Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PPC 1 2011 Blackhall Place

• 29-03-2011 10:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

Hi Guys, I just thought I'd start this thread for the people who are starting Blackhall Place PPC1 Dublin in September 2011. It could be useful to share thoughts on the upcoming year. Roll on September!smile.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

So jealous :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hardslog

Becky55 wrote: »
    Hi Guys, I just thought I'd start this thread for the people who are starting Blackhall Place PPC1 Dublin in September 2011. It could be useful to share thoughts on the upcoming year. Roll on September!smile.gif

Thanks Becky55, fantastic idea. I would love a little advice from all you that have passed all 8 fe1s and who are definately heading to Blackhall in Sept if possible...?

I've just sat my last fe1 (think it went well). I hadn't planned on going to blackhall until sept 2012 but circumstances have recently changed, for the better.

Can you tell me the process for getting in this sept??

I don't have an apprenticeship secured.

I would love to be able to go this year but I just don't know where to begin, application form-wise, deadline-wise.....

Any little bit of information would be hugely appreciated guys - well done to everyone having those nasty fe1s out of the way :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Has anyone managed to get a grant or bursary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭crystalmice

hardslog wrote: »

I don't have an apprenticeship secured.

You cant start in Blackhall without a TC secured. You have to get that sorted before you can proceed any further. 2011 deadlines are gone for all big firms, as are most 2012 contracts with big firms, so you would ahve to look at the smaller ones. Its not easy, so good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hardslog

thanks CM, so lets say I get a training contract tomorrow(!)when is the deadline for the PPC1 applications?
    I can't see it on the Law Soc website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I was sure I posted in this thread already?

Can't wait for September :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 thefifty

hardslog wrote: »
    thanks CM, so lets say I get a training contract tomorrow(!)when is the deadline for the PPC1 applications?
    I can't see it on the Law Soc website!
    I think the deadline is usually sometime in August/September. That being said, they do let late applicants in; some people joined my class up to four weeks into the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I was sure I posted in this thread already?

Can't wait for September

Another one started at the same time - you posted in there :) Not really relevant to the thread but thought I'd let you know you're not going mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ah22

Keen to rent with PPC1 people in September. Anyone in the same boat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

ah22 wrote: »
    Keen to rent with PPC1 people in September. Anyone in the same boat?

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Captainsatnav

yes

Likewise. Been looking on myhome.ie and daft.ie...seem to be quite few places around Smithfield for €100 pw approx.
    Is there any student complexes in the area? What do people normally do?
    Would have lived at home if PPC was still on in Cork...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Becky55

Hey guys, im in the same position, starting my seach for somewhere to stay, havent got a clue really, any recommendations on best locations from people who might have done PPC1 last year and be familiar with Dublin and access to Blackhall place, ie Luas and bus routes, any help appreciated. Would also be interested in sharing with someone, its just me and another girl at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

From talking to others who've been through Blackhall in recent years I've been given the impression that the timetable can have significant gaps so I'm inclined to think living somewhere close is the best option.

I know in college I was always tempted to skip a late lecture if a two or three hour break preceded it. At least if you're living nearby you can go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 bagels2011

hey guys, also looking moving up to dublin for ppc. pm me if interested in sharing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Sarahaw

Im starting in sept too! I know absolutely nothing about whats in store tbh or where is good to live. Is there much of a workload or is it just like college (ie have the craic and then cram for a couple weeks?) any info on the place would be great. TKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Em2011

Hi guys,

I'm in the same boat. Would really like some advice on places to stay? Anyone know any good safe areas near blackhall?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 woofdog

in same boat lads! movin up for september! livin with another law friend (2 guys), PM if any1 interested in sharing - any1 find out if there is any student complex or the like in smithfield for 100pw -would be good to live with other PPC people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 mirwin

Also in same boat. Was considering going up and down each day from Limerick but now think I might be better off trying to get cheap accommodation in Dublin and coming down every weekend as the train ticket for six months costs a fortune! Anyone interested in looking for somewhere please pm me. Thanks ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Em2011

Is the Smithfield area a safe place to live? I heard its a bit rough..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

Em2011 wrote: »
    Is the Smithfield area a safe place to live? I heard its a bit rough..
    Smithfield is absolutely grand, there might be a few issues with the horse fair and the children's court but other than that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TriLon

Hey

Im a guy looking to share accommodation in sept for ppc1. I think it'd be nice to live with other people doing ppc1 so if you're looking for someone to live with pm me please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Heineken pants

Anybody have any idea what the hours are like for the PPC1? Is anyone going to be working partime while doing the PPC1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shaneybaby

Anybody have any idea what the hours are like for the PPC1? Is anyone going to be working partime while doing the PPC1?

