Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Superhero or Villain" - Indo Article

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Quote 1 - You could say the same for ANY type of food

Quote 2 - Technically true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

I'd like to know where they got the info on the Irish Rugby team having to consuming 8,000 calories a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Dathai wrote: »
    I'd like to know where they got the info on the Irish Rugby team having to consuming 8,000 calories a day.

That and the fact that they'd want to be consuming some ungodly amount of protein powder if they're using it to up their kcal intake!
    Article wrote:
    For example, the Irish Rugby Football Union says professional players who need to take in 8,000 calories a day would find that almost impossible to achieve through plates piled high with food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Well I am cutting now so whole foods only for me, but yeah shakes are handy if you want a quick protein fix. Can't beat a juicy beef fillet or a yummy goose-fat fried omelet though!

I was reading once that Michael Phelps ate about 10k+ calories when he was training for the olympics so I can believe that figure of 8000. (Maybe not everyday though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

ferike1 wrote: »
    I was reading once that Michael Phelps ate about 10k+ calories when he was training for the olympics so I can believe that figure of 8000. (Maybe not everyday though!)

The likes of swimmers and rowers are totally in a league of their own when it comes to burning calories, mainly because they train for hours upon end. The physical demands for their sports are extraordinary.

I don't have any stats for rugby players but I'd be greatly surprised if it was over 6000 calories. Maybe those 6ft 8 giants, but definitely not the likes of Peter Stringer!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

So eh.. Am I on the 'roids then or what??

Why would they "bulk up" cheap easily available whey with expensive hard to manufacture steroids?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Why would they "bulk up" cheap easily available whey with expensive hard to manufacture steroids?

Because if they didn't the newspapers would have nothing to write about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭settopbox

Doesn't make a very compelling argument against the uses or benefits of protein powder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

There are 2 ways I can think of that protein supplements could contain steroids, but the amounts and effects are probably miniscule

-when prohormones were legal in the US, they were often made in the same factories as other supplements, with the same equipment so there was some contamination

- in China and some other Asian countries there aren't many regualtions about what can be put in animal feed/given to animals, so they are often given steroids and hormones which lead to higher levels in their produce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

podge57 wrote: »
    - in China and some other Asian countries there aren't many regualtions about what can be put in animal feed/given to animals, so they are often given steroids and hormones which lead to higher levels in their produce

thats there excuse then......:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

Thats like the story of the cows being given estrogen to increase milk production and thier milk having higher estorgenic properties.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The article is very poor offering nothing for either argument, just anecdotal opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

ferike1 wrote: »
    Well I am cutting now so whole foods only for me, but yeah shakes are handy if you want a quick protein fix. Can't beat a juicy beef fillet or a yummy goose-fat fried omelet though!

It turns out Phelps was able to eat that many calories because (coupled with all his training obviously) he spent a good bit of time in ice baths. The time he spent training + the time in the ice baths = a lot of calories burned.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Can someone who's read the article tell me something... Does it say that 'supplements', as distinct from 'protein' may cause you to fail a test?

If so, the argument could be made that it's probably technically true when you take into accounts all te various types of prohormones and other sh*t available.

But like... that's pretty much the same as OTC congestion meds having that potential too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 DribblingRobot

I'd say it's so they can claim better results. You'll be bigger/faster/stronger with their product than competitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I thought it was a brutal article to be honest.

I was reading it at the staff room table at 8 am this morning with protein shaker in hand, colleagues laughing at me "reading about what ****e I was putting into myself".

I really thought the auhtor was sitting on the fence, no opinion given either way and lots of misinformation about rugby players etc.

They did give the factual piece of info that the IRFU dont recommend supplements for players under 16 years old, but that said they didnt recommend a brand that the IRFU endorse, a brand that wouldn't cause a player to fail a drugs test for example.

