Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters in Accounting.

• 28-03-2011 11:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Hi I was wondering if anybody here has done or is currently doing the Masters in Accounting in DCU? Would they be able to give some advice on the course like what is the workload like and what is the timetable lke? Also how many people would usually be in this course? Thanks in advance for any replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭thefa

None of them will be able to answer til the evening when they're done with lectures and swotting up in the library! Know a few people doing it. Lectures Mon-thursday with a lot of hours. Big workload but do-able if you're willing to put in the effort. They seem to be getting good marks out of it but this is just what im being told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 allonboard

Non stop projects to do. Thesis to do as well and exams. Hard to juggle everything. Seem to do a lot more than other masters in accounting courses around the country. There are currently about 60 in the class but it's split into two groups. Very tough going and a big step up from undergrad. You need a lot of motivation to get through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 simos

Thanks for the feedback. What are the hours like in first semester I've seen the timetable for the second semester online but they don't have the first one up. I've applied for the masters in DIT aswell but I think that a lot of firrms favour DCU so i'm kinda leaning towards this masters instead. Thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭thefa

Im actually thinking of the masters in DIT myself but is that online application the complete application? Didnt look like there was much to it.

Semester 1 timetable is Monday to Thursday too.

Ye I think so I didn't do it online I printed it off and sent it and DIT sent me out a letter just saying all they will meed is my final results when I get them so i assume thats all it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

I did the masters last year. It takes a lot of work but is manageable. Judging by what some of my colleges who did other masters are saying I reckon DCU is a good deal tougher then other colleges, but in my view that's not a bad thing.

Thanks for the information.. I was just wondering is there many days in the first semester when you are in until 6? Is it pretty much the same timetable as semester 2?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭KenHy

Last year was in till 6 twice a week I think. Hours did reduce in second semester. In theory thats to allow you to study.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Dellboy2007

Looking for some info about this course.
    • Difficulty of Modules: Failure Rates, how hard are exams marked, exam timetables (both semesters).
    • Job Prospects: Many get Big 4 offers? Other Job possibilities? Anyone go on to further education?
    • Timetable: I have seen the timetable and it looks grand, one question though. Is there classes Saturday? I seen Finance classes marked down for Sat evening, maybe I read it wrong.
    • Overrall Satisfaction: Were you happy with the course, lecturers, exams, thesis, timetable, grades, etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 diverm2

Hey, I have just finished the course a few weeks ago!
    In terms of difficulty it is probably the toughest accounting masters around, though that's not a bad thing as the accounting firms hold it in high regard! :)

The module material itself isn't overly difficult, rather an extension of undergrad material. The difficulty is in how you approach questions, learning off by heart won't work to get a good grade. A lot of academic reading is expected beyond the basics that lecturers give!

I don't know specifics on failure rates but I would say about 50% of the class has at least one to do with some having 3 or maybe 4. Exams are not marked overly hard, e.g. many came out of a few in May convinced of failing and got very good marks overall. A lot of hard work is needed consistently throughout the year to get a high 2.1/1.1 average, little room for weekends off! The exam timetables were grand. Semester one we only had two exams- audit and finance- these were in the first week of exams on the monday and tuesday i think. Semester 2 exams were very spread out: Mon-Thurs-Mon-Thurs!

The thesis isn't as bad as it sounds and once you get into it you fly through it....would recommend working hard on it during the year too to get a good head start! I think they were on about changing the thesis in the coming year though to a case study or something....not sure if that is going ahead.

The class size was around the 60 mark last year, split into two groups for most modules! Many of those at the start of the year came in with no jobs, but the majority have got placement now, mostly with a Big4 firm.

The timetable in the first semester is quite heavy especially on monday and tuesday! Fridays are off both semesters....for study!! Semester 2 hours are low...probably with every 2nd wednesday off aswell! No classes on a saturday! The beginning of semester two is overloaded with assignments...dont leave them to the last minute!!

I loved the course....the best out of my four years in DCU! The atmosphere in the small class group is great and everyone (in our year anyway) is really helpful and friendly! The lecturers are great, very approachable and will do everything they can to help you out (most of them!). Was delighted with the grades i got in the exams...wont know overall until september because of thesis! The course is difficult but worth every bit of effort! It is hard to get used to the academic reading etc. at the start but it gets easier!! :)

I was just wondering if anyone is starting this course this year and if they are have you heard anything from DCU about the start date? I haven't heard anything since an email about paying the fees and was wondering if they will get onto me once i pay them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

I'll be starting this too and iirc the Orientation Week for Postgrads is 19th September with the actual start date being the following week.

