Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had enough - quitting

• 31-03-2011 11:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭

Lads, I'm sorry to say this but I've had enough of both the bickering here and the politics entailed in having to work within the ever decreasing scope of mod powers that are bring imposed by the admins.

I thought that I could be able to make a difference here but it seems it's not to be.

Anyway, the upshot is, about a month ago I asked the cmods and admins to select my replacement here - they asked me to say nothing till they posted here but I'm fed up waiting and I owe it to the community to let you all know.

They've shortlisted a few candidates based on postcount here and 'perceived net contributions and experience' - I had no say in it - so, going forward, it looks like Lemming will be heading up adverts again and, under his guidance, Firekitten will replace me here. Can't understand it really but they're basing this on the fact that Lemming has mod experience and can offer personal guidance on any moderating matters.

Anyways, I'm sure it's all for the best and I wish you all the best of luck in the future. I'm sure we'll cross paths sometime if you ever use adverts.ie.

It's been sorta fun (well, not really)

Steve.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭DICEMAN7

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Thanks for finding it funny mate. I don't appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

jaysus its just airsoft, whats the big deal like? :p

Probably not the idea in the end to have posted this though, mentioning replacements and what not, prob pissed someone off somewhere, but sure what do I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

The final nail in the coffin now truely the lunatics will be running the asylum.

Last post for me here its been fun while it was fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Steve I remember talking to you about a week ago and tried to get you to reconsider. However im sorry to see you go.

I wish you well with everything you do and with adverts.
    Andy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

Stacy SLATERS!!!!

Sisko wrote: »
    Probably not the idea in the end to have posted this though, mentioning replacements and what not, prob pissed someone off somewhere, but sure what do I know.
    Yeah, was told not to until it was all official but don't reall care at this point.
    andy_g wrote: »
    Steve I remember talking to you about a week ago and tried to get you to reconsider. However im sorry to see you go.

I wish you well with everything you do and with adverts.
    Andy
    Thanks mate - was a pleasure working with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Best of luck lad. Always thought you were fair in the way you moderated. Not an easy job to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Private Snafu

Steve wrote: »
    Lads, I'm sorry to say this but I've had enough of both the bickering here and the politics entailed in having to work within the ever decreasing scope of mod powers that are bring imposed by the admins.

I thought that I could be able to make a difference here but it seems it's not to be.

Anyway, the upshot is, about a month ago I asked the cmods and admins to select my replacement here - they asked me to say nothing till they posted here but I'm fed up waiting and I owe it to the community to let you all know.

They've shortlisted a few candidates based on postcount here and 'perceived net contributions and experience' - I had no say in it - so, going forward, it looks like Lemming will be heading up adverts again and, under his guidance, Firekitten will replace me here. Can't understand it really but they're basing this on the fact that Lemming has mod experience and can offer personal guidance on any moderating matters.

Anyways, I'm sure it's all for the best and I wish you all the best of luck in the future. I'm sure we'll cross paths sometime if you ever use adverts.ie.

It's been sorta fun (well, not really)

Steve.

I'm sorry to see you go Steve, I honestly think you tried your hardest...
    To be honest this place has always been a disaster, a wasps nest of people bickering and sniping at one another has never made for a great forum. I hope that you haven't based your opinions of airsofters on this... We're a sound bunch in reality (well 99% of us). Maybe some day we'll see you on a site:)

Unfortunately I can't see the admins decisions on the new moderation ultimately benefitting the forum now, and this will probably be my last post here (apart from adverts, unless there is a way to appeal to admins regarding their decision)... It's been a good one boards, I'll see you all on Arnies and Airsoft Mechanics :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

I'm appalled that you would breach the trust of the other mods like this. You've been a trusted mod for long enough to not do this. Any of us could post some of the comments you've made about other Airsoft posters but we wouldn't do that. Good luck in your future endeavours.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Glad he's gone tbh.

