Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Baby steps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Suspected something bad had happened when I no longer heard spectators shouting your name. As you said we were very close for most of the race.

Pity we werent racing each other down Nassau St at the end- thats the way it should have been

PS Great to see you Dpop every few miles-great support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Really bad luck today Mick. On this occasion you certainly did not get what you deserved. When you stop even for 30 secs (after 18 miles), the body shoots down.:(

You are much, much better than that and I believe on another day you have delivered a sub 3. Damn gels:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Hard luck Mick, take some time to reflect and recover, the aul lads are heading to Rotterdam if you're looking for new motivation :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Mick do not get down on today you are so much better than that. Well done for slugging it out, I have been there before and it's not nice. Too soon to look at it objectively but interested to hear what you think/do not think worked throughout the programme. Enjoy the wine!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Mick do not get down on today you are so much better than that. Well done for slugging it out, I have been there before and it's not nice. Too soon to look at it objectively but interested to hear what you think/do not think worked throughout the programme. Enjoy the wine!!

Theres the problem. I felt my programme worked well. I missed 2 long runs but I don't think that was the issue. I've used these iso gels before so I'm puzzled. Some times its just not your day. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭SureWhyNot!

Training may have been spot on... but do you think the reduction in the number of races in this year may have been a factor?

Actually Greg it probably helped. I was able to concentrate on the training. For the first time I tried to reduce the hill running and find roads to run on to model the route conditions of Dublin. My pace went up as a result. I'm happy with the balance of races I did. I probably couldn't have done more work/life balance wise in any event.

In retrospect, I should probably have done the 3/4 marathon in Athlone at a harder pace, to closer match the effort today. I'd certainly recommend that as an event pre-Dublin.

Also, I'm probably being a bit hard on myself. I was born with a club left foot. I've been fortunate to do all the races I've done over the years inc. 8 Dublin marathons in a row. I need to balance the positives with the negatives sometimes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭SureWhyNot!

Going for 18 in a row?????????????????????????????????????

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Sorry to hear it didn't go to plan SJ. Suffered badly with cramp myself today - my quads spazed out about 20 mins after finishing. Cramp hit me at about 19 miles or so. Was a warm day out there which is probably part of the reason we suffered.

Well done for continuing on, it's a real mental drain when you know you're going to finish with something no where near what you're capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭theboyblunder

Hard luck sj. Your were not alone. At least you toughed it out and finished! Best of luck next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

may not have been the gels. I wrote it in tbb's blog. The number of people complaining of tummy bugs today/yesterday was staggering. Definitely some bug doing the rounds. my own tummy was a bit ropey early on but was ok thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Tough luck SJ! Good job fighting through it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭dapope

Kills me to say the words "hard luck" SJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,527 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Don't let this one get you down Mick. Have faith in the fact that you are in the best shape of your life. Things didn't click yesterday for whatever reason, but rest assured, they absolutely will. When they do, it will be thanks to days like yesterday, when you toughed it out in the face of adversity.

Thanks for the supportive messages guys. Much appreciated.

The mind and body is a strange thing. The mind felt okay today and wanted to do a slow recovery run. The legs weren't having any of that. However, I did venture out on the bike for 40 mins to get the blood circulating. Didn't put pressure on the legs, kept the pace nice and easy on the uphill bits. Great day today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

There are race occasions like this. Things happen and you can't really explain why. I know you will move on from this and attempt that goal again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I don't know what to say - you have been so close to that time so often. You have done the training so often and there is no doubting you have the ability. It's easy for other people to say but it will happen for you - is the fact you have gunned for 3 so often now an issue? Are you putting yourself under added pressure? One of the nicest and most genuine runners on here and you deserve a sub 3. It will happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭RAL3

Sorry to hear it didnt work out for you on the day Mick.

Your commitment to training obviously deserved more.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/125599964

Thanks again guys, I really appreciate the supportive messages. I'll close off the DCM debacle by posting up my garmin link. Splits through to 29k were a1. After that I felt off and the motivation and ability faded resulting in some laughably slow splits but I could hardly care at that point :o

What went well?
    • Cycling done in the earlier part of the year
    • The training schedule
    • The faster runs
    • Decent mileage
    • More runs done on road that before when it was more hill based.
    • Returning from last year's injury I was more selective of the races I did and that helped me.
    • Core exercises helped
    • No repetition of the groin injury once I got that sorted
    • Took iron tablets for a few months pre marathon. Jury out on that aspect.

