Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Right to run away from a gang of cows?

• 30-03-2011 3:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭

Headed to Dundalk's beautiful westside this afternoon for a gentle stroll in the park only to end up having what can only be called a near death experience.

Was walking through old Joey McArdles field thinking about how we as a community can sort out this boards.ie "What exactly constitutes abuse" issue when out of nowhere came a strange sound which sounded suspiciously like a gang of young fella's imitating a gang of cows.

Pighead's suspicions were slightly off the mark however as the cow like sounds were actually coming from cows. Looked over left hand shoulder and the gang of cows were ambling slowly towards yours truly. Aren't these fcukers supposed to be afraid of humans?

Anyway there was a pretty girl surveying the scene from a treehouse across the meadow so not wanting to appear uncool, Pighead ever so slightly upped the pace towards the far gate in the corner of the field.

The gate was 30 metres in front of Pighead. The cows were 15 metres behind. They were gaining fast which was unsurprising as they were doing approximately 7 mph compared to Pighead's 4.5 mph. Calculator on the phone was telling Pighead he would have to up the pace significantly but the inner voice which acts as Pighead's coolometer told him not to be silly and keep swaggering.

Sweat was forming now which probably impressed the chick in the treehouse as women love a sweaty man. The cows were now just a couple of metres behind, the gate seven metres ahead. Something had to be done.

Then remembered something that my drunken liar of an uncle had told Pighead a few years back. Cows hate a staredown. They will back down if you stare the head cow straight between the eyes.

Had never trusted my uncle before but there was nothing for it. There would have to be a staredown. Stared right between the lead cows eyes and waited. The reaction was immediate. He pawed at the dirt with his right hoof, snorted loudly and charged.

There was nothing for it. Pighead had done many things to impress women before but he wasn't willing to take on seven beefy cows in a charging match.

Turned, sprinted and just made it over the gate, the breath of the gang leaders nostrils warming the back of Pighead's throat. The girl pulled the curtains of her tree-house but not before giving Pighead a scornful look which suggested she was questioning Pigheads testicular fortitude.

Any culchies, animal enthusiasts or zoo keepers know if Pighead made the right decision today? Should he have ran? Are gangs of cows dangerous? Could he have been killed? Do girls normally have curtains on their treehouses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Pighead has an awesome life..........aw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Should have done a 'Marwood' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

chin_grin wrote: »
    Pighead has an awesome life..........aw.
    Wouldn't say it's awesome. But that's only because Pighead has a deep hatred of meaningless Americanisms. Would actually describe it as splendid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

It's a herd of cows pighead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Cows are landsharks. With their dead eyes......

Pighead wrote: »
    Wouldn't say it's awesome. But that's only because Pighead has a deep hatred of meaningless Americanisms. Would actually describe it as splendid.

Initially I doth decideth on "quaint", but alas. Doth gray matter thath resideth betweeneth my pinnae didn't see fit as to correcteth my digits...........eth.

Quite sure this lot considered themselves to be more a gang than a herd. They were all wearing leather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

:confused:Wait,

Your trying to impress a chick in a tree house, you would't be one the those pedophile types would you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

City Folk

You sure you didn't incounter a Bull pighead?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

A friend of mine told me he was walking home drunk one night and through the fields, met a herd of cows. One of them got too close and he punched the cow in the nose only to end up with a handful of cow snot.
    I think he is talking through his hat to be quite honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

When I grow up I want to write in the 3rd person like pighead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I call shenanigans, the west-side of Dundalk is neither beautiful or cow-filled. :pac:

irish-stew wrote: »
    City Folk

You sure you didn't incounter a Bull pighead?
    Not sure at all to be honest irish-stew. Most of them looked a bit like this. Except slightly more menacing.

http://producerposts.com/.a/6a01156f4ae097970b012875b66a52970c-pi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There is a breed of cow that's quite aggressive, I can't remember the name now but they're not something you want to meet alone in a dark alleyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

the girl in the tree house will probably start a thread saying something like this!!

I was in my tree house today when I seen this townie walking through the field, little group of cows were grazing and the townie got scared and starting running and cows been animals the ran after him.

you should have seen him jump the gate, what a wimp :pac:
    nearly died laughing :pac:

I think the call him pighead!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

That was me in the treehouse. I'm a 6'2, 15 stone man in my 30's - granted I was wearing a blond wig and a tank top but....

.. I've said too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

I am kind of worried about the age of the girl in the treehouse. Generally girls in treehouses, would be just that, girls, usually 10 years old or less. After that age girls don't seem to go for tomboy pursuits such as that.
    Pighead should check id...

hondasam wrote: »
    the girl in the tree house will probably start a thread saying something like this!!

I was in my tree house today when I seen this townie walking through the field, little group of cows were grazing and the townie got scared and starting running and cows been animals the ran after him.

you should have seen him jump the gate, what a wimp :pac:
    nearly died laughing :pac:

I think the call him pighead!!
    Pighead was afraid this thread would put a dent in his reputation alright. Suppose that's the price you pay when you choose to open your soul to After Hours. You've gotta be prepared to take the knocks.