Some people worked in the evenings or if they were close to their training firm every two three hour slots they could but rare enough for the latter. Most had friday weekend jobs if they had any. Hours are well spread out though, it's tough to get any structure to your week to tell an employer as like you could be finished at 12pm one tuesday and going all day until 6 the next...if that makes sense;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Freeway7

hi all

Just wondering if everyone who is starting the ppc1 this Sept has secured themselves a traineeship for when they come out next April??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭blueythebear

Freeway7 wrote: »
    hi all

Just wondering if everyone who is starting the ppc1 this Sept has secured themselves a traineeship for when they come out next April??

You cannot do PPC I if you do not have a training contract already secured.

I know that! But I'm wondering is anyone just getting their indentures signed by a willing solicitor and hoping to find a traineeship by the time they come out next April??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭chopser

I know that! But I'm wondering is anyone just getting their indentures signed by a willing solicitor and hoping to find a traineeship by the time they come out next April??

What are you talking about? You need to explain yourself a little clearer.

chopser wrote: »
    What are you talking about? You need to explain yourself a little clearer.

Ok. I thought that was clear but any woo.
    When entering into the PPC1 course, we need a solicitor to sign our indentures (contained in our PPC1 pack) that therefore clarifies that we have a traineeship. But in the event that the said solicitor can not take us on next April but is willing to sign our indentures to allow us to enter the PPC course this Sept.....

Is anyone else in this position or is everyone that is going in this Sept certain of a trainee place with their solicitor in April?

make sense now? :cool:

When entering into the PPC1 course, we need a solicitor to sign our indentures (contained in our PPC1 pack) that therefore clarifies that we have a traineeship. But in the event that the said solicitor can not take us on next April but is willing to sign our indentures to allow us to enter the PPC course this Sept.....

Is anyone else in this position or is everyone that is going in this Sept certain of a trainee place with their solicitor in April?

Great way to start a legal career, obtaining a TC by deception...

I don't really see what advantage this gives you. Let's say you did PPCI via this method. You aren't any more employable as you would have zero office experience. Studying law and practising it are very different things. Even though the PPC I is meant to be practise based, it's no substitute for real world experience.

Plus in the current climate, you are far from guaranteed to obtain a secondment. After PPCI, you are meant to do 11 months (or so) in-Office training. If you are still looking for a TC during this time, you won;t be permitted to proceed to the PPC II the following year as you won;t have completed the required office training time. You seem to be thinking in the very short term with this plan of action.

Great way to start a legal career, obtaining a TC by deception...

I don't really see what advantage this gives you. Let's say you did PPCI via this method. You aren't any more employable as you would have zero office experience. Studying law and practising it are very different things. Even though the PPC I is meant to be practise based, it's no substitute for real world experience.

Plus in the current climate, you are far from guaranteed to obtain a secondment. After PPCI, you are meant to do 11 months (or so) in-Office training. If you are still looking for a TC during this time, you won;t be permitted to proceed to the PPC II the following year as you won;t have completed the required office training time. You seem to be thinking in the very short term with this plan of action.

Ok Blueythebear you clearly don't understand what I am saying. I am by no means entering a TC by "deception". I am also well aware that I must get 11 months in office experience. Hence why I will be looking for a firm to take me on when I come out next April after doing my PPC1 stint. So thank you for insulting input.

Yes I understand now.
    You have no idea what you are on about or how an apprenticeship works.

Yes I imagine you are the only person contemplating doing it this way and I can only imagine what type of solicitor is going to sign off on you and then not train you at all.
    cool.gifcool.gifcool.gifcool.gif

Ok Blueythebear you clearly don't understand what I am saying. I am by no means entering a TC by "deception". I am also well aware that I must get 11 months in office experience. Hence why I will be looking for a firm to take me on when I come out next April after doing my PPC1 stint. So thank you for insulting input.

