Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most underrated place

• 28-03-2011 2:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭

On the back of the other over rated thread, and something I was thinking about recently when reading a guide book about Ireland, can anybody think of cool/fun/cheap underrated things to do in Ireland?

The book was full of places like Dublin Castle, Cliffs of Moher, Rock Of Cashel etc etc. I was looking for suggestions of other things to do that are a little less clichéd or overtly touristy e.g. walk on Howth head, going fishing in Dingle.

The floor is open.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Galway ...hehe

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

North Donegal (or maybe it's highly rated, I don't know).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Birds of Prey show in the Ailwee caves is class, Caves are ****.
    Then keep goin to Doolin, go fishing, eat in Mcganns and have a few nice pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Dublin city - you can pay junkies to kiss each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

The dispute resolution forum, great place to while away few years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Shitters out in the Ferry terminal in Dun Laoire.

Nice and warm, clean as ninepence, good spacious stalls ceiling to floor,and a lovely clean smell,well before the drop anyway, piped music.

Great place to crimp one out

credit where credit is due.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Ethiopia is very under-ated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Donegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Nice and warm, clean as ninepence, good spacious stalls ceiling to floor,and a lovely clean smell,well before the drop anyway, piped music.

Your posts are the most crass, immature, pointless, rough around the edges and downright pathetic on these boards.

Seriously, why do you bother? You're like a child who keeps doing bold things cause he feels he's not getting enough attention.

You're anti-drugs, and anti the legalisation of even cannabis. But you're addicted to reactions. You can't wait to provoke the next one.

kraggy wrote: »
    Your posts are the most crass, immature, pointless, rough around the edges and downright pathetic on these boards.

Seriously, why do you bother? You're like a child who keeps doing bold things cause he feels he's not getting enough attention.

You're anti-drugs and the legalising of even cannabis. But you're addicted to reactions. You can't wait to provoke the next one.

flutterinbatman wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

North Donegal (or maybe it's highly rated, I don't know).

Yeah its very nice up there, go up during the summer and you are likely to hear as many belfast accents as local ones. They went a bit crazy with the holiday homes for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Ireland - West Clare

International - Iran

Forests, Mountains, Desert, wildlife, a rich cultural heritage with unbelievably impressive archaeological sites free of tourists, hospitable and inquisitive people and bizarrely enough, some fabulous skiing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

You're anti-drugs and the legalising of even cannabis. But you're addicted to reactions. You can't wait to provoke the next one.
    blackdog2 wrote: »
    The dispute resolution forum, great place to while away few years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

the walkways in courtmacsherry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Longford. Its a bit of a craphole, but have been there on a good few football trips and had a great time.

That said, I doubt it is a hoot every weekend.

Iran

Forests, Mountains, Desert, wildlife, a rich cultural heritage with unbelievably impressive archaeological sites free of tourists, hospitable and inquisitive people and bizarrely enough, some fabulous skiing.

and no gays!!!

lololol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

county leitrim, the north of the county has lovely scenery, carrick is a great town on a friday or saturday night, ballinamore has a fantastic festival that goes on for a full week every august, last years line up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Dundalk. The utter depression one feels while driving through Drogheda is magically lifted as you enter the beautiful town that Pigead likes to call home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Pighead wrote: »
    Dundalk. The utter depression one feels while driving through Drogheda is magically lifted as you enter the beautiful town that Pigead likes to call home.

Like driving from the sixth to the seventh circle of hell to be honest Pighead. No offence like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Pighead wrote: »

Pighead is right.

Entering Dundalk after leaving Drogheda is like leaving a shit covered town and entering a ehh...non-shit covered town...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Sergeant wrote: »
    Like driving from the sixth to the seventh circle of hell to be honest Pighead. No offence like.
    Plenty of offence taken. There is nothing hellish about Dundalk. The town is a gift from the Gods to an otherwise unremarkable country.

Like a really really ugly girl has beautiful hands. Dundalk's only problem is that it is cursed forever to live it's life surrounded by saggy breasts and chubby legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

I hear Libya is nice this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Venezuela.

Most diverse country ive been to. Beautifull carribean coastline, andes mountains, desert, tropical forrests, massive cool swamo area with anacondas etc, area with loads of table top mountains and water falls including angel falls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Guill wrote: »
    Birds of Prey show in the Ailwee caves is class, Caves are ****.
    Then keep goin to Doolin, go fishing, eat in Mcganns and have a few nice pints.

Ballyvaughan sucks. Boring as hell. Spent a week there. Should have gone somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

Kilmainham jail is pretty cool and yet you never hear people talk about it much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Rocket19

Ballyvaughan sucks. Boring as hell. Spent a week there. Should have gone somewhere else.

Seriously? I've always thought the pubs were really great craic down there. And the people are lovely. Funny..

gimmick wrote: »
    Longford. Its a bit of a craphole, but have been there on a good few football trips and had a great time.

That said, I doubt it is a hoot every weekend.

I presume its good coz you are there on the lash. is there anything to do there other than boozing?
    Balmed Out wrote: »
    Venezuela.

Most diverse country ive been to. Beautifull carribean coastline, andes mountains, desert, tropical forrests, massive cool swamo area with anacondas etc, area with loads of table top mountains and water falls including angel falls.

Nice, but not quiet on the cheap side to get there though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I presume its good coz you are there on the lash. is there anything to do there other than boozing?