Macros42 wrote: »
    I'm appalled that you would breach the trust of the other mods like this. You've been a trusted mod for long enough to not do this. Any of us could post some of the comments you've made about other Airsoft posters but we wouldn't do that. Good luck in your future endeavours.
    You know as well as I do that the mods are being treated like bloody children and are being told that we're not trusted any more.

Good luck with that in the future..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭VonLuck

I won't say it but I know whats going on here... the real motives behind all this! :D

Glad he's gone tbh.

Not gone yet mate.. I can still ban you.

You know as well as I do that the mods are being treated like bloody children and are being told that we're not trusted any more.

Good luck with that in the future..

We're treated the way we act tbh. I'm treated like an adult.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Not gone yet mate.. I can still ban you.

Yeah. Good call. Quit like a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Macros42 wrote: »

meh big deal, they probably deserved it, like he called the Admins out as the cnuting bumblefücks they are when they were trying to hide the Daft Media thingy recently.
    fair balls to him, he isn't a sheep like some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

1st april

1st april

I really... REALLY hope so:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

1st april

i think he has a point lol

:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Well that does it for me!

The decision to appoint a boards member who's main contribution seems to be to argue, blicker and belittle the contributions of others is galling.

Leaving aside the members appalling record of warnings and banning for trolling & flaming, this member would not have the moral high ground for such a responsibility....

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

Politics will be found everywhere in life, and like it or not, oppose or support, there comes a time where it all gets too much. It is a glorified egg timer, and eventually the sand permeates and drowns everything. I think it is a sad day when the Airsoft community loses a Moderator appointed to us to try and help steer this section back to a place of worth. Furthermore, I think the whole Boards community will be at a loss.

Steve, I would like to take the time to say 'Thank you' for trying. No, not just that. Thank you for not only trying, but trying well, with good protocol, and strong values. You attempted to change things, and challenged quite a lot on Boards...nothing was out of bounds, and I honestly commend you for it. However you probably just ruffled too many feathers. You can push peoples buttons for only so long, before cronyism sets in, and widespread bullying starts. You never backed down, as far as I could see, and for a time this place regained its luster. We, the Airsoft community, owe a lot to you...and I hope you can see our collective appreciation.

Moderating any site is a thankless job until you leave, and what little thanks you get is not usually any solace due the consistent and erroneously placed blame on 'the Mod Squad'. I am sorry that internal affairs has pushed away a truly remarkable moderator. You will be missed.

Yeah, just because I've been going on about this on the mod forum for the last month doesn't mean other mods have free reign to come in here and take the píss.

I know I'm not supposed to do this but there are limits to my patience.

I'm fed up with boards and all the crap I've to put up with here - don't care if I get de-modded entirely over this. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭cobra 08

Sorry to see you leave Steve you where doing a good job around here. Willing to listen to what people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Yeah, just because I've been going on about this on the mod forum for the last month doesn't mean other mods have free reign to come in here and take the píss.

I know I'm not supposed to do this but there are limits to my patience.

I'm fed up with boards and all the crap I've to put up with here - don't care if I get de-modded entirely over this. :rolleyes:

send me an email, I'm considering posting about that thing off boards tomorrow,where it won't be so easily deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

WTF??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Very sorry to see that you've decided to follow through with stepping down Steve. I think you've made a valuable contribution to airsoft for the better, and indeed whilst I was very reluctant to step back up to the plate regarding adverts, you've given a good steerage for the future and food for thought.

I'll leave FireKitten to post her own words & thoughts but I am sure I can speak for both of us in giving thanks & praise for all you've done, despite coming up against the brick wall that boards.ie airsoft can be at times.

As opposed to you taking the piss yourself? Hypocrite much?
    Steve wrote:
    I don't care if I get de-modded entirely over this. :rolleyes:
    Well I'd say that's a given and deservedly so. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Oh drama!

*Subscribes to thread*

*looks at date*
    Not+Sure+if+serious.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

Lemming wrote: »
    Very sorry to see that you've decided to follow through with stepping down Steve. I think you've made a valuable contribution to airsoft for the better, and indeed whilst I was very reluctant to step back up to the plate regarding adverts, you've given a good steerage for the future and food for thought.