It is by deception, the solicitor is not signing indentures simply to allow you to go to PPC1 in blackhall, the solicitor is undertaking that he will train you and you are also accepting their training.

It's not meant to be insulting, it's the truth. When you enter into indentures of apprenticeship, it is for the entire training period. A solicitor should not be signing off on a document that states he will train you for the required period when he knows full well that he will not.

It may get you into PPCI but you will be snookered post PPCI. The Law Society will not allow you proceed to PPC II if you do not have the rquired training period completed so you will either have to get another solicitor to take you on immediately or you will have to get ANOTHER solicitor to enter into further deception by signing off on the fact that you have gone through the required training period when you haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭McCrack

To be fair to Freeway7 and any of us that are trainees or qualified will appreciate where he/she is coming from. I certainly can and it's something I considered when I was scratching around for an apprenticeship where you would give your right arm for one.

Freeway it's not the solution, believe me. If you are determined enough you will get one but you need to be persistent and patient. You need to get any legal experience you can and that might mean working for nothing but it will build your CV and make you contacts. That might also mean working for a number of years as a receptionist, legal secretary/executive or just the office gimp but that's what you need to do or indeed you could just get lucky one day and speak to the right person at the right time.

It will happen but like I said you need to be patient.

McCrack wrote: »
    To be fair to Freeway7 and any of us that are trainees or qualified will appreciate where he/she is coming from. I certainly can and it's something I considered when I was scratching around for an apprenticeship where you would give your right arm for one.

Freeway it's not the solution, believe me. If you are determined enough you will get one but you need to be persistent and patient. You need to get any legal experience you can and that might mean working for nothing but it will build your CV and make you contacts. That might also mean working for a number of years as a receptionist, legal secretary/executive or just the office gimp but that's what you need to do or indeed you could just get lucky one day and speak to the right person at the right time.

It will happen but like I said you need to be patient.

Thank you so much for that reply and understanding where I am coming from and that I'm not trying to be deceptive/make myself unemployable and that I do in fact understand the way in which an apprenticeship works.

The 5 year limit of having to obtain a traineeship or else repeat all 8 FE1's is playing severely on my mind, esp with the current climate, as well as the fact that I have sent out countless cv's seeking traineeship with no joy as of yet.
    Therefore I was thinking that if I did in fact have the PPC1 done, that a potential firm might see me as being more attractive considering that I've did my stint, gained the knowledge and they don't have to fork out the fees/weekly wage whilst I'm there.

Thank you so much for that reply and understanding where I am coming from and that I'm not trying to be deceptive/make myself unemployable and that I do in fact understand the way in which an apprenticeship works.

The 5 year limit of having to obtain a traineeship or else repeat all 8 FE1's is playing severely on my mind, esp with the current climate, as well as the fact that I have sent out countless cv's seeking traineeship with no joy as of yet.
    Therefore I was thinking that if I did in fact have the PPC1 done, that a potential firm might see me as being more attractive considering that I've did my stint, gained the knowledge and they don't have to fork out the fees/weekly wage whilst I'm there.

If it's anything people were joining our class right up until the start of october, having gained an apprenticeship by the end of september.

Just regarding your last paragraph, a firm doesn't have to pay you while in PPC1 if you haven't worked with them in the office before you go to Blackhall (and even then a lot don't pay) (and even if they do minimum is only for like a 30hour week at minimum wage or something)

they don't have to fork out the fees/weekly wage whilst I'm there.

Even if you obtained a TC from PPCI on, be prepared to not be paid during PPC I and PPCII and be prepared to pay your own fees. THe current economic climate is such that solicitors can't afford to pay these amounts despite what the rules state. The Law Society will do nothing for you if you complain. They only care about getting the fees for PPC courses from apprentices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Scarlet 27

I think if you contact the law society re the 5 year time limit they may take into account that you have been unable to find a TC. It is worth a try at the very least.

In relation to the whole issue of having someone sign the indentures to get onto PPC1 and then finding someone post PPC1, I have heard of people doing this and they have found TC afterwards so it does happen and you are more employable but it is not recommended as you will be paying a large sum of money to the LS with no guarantee of having someone take you on. If at all possible see if the law society will extend the time for you to find an apprenticeship (make sure you get it in writing).

