Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it out of control?

• 01-04-2011 6:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭

I have just read where a woman who poured a bowl of cereal over the windscreen of a garda patrol car was fined,fair enough,but also sentenced to 3 months in prison.This woman had never been before the courts before.Surely the time has come for people to demand proper law.Maybe taking a close look at Egypt would not seem too far fetched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

miseeire wrote: »
    I have just read where a woman who poured a bowl of cereal over the windscreen of a garda patrol car was fined,fair enough,but also sentenced to 3 months in prison.This woman had never been before the courts before.Surely the time has come for people to demand proper law.Maybe taking a close look at Egypt would not seem too far fetched.

Her mistake was that she didn't take billions off the taxpayer and pump it into dodgy banks. She would have totally gotten away with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Why cereal?

What was that meant to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I'd love to hear the background story to that case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Gotta nip that anti-social behaviour in the bud,bud!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

OP, what you yourself think is proper punishment for this offence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

cereal killer lock the bitch up :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Now, if a 'Junkie' had done that .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Her mistake was that she didn't take billions off the taxpayer and pump it into dodgy banks. She would have totally gotten away with that.

The usual crap from some left wing pinko.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Can we stop bringing that up in every single thread when the topic clearly has nothing to do with it... broken records some people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I bet the guards just snapped!

Crackled then popped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I'm not familiar with this story..

But if the Garda car was moving and the cereal was Weetabix..

Well that could be lethal..

Have you ever tried to clean dried and hardened Weetabox off a bowl?
    Near impossible..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Loopy wrote: »
    Crackled then popped.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

Meanwhile Drumm, Ahern and the other real criminals sun it up and enjoy their fat pensions

The Gardai are the most unregulated police force in the Western world. They have nothing stopping them doing what they want when they want. The special branch in particular are mostly scum.

The street guards are mostly okay, but its higher up where the real scum and corruptness is.

This country needs an overhaul of 4 things:

Banks
    Politicians
    Gardai
    Judges

The average man has no faith in any of the above institutions anymore and if anything has a real hate for them and their abuse of power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

Background story is definately needed here....

im off to google..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

They should have arrested her and treated her like a king.

A king in LA.

Rodney King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Seems like a reasonable sentence to me..what's the problem?

I'm about as left wing as Genghis Khan.

I just think Fianna Fail are cunts.

There's a subtle difference.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

pinko isnt even a word

FG and FF have this country where it is and there is no sign of change. You're a real goon if you cant see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Loopy wrote: »

Crackled then popped.
    Get your coat...

foxinsox wrote: »

Have you ever tried to clean dried and hardened Weetabox off a bowl?

The toilet bowl?

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Can we stop bringing that up in every single thread when the topic clearly has nothing to do with it... broken records some people...

No problem, I'll just ring up Doe Juffy and have an oul' pray in future. :P

I'm about as left wing as Genghis Khan.

I just think Fianna Fail are cunts.

There's a subtle difference.

Seriously are you kidding me

A thread about a woman throwing a bowl of fruit loops over a guards car has now become a FF issue?

sheeeesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

The mystery of the title drew me in :o.

Three months is crazy though.

The toilet bowl?

I'm so innocent and pure I wouldn't have dreamed of that..

But I'd imagine that it could be worse than an ordinary bowl..

Never thought about it that way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Get your coat...

Ok love, be with you in a jiffy.
    I insist we go dutch though.

snyper wrote: »

A thread about a woman throwing a bowl of fruit loops over a guards car has now become a FF/FG issue?

sheeeesh.

fg ff
    high rank gardai
    judges
    bankers
    politicians

They're all the same scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

miseeire wrote: »

It's likely that the paper that published this article isn't painting the entire picture. I reckon she probably had numerous previous convictions. Don't believe everything you read fully.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The Gardai are the most unregulated police force in the Western world.
    Hyperbole much? Oh yes and utter nonsense.
    They have nothing stopping them doing what they want when they want.
    Hmmm riiiiight.

Personally I have found that while some Gardai are indeed idiot sons of idiot sons of idiot farmers that are useless mouthbreathers who couldn't get into another section of the civil service, the vast majority are not like that. On any pay grade. I would agree the judiciary needs an overhaul as some of them are dribbling morons or the laws involved themselves are an ass, or a little from column A and a little from column B.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

fg ff
    high rank gardai
    judges
    bankers
    politicians

I doubt there were any high ranked Gardaí in a patrol car. I doubt any of the groups you mentioned were in there to be honest. I don't see the relevance?

A thread about a woman throwing a bowl of fruit loops over a guards car has now become a FF issue?

sheeeesh.

it's a thread about a woman getting a sentence that was out of proportion to the act. She should have got a fine and some community service perhaps.

fg ff
    high rank gardai
    judges
    bankers
    politicians

Do explain how they are the same scum

What is it links them? Money?

You dont like people with money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Perhaps you'd like to explain what exactly is non left wing about socialising the losses of private interests, genius...

it's a thread about a woman getting a sentence that was out of proportion to the act. She should have got a fine and some community service perhaps.

What has it to do with FF?