Ok cheers. Did DCu send you out any information about the start date? Just getting a bit worried that i haven't heard from them and its nearly september.

Have you been accepted for the course, sent in exemptions form, transcripts, etc? This was taken from an email sent by Course Coordinator:

I will be writing to your home address (as provided in PAC) towards the end of this month with more detail. For now, you should note that lectures begin on Sept 26th and there will be some induction and teamwork sessions w/b Sept 19th which you are required to attend.

If you've sent everything in then maybe check your emails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭Celtise

Last year they had problems with not everyone getting their letters so if you've not got anything ask around or check with the coordinator, Martin Quinn.

Ye i ahve been accepted and everything and my PAC page says that they have received all my stuff. Maybe its because i haven't paid the full 60% of the fees that need to be paid before registering.

Probably. See you there! Where did you do your undergrad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 l2011

Last year if I remember right DCU did not send out anything until early September (and even then not to everyone).
    N.B.!! - The only books you need to buy are the Tax books and they are sold to you in class. NO other books needs to be bought, the lecturers will tell you to buy books at the start of the year but hardly anybody used them at all last year, all the material is in the slides, and anything that is needed from the books the lecturers photocopy and hand out in class!
    It's quite the tough year, but its managable, and only really starts getting heavy after christmas, up until then its quite easy going.
    Good luck!

Ye i done my undergrad in DIT. I was gonna do the masters there aswell but i just thought it might look better when trying to get a job in the milk rounds especially big 4 if I done the masters in DCU.

Ya i'm coming from an IT as well. Won't know anyone but i'm sure I won't be the only one. Did you get that letter yet? Inductions are on 21st and 23rd. I have to do a CAP 1 exam first so hopefully that will go ok. Going to try and get into one of the Big4 also but not too sure because of my leaving cert results being poor.

No still haven't got it. But i rang the fees office and they got my cheque and i sent an email to Martin Quinn today. Ye i'm in the exact same position my leaving results are poor but i've done well in all my college exams. Hopefully they view the college results as more important.

Fingers crossed, eh?! :) When do the Fees have to be paid by?

I think you have to pay 60% before you register and the rest in January. But the email I got said they would contact us through our dcu email so I dnt know how we can access that.

Ya that's what I thought but I'm getting the grant so 6k of the fees have been paid, don't know when the other 2 will have to be paid, maybe not till Jan. Ya how are you supposed to access the dcu email? Did you get that letter yet? Are you doing any Cap 1's next week?

Ye i have no idea how were suppose to access the DCU email thats a bit stupid for people who haven't been in DCU. Ye i finally got it today, was starting to get worried. No i don't have any exams luckily. What one do you have to do?

I have to do Cap 1 Law which shouldn't be too bad but to be honest, i'm finding it hard to motivate myself for it. Lots of learning off which I hate! Looking forward to starting though.

Yeah got the letter today alright which has also been emailed to me seemingly. Of course it would be handy if I had access to my DCU email but anyway :P

CAP1 Law is supposed to be handy enough by all accounts, certainly compared to Law modules you'd have done in undergrad.

Does anyone know when we have to register by? And do you need to be able to access your DCU email to register?

Apparently they are posting out registration letter on Monday so probably will have it Tuesday or Wednesday.

Has anyone registered for the course yet? I tries to today but it said i had to pay around €1700 to complete registration. I thought all these fees were included in the amount for the course does anyone know the story with this?

I didn't receive the registration letter with logon details, i'd say it will be here tomorrow. However, I do remember when paying the balance on my fees that the woman I was speaking to on the phone said this would happen but to ignore it (if that is possible?).

Ye it says you can pay it online or they will send you a bank giro. I just picked the bank giro and it said that registration is complete and they will send me out a bank giro in the next fee days. I'm just gonna ring the registration office toomorrow i'm sure they will easily sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

So hows the course going for you guys ??

Little Pea wrote: »
    So hows the course going for you guys ??

