Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Healy-Rae for President

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Doesn't fool me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

greeno wrote: »
    Speaking to Radio Kerry, Jackie Healy-Rae said running in the Presidential campaign would be a challenge he would enjoy.

Well done to whoever figured out what he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

can we have an April fools attempts mega thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

god look at the date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

What you think the Irish electorate is too sophistictaed for this not to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

I'd rather take Norris up the Aras than Healy-Rae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Phoenix Park would be the largest quarry in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Common as...

Look at bright side if jackie gets the job, he'll save money on garden maintenance costs by bring up a few lorry loads of bullocks(cows) to but on the grounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

April Fool's trick here. If it were real, he'd never have the support on a national level to make it worthwhile.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Would this fella get as much airplay as he does if he didnt have such a thick Kerry accent?? I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭greeno

Its on newstalk now also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Glanced past the thread title, thought it said:

hourly rate for president....

must concentrate more.

Look at bright side if jackie gets the job, he'll save money on garden maintenance costs by bring up a few lorry loads of bullocks(cows) to but on the grounds.

He'd build a mud-hut village and move his constituents up to the big city. It would be the Irish equivalent of the Beverley Hillbillies, except without the comedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

I'd vote for him....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha somebody played an April Fools joke on him by making him think anybody outside of the bog would vote for him to be President. The man can barely dress himself or string a coherent sentence together, let alone be the figure head of our country. Off in to retirement with ya now Jackie before you manage the impossible and make yourself look even more ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

DarkJager wrote: »
    The man can barely dress himself or string a coherent sentence together, let alone be the figure head of our country

For some reason this made me laugh my ****ing head off! :D

I consider myself to be quite a tolerant person, but there is no way I could tolerate this backwards farmer being our Head of State.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Wildebrian

At least he'd be nearer his friends in the Zoo;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Guill wrote: »

+1 Chuck Norris for president, we'd show the world then so we would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Kenmare, new capital of Ireland

In the event of some strange voting phenomenon, we should start building a big grassy knoll near the Aras, or even a book depository just to make certain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

His first act will be to put a gate across the entrance to the phoenix park, and graze cattle there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I wish he would **** off as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

bullocks(cows)

Leonard the cow, eh. :pac: Wouldn't try milking that if I were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha somebody played an April Fools joke on him by making him think anybody outside of the bog would vote for him to be President. The man can barely dress himself or string a coherent sentence together, let alone be the figure head of our country. Off in to retirement with ya now Jackie before you manage the impossible and make yourself look even more ridiculous.

It wouldn't be the first time a high level politicial in ireland couldn't string a sentence together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

I'd vote for him and would like to see him win, if only to enrage the whingers with superiority complexes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'd vote for him and would like to see him win, if only to enrage the whingers with superiority complexes.

What's superior about not wanting to elect a parish pumper? A man whose electoral rhetoric revolves around "the Dublin meeja" and cute hoorism. The picture of himself and Michael on horseback before the election said it all. A pair of fecking cowboys taking us all for a ride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I'd vote for him, but I'm not sure if the majority of Irish people are smart enough to vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

No chance, Bertie will be the next president .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I would think he would get very few votes outside Kerry.

Can you honestly see people from Dublin voting for this man?

http://www.brightidea.ie/jackiehealyrae/images/serious.jpg

He does have one hell of a comb over though, it's kind of entrancing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

COYW wrote: »
    No chance, Bertie will be the next president .....

If the two of them were the only candidates running I'd give it a bash myself. Wouldn't even have to do any electioneering. Just get name on ballot paper as the "other" candidate. Six figure salary, big house, state visits. Bring it on. Main policy would be an act of military aggression against some defenceless nation. Liechtenstein looks nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 micsla

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I would think he would get very few votes outside Kerry.

Can you honestly see people from Dublin voting for this man?

http://www.brightidea.ie/jackiehealyrae/images/serious.jpg

He does have one hell of a comb over though, it's kind of entrancing.

