Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this car possibly clocked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Any proof? i.e. previous ad advertising it so we can see does it have the same plates?!!

EDIT: after seeing second post now got there while I was typing mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Bodywork looks suspect too.

screengrabs

1j9hfa.jpg

jr64w4.jpg

reg is clearly the same when you enlarge the pics on carzone

forwarding to www.nca.ie , you don't advertise as "low mileage" when there's 300,000 km on it!!! be interesting to see the "new NCT" on it

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Car reg in case any buyer happens to google it: 05-D-73476

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

jaysus.

Lock 'em up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

So Field's Motor Group of Naas (phone number 087 1635633) are selling what appears to be a heavily clocked car?

Just thought google might like to know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Any point in emailing them on sales@fieldsmotorgroup.com ?

This is disgraceful.

Will drop query@nca.ie an email now too. Fookin bandits :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

lads, i know this too should be declared, but, just from reading both adverts...

when the car had 186k, it was a 2.0 diesel

now with 75k its a 2.4 diesel.

now i don't know my volvos and/ or if they come in a 2.4 diesel or not, but declared engine swaps are legitimate are they not?

would like to see this motorchecked to see what the story is/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

andyseadog wrote: »
    lads, i know this too should be declared, but, just from reading both adverts...

when the car had 186k, it was a 2.0 diesel

now with 75k its a 2.4 diesel.

now i don't know my volvos and/ or if they come in a 2.4 diesel or not, but declared engine swaps are legitimate are they not?

would like to see this motorchecked to see what the story is/

There was never a 2.0d in that shape S80 - just wrong info on that advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭thenightrider

R.O.R wrote: »
    There was never a 2.0d in that shape S80 - just wrong info on that advert.

Who is to say they did not get the millage wrong in the advert as well ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

If I was in Dublin today, I would drive over for a look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭edwinkane

VolvoMan wrote: »
    This car was for sale very recently with 190k on it and I am one hundred per cent certain it is the same one: http://www.carzone.ie/search/Volvo/S80/S80-DIES/201113201822437/advert?channel=CARS

Bloody disgraceful.:mad:

Have you reported this to the Police with your evidence? if not, why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Could it be confusing ~190k miles and kms?

If someone could have a spin over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭MacGyver

Should places like carzone take records of milage and reg number of each sale and at least make sure the new ad has at least the same if not more milage then the last time it was posted. The reg doesnt need to be shown in the ad as some people dont like to display them but it may do away with clocked cars being advertised.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,118 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Tragedy wrote: »
    Just thought google might like to know ;)

Google "Field's Motor Group clocking" and this thread comes up as the very first search result :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Haha i was there a few weeks back looking at a 318i for my other half, glad i didnt buy it after reading this. <snip stupid comment>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

The state of the seats especially and interior look like it's seen alot of miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Welcome to another episode of "Boards Motors Forum Investigates".
    Man I love the internet :)

Weird though, they seem to be owned by the same crowd, or at least are trading partners, you'd think if they were clocking cars they would remove the old adds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

I know you all want them closed but there is a bigger picture here. One person is responsible for this scam. More than likely not everyone in the garages' employment knew anything of this.
    Would you not think it better to find the individual responsible rather than closing the garage?
    Or am I wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭edwinkane

cadaliac wrote: »
    I know you all want them closed but there is a bigger picture here. One person is responsible for this scam. More than likely not everyone in the garages' employment knew anything of this.
    Would you not think it better to find the individual responsible rather than closing the garage?
    Or am I wrong?

How do you intend to do that? Surely its a job for the Police?

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    But then you can get to the situation where they just name a scapegoat so the garage can get away scott free.
    True, it gets too messy alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

edwinkane wrote: »
    Have you reported this to the Police with your evidence? if not, why not?

Because the police are only bothered with what goes on in England. Its the guards you talk to here.

Great news, I have to actually buy the car before the NCA can investigate this!
    Thank you for contacting the National Consumer Agency (NCA) with your query regarding a possible car clocking issue. We appreciate the effort you have made to bring this issue to our attention.

It is an offence and against the law to clock a vehicle and mislead consumers as to the usage or prior history on a vehicle.

However in order for us to carry out an investigation under the Consumer Protection Act, 2007, we would need to obtain proof. This is done by examining the car and the documentation. As you did not purchase the car it is not possible in this case to proceed with an investigation, however we will hold the information on file.

If you have any further consumer related queries please do not hesitate to contact us on 1890 432 432.

Yours sincerely,

Jade Kinsella

National Consumer Agency

Fire a report into the gardai as well.

Absurdum wrote: »
    Great news, I have to actually buy the car before the NCA can investigate this!
    Jesus, that really is a disgrace. They will take the car off you on the side of the road for a traffic offence or no tax but when you point out something clearly illegal being preformed, they won't even investigate.
    What good is it on file?
    Unfortunately it is very typical of whats wrong in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

cadaliac wrote: »
    Jesus, that really is a disgrace. They will take the car off you on the side of the road for a traffic offence or no tax

The National Consumer Agency (NCA) will? :pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

in keeping with your username that is ABSURD !! WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH THIS COUNTRY IT SEEMS TO BE AN OPEN AND SHUT CASE and yet they will sit on their hands and do nothing

The NCA are a bunch of lame clowns. The last time they caught a clocker red handed they told him he was a bold boy and not to do it again :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

And the offence is civil, not criminal, so the Gardai aren't interested either. It's up to us to investigate, come up with the proof and name and shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

Fields Motors advert has been edited, now reads zero mileage :rolleyes:

They must read here :)

Google doesn't forget though :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

EPM wrote: »
    Could it be confusing ~190k miles and kms?

The fact that they are now advertising it as 'low mileage' means that is definitely not the case.

It makes my blood boil how these crooks on the Naas Road operate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Can someone get in to the garage and verify the mileage reading before we get out the torches and pitchforks please?
    I'd hate to see someone's reputation/business ruined because of a typo on an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

Motor City Naas Road advert showing 186k mileage has now been removed.

-Chris- wrote: »
    Can someone get in to the garage and verify the mileage reading before we get out the torches and pitchforks please?
    I'd hate to see someone's reputation/business ruined because of a typo on an ad.

... and if someone also did a mileage check, that coupled with a glance at the speedo would clarify (perhaps) alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Why would motor city remove their ad? To protect the other guys?

mondeo wrote: »
    Why would motor city remove their add? To protect the other guys?

Well if they are the same company it would make sense. If they are not the same company they no longer have the car for sale :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

I might be in that area tomorrow, so I'll have a look :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

What's the betting the car won't be there?

...or hidden.

The car is still advertised linky but with LOW MILEAGE

From their website they kindly give their gps location:

linky to google maps but it shows the previous business name, Nolan Motor Company!!

and thats the side of the Naas road I'll be on

RoverJames wrote: »
    ... and if someone also did a mileage check

There used to be someone on here with unlimited access to cartell or one of those Irish equivalent HPI check sites. Could anyone please run one and post it here. Just to ease Chris' mind :D

unkel wrote: »

There used to be someone on here with unlimited access to cartell or one of those Irish equivalent HPI check sites. Could anyone please run one and post it here. Just to ease Chris' mind :D

Wonder if Motorcheck is around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Motorcheck

Report on the way chaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Motorcheck

Here ya go - http://twitpic.com/4froex/full - No surprises here!

Thanks for that!

So, a confirmed minimum mileage of 195k miles (313kkm)

Also, NCT is overdue since Sept 2009!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

the plot thickens :pac:

Motorcheck wrote: »
    Report on the way chaps

Do you get an alert when someone types Motorcheck?

If we need you, just mention Motorcheck on a thread and you'll appear? A bit like:
    153721.jpg