Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weeks LOI, you be Nutsy to miss it.

• 30-03-2011 7:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

1 Apr 2011 St Patrick's Athletic 7:35 Bohemians Richmond Park Live on RTE
    1 Apr 2011 Bray Wanderers 7:45 Derry City Carlisle Grounds
    1 Apr 2011 Drogheda United 7:45 Shamrock Rovers Hunky Dorys Park
    1 Apr 2011 Dundalk 7:45 UCD Oriel Park
    1 Apr 2011 Galway United 7:45 Sligo Rovers Terryland Park

Tough one for us showed a bit of fight last week and Daly/Kavanagh should be fit, kenna out for 6 weeks tho so Beast prolly CB again. Some seriously crap run of fixtures we have had Rovers/Dundalk/Bohs/Sligo in a row :(

........Rogers
    Pender MC Millan Mulcahy Bermo
    Murphy Bradley Crowley Kavanagh
    ..........North Daly

Mahons mother died yesterday so doubt he will be there and should be a minutes a silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

Any truth in the rumours of Mahons second in command going to Bohs?

Metro this morning had him ahead of the usual suspects, buckley, etc

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Be surprised if we got anything out of this

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Ebbs wrote: »

He applied for the Monaghan job, so reckon if he gets a managers job he be gone. Well liked by players and fans.

Roderick wants the Cork job seemingly :eek:

http://pauldollery.com/?p=139&preview=true

http://monaghanunited.tv/?p=652

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

The Connacht Derby. Time to move on from the Cockhill shambles and beat the Sligs.

We'll probably play the team that beat Bohs except Sean Kelly will come in for the injured Gary Curran. Fleming, Maher, Bobby Ryan and Cash should all come back into the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

The obligatory LOI weekly thread without 1st division fixtures I see.

Roddy stiring the poo in the build up to the Cork City vs Monaghan game. Should make for a good atmosphere.

Headline on the Back page of the Echo down here on today(Wednesday). Can't buy that kind of publicity.

"Roddy attacks City boss Dunne"

Some quotes from the Rod.

“They’ve got the finances, the players, the best stadium in the league…if you can’t achieve promotion in the First Division with a club like that, you should be shot"

"But, unfortunately they have a boy doing a mans job as their manager"

“It’s a no-brainer. Cork City getting out of the First Division, that’s a piece of cake. What pressure? Pressure is when you’re at the bottom of the league and looking to stay up. Pressure is when you’re one game away from dropping out of the Football League. That’s real pressure, not down in Cork. It should be a pleasure going to work down there at a club that size, not pressure.”

“There’s no doubt about it, I would have got them promoted last season for sure. There’s no pressure down there. Getting Cork promoted from the First Division is a piece of cake. It’s easier than being at any other club in the country, and I mean all 32 counties. You’ve got Shamrock Rovers and Bohs and then you have Cork City. They’re the three big clubs in the country.”

Quotes from extratime.ie & Evening Echo.

The obligatory LOI weekly thread without 1st division fixtures I see.

Roddy stiring the poo in the build up to the Cork City vs Monaghan game. Should make for a good atmosphere.

Headline on the Back page of the Echo down here on today(Wednesday). Can't buy that kind of publicity.

"Roddy attacks City boss Dunne"

The original article and Video up above, hes fcukin nuts :D

Yeah i aint puttin 1st divison fixtures in until we in it :) plus it pisses of the shels fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Lets wait and see how long it actually takes Nutsy to resign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

1 Apr 2011 Cork City 7:45 Monaghan United Turner's Cross
    1 Apr 2011 Shelbourne 8:00 Limerick Tolka Park
    1 Apr 2011 Wexford Youths 8:00 Mervue United Ferrycarrig Park
    2 Apr 2011 Salthill Devon 7:00 Waterford United Drom Soccer Pitch
    2 Apr 2011 Longford Town 7:30 Athlone Town Flancare Park

Two big games this weekend with the Corkies playing Mons and ourselves playing Stab City lads.

Can see it being a tough match for us, but hopefully we can hold onto our 100% record for this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Be surprised if we got anything out of this

Play like you did against Dundalk and good chance of getting a draw. Pats long ball game will suit Bohs defence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Think MON needs to freshen the starting 11 slightly. Like most Rovers supporters, I'd like to see Ricer or O'Donnell getting more game time.

Do think the goals will spring out of this team soon though and hopefully it will be tomorrow night.

doncarlos wrote: »
    Play like you did against Dundalk and good chance of getting a draw. Pats long ball game will suit Bohs defence
    Play like we did against galway and we'll be embarressed. Considering the amount of crap that's gone on this week, I suspect the latter is more likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Ebbs

stovelid wrote: »
    Think MON needs to freshen the starting 11 slightly. Like most Rovers supporters, I'd like to see Ricer or O'Donnell getting more game time.

Bit of a selection nightmare really. Nearly the whole midfield have scored, especially areas where theres a good bit of contention for. McCabe has 2, Paddy has 2. Rice has 1, Turner has 1, Kelly has 1.

Out of the strikers everyone bar O'Neill has scored, who IMO has been out best striker.

Its such a nice problem for rovers to have. Its been a long long while since our midfield actually scored goals.

Id say same team as Derry but with Ricer and Paddy coming in.

Bit of a selection nightmare really. Nearly the whole midfield have scored, especially areas where theres a good bit of contention for. McCabe has 2, Paddy has 2. Rice has 1, Turner has 1, Kelly has 1.

Turner is listed as doubtful so hopefully SOD or Ricer can stake a claim.

I too would start Paddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Finally nothing on a Friday night for the first time in years so bout to set off for Carlisle Grounds. Hoping for another good result for Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dundalkbhoy

i think we will struggle against ucd ..draw.
    irelands shame will beat the drogs.
    derry will beat bray.
    sligo will beat galway.
    pats and bosh will be a draw.
    shels v limerick will be draw.
    cork will beat mons.
    mervue will beat wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

One way traffic in Oriel. UCD not showing anything after a decent opening 5 mins. Will be shocked if we don't win this.

2-0 half time. Plain sailing in the North East.

One all at the Carlisle at HT. Good play with few iffy offsides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Boh's medical bills could be alot after tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Great finish at Inchicore! not over yet

We should be deducted points for that travesty of a football match.

Easily the worst match i have ever seen and i shall never speak of it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

4 team accumulator: Rovers, Rovers #2, Dundalk and Pats. Fúck off Pats.

4-0 win and a dominant performance against Drogs for Rovers by all accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭blindpilot

baz2009 wrote: »
    4 team accumulator: Rovers, Rovers #2, Dundalk and Pats. Fúck off Pats.

4-0 win and a dominant performance against Drogs for Rovers by all accounts.

Pats let me down too. They were awful. Cant believe they didnt test the keeper, him injured and all. Terrible penalty too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

dreamers75 wrote: »

almost a happy ending. . .bloody knew he'd miss it

/that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭paulcorr

The worst game of football i have ever seen,with now without doubt the worst referee in the league.First Rovers match i have missed in years and i had the plessure of watching 2 of the worst teams i have ever seen in the league of Ireland.RTE should of pulled the plug at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

dreamers75 wrote: »

David McMillan should of got his shot on target 15 mins before the end, keeper couldn't move.

Thought we did well to hold out.

Also: :confused:

502988.jpg

frantic190 wrote: »
    David McMillan should of got his shot on target 15 mins before the end, keeper couldn't move.

Thought we did well to hold out.

Also: :confused:

damn you and your quote, i intended to never speak of this again!

Never a peno and would have been harsh on bohs who should have won it, ye didnt have to hold out against much. O brien sent off and didnt leave the pitch i honeslty cant complain on that one.

We have a great squad but a **** team, Kenna out for 6 weeks i dont see us improving anytime soon. We need to play the ****ing deadly wingers we have not Doyle and Anto "diving **** " Murphy. We have proper ball playing midfielders but none of them show for the ball so defenders left to lump it.

if i have to watch that **** again im stabbing myself in the eyeballs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

saw ten mins of it - I had to swtich channels - Poor in the extreme.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    saw ten mins of it - I had to swtich channels - Poor in the extreme.

lucky bsatard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

Sorry :p 5000th post and all.

The linesman had to run over and tell the ref it wasn't a second booking for O'Brien which was an absolute joke.

Fairly sure Flood dived aswell.

Great atmosphere at the end even though the bottle throwing was bang out of order. Only 3 lads were thrown out for it aswell, surely there was more than that doing it?