22hrs, 20 every other week. Can't complain tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

I just wanted to touch base , was offered my place in DCU and turned it down for DIT just wanted to keep in touch and see how you guys are getting on. Our timetable is 18 hours long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 martin2012

Hi guys
    After communicating with the experts and also searching different websites I really became interested to pursue a master degree in accounting at DCU. Today one my friends just told me about a shocking news, he said 50% of the students in the master class are already sponsored by the accounting firms and the rest are paying the full course fees by themselves & they are not really job guaranteed after completing their course, he mentioned that I am going to have a tough year, workload ect.... and spend lot of money and time & may end up with nothing (NO JOB!!!), I was told that, it’s better to spend a little bit more and do the master in accounting at Smurfit if I really want to get something after that, master in accounting at DCU is tough for no reason and you sacrifice your life and money and time for a year!!! I just wonder if this is really true?!!!! The only reason that I want to do my master at DCU is to get a JOB after. Please give me some advice in relation to this important issue if you studied the same degree and experienced the same thing!! Cheers:confused::confused::(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭Joko

martin2012 wrote: »
    Hi guys
    After communicating with the experts and also searching different websites I really became interested to pursue a master degree in accounting at DCU. Today one my friends just told me about a shocking news, he said 50% of the students in the master class are already sponsored by the accounting firms and the rest are paying the full course fees by themselves & they are not really job guaranteed after completing their course, he mentioned that I am going to have a tough year, workload ect.... and spend lot of money and time & may end up with nothing (NO JOB!!!), I was told that, it’s better to spend a little bit more and do the master in accounting at Smurfit if I really want to get something after that, master in accounting at DCU is tough for no reason and you sacrifice your life and money and time for a year!!! I just wonder if this is really true?!!!! The only reason that I want to do my master at DCU is to get a JOB after. Please give me some advice in relation to this important issue if you studied the same degree and experienced the same thing!! Cheers:confused::confused::(:(

Tbh I dont know why you'd bother doing a MSc in accounting at all. Just apply for jobs now. Firms are hiring atm. Apply for all the firms listed on the training scheme list. If dont dont happen to find a job, do the CAP 2's yourself and get an office job or apply to England. Work experience is worth more that a crappy masters.

Joko wrote: »
    Tbh I dont know why you'd bother doing a MSc in accounting at all. Just apply for jobs now. Firms are hiring atm. Apply for all the firms listed on the training scheme list. If dont dont happen to find a job, do the CAP 2's yourself and get an office job or apply to England. Work experience is worth more that a crappy masters.

Maybe you should start by educating yourself as to the realities of Milk Round hiring and the training contract process before offering very questionable advice, and I use the term advice lightly.

Because what it really is, is a load of shite tbqh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Tellindatruth

I completed this course in DCU. If someone was to ask me should they go there, I would point blankly say no.

The course, despite what the lecturers in DCU think, is only undertaken to get CAP 2 exemptions. Yet students are expected to do subjects such as Critical Perspectives and IT & the Accountant. They are really not necessary in my opinion nor have I ever used either since starting work. None of the other Colleges do it either.

There is an unnecessary amount of boring theory. One might counter this with the argument that it is a level 9 Masters and as such should involve more research and theory, however after speaking to other Masters students this doesn't seem to be the case. Subjects such as Taxation and Management Accounting in DCU have too much theory and not enough questions in my opinion.

If I had to go back I would have went somewhere else. Anywhere else! If you like accounting theory and research then you might want to consider DCU, or at the very least consider seeing a doctor. Jokes aside, if you don't want to work as an accountant and want to do a PhD or some lecturing this would be perfect for you.

The make up of some Masters courses in Ireland is the 4 subjects that give you CAP 2 exemptions and a Thesis, SIMPLE. In DCU you have all them subjects, a bigger dissertation and other subjects.

Also like to add that them other subjects involve a lot of coursework.

Critical Perspectives: I'd say around 10,000 words in total (including teamwork) and academic reading every 2 weeks.
    IT & Accountant: Probably 10,000 or more (including teamwork)

I completed this course in DCU. If someone was to ask me should they go there, I would point blankly say no.

The course, despite what the lecturers in DCU think, is only undertaken to get CAP 2 exemptions. Yet students are expected to do subjects such as Critical Perspectives and IT & the Accountant. They are really not necessary in my opinion nor have I ever used either since starting work. None of the other Colleges do it either.

There is an unnecessary amount of boring theory. One might counter this with the argument that it is a level 9 Masters and as such should involve more research and theory, however after speaking to other Masters students this doesn't seem to be the case. Subjects such as Taxation and Management Accounting in DCU have too much theory and not enough questions in my opinion.