Also, @ Hanley, the article was aimed mostly at protein and the "shaker culture" beginning to take over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Hanley wrote: »
    Can someone who's read the article tell me something... Does it say that 'supplements', as distinct from 'protein' may cause you to fail a test?

If so, the argument could be made that it's probably technically true when you take into accounts all te various types of prohormones and other sh*t available.

But like... that's pretty much the same as OTC congestion meds having that potential too.

well at one point the article referred to jack3d as a protein supplement with caffeine added... so eh, the writer doesn't know wtf a supplement is i'd wager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Just read the article there in bed, I knew there'd be a post here about it.

It's obvious the author, Amanda Phelan, doesn't know what she's talking about.
    Who takes it? It's not just gym types and those hooked on this quick fix

The problem with articles like this is that it validates all the fat, lazy sh-its who think gym-goers are freaks and their fat 20stone arses are somehow normal.

I can already hear the mother and father tomorrow, jaysus, did you read the article in the Indo, your balls are going to shrink with that protein stuff, jaysus, make sure you do proper PCT.

SanoVitae wrote: »
    The likes of swimmers and rowers are totally in a league of their own when it comes to burning calories, mainly because they train for hours upon end. The physical demands for their sports are extraordinary.

I don't have any stats for rugby players but I'd be greatly surprised if it was over 6000 calories. Maybe those 6ft 8 giants, but definitely not the likes of Peter Stringer!!!

Oh no, that's fair enough, it does seem to be a generalization on their part. All I meant was during the off season when they are bulking (the really big guys) I wouldn't be surprised if they did hit 8000 calories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭will56

While the article itself makes no clear conclusions (and for the most part no sense) you'd hope it might help stem the current pushing/obsession with protein supplements.

Case in point, a lad I work with recently joined a gym and was given a programme when he started. The program is over 30 mins cardio followed by 4-6 weight machines. The guy is not looking to put on weight in any way, merely to lose a stone or so.
    At the end of the session he was advised to buy a tub of maximuscle and ,with no other advice on his daily diet, told to drink 3 shakes a day.
    I was chatting with him one day asking how he got on and he asked if he actually needed to take so much as the tub was so expensive.
    Its like people think whey is some magic supplement when in realiy they need to start viewing it as a food source and nothing more.
    I think the article was trying to point out (in a very poor way) that more thought needs to be put into taking protein supplements and seeing does it suit your needs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I'd say it's so they can claim better results. You'll be bigger/faster/stronger with their product than competitors.

I simply don't buy that. Most supplements are all marketing, actual results are never quantified in any meaningful way.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

will56 wrote: »
    While the article itself makes no clear conclusions (and for the most part no sense) you'd hope it might help stem the current pushing/obsession with protein supplements.

Case in point, a lad I work with recently joined a gym and was given a programme when he started. The program is over 30 mins cardio followed by 4-6 weight machines. The guy is not looking to put on weight in any way, merely to lose a stone or so.
    At the end of the session he was advised to buy a tub of maximuscle and ,with no other advice on his daily diet, told to drink 3 shakes a day.
    I was chatting with him one day asking how he got on and he asked if he actually needed to take so much as the tub was so expensive.
    Its like people think whey is some magic supplement when in realiy they need to start viewing it as a food source and nothing more.
    I think the article was trying to point out (in a very poor way) that more thought needs to be put into taking protein supplements and seeing does it suit your needs.

In fairness to the guy taking the Maximuscle, this sounds like it was "pushed" on him, as in recommended by the person who did the induction. or at least that's how it reads.

If this was the case then this is probably more a case of the gym staff being on some kind of comission to push the supplements sold by the gym. Wouldn't be the first time I have heard of this tbh.

