Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could change one thing about your life....

• 01-04-2011 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

..past or present, what would it be?

I would have studied less in secondary school and instead spent more time making friends. At the end of the day I would still have gotten into my course but I probably would be a lot happier with myself and I'd have more people to share the stress of college with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

getting mangled by a car, it wasnt fun :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

Saila wrote: »
    getting mangled by a car, it wasnt fun :(

Jesus :eek:

I take back my complaints :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

studying hard is a good personal trait you shouldnt regret that, also you can just make friends now, join a club or make friends with people in your course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Taking the brown acid, man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

i would have not smoked as much weed, tried other drugs instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Worked harder in school, got into music younger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

nothing

Im greatful for what i have, changing any part of my life in anyway would create a butterfly effect.

So no, nothing

Oranage2 wrote: »
    studying hard is a good personal trait you shouldnt regret that, also you can just make friends now, join a club or make friends with people in your course!

I thought this myself, I said 'study now for your future and you can make friends later'.

Now that's it's later I find my social skills are severely lacking and I actually can't seem to remember how to make friends. I talk to people, make an effort and such but it doesn't extend to much more than that :o.

At least I can console myself with the fact that I'll have an awesome job and will make loads of money....all alone...

....alone

.....forever alone

:(:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

I would change a couple of things. Too personal to mention on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Some extra intercourse would be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

I would have borrowed from every tom dick and harry to buy microsoft, apple and emc shares when they all floated for the first time on the stock exchange...
    I'd be in a position now to pay back Irelands national debt including the bank bailout... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

I'd marry a pop star.

take all their money and spend it on drugs and hookers.

Dean820 wrote: »
    I would change a couple of things. Too personal to mention on here.

Ah go on!!!
    go on, go on, go on, go on!!

:D:pac:

hearing the sunscreen song sooner :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭richieffff

leern tu spwell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I would have rode more young 'uns instead of propping up a bar getting locked with my mates.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭unknownlegend

Taking the red pill. Never again :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Not come home from South America and made more of an effort to find a job. It all worked out though but I still wonder....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

taken the chips outta the oven 10 minutes ago.... burnt now :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Go back and never smoke!

Off them 2 years but jaysus, the 9 on them have fecked me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

I am, i'm emigrating..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

snyper wrote: »
    ...the butterfly effect.
    love that film,

prob. would have asked that girl that was my best friend out, it got weird between us, and we havnt spoken in years, so it cant have turned out much worse, whatever i did

s3129 wrote: »
    taken the chips outta the oven 10 minutes ago.... burnt now :(

My sympathies, Ive been in that situation sooo many times, so much wasted food :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

I already have, changing the way I think about myself and my life.

If I could meet myself even a year ago, who was afraid of everything and everyone, I'd slap him silly and remind him that he's not going to be here forever. So better start hustling to get where you want to be.

Nowhere near at that point yet, but I'm getting closer every day.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I'd change my bank balance to €10'000'000 in credit.

That is all.

Gi joe! wrote: »
    I already have, changing the way I think about myself and my life.

If I could meet myself even a year ago, who was afraid of everything and everyone, I'd slap him silly and remind him that he's not going to be here forever. So better start hustling to get where you want to be.

Nowhere near at that point yet, but I'm getting closer every day.:)

That's the right attitude to have :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

prob. would have asked that girl that was my best friend out, it got weird between us, and we havnt spoken in years, so it cant have turned out much worse, whatever i did

Not asking her out would by my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Like Jack Donaghy, my only regret is that I didn't work harder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Emmm I would of done better at school and done my nursing degree:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

Lyra Fangs wrote: »
    ..past or present, what would it be?

I would have studied less in secondary school and instead spent more time making friends. At the end of the day I would still have gotten into my course but I probably would be a lot happier with myself and I'd have more people to share the stress of college with.

I'm the exact same :o i study way too much and go out little, and i'm shy so i don't talk to people much, gotta change this soon !

purity wrote: »
    Emmm I would of done better at school and done my nursing degree:(

so you signed up, got a place but didnt take it, and because of that you would go back and do your leaving again :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 BrockSamson

Lyra Fangs wrote: »
    I thought this myself, I said 'study now for your future and you can make friends later'.

Now that's it's later I find my social skills are severely lacking and I actually can't seem to remember how to make friends. I talk to people, make an effort and such but it doesn't extend to much more than that :o.

At least I can console myself with the fact that I'll have an awesome job and will make loads of money....all alone...

