Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American sitting not that near me

• 29-03-2011 10:58am

I'm on the train and she's sitting in a seat somewhere further up the carriage and OMFG she is so loud, you can't hear the other people in the conversation, just HER.

Selected quotes;
    "There's just so many people in the states compared to here, like OH MY GAAAAAAWWWD."
    "How many litres to a gallon?? HA HA HA HA."

Has anyone else experienced this? It's driving me demented!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

For real?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

why don't you tell her stfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Sacramento wrote: »
    I'm on the train and she's sitting in a seat somewhere further up the carriage and OMFG she is so loud, you can't hear the other people in the conversation, just HER.

Selected quotes;
    "There's just so many people in the states compared to here, like OH MY GAAAAAAWWWD."

I know in the UK they have special carriages where mobiles are banned. Is it not the same in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Selected quotes;

Maybe she's actually Irish like you OP, but just associates strongly with the US in such an infuriating way as to change her accent, measurement systems, and maybe even, HER NAME!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Selected quotes;

tell her to turn on loudspeaker, I hate only hearing one side of a private conversation

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Luxie wrote: »
    I know in the UK they have special carriages where mobiles are banned. Is it not the same in Ireland?

Not all British trains have that, believe me, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,526 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Absurdum wrote: »
    tell her to turn on loudspeaker, I hate only hearing one side of a private conversation
    Luxie wrote: »

How do you know she is talking on the phone? I took it that she is part of a group but is just much louder than the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Was having a pint in Berlin a couple of years ago, somebody drove on to the tram tracks. They got stuck there, because with all the loose stones, the wheels just kept spinning. The driver was really going for it making some racket, and the smell of burning rubber was getting strong.

American girl next to us screams at the top of her voice "OH MY GAWWWD, WE'RE ALL GOING TO DIE"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Americans are the obnoxious teens of the English speaking world.
    Brits are the older dad and Irish the drunken uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

was she hot?

My experience of American Girls has shown them to be kinky sex machines.

Could have been a win win situation for you if you had wandered over to chat to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Quazzie wrote: »
    How do you know she is talking on the phone? I took it that she is part of a group but is just much louder than the others.

true dat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭backthephilup

Could be worse could be a gaggle of Spanish students

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I dunno where these mythical carriages are (in the UK) sans mobile conversations but I'd dearly love to find out. The new wave of Irish immigrants and there constant "ya/roight/orr yew roind tonoight" yapping is getting a tad irksome.

I preferred the old days when the Irish were throwing up or blowing up on trains. Least it was all over in seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

biko wrote: »

In Ireland I've noticed that the lower the social class, the louder they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Could be worse could be a gaggle of Spanish students

A bus full of Spanish students is louder than a Jumbo jet taking off from an AC/DC concert during a hurricane

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

The Americans........ A great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

old hippy wrote: »
    I dunno where these mythical carriages are (in the UK) sans mobile conversations but I'd dearly love to find out. The new wave of Irish immigrants and there constant "ya/roight/orr yew roind tonoight" yapping is getting a tad irksome.

I preferred the old days when the Irish were throwing up or blowing up on trains. Least it was all over in seconds.

"ya/roight/orr yew roind tonoight"

Immigrants?
    That sounds more like a bunch of our own home grown dickheads tbh !

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    A bus full of Spanish students is louder than a Jumbo jet taking off from an AC/DC concert during a hurricane

And nearly as loud as a bus full of Irish "holidaymakers" in Ibiza

Gyalist wrote: »
    In Ireland I've noticed that the lower the social class, the louder they are.

Really? I've heard enough braying D4s types to question that assertion.

milehip1 wrote: »

Immigrants?

Yes, read my post again. I'm talking about the new wave of Irish immigrants in the UK :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭el oh el

milehip1 wrote: »

Immigrants?

I think old hippy lives in the UK...

Edit: arrr beat me to it...

Meh, there is foolishness permeating the entire social strata.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Selected quotes;

This you OP!?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Those dumb assed "Blast her with x" comments removed.
    Any more of them posted in this thread will result in bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Heh heh, dumbass Yanks. That's right up there with the "Oh my Gawd, you have cars in Ireland?"

Stupid question syndrome is their forte.

Despite people being sick of them, you can't really go around deleting them now, having allowed them for months!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Just sounds like a load of west-brits went home, at last.

Despite people being sick of them, you can't really go around deleting them now, having allowed them for months!