You rarely see an FF man doing time, maybe.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Hyperbole much? Oh yes and utter nonsense. Hmmm riiiiight.

Personally I have found that while some Gardai are indeed idiot sons of idiot sons of idiot farmers that are useless mouthbreathers who couldn't get into another section of the civil service, the vast majority are not like that. On any pay grade. I would agree the judiciary needs an overhaul as some of them are dribbling morons or the laws involved themselves are an ass, or a little from column A and a little from column B.

It's no hyperbole, but it's hard for people who havent been personally affected by these criminals or dont believe you, to understand.

The gardai are one very unregulated though, and by that I mean the higher ranks ie Special Branch that can torment and intimidate people in their spare time.

The Ombudsman or whatever waste of space regulator there is, is non existent.

It seems it wasn't Weetabix :o

Woman lobbed cornflakes at Garda car

Mayo Advertiser, March 25, 2011.

A woman in her 30s who threw corn flakes at a patrol car, struck a garda in the shoulder, and needed six gardaí at the scene to deal with her, was sentenced to three months in prison this week.

On January 17 2011 at 11.45am, gardaí attended the home of Philomena Collins, Rehins, Ballina, to serve a summons on her brother. Collins became abusive to gardaí and threw a bowl of cereal at the garda car. No damage was caused to the car.

Collins then gave a blow to the shoulder of one of the gardaí — the defendant had a spoon in her hand at the time.
    Six members of gardaí attended the scene and Collins eventually became subdued.

The actions of the woman, who has no previous convictions, were described by Judge Mary Devins as being “unacceptable”.
    For the obstruction of a garda the defendant was convicted and fined €500 and sentenced to three months in prison. The criminal damage charge was taken into consideration.

You rarely see an FF man doing time, maybe.

You rarely see a retarded miget on a unicycle playing a tinwhistle either, but neither have anything to do with the topic

Do explain how they are the same scum

What is it links them? Money?

You dont like people with money?

Together they are destroying this country and peoples lives.

Most importantly though they are all unaccountable for it. Unlike normal people.

People with money and power don't do the law, they dont have to adhere to it.

And now I'm not jealous of these people one bit.

You rarely see a retarded miget on a unicycle playing a tinwhistle either, but neither have anything to do with the topic

Its the fact that the disatrous govt is getting away with economic treason, while this silly eejit of a woman with her stupid cornflakes is going to jail.

And as for retarded midgets, how about Willie O'Dea?

It's no hyperbole, but it's hard for people who havent been personally affected by these criminals or dont believe you, to understand.

So Special Branch are harrassing you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

It seems it wasn't Weetabix :o

Woman lobbed cornflakes at Garda car

Mayo Advertiser, March 25, 2011.

A woman in her 30s who threw corn flakes at a patrol car, struck a garda in the shoulder, and needed six gardaí at the scene to deal with her, was sentenced to three months in prison this week.

On January 17 2011 at 11.45am, gardaí attended the home of Philomena Collins, Rehins, Ballina, to serve a summons on her brother. Collins became abusive to gardaí and threw a bowl of cereal at the garda car. No damage was caused to the car.

Collins then gave a blow to the shoulder of one of the gardaí — the defendant had a spoon in her hand at the time.
    Six members of gardaí attended the scene and Collins eventually became subdued.

The actions of the woman, who has no previous convictions, were described by Judge Mary Devins as being “unacceptable”.
    For the obstruction of a garda the defendant was convicted and fined €500 and sentenced to three months in prison. The criminal damage charge was taken into consideration.

so it was a little more than throw cereal at a car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Jesus. Throw away the ****ing key.

pinko isnt even a word

FG and FF have this country where it is and there is no sign of change. You're a real goon if you cant see that.

Hey, 22 post ,non sexy guy.

The real goons are those who think that leeching on the state and bedding in to the state dependency circuit are the heros.

go out and get a job, buddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Hey, 22 post ,non sexy guy.

The real goons are those who think that leeching on the state and bedding in to the state dependency circuit are the heros.

go out and get a job, buddy.

You're like a parody for god's sake, I think it's you who needs a step back.

but..
    No damage was caused to the spoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Yet a scumbag who commits assault wouldn't even be sent to prison.

Collie D wrote: »
    So Special Branch are harrassing you?

I know a man, not a criminal, that they continually bully and harass for his work for a particular political party.

Once he was collecting money and selling Easter lillies, they came up pushed him and took the box which was full of money. He questioned them, one laughed in his face and said, "dont worry you'll see your lillies scattered over the motorway and your money will buy us a well deserved few pints, you piece of scum".

I was there. Dont believe me whatever, but things like this do happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

She probably had previous convictions. It's not likely that a person would be thrown in the clink for a first offence. Costs too much.

RichieC wrote: »
    Perhaps you'd like to explain what exactly is non left wing about socialising the losses of private interests, genius...

Perhaps you'd explain what relevance it has to the subject of the OPs post.

karlog wrote: »
    Yet a scumbag who commits assault wouldn't even be sent to prison.

I must have missed when that piece of legislation was enacted :rolleyes: