea to VW, Audi and BMW.
    Offer them with non-metallic paint, wind up windows, non-tinted glass, no sat nav, no aircon, steel wheels with plastic hubcaps, vinyl interior, cassette radio, and everything else you would expect to find in a base spec, bottom of the line Korean car.
    Price them just a grand under the next (proper) spec (i.e. make them hideously bad value) and offer a grand in scrappage.
    And throw in an RS or M badge.
    The dealerships would have to call in the army to hold back the crowds.

*edit:
    Want proof?
    The other day in Limerick I saw an Audi A8 that proudly displayed a "1.8" badge on the boot.
    Makes baby Jesus cry that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

You find these cars are usually very rough around the edges. They will have a replica Quattro/S4 bodykit with chicken wire grilles and maybe a big gaping hole chopped out of the rear bumper for the all important tow bar.

The common choice of wheels are usually replica Mercedes AMG or Audi 'RS8' rims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

No worse than all the BMW's with the Msport badges on the rear with no other car badges IMHO.

Big difference... There's nothing wrong with a non-M BMW having an MSport badge.

It's not pretending to be an M3 or an M5, it's just stating you have the MSport pack on your car which is quite a bit more desired, and different, than the standard spec.

But if you go and get extra dummy exhausts and the grills on the sides, then yea... that's retarded.

Vertakill wrote: »
    Big difference... There's nothing wrong with a non-M BMW having an MSport badge.

Well, there is really. Even the M-Sport models from the factory don't come with that Badge. I think I'm right in saying that Badge goes back to the late 90's and was done away with after. BMW Dealers keep them in stock just to placate people who want an M badge on the rear of their car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

This is fairly convincing looking:
    06032011567.jpg

The dropped suspension's a dead give away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

The dropped suspension's a dead give away.

And the DL reg :p

Seriously lads....horible things!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Anybody who can afford a real RS4 wouldnt chav it up. Anything in the least bit modified or chavved is a fake.
    Stickers, non-OEM wheels, lowered suspension, stupid exhausts etc. All giveaways.

I see some nicely cared for and tastefully non-OEM modified cars. An RS4 TDi doesnt fit in that category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

I honestly do not know what problem people have with these.
    Granted some are rough
    But that white one above is a lovely looking car.
    There is a white '02 here in Fermoy as well and is an eyecatching car.
    After all, They are no different than any other car with a kit put on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Yep, I agree with the above post. That white A4 is a fine looking car. If it's done properely and you don't have a blatantly stupid badge on it then I don't have a problem with it.

gpf101 wrote: »
    Yep, I agree with the above post. That white A4 is a fine looking car. If it's done properely and you don't have a blatantly stupid badge on it then I don't have a problem with it.

I know you can't see it in the pic but there's an RS4 badge on that car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I've heard there's a guy in Donegal knocking them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,891 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Possible RS4 badge on the grille just above the "0" on the numberplate of that white one!

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    I know you can't see it in the pic but there's an RS4 badge on that car!
    Possible RS4 badge on the grille just above the "0" on the numberplate of that white one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Authentically what though? Most of these are B6 era A4s of which there is no RS4 (in that generation/body). The kit they have may have been sold to them as "RS4" kit, but it has nothing (visually or officially) to do with RS cars.

You learn something new every day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I dunno.. I think that white A4 above looks alright - save for the lowered suspension and DL reg!! :p

My 2.0 TDI B6 Passat has had the windows tinted (not limo black mind!), front wind deflectors added, xenons (cause the standard lights are crap in my - and apparently many others - opinion), and custom DRLs/indicator strips that replace the bumper indicators and I always get compliments on the car.. of course I treat it like my baby :)

That said, the only other things I'd like to do is change the standard alloys for the Passat CC-style Interlagos ones and maybe change the standard grill for a matt black version - but it's hard to get one that hasn't also been debadged whereas I think it's TOO dark without the VW emblem in the centre.

Other than that, I do like the look of the smoked headlights on some of the Fords and I think they'd suit mine - being metallic black anyway.

But.. all this stuff costs money and with 162000 km on the clock, there's probably not much point as I'll hopefully be able to change it later this/next year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I dunno.. I think that white A4 above looks alright - save for the lowered suspension and DL reg!! :p

My 2.0 TDI B6 Passat has had the windows tinted (not limo black mind!), front wind deflectors added, xenons (cause the standard lights are crap in my - and apparently many others - opinion), and custom DRLs/indicator strips that replace the bumper indicators and I always get compliments on the car.. of course I treat it like my baby :)

That said, the only other things I'd like to do is change the standard alloys for the Passat CC-style Interlagos ones and maybe change the standard grill for a matt black version - but it's hard to get one that hasn't also been debadged whereas I think it's TOO dark without the VW emblem in the centre.

Other than that, I do like the look of the smoked headlights on some of the Fords and I think they'd suit mine - being metallic black anyway.

