Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think it is appropriate that they play the national anthem of a night out?

• 01-04-2011 4:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭

Is it the right setting to be playing it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

You mean volume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

No. Cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

I thought they only did that in rednecks of the woods?

And no it's not right,... nothing worse than being bullied into standing up after a feed of beers by some pissed-up hairy donkey farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

No, still played in many the country pub and club though. I used to love hearing drunken fools attempting to sing at the end of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭effluent

You mean volume?

The setting and the timing

National teams and GAA matches yes.

At a night club?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Not this again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Yea after a night of heavy drinking theres nothing more apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

There is a thread on this already...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Ugh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

*legs it into thread gasping for breath*

Phew! I didnt miss the weekly irish pride/flag/anthem AH thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Really? I've never heard them play it but to be honest when I'm out I've only stayed until the last song once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Goldenegg wrote: »
    There is a thread on this already...
    theres a thread on that:rolleyes: already....

inapropriate use of smiley, i dont care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I don't go to niteclubs so I don't give a fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

No, I am not Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Knasher wrote: »
    Really? I've never heard them play it but to be honest when I'm out I've only stayed until the last song once.

Thinly veiled "I always pull" boast? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Collie D wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "I always pull" boast? ;)

God no, it was a well veiled misanthropic "I hate crowds of people" post. I couldn't pull in an niteclub even if I was the only guy in there.

This however is a thinly veiled "looking for reassurances I'm actually a lovey person and I'll meet somebody special someday" post. Covered in a "be brutally honest because I have a weird sense of humor" post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭MsJenjers

I think it's just weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Does it do any harm?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

only those ****ty 21st DJ's that do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

You mean volume?

Crank it up to 11!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

This however is a thinly veiled "looking for reassurances I'm actually a lovey person and I'll meet somebody special someday" post. Covered in a "be brutally honest because I have a weird sense of humor" post.

I saw that but a man with your pulling record needs no ego stroking :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

i think it causes problems, if your chatting away and oblivious to the background music, then its played and some tool decided that your supposed to be patriotic just because he's pished and starts getting stroppy.

I prefer places that dont play it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

effluent wrote: »
    Is it the right setting to be playing it?

No, not at all. I think it's pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

i think it causes problems, if your chatting away and oblivious to the background music, then its played and some tool decided that your supposed to be patriotic just because he's pished and starts getting stroppy.

This actually happened to a mate of mine who was at a birthday party with some friends in a Nightclub which happened to be located in a heavily loyalist part of town and nearly got lynched for neglecting to stand for GSTQ.

He was actually so busy chatting to the people he was with that he was only vaguely aware of what was going on in he rest of the place although he did wonder to himself why they were playing this shyte music that nobody was even dancing to but he didnt realise what the song actually was.

Hes English you see.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Russian National Anthem

Meh !

East German one FTW !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    This actually happened to a mate of mine who was at a birthday party with some friends in a Nightclub which happened to be located in a heavily loyalist part of town and nearly got lynched for neglecting to stand for GSTQ.

He was actually so busy chatting to the people he was with that he was only vaguely aware of what was going on in he rest of the place although he did wonder to himself why they were playing this shyte music that nobody was even dancing to but he didnt realise what the song actually was.

Hes English you see.......:D

Some of the posters here don't have a problem with other anthems they just hate our one.

This threads been done before and its always the same old nonsense: "Hurr duurrr Irish anthem bad, if you stand up for it your a terrorist, herp derp"

I'm not a nationalist/republican, but the way to move on and get out of the self hating postcolonial cringe nonsense is to accept ourselves.

Not accepting ourselves has led to being controlled by the fascists from Rome and the crooked politicians for decades.

Its about time people took ownership of the country and started giving a fuck.

Discard the civil war parties North and South of the border, discard the **** in the media and consign religion, sectarianism and bigotry to the past.

We're as good as anyone else. No better, and no worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Goldenegg

theres a thread on that:rolleyes: already....

inapropriate use of smiley, i dont care

Well done! Absolute great come back! :rolleyes:

/obvious thanks-whoring post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I remember it played in nightclubs in here in donegal back in the 90's. I used to hate the wannabe RA men standing with their arms behind their back and chest puffed out surveying the room to see if anyone was disrespecting the anthem /vomit/!

I seen people being ordered and pulled to their feet for not standing up when it came on. :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

The quality of threads is going down. Maybe if people bothered to look at last weeks we wouldnt see rubbish like this and rejoining britain threads every week.

I find the quality of music beforehand more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

Was in a pub one evening where Ireland were playing England and they turned down the Volume when the english anthem was played...and turned Volume on full blast when our anthem was played...same Pub plays the national anthem every night on closing.....as they used to do in a Pub in Kilburn years ago.....

Maybe if people bothered to look at last weeks we wouldnt see rubbish like this and rejoining britain threads every week.
    dont you realise, thats where they get the idea for the thread in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Do they still do this? It`s seriously cringe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The quality of threads is going down. Maybe if people bothered to look at last weeks we wouldnt see rubbish like this and rejoining britain threads every week.

I find the quality of music beforehand more important.

What are you on about your only here a wet week ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

so.... any craic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 191 ✭✭I would ride myself cos im a sexy man

h2005 wrote: »
    Do they still do this? It`s seriously cringe

yeah loike the clubs do be soo jammers loike

You're in Ireland not Beverly Hills sonny. The word is cringeworthy, as is your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

yeah loike the clubs do be soo jammers loike

You're in Ireland not Beverly Hills sonny. The word is cringeworthy, as is your post.

As is your username.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Meh !

East German one FTW !

Meh again

USSR ftw!
    First came across in the Hunt for the Red October film

Wally you can't even use the quote function, even in it's basic form. You had to twice delete your own post.

I would say your own username is quite apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I love it! Nothing like being all patriotic after beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wally you can't even use the quote function, even in it's basic form. You had to twice delete your own post.

You only joined last month!
    And you know everything about everything and correcting posters and this entire forum already
    You'll be a mod in no time :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Meh again

USSR ftw!
    First came across in the Hunt for the Red October film

Definitely my favourite national anthem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Its very rare that i remember that late into a night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

God no, it was a well veiled misanthropic "I hate crowds of people" post. I couldn't pull in an niteclub even if I was the only guy in there.

Caught the ball and just kept on running didn't ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Remember night or 2 in Letterkenny had this :o

Would be a riot if did it up North, either anthem :eek:

Meh again

USSR ftw!

I see your USSR and I raise you ten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

I would say your own username is quite apt.
    Got their in the end though didn't I? BTW how would ya go about riding yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Only if a Wolfe Tones medley precedes it; a la A Nation Once Again, Come out ye Black & Tans, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Berns wrote: »
    Remember night or 2 in Letterkenny had this :o

Would be a riot if did it up North, either anthem :eek:

Not true...Happens quite regularly in the north. Both anthems.