What didn't
    • Missing out on 2 weekends of LSRs
    • Curiously I think the later race start didn't help me. I liked the 9 start.
    • Taking my 2nd gel of the day seemed to backfire on me. However, who is to say that if I didn't take it I could be cursing myself for bonking for lack of energy. Hmmmm.
    • Inability to get back on pace. Once the legs go they can go big time :o

What would I change?
    • Race a pre marathon half-marathon.
    • Potentially race the 3/4 marathon.
    • Race a pre-marathon 10k. Not necessarily in this order listed.
    • Try do more work on Long run nutrition.

Most of the 'what went well list' I wouldn't change. As a result of that I was probably in the shape of my life. Some times things just don't work out on the day and as better people then myself have said, its only a race after all. We'll live to fight another day.

Legs still recovering, but started again on the winter strength challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

I know we have spoken a few times since but you have summed things up very well below.

Now is not the time to make any plans for future marathon's, take some time, just run easy and remember why you love to run.

If you look at what you would change and were planning on doing Dublin next yr,

- the national half or half in the park would be good prep.
    - the athlone 3/4 marathon, look at what Linda Byrne did after that:eek:
    - 10k or 5k race in the two weeks before (take your pick of an event).

I might do Berlin and then get you over that line in DCM sub 3:D

You have had a great year, take the positives;)

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/125599964

Thanks again guys, I really appreciate the supportive messages. I'll close off the DCM debacle by posting up my garmin link. Splits through to 29k were a1. After that I felt off and the motivation and ability faded resulting in some laughably slow splits but I could hardly care at that point :o

What went well?
    • Cycling done in the earlier part of the year
    • The training schedule
    • The faster runs
    • Decent mileage
    • More runs done on road that before when it was more hill based.
    • Returning from last year's injury I was more selective of the races I did and that helped me.
    • Core exercises helped
    • No repetition of the groin injury once I got that sorted
    • Took iron tablets for a few months pre marathon. Jury out on that aspect.

What didn't
    • Missing out on 2 weekends of LSRs
    • Curiously I think the later race start didn't help me. I liked the 9 start.
    • Taking my 2nd gel of the day seemed to backfire on me. However, who is to say that if I didn't take it I could be cursing myself for bonking for lack of energy. Hmmmm.
    • Inability to get back on pace. Once the legs go they can go big time :o

What would I change?
    • Race a pre marathon half-marathon.
    • Potentially race the 3/4 marathon.
    • Race a pre-marathon 10k. Not necessarily in this order listed.
    • Try do more work on Long run nutrition.
    Most of the 'what went well list' I wouldn't change. As a result of that I was probably in the shape of my life. Some times things just don't work out on the day and as better people then myself have said, its only a race after all. We'll live to fight another day.

Legs still recovering, but started again on the winter strength challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Easy back on the pace of most of your runs ???
    EITHER run easy or hard. CONSTANT days of 4.15-4.20 pace doesnt seem to be working. You know you can do that for nearly a marathon.
    Gutted for you.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭dapope

Easy back on the pace of most of your runs ???
    EITHER run easy or hard. CONSTANT days of 4.15-4.20 pace doesnt seem to be working. You know you can do that for nearly a marathon.
    Gutted for you.:(

I totally agree with this post. I was a little worried about the pace of your "slow" runs before the race and hinted that to you in a PM. 4:20 is almost marathon pace for a sub 3.

Junk runs at 4:50-5:00 can be difficult/boring especially when your in good shape but thats what is required to fill out the weekly milleage. Your better saving yourself and investing more in the two quality sessions you do in the week.

I still think you were unlucky on the day.

Haven't ran since the marathon. Legs less sore with each passing day. Helping out at the trail race in Glendalough today, a magnificent November day, I really wanted to run. Getting home mid afternoon I togged out and headed up the trails. Felt strangely energised and ran as if I was exorcising some ghost. It really was an incredible day for a run. Cool, clear, sunny. The views from top of the hill behind my house were exquisite. Lugnacoille, Croaghanmoira. All calling out. Pace increased on the downhill, obviously, and the legs were strangely unpained. Really enjoyed this run and days like this are why I run.