Nice, but not quiet on the cheap side to get there though!!
    Nope i lived there for two summers (work :rolleyes:) and there is literally fúck all else to do except drink. If its sunny you can drive to Fanore and sit on the beach to drink. But everything involves boozing. Which was fun for about... a week

The nicest thing I've done in ireland was the drive from Westport to Clifden to Galway. Its so pretty up there and it was on a beautiful day, you get mountains, lakes, the ocean, old style irish pubs for food, and at the top of one mountainous piece of road we had to get out and move some lambs and sheep of the road. Was amazing, just wish i had had my camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

The Hill of Tara is beautiful on a cold winter morning. If the sky is clear you can see for miles round. No overpriced visitors centre. Just a small coffee shop with some trinkets.

Many of the Coillte forests arround the foot of the Dublin Mountains are great for an afternoon out and about. Again stunning views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Norn Iron (mainly the coast).
    Shunned by Southerners that still think there is open war on the streets.
    Beautiful sceneries and very nice people.

Nope i lived there for two summers (work :rolleyes:) and there is literally fúck all else to do except drink. If its sunny you can drive to Fanore and sit on the beach to drink. But everything involves boozing. Which was fun for about... a week

The nicest thing I've done in ireland was the drive from Westport to Clifden to Galway. Its so pretty up there and it was on a beautiful day, you get mountains, lakes, the ocean, old style irish pubs for food, and at the top of one mountainous piece of road we had to get out and move some lambs and sheep of the road. Was amazing, just wish i had had my camera.

Done it myself a couple of times. Last time it was october/november. It was foggy when driving through the mountainous area, which was amazing. Think we ended up in Kylemore Abbey afterwards, which is also a lovely place for a day out

You're anti-drugs, and anti the legalisation of even cannabis. But you're addicted to reactions. You can't wait to provoke the next one.

heh heh, luckily I don't give a fcuk about your opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Moore Hall is one of my favourite spots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Sligo obviously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

My bedroom- Lovely place, great company, and all that type of stuff. Seriously, ladies, you'd love it. C'mon round :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭Mr Cork Man

Dublin is not as bad as the muck savages from Galway and Westmeath would have you believe.Despite the bad attitude and inferiority complexes of the natives it's a lovely city with great shopping and architecture.Let's be honest Dublin and Cork are the only real cities in Ireland.:pac:Waterford is a lovely port town and it's the oldest city in ireland.The place has great potential all it need's is some investment and the locals are very sound and genuine.btw West Waterford is also very underrrated.The area from just over the Youghal bridge to Dungarvan is very scenic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Basque Country.
    Particularly the Bilbao - San Sabastian - Pamplona triangle. Beautiful part off the world, lovely people and super cheap if you're smart.

Would love to live there for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

Galicia in North West Spain. Green as Ireland but sunny and warm all year round. Friendly people, good food and lovely wine and beer. They have fantastic unspoilt beaches and scenery there too. A bit isolated but definitely worth the visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

In Dublin, my favorite thing to do is take a walk from Dalky Quarry to Killiney Hill and down along Killiney beach afterwards.

I've seen some pretty amazing views from that part of Dublin.
    The quarry looks great during spring/summer when the places is literally covered in bright yellow bushes, it looks beautiful.

http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/26194_1375983689870_1540176569_30911645_3678015_n.jpg
    http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/26194_1375983929876_1540176569_30911650_5613960_n.jpg
    http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/36011_1446323688326_1540176569_31075901_2254740_n.jpg
    http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/26194_1375984049879_1540176569_30911653_3893881_n.jpg

None too shabby really.

Jaysus you look the image of a lad called Young Padawan.!!!

Lovely photos.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Ardmore Co Waterford, Magic road and the Mahon Falls.
    Ducketts Grove,Moone and Castledermot High crosses Carlow/Kildare.
    St Mullins-south Carlow.
    Duiske Abbey ,Graiguenamanagh and Kells Priory Co Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Jaysus you look the image of a lad called Young Padawan.!!!

Lovely photos.

Check out the sig'. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Moore Hall is one of my favourite spots

Dude! I love Moore Hall. No-one really knows about it, but it is COOL! One of Mayo's MANY hidden secrets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Internationally, Nepal. Great spot.

In Ireland, tempted as i am to say Limerick, I'll go with Valentia Island. The place is just amazing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Some parts of Kerry are beautiful .The Slea Head drive.Down around Waterville ,the drive to there is unreal ,photos dont do it justice.
    I love Killarney on a night out ,it is a bit tacky in places but it has the INEC and some good pubs and clubs.Its hard not to enjoy yourself there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

everyone knows killarney though, not exactly under-rated

inishowen in donegal, beautiful part of the world, empty unspoiled beaches, iron age forts, malin head, mamore gap, fort dunree, lough swilly and lough foyle

when i have mentioned inishowen to some irish people they have said "inish where"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jiffybag

Tullagh bay , near Clonmany in Donegal . Simply stunning .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

bitta ateing, drinking, camping, surfing, turfing, lobbing, gobbing, slopping, slapping, rapping, mounting, shouting, ruffing, huffing, puffing, nobbing, throbbing, dealing, whealing, stealing, snowing, raining, flaming, riding, hiding, bulling, skulling, annulling, barring, baking, beefing, barating, betraying, fighting, flicking, finger licking,
    for a bitta a everything....

it has to be....

WHESTPORT!:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I don't think Westport is underrated though, a lot of people like the place.