....alone

.....forever alone

:(:pac:

join a few clubs in college that your interested in speech and drama and sports helps also people develop social skills at a young age which you seem to have missed out on.

help your classmates when you can with their college work take part in study groups suggest going for a drink afterwards etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

Made more of an effort at school, taken two years out to travel and then gone to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Personally I wish I was a little bit taller. Also I wouldn't mind that much if I was one of those ballers I keep hearing about. While I'm changing things, I wish I had a good looking girlfriend so I could give her a phone. Also I'd like to have a pet of some sort, something small and cute, maybe a bunny rabbit, and a cool hat of some type, that would be nice. I also play baseball the odd time so a new bat would come in handy.But what I really need is a car at the minute so something like one of these Chevrolets would be pretty nice. http://itsahardlifestyle.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/hard-lifestyle-fieldy-korn-64-impala-4.jpg

join a few clubs in college that your interested in speech and drama and sports helps also people develop social skills at a young age which you seem to have missed out on.

help your classmates when you can with their college work take part in study groups suggest going for a drink afterwards etc

Cheers for the advice :D.

I did join a few clubs in first year but as I'm an hours walk away from college and most of my lectures finished at between 2-5 with club events starting at 7.30 (generally) so it was either walk home, eat, then walk back again a total of two hours walking (not the best way to go into a club event especially as a girl, felt filthy :P) or sit around college alone (forking out money for a substitute dinner) for 2+ hours.

I will be going on coop this june and then erasmus so I'm hoping I can improve my social skills then with less exams/assignments to worry about :).

So from this another thing I'd change: live on campus.
    :P

MGMTea wrote: »
    I'm the exact same :o i study way too much and go out little, and i'm shy so i don't talk to people much, gotta change this soon !

We shoud totally make a club for people like us :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

its funny my life is such a mess that there are many things that i would love to do over again but then if I did I would miss out on having the 2 most important people in my world....my sons.

Superficially I suppose I would change my not winning the euromillions yet.

And possibly I would have said yes to Tim Wheeler instead of just breaking his heart and him writing the girl from Mars in my honour. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I would have gone to college a few years earlier (and preferably done a less impractical course), which would have prevented my graduation from coinciding with the collapse of the economy, thus making it considerably easier to forge some kind of career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

there's a relationship I was in that i seriously wish I had never gotten into. it started off good but became messy and destructive and ended up with me getting such harassment that I had to call the gardai.

if I could go back , I'd change getting involved in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Wishing to change things from your past is a waste of energy. Wish that something will happen, go out, make it happen. That way you've a chance at getting what you want from life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

but it's not about what you would change from your past....

I would change the fact that i have IBS. it's ruined so many things for me. made school and college hell for me, and i can't even consider getting a job in my field now because of it. can't do night courses, can't go to my mothers anniversary mass.. everything. it's controlling my life.

Yeah but my point being you can't go back and change it. I don't know much about IBS but is there some way to make it better...I'm sure you've tried, just saying that it's only the future that matters now...

Sorry to hear that btw.

I don't think I'd change much. Anything I'm not entirely happy with is in my power to change. The effort of getting there is part of the accomplishment

Like a lot of people, I wish I never bought a house. Since being made redundant its been nothing but a financial headache.

Thankfully don't have any serious regrets...yet

bluewolf wrote: »
    I don't think I'd change much. Anything I'm not entirely happy with is in my power to change. The effort of getting there is part of the accomplishment

Exactly...as pointed out earlier, the butterfly effect is too dangerous. Your past made you what you are today, for better or worse thats where you are...best to change the future, not the past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

yeah i'm not even thinking i'd like to go back and change it. from here on i'd like to not have to deal with it. never even occurred to me to go back and not have it like that. i mean yeah ideally i would like to not have been that miserable through school, but i wouldn't like to see the person i'd be if i didn't either. but yeah, from now i would definitely like it gone. i feel like i could do anything without it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

I'm with you stupid. Have an on going chronic fatigue for over 6 years and would give anything to change it. Because of it I've no life now-I merely exist. It has affected my children and I'm in debt because of it going from Doctor to Doctor looking for a cure. Of all the crap I've been through (and there's been quite a lot), this illness is the one thing I'd change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

i feel like i could do anything without it.

Know how ya feel-on the rare good days I get, I feel like I could take on the world!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

a bad decision 5 months ago, that could really **** up my future plans.

When I think of all the bad decisions I made, I just try to put it in perspective because really they are non issues compared to what some people have to deal with, I just say to myself, 'at least I have my health'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I'd have had a penis reduction. Women find it unsettling.