You are right that he would probably get little to no votes inside the Pale but I think you really are underestimating how he would get on outside Kerry. As a Tipperary man I would vote for him.

micsla wrote: »
    You are right that he would probably get little to no votes inside the Pale but I think you really are underestimating how he would get on outside Kerry. As a Tipperary man I would vote for him.

I can't see the appeal of any sort in voting for Healy Rae. Would you just do it for a laugh or do you genuinely think an old aged gombeen farmer from Kerry with an atrocious comb over would do anything for our image as a nation? He's the type of guy that belongs in the past and there is no way in hell he should ever have a position that puts him in the international spotlight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I welcome our new inbred overlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭cup of tea

Guill wrote: »

Take Norris up the arse, kindly divil aren't ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

As a Tipperary man I would vote for him.

I'm not surprised..ye voted Lowry back in so why not Healy-Rae for President :rolleyes:

I can't see the appeal of any sort in voting for Healy Rae. Would you just do it for a laugh or do you genuinely think an old aged gombeen farmer from Kerry with an atrocious comb over would do anything for our image as a nation? He's the type of guy that belongs in the past and there is no way in hell he should ever have a position that puts him in the international spotlight.
    Well I suppose for a bit of a laugh in a way but in all honesty I would prefer him to Mr Norris. With all due respect to Mr. Norris I don't really fancy what he would do for our image as a nation.

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    I'm not surprised..ye voted Lowry back in so why not Healy-Rae for President :rolleyes:

Was just waiting for that one.. I knew it would come eventually :)

Well I suppose for a bit of a laugh in a way but in all honesty I would prefer him to Mr Norris. With all due respect to Mr. Norris I don't really fancy what he would do for our image as a nation.

Despite of what your personal opinions of Norris are, he is extremely well spoken and intelligent. 2 words that will never be used in the same sentence as Jackie Healy Rae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Or he could just use his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Cue the new Kenmare-Dublin motorway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Charco2006

Judging by his website this clown has a great sense of humour atleast....his whole life is one big april fools prank if you ask me. What a pathetic ignorent disgrace he is....

http://www.jackiehealyrae.com/

"The night Jackie Healy-Rae was elected TD for South Kerry the
    scene in Killarney was like Puck Fair, the Rose of Tralee and a Kerry welcome
    for the Sam McGuire Cup rolled into one."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm not sure who else is supposed to be running, Norris, Bertie?, Michael D?, Findlay?

None of them appeal to me one bit, may as well vote for JHE, if not only to irritate some on here :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

it isnt true is it say it isnt true.will every household get a free english/healy rae dictionary so we can understand what the "man" is saying?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Charco2006

If only the presidential election was a phone in comp and he could get his idiot son on the case!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Retired TD for Kerry South Jackie Healy-Rae has said he is "confident" he could get the support for a nomination if he was to run for President.

He said it is definitely something that he is considering, but he has not made a final decision yet.

Mr Healy-Rae stepped down before the last General Election, while his son Michael Healy-Rae won his vacant seat.

Speaking to Radio Kerry, Jackie Healy-Rae said running in the Presidential campaign would be a challenge he would enjoy.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/healy-rae-confident-of-getting-presidential-nomination-499530.html#ixzz1IHC2OMls

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/healy-rae-confident-of-getting-presidential-nomination-499530.html

Can I phone a friend?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

how could anyone in the right mind vote for that stocking of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

joe stodge wrote: »

Because he great to get the odd pothole fixed which buys plenty of votes in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

joe stodge wrote: »

It's not about how many people vote for you, it's all about how many times they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,763 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Because he great to get the odd pothole fixed which buys plenty of votes in this county

FYP

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Retired TD for Kerry South Jackie Healy-Rae has said he is "confident" he could get the support for a nomination if he was to run for President.

He said it is definitely something that he is considering, but he has not made a final decision yet.

Mr Healy-Rae stepped down before the last General Election, while his son Michael Healy-Rae won his vacant seat.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/healy-rae-confident-of-getting-presidential-nomination-499530.html#ixzz1IHC2OMls

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/healy-rae-confident-of-getting-presidential-nomination-499530.html

David Norris V Jackie Healey-Rae comparable to

James Joyce V Peig Sayers