11.26k, 336m climb, 4:42 pace.
    No splits on the garmin as I forgot to move it off the bike setting :o
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/126605114

A cool one this morning. Legs a wee bit sore after yesterday so took it handy. This was helped by stopping the odd time to take a few snaps of the surrounding area. Super visibility in the cool November morning. Frosty too in places.

16.84k, 502m climb, 5:03 pace
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/126795770

6317846295_042a461475_z.jpg
    DSC00002 by Mick Hanney, on Flickr

6318368072_663381b91f_z.jpg
    DSC00006 by Mick Hanney, on Flickr

Rested on Monday and Tuesday, but the full moon and clear sky dragged me out for a pleasant run up and down the trail this evening. Splish sploshed a bit on the muddy lower trail before it opened up higher up. Easy up and easy down (can't quite let go even on the downhill as the visibility underfoot isn't a match for daytime and perspective is altered in the eerie dimness). Most of run was done without the need for headtorch.

10.36k, 5:16 pace, 316m climb
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/127611117

I'd a long race report penned for this yesterday evening but a slip of the mouse and it vanished :o

So a short report will have to do. A great day weather-wise but conditions underfoot were to be testing and so it proved for me. A big crowd had turned out for this race too which was great to see. Starting promptly at 11.30am I ran at a comfortable pace, the body was still not fully recovered from 2 weeks ago so I wasn't going all out. The first big tough forest ride and the steep grassy climb to Maulin most, including my good self, were reduced to a walking pace. Hitting the top of Maulin the descent is enjoyable. Concentration needed on the rocky bits.. you don't want to hit those or your race is game over. With the mucky conditions I was more tentative than previous races but got down to the Dargle without any problems and neutral in terms of places gained or lost.

Much talk during the week about the Dargle crossing and whether we should attempt it etc without the bridge (washed away in the recent flood). The river was low enough though to allow a stepping stone crossing with river marshalls in place to assist if necessary. I found a steady climbing pace on the far side of the river and plugged away with that for most of the Djouce climb. Past some runners reduced to walking in the early stages of the climb. However, was reduced to a walk for the last few hundred metres of the climb to the Djouce cairn

Quite windy on the top of Djouce in contrast to the mild calm conditions down lower. I was quite tentative on the downhill off Djouce to the boardwalk but gained a few places between the boardwalk and the slippery trail around the flank of the mountain.

Coming down the main Djouce path was to bring an end to a reasonable run. I'd a minor slip heading up this path as it was quite greasy. Coming down I lifted the head to acknowledge Jimmy who was taking photos and in doing so I reckon he got a clear shot of me slipping on my backside :), and that was despite wearing good honest inov-8s Bounced up from this slip with just pride injured but a minute later another fall was heavier and it knocked the wind out of me. Sore quad, knee and hand after and my downhill running pace was nearly halfed after as I hobbled on. Contemplated DNFing at the prospect of proceeding slowly to the finish being passed by a flood of runners. Didn't though, dug in a bit and carried out. I lost a fair few places on the run in but managed to cling to another runner who was moving at a similar pace and managed to stretch out a small gap before the finish, to finish in a slow time for this race. Happy to have done it even if the body is a bit bruised and tender today.

15.41k, 831m climb, 6:03 pace
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/128159378

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

I was right behind you when you slipped the first time. Heard Jimmy slagging ya for looking up at the camera ;).

Hope nothing is damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Sandwell

Nice report. It must have been you that I was chatting briefly to in the car park after the race. I witnessed a couple of your slips and I think you may have seen me go over at one point too. Fair play to you for racing on.

Had a busy last 2 days which coincided with me avoiding running as the hurt bits from Saturday took to healing. As of today I've a bruised hand and sore hip and calf, all on the right side where I hit the ground off Djouce. The mild weather today was an added incentive to get out and move the legs. When I ran I'd a noticeable ache in the right upper calf but everything else was fine. Ran from Pottery Rd down to the sea at Monkstown and along the coast to Dun Laoghaire and back directly towards Bakers corner and back to work. The pace was in and around the 4:30 min/k pace throughout which was faster than I had expected. Met Pronator towards the end for the last 2k. He slowed to accomodate me ;). 9.5k total.

Hooked up with Pronator as a brutal wind blew from the south and the sky had rain written all over it. Nice and easy chatty paced loop apart from the against the wind bit. I'm not running comfortably though, right calf is still playing up. Won't push it.
    9.12k, 4:31 pace