I'll leave FireKitten to post her own words & thoughts but I am sure I can speak for both of us in giving thanks & praise for all you've done, despite coming up against the brick wall that boards.ie airsoft can be at times.

What a load of tripe.....

Jesus, things were bad enough but with The Crankies running the show all bets are off :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭hitman__

Fair play Steve for having the Balls to stand up.
    Best of luck in your future.
    I've had it with Boards.
    This is probably my last post here for what it's worth, see you on Arnies.

Nerin wrote: »
    send me an email, I'm considering posting about that thing off boards tomorrow,where it won't be so easily deleted.
    Mail sent mate - but I'm gonna blog that stuff anon under a different name on facebook - I'm not gonna get anyone banned here, especially not another mod.
    Lemming wrote: »

Welcome back Lemming - I feel sorry for the adverts forum users but I have to say your ban from orbit policy did actually have merits. I'm sure that Firekitten will get on fine under your direction here - at least there'll be no more messing or questioning mod decisions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

rabbit did this years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭OutsiderAkuma

Best of luck Steve, as with any mod, it's alot of hassle with no reward. Thanks for helping everyone at the boards. Take care mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

I'm looking forward to a few red faces tomorrow when feet have to be removed from gobs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Tigger wrote: »
    rabbit did this years ago

You're showing your age :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

Lemming it will be good to have you back. but i heard your old ban hammer was thrown in the furnace along with all our mod perks :( so time to carve a new one.

Also welcome on board firekitten. Hope you get used to the new powers and the place.
    Andy

It's all academic anyway - seems that airsoft is gonna be shut down permanently by our new elected leaders.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71463834#post71463834

It's all academic anyway - seems that airsoft is gonna be shut down permanently by our new elected leaders.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71463834#post71463834

Good man Steve :rolleyes:
    I still stand by what I said earlier though;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,752 ✭✭✭DeBurca

A very sad day for this Forum when a MOD the calibre of Steve step down
    He was in my time on this forum the most opened minded/fair person that I have met here, he was willing to change things not just for the sake of change but for the betterment of use all
    I for one will miss his broad minded approach to steering this forum in the right direction
    Steve may I wish you well in all your future endevors

Kevin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Harveey

Well that does it for me!

The decision to appoint a boards member who's main contribution seems to be to argue, blicker and belittle the contributions of others is galling.

Leaving aside the members appalling record of warnings and banning for trolling & flaming, this member would not have the moral high ground for such a responsibility....

:mad:

Have to agree with Johnny on this one!
    I think we've all seen how downhill Boards has gone but this is turning it into a joke now:mad:

Steve, thanks for everything you have done its a shame to see you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

You can tell alot about a person about how they choose to put angry smilies in their posts...

(and how some can't pick up sarcasm on the interwebz)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Here lads, the mods had a meeting, all the IAA were there, stuff was said, its all very hush hush, but boards.ie are releasing a gbb vintorez, makarov, pkm and an m4 with rails on it, I'm looking forward to that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

andy_g wrote: »
    Lemming it will be good to have you back. but i heard your old ban hammer was thrown in the furnace along with all our mod perks :( so time to carve a new one.

Also welcome on board firekitten. Hope you get used to the new powers and the place.
    Andy

I read it was being used as a prop in the thor movie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beez

This is an April fools thread right?

Please tell me so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

LOL.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Oh man too funny.

And for some - way too late to backpeddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

These are pretty classic responses! I’ve never laughed so hard!
    Steve… Inspired April Fools gag, and hilarious expose of the people that post politely with people, then stab them when they smell blood.... two faced cheerleaders… (You know who you are) The fact they didn’t spot this for what this is, speaks volumes.

“Helm! Backpedal immediately! Flank speed!

Gerrout: Hey! Where did you get my modeling photo from!!!
    :pac::eek::rolleyes::(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

O man well played. Some silly dopes really pur their foot in it jahaha.

O God some people