I think you will find he's being a mod, can delete/remove anything he sees as OT.

Thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

biko wrote: »

Who are Canada, New Zealand and Australia in that family, then?

Seaneh wrote: »
    I think you will find he's being a mod, can delete/remove anything he sees as OT.

Thankfully.

Kiss arse.

liah wrote: »
    Who are Canada, New Zealand and Australia in that family, then?

Aussies are the sporty brother with a superiority complex, Kiwis are the laid back one who everyone likes and Canada is forgotten about middle child with the inferiority complex 'Marsha, Marsha, Marsha' etc...

Hope this helps.

Kiss arse.

Brat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

<insert generic 'yanks are thick' comment here>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

The skangers are always the loudest - as if they have an innate desire to constantly draw attention to themselves.

Gyalist wrote: »
    The skangers are always the loudest - as if they have an innate desire to constantly draw attention to themselves.

Oh, I agree. Once I was in Tesco. There was a skanger couple in there who yelled at each other the whole time I was there, even when there was four aisles between them. They actually didn't let up for a second, and it was that awful heroin drawl.

That's one thing that really pisses me off about skangers. They think everyone is fascinated with their business. :mad:

Still, they are a sub-class. You said people get louder with decreasing social class. That's not true. Not all working class = skanger.

Seaneh wrote: »
    Just sounds like a load of west-brits went home, at last.

Home is where you make it, a chara. I leave the parochialism to those who stay put.

No, what irks is the volume and "look at me" vibe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Selected quotes;

that not that uncommon from irish girls now either unfortunately :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

Oh I sympathise with you...some Americans really tend not to have an indoor voice. I was at Oktoberfest a couple of years ago, and on the train back there's an American girl (it's always the girls) and she flips AT THE TOP OF HER VOICE because she's feeling claustrophobic. I helpfully recommended she lock herself in the toilet to get away from the people...:o

But she was just whinging, who would go to Oktoberfest if they were genuinely claustrophobic? It was ass to ass all day, throughout Munich. Attention-seeking foghorn...:mad: She had to disembark the train (:D), to presumably catch another one with the exact same crowded story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Selected quotes;

Phhfft.

She's probably just from Jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭Average-Ro

I was at the bird show at the Ailliwee Caves last weekend. The guy presnting the show said that there were 3 birds of prey that were re-released in Ireland over the past few years and asked if we knew what they were. I think the first two were the Golden Eagle and the Red Kite.

Presenter: That's two, anyone know the third one?
    Audience: ....
    Presenter: It's a very rare bird of prey nowadays.
    Audience: (mumbles amongst themselves)
    Presenter: Hasn't been seen in Ireland in decades
    American Woman: It's the raven isn't it?

It was so hard not to laugh out load, she was only a few feet away from me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Horndawg

I'll blast YOU with piss if you're not careful, you jumped up little, keyboard wielding peasant of enormous cuunntiness proportions.

Also a pre-emptive "so's your ma" to the ineveitable ban!

Mod: Poster banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭dream brother

Horndawg wrote: »
    I'll blast YOU with piss if you're not careful, you jumped up little, keyboard wielding peasant of enormous cuunntiness proportions.

Also a pre-emptive "so's your ma" to the ineveitable ban!

Get it all out son...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Plazaman wrote: »
    Heh heh, dumbass Yanks. That's right up there with the "Oh my Gawd, you have cars in Ireland?"

Stupid question syndrome is their forte.
    :pac: blame your tourism board, they only show photos of rolling farm pasture and cliffs.
    America's rectum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Average-Ro wrote: »
    I was at the bird show at the Ailliwee Caves last weekend. The guy presnting the show said that there were 3 birds of prey that were re-released in Ireland over the past few years and asked if we knew what they were. I think the first two were the Golden Eagle and the Red Kite.

So... what's the third one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Average-Ro wrote: »

What's the right answer? :confused:

Phhfft.

That wouldn't explain the American accent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

What's the right answer? :confused:

Kestrel, remember that nifty little thing that used to go scouting ahead in the Animals of Farthing Wood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Phhfft.

Or Sacramento

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Yes, read my post again. I'm talking about the new wave of Irish immigrants in the UK :)

OMG roight I totally like misread you post or something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Ever watch a Youtube video of a live song or even worse, acoustic? Always seems to be one American talking throughout it, sometimes ruining it completely.