But.. all this stuff costs money and with 162000 km on the clock, there's probably not much point as I'll hopefully be able to change it later this/next year...
    Sounds awesome dude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sounds awesome dude

Cheers :)

Here's how it looks at the minute (first pic). Don't mind the flare of light at the corners of the DRLs - in real life they're grand

Second pic has the grill I'm talking about

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

It's not pretending to be an M3 or an M5, it's just stating you have the MSport pack on your car which is quite a bit more desired, and different, than the standard spec.

But if you go and get extra dummy exhausts and the grills on the sides, then yea... that's retarded.

No problem as long as it's done with taste:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSqg0CjPtZ9uhpE0cRs8ClF0ux2FtYSvz3j-eyq3sDfmzkU2G6k&t=1

24164910608_large.jpg

I honestly don't know which one is worse.

Cheers :)

Here's how it looks at the minute (first pic). Don't mind the flare of light at the corners of the DRLs - in real life they're grand

Second pic has the grill I'm talking about

Looks nothing like the RS4 TDi yokes that PaintDoctor is on about.
    There's one in particular wandering around Cork City on AMG rims and it's not lowered, looks like it's on stilts. In the main it's muck savage wannabe scum bag lads in them that look down their nose at CTRs and Tegs.

Something like this is grand IMO (minus the sh*t alloys and visor)

02-05_Audi_A4_Vizage_Body_Kit__Urethane_.jpg

Get some nice alloys to set it off and it looks way better than standard. But once again an RS4 badge should NOT be anywhere near it (unless its on the back of an actual RS4 thats overtaking it :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

No problem as long as it's done with taste:

I honestly don't know which one is worse.

Exactly!

Nothing wrong with a bit of creativity.. :)

nightmare49.jpg

nightmare33.jpg

Lots, lots more @ http://www.jimmy540i.com/bmwnightmare.htm
    Well, there is really. Even the M-Sport models from the factory don't come with that Badge. I think I'm right in saying that Badge goes back to the late 90's and was done away with after. BMW Dealers keep them in stock just to placate people who want an M badge on the rear of their car.

Well, I disagree with that but what can you do.
    I don't see any problem with a nice 535D or 335i with an MSport pack and an M on the car. It's not pretending to be an M3 or M5 so I don't see what the problem is.
    I probably wouldn't do it to my own car but I don't spaz out when I see others with it.

Ridiculous BMW spoiler pic

Wouldnt be long drying the clothes on that at motorway speed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,891 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MCMLXXV wrote: »

Bollocks....didn't see that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭boyler07

I also think there's nothing more worthy of wtf?,than taking an already performance specced car and trying too disguise as something entirely different,like taking a Golf GTI and turning it into an R32 replica like I've recently seen on Carzone,why?,you've already got a good credit worthy car,why go through the embarrassment of admitting it's a fake?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

I've seen a lot of those tdi replicas with the RS4 badges and replica bodykits around Cork,

I can remember two very good ones, both had a Galway reg, rest are fairly poor

I seen a silver one Friday night in Mahon driven by a couple in their 40's /50's chicken wire mesh and the bumpers were a different shade to the boot and body

I was briefly next to a diesel Mini re-badged as a Cooper S this morning at dunkettle interchange, driven by blonde lady in 30's

And then there's the fairly infamous white 520d with the M5 badge, body kit and xx-C-115 reg, again I usually see it driven by a woman in her late thirties

I'm more a fan of debadging myself

I seen a black Porsche Cayenne this week with all badges taken off which really suited it, looked very classy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

I seen a guy in a TDI S4 filling up with diesel one day,i walked past him and said "hey nice S4" he smiled delighted with himself and said "thanks" i replied "do you realise you are filling it with diesel" :D his face dropped lol

Check the sig \/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I'd never buy an RS4 in a million years, as all the TDi lads have ruined the look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

I've seen a lot of those tdi replicas with the RS4 badges and replica bodykits around Cork,

I can remember two very good ones, both had a Galway reg, rest are fairly poor

I seen a silver one Friday night in Mahon driven by a couple in their 40's /50's chicken wire mesh and the bumpers were a different shade to the boot and body

I was briefly next to a diesel Mini re-badged as a Cooper S this morning at dunkettle interchange, driven by blonde lady in 30's

And then there's the fairly infamous white 520d with the M5 badge, body kit and xx-C-115 reg, again I usually see it driven by a woman in her late thirties

I'm more a fan of debadging myself

I seen a black Porsche Cayenne this week with all badges taken off which really suited it, looked very classy

Is that 520d the one that always up for sale on DD for about 20k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭foreman

Saw a golf rs4 the other day !!!! rare yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

I'd never buy an RS4 in a million years, as all the TDi lads have ruined the look.
    IMO a felt spec is nothing like the real deal. I could spot the difference a mile away, then when you hear the sound of a V8 then you know its special:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Plug wrote: »
    IMO a felt spec is nothing like the real deal. I could spot the difference a mile away, then when you hear the sound of a V8 then you know its special:)

Yes, as noted the fast majority of them have a makey uppy body kit that has no styling queues from actual RS4's. B5 RS4s are Avant (estate) only anyhow (damn right too) which have an untarnished by idiots image.