Very poor match, point was definitely all we deserved anyway, desperately need Fagan back. We're gonna have no ****ing team to put out next week if we have that many injuries. Our centre half Feely is backup to Sexton now in goal after Murphys injury.

frantic190 wrote: »
    Great atmosphere at the end even though the bottle throwing was bang out of order. Only 3 lads were thrown out for it aswell, surely there was more than that doing it?

We dont throw away fans out? Only home fans we let the away fans do what they want.

Can play on the pitch if you want, we not allowed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭RustySpoon

Rubbish game, brought my wife and she nearly fell asleep ( as did I ). Not a good advertisement for the league tonight, driving an hour to watch that every few weeks will soon get tiresome. Family enclosure also sucks.

Good chips before the game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Very enjoyable game at the Cross tonight in very blustery conditions. Referee was pathetic. You thing the Premier Division is bad....

At one stage he game a penalty to City for their goalkeeper taking down their defender, only to be overruled by the linesman. Fair enough but then a few minutes later he doesn't give a stone waller after Cummins was brought down.

Cracking equalizer from Davin O'Neill 10 minutes from time. Rounded 2 players and then chip/shot into the top corner. Beautiful.

Overall a good performance. Still can improve but this is a step in the right direction. Monaghan were poor enough. got their goals on the counter and were happy to sit and defend for most of the game.

Atmosphere has really improved this season. Good craic going to the Cross again. :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

0-4, so comfortable even Billy scored :)

I'd like to see Ricer getting more game time.
    Do think the goals will spring out of this team soon though and hopefully it will be tomorrow night.

:cool:

Unlucky for Bray last night, was an alright game. I knew the Derry number 11 would score, he was dangerous all night. Especially after the glaring miss for Bray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Easily the most shocking game of football i ever seen but also one of the funniest atmospheres at a LOI game.

bottles were way out of order club will be fined no doubt but was never a Peno.

The refereeing in this League is shocking and needs to be addressed asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Mushy wrote: »
    Unlucky for Bray last night, was an alright game. I knew the Derry number 11 would score, he was dangerous all night. Especially after the glaring miss for Bray.

true bray really need to sort out their home form and fast. they need to make the carisle a fortress especially against the lesser teams

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

When will RTE learn not to put clubs like Pats and Bohs on RTE.

The punters want to see Rovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

What a horrible game of hoofball that was...

We're absolutely clueless without Pete Mahon there. Shambles that we couldn't beat that Bohs team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

When will RTE learn not to put clubs like Pats and Bohs on RTE.

The punters want to see Rovers.

I have to agree. Sligo are the best team to watch in the league.

Pauleta wrote: »

They are, in so far as it matters, and either the Sligo or the Rovers match would have been a much better game to stick on.

Bohs and Pats had 0-0 written all over it. Questions have to be asked why RTE picked that game with two poor teams. I'm all for spreading the games out amongst clubs, but if anyone new to the league watched that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Pauleta wrote: »
    Sligo are top of the "best team to watch" table again this year. Unfortunately it only exists in the imaginations of the bitters and their thank-you-button hangers on.

Rovers did well last night after an initial 30 mins of Drogs closing down space very effectively. They eventually ran out of steam and we were very comfortable. Had a perfectly good goal disallowed and Kilduff slipped when clean through, as well as scoring three from open play and a poachers effort from a corner.

Huge away crowd up there.

May be a tad biased here but I'm struggling to think of a better attacking quartet than Quigley, Kearns, Gaynor and Byrne in the league. The first three in particular are extremely exciting to watch when on song with plenty of tricks and pace.

If Dundalk could get a decent central midfielder they'd have a really good team.

Pighead wrote: »
    May be a tad biased here but I'm struggling to think of a better attacking quartet than Quigley, Kearns, Gaynor and Byrne in the league.

Twigg, Kilduff, Sheppard, O'Neill, McCabe, Dennehy, Kavanagh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Limerick c&nts!:mad:

In a way I'm glad I'll be on holidays for Limerick away, can't stand the w*nkers!

Didn't go to the match and happy I didn't. Forced my friends to watch it, they weren't happy :o Fair play to Barry for saving the penalty, he could barely move. Pats should have been shooting any time they got within 40 yards.