For all of you going in just to let you know failure rates went from 30% for PPC1 2009/2010 year to 44.5% for PPC1 2010/2011 and some how or other I doubt that is any reflection of the students.

I don't mean to scare anyone just organise your tutorial groups so that each person covers maybe 2/3 tutorials over PPC1 (which in fairness isnt a lot), set up an email account and get everyone to send in their typed detailed notes so by the end of the year you will have all your tutorials done in detail so even if you miss some it isn't the end of the world (we also did a short review of the chapter that the tutorial was based on as well) it will make life much easier when it comes to exams.

The tutorial groups that get on well and set up something like the above seem to have higher pass rates (that is my subjective anyway).

Scarlet 27 wrote: »
    I think if you contact the law society re the 5 year time limit they may take into account that you have been unable to find a TC. It is worth a try at the very least.

In relation to the whole issue of having someone sign the indentures to get onto PPC1 and then finding someone post PPC1, I have heard of people doing this and they have found TC afterwards so it does happen and you are more employable but it is not recommended as you will be paying a large sum of money to the LS with no guarantee of having someone take you on. If at all possible see if the law society will extend the time for you to find an apprenticeship (make sure you get it in writing).

For all of you going in just to let you know failure rates went from 30% for PPC1 2009/2010 year to 44.5% for PPC1 2010/2011 and some how or other I doubt that is any reflection of the students.

I don't mean to scare anyone just organise your tutorial groups so that each person covers maybe 2/3 tutorials over PPC1 (which in fairness isnt a lot), set up an email account and get everyone to send in their typed detailed notes so by the end of the year you will have all your tutorials done in detail so even if you miss some it isn't the end of the world (we also did a short review of the chapter that the tutorial was based on as well) it will make life much easier when it comes to exams.

The tutorial groups that get on well and set up something like the above seem to have higher pass rates (that is my subjective anyway).

all good advice! just to say that cork ppc1 had a 23% failure rate this year;) for some reason i think that participation in the competitions has an effect when you're borderline pass or fail. no real back up to that just kinda weird the way a few of the lads results fell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Sarahaw

Hi

If anyone is looking to share accommodation for ppc1 PM me. Or if you have accommodation and are looking for someone to rent a room let me know.

Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TriLon

Hey

If anyone is looking for someone to share a house with for PPC1 this sept leave me a message. Tks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Becky55

Hey two girls looking to share with other PPC1 people in september near to Blackhall, finding it really hard to find a place - pm me if anyone looking to share :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Vulpes

Hi Guys,

I am a guy Starting Blackhall this September also. Would like to share with other PPC1 students. PM me if you have a spare room or would like to get a place together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭brehayes

PPC1 Housemate Sought....

To share a three bed apartment on North King Street (near Cobblestone Bar)...

450eu.... Double Room... Leather furnishings.... Overlooking private courtyard.... Electric shower.... BER Cert available and PRTB registered.....

Other housemates - male and two female... 7 month lease with 1 month deposit.... 2nd floor apartment with elevator.....

PM if interested please - would prefer to have it sorted out in the coming day(s)....

Thanks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 limlawyer

Many people looking for room mates out there? To get a place with non PPC1 person or not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭littlemac1980

Had my indentures sent back for safekeeping, and AFAIK the last steps are to send up the PPS form, pay the fees by post, and attend the registration on 31st August. I had assumed there was nothing else required. My recollection is that the last letter I got had confirmed my place on PPC1, provided the fees were paid.

Didnt know we had to attend registration on 31st??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 bradyc6

Had my indentures sent back for safekeeping, and AFAIK the last steps are to send up the PPS form, pay the fees by post, and attend the registration on 31st August. I had assumed there was nothing else required. My recollection is that the last letter I got had confirmed my place on PPC1, provided the fees were paid.

By posting back the PPS Form & Fees this constitutes your registration on the course as far as I know, so there will be no need to attend on the 31st. That is only necessary if you are handing the fee's in person. That's how I read it anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Ruby83

Great stuff thanks for clarifying. See ye all on the 13th!!

Moving back to Accomodation!!! Where is everyone living? Are there any handy "student accomodation" that are nice?