Was hoping people would focus more on the fact that Pighead has a cool calculator on his phone but suppose it's human nature to focus on the negatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Ah Pighead, where have you been?

phill106 wrote: »
    I am kind of worried about the age of the girl in the treehouse. Generally girls in treehouses, would be just that, girls, usually 10 years old or less. After that age girls don't seem to go for tomboy pursuits such as that.
    Rubbish. Pighead is in his 30's and has a treehouse. Treehouses are for everybody. And beside this treehouse had curtains. Kids don't have the money to put curtains on their treehouses.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

Locked in a staring match with a "gang" of cows.

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Westside of Dundalk getting chased by cows.

Rubbish. Pighead is in his 30's and has a treehouse. Treehouses are for everybody. And beside this treehouse had curtains. Kids don't have the money to put curtains on their treehouses.

You have me there, Now I want a treehouse. I can tell the missus it is for the boys!
    Don't think the tree in the back will support much more then a doghouse though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's good to have you back pighead..........it's been too long

Pighead was afraid this thread would put a dent in his reputation alright. Suppose that's the price you pay when you choose to open your soul to After Hours. You've gotta be prepared to take the knocks.

Was hoping people would focus more on the fact that Pighead has a cool calculator on his phone but suppose it's human nature to focus on the negatives.

you jumped the gate :pac:
    go back tomorrow and repeat the same thing but this time don't run.

come back tomorrow with pics of you and the cows and I will be impressed !!

You have me there, Now I want a treehouse. I can tell the missus it is for the boys!
    Don't think the tree in the back will support much more then a doghouse though :(
    Pighead wasn't allowed use the tree in the garden as a treehouse either. Ended up converting the attic to a tree which is probably actually better as it's inside and it's actually just an attic with leaves and twigs on the floor.

Actually, has anyone considered...those cows...could have had....guns!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I'm pretty sure cows are female too but don't quote me on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

This story is just quan!

Bullsh*t, these women had to have been 40 at least when they made this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvjLgjtJKsc

EDIT: I proabably should have watched that video first, it was a man in the treehouse....much likely the case in Pighead's story too

come back tomorrow with pics of you and the cows and I will be impressed !!

I've been in Dundalk a few times on my travels and I can tell you, they have a have some very nice bovine specimens up that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Once, during a beautiful summer evening, I spent 30 mins dangling from a scrawney little tree whilst also holding a fishing rod in one hand.
    What I had thought would be a peaceful evenings fishing had been temporarily ruined by aggressive cows that charged me.
    I feel your pain Pighead!

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I've been in Dundalk a few times on my travels and I can tell you, they have a have some very nice bovine specimens up that way.

He speaks the truth, my uncle married a right cow from Dundalk, their daughter is one too.

you can come back with pics as well :pac:

you can meet pighead :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Pighead can count himself lucky he didn't come across these Spanish speaking bad boys

cloneslad wrote: »
    He speaks the truth, my uncle married a right cow from Dundalk, their daughter is one too.

Heeyy, I meant the cattle were cute, not that the women were cattle :p

Lovely women in Dundalk, sure the last time I was up there one lovely women wouldn't leave me alone.

I took a pic of her for the guards sure ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Ha ha nice one. Next time stick near a boundary wall or fence when crossing land in case you meet nasty bovine. You don't want to get caught in the middle, it's not pleasant.

That's her! That's the woman in the treehouse. She will never belong to Pighead.

Lovely women in Dundalk, sure the last time I was up there one lovely women wouldn't leave me alone.

Not as nice as this one, and she's got a great imagination too.

just the one woman pete

though the would be like bees to a honey pot after you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

biko wrote: »
    There is a breed of cow that's quite aggressive, I can't remember the name now but they're not something you want to meet alone in a dark alleyway.

I think they're called "bulls".

just the one woman pete

though the would be like bees to a honey pot after you ..

Not since the Chippendales thread they haven't ;)

you better pm those pics to me :p

my imagination is in overdrive here :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Should have blasted them with piss

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Should have blasted them with piss
    Would rather they'd killed me than do that. Pighead's pecker ain't for blasting wee wee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ArseLtd

No. The cows were probably just curious. Its normal for the whole lot of them to follow you around the field for a while. When they got to you yeah, the boldest one would snort at you, and maybe move it head. If it was charging at you you wouldn't have gotten away when you were that close. I very much doubt if it charged at you. You just looked like a simple townie knowing nothing about cows. If you charged at them, they would have all ran away, then started following you again.

If its intentions were to attack you, you would have known well before it got to you. It would stand with its back really straight and run around looking at you, then charge at you from the other side of the field. This would be a bull, i doubt if a cow would do this unless it was protecting a calf.

Alot of the time there are bulls in fields with cows so next time you take a stroll stay close to the fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

They're curious fcukers by nature, so the sight of you attracted them no doubt. All ya had to do was let out a roar/shout or move toward them and they would back away.

However, I might add if they were bullocks you encountered? You did well to run like fcuk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Of course they were curious.A man with a pig's head?

What?

Oh. Sorry:o.