Thats true, but he still had the idea that because he was taking protein he was going to see results. Had to explain that all it is is food.
    Another guy was wondering if I thought taking protein was working for me. All I could say was that I used it as a PWO meal and then got something more substantial into myself later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

There are 2 ways I can think of that protein supplements could contain steroids, but the amounts and effects are probably miniscule

-when prohormones were legal in the US, they were often made in the same factories as other supplements, with the same equipment so there was some contamination

I was talking to "someone" a while back and "someone" told me that the best place "someone" could go to get supplements would be to the bodybuilding and supplement trade shows. You can get all manner of supplements there and many of them will be laced with "other" to enhance their effects. So you get this free 1kg tub, go off and use it, see awesome results and talk about it to your mates then you and the guys go and buy the same stuff but of the shelf this time... the off the shelf stuff is totally free of the "other" ingredient.

could be where a lot of the stories come from too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭BlueIsland

Perfect example. My brother (mid 20's) asked me did I have a shaker the other day. I asked for what? He said to take protein. I just asked playing devils advocate...Why you taking protein? His answer was...I dunno..its good for me. I pushed boat out again and asked what protein ya eat already today in food and he said ......what food do I get protein in? Id say ballpark 65% of people who use protein supplements have no idea why and how they should use it. What is worse is thew amount of idiots who claim to be in the know about it who have no clue about why and how they should use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Yep, I use to find it amusing in the gym I go to. Young guys, late teens early 20's maybe, come in with HUGE sports bags. I'd be waiting for them to start taking out Oly bars and bumper plates etc, but no. The bag would contain a pair of runners, Tee shirt, shorts, towel & shampoo and 4 or 5 large tubs of protein, creatine, gainers, etc, etc and I wouldn't mind but they would not be that muscular either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

One of the lads i know told me before that protein powder is useless stuff cos he used a full tub of it and it made no difference to him at all. So i asked him what training he was doing as well, he said none.

I think people just need to educate themselves a bit first. You cant go around blaming the gym for "making" you take or the advertising being really convincing if your not willing to do some work yourself. Any supplement isnt cheap, im not going to spend the amount of money needed just because some guy on the cover is swole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭boomtown84

I was talking to "someone" a while back and "someone" told me that the best place "someone" could go to get supplements would be to the bodybuilding and supplement trade shows. You can get all manner of supplements there and many of them will be laced with "other" to enhance their effects. So you get this free 1kg tub, go off and use it, see awesome results and talk about it to your mates then you and the guys go and buy the same stuff but of the shelf this time... the off the shelf stuff is totally free of the "other" ingredient.

could be where a lot of the stories come from too.

are you taking the piss or does this seriously happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Don't even eat whey any more (just haven't bothered ordering more yet is all) but nonsense articles like this irritate me beyond words.
    The Irish Independent is a horrible, horrible newspaper and with writing like this, seem to represent the silly, ignorant mindset of sooo many people in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Was dropping up my shaker to the kitchen in work about 5 minutes ago and as I was passing one of the offices, the most overweight person in the office caught me. "You still drinking those protein drinks?? You don't even know what's in them. I have these protein bars, lo cal, lo carb etc etc". Then I got given a spiel about how she's lost a pound without doing anything thanks to those bars.

Turns out those lovely protein bars cost about 30 quid for 12 of them and they're tiny little wafers.

Spotted her going for a smoke break as I was coming back to my desk.

BlueIsland wrote: »
    Perfect example. My brother (mid 20's) asked me did I have a shaker the other day. I asked for what? He said to take protein. I just asked playing devils advocate...Why you taking protein? His answer was...I dunno..its good for me. I pushed boat out again and asked what protein ya eat already today in food and he said ......what food do I get protein in? Id say ballpark 65% of people who use protein supplements have no idea why and how they should use it. What is worse is thew amount of idiots who claim to be in the know about it who have no clue about why and how they should use it.

This is the point I was trying to make, people think protein shakes are som magic thing, newbies in the gym buy the "best" one they can and expect it to give them muscle all on its on. Seen a young lad telling some guy at least twice his size that he'd never get big cause he wasn't taking "the protein"
    Women think the same, that its muscle in a shaker.