If I had to go back I would have went somewhere else. Anywhere else! If you like accounting theory and research then you might want to consider DCU, or at the very least consider seeing a doctor. Jokes aside, if you don't want to work as an accountant and want to do a PhD or some lecturing this would be perfect for you.

The make up of some Masters courses in Ireland is the 4 subjects that give you CAP 2 exemptions and a Thesis, SIMPLE. In DCU you have all them subjects, a bigger dissertation and other subjects.

Also like to add that them other subjects involve a lot of coursework.

Critical Perspectives: I'd say around 10,000 words in total (including teamwork) and academic reading every 2 weeks.
    IT & Accountant: Probably 10,000 or more (including teamwork)

Thanks for your good explanation,
    Could you please tell me that, how many or (it’s better you give me a percentage ) what percentage of the student got into the Big4 after completing this course , apart from the ones already sponsored . I know about 85% of the acc. Masters Students in DIT got in to the Big4 & also 100% of UCD’s student (Smurfit).
    Friend of mine did the master in acc in DCU and he regrets, as he just said the course was tough & included lots of theory and other useless subjects .
    He just told me that you are not job guaranteed with this course !!! :)

I did the Masters in DCU last year and would recommend it to anyone. Without a doubt the best year at college. Granted it is a tough year but if you are willing to put in a bit of continuous work then it's more than manageable and very rewarding. The extra subjects on the course, while work intensive, are very beneficial and help to give you a broader context of what the accounting world is all about. If you just want to get CAP 2 exemptions then why not just do them through work. The level 9 should go above basic CAP 2 exemptions.

Also, you have just as good a chance of getting a job from this masters as Smurfit or any other. Smurfit is just a name for which you pay a few grand extra.

diverm2 wrote: »
    I did the Masters in DCU last year and would recommend it to anyone. Without a doubt the best year at college. Granted it is a tough year but if you are willing to put in a bit of continuous work then it's more than manageable and very rewarding. The extra subjects on the course, while work intensive, are very beneficial and help to give you a broader context of what the accounting world is all about. If you just want to get CAP 2 exemptions then why not just do them through work. The level 9 should go above basic CAP 2 exemptions.

Also, you have just as good a chance of getting a job from this masters as Smurfit or any other. Smurfit is just a name for which you pay a few grand extra.

120% disagree with you dear.
    1) too much theory in the DCU masters in accounting which is very useless especially in the critical protective subject.
    2) only 50% of the students got into the big accounting firms (exclude sponsored students) Vs 85% of DIT students got into Big4 & 100% of Smurfit got at least 2 offers from Big 4.
    3) DCU masters is very tough and complected.
    4) Smurfit & DIT masters are much more technical and also very useful to pass your FAE exams at first attempt.
    5) Yes you may pay extra 4000 euro in Smurfit but at least you are 120% job guaranteed.
    6) DCU is not easily accessible by the public transports from all areas around Dublin city.

This information based on my research and opinion:

Rankings:

1) Master in accounting UCD (Smurfit): The course is manageable & 95% job guaranteed.

2) Master in accounting DIT: The course is comprehensive and highly regarded by the accounting firms, manageable & 80% job guaranteed.

3) Master in accounting DCU: The course is unbelievable tough & intensive, not easily manageable & 50% job guaranteed.

4) Master in accounting Maynooth: The course is easy, relaxing year (compare to other masters) & 30-40% job guaranteed.

All courses mentioned above get you CAP2 exemption.

120% disagree with you dear.
    1) too much theory in the DCU masters in accounting which is very useless especially in the critical protective subject.
    2) only 50% of the students got into the big accounting firms (exclude sponsored students) Vs 85% of DIT students got into Big4 & 100% of Smurfit got at least 2 offers from Big 4.
    3) DCU masters is very tough and complected.
    4) Smurfit & DIT masters are much more technical and also very useful to pass your FAE s at the first attempt.
    5) Yes you may pay extra 4000 euro in Smurfit but at least you are 120% job guaranteed.
    6) DCU is not easy accessible by the public transport from all areas around the city.
    This based on my research and opinion:

Rankings:

1) Master in accounting UCD (Smurfit): The course is manageable & 95% job guaranteed.

2) Master in accounting DIT: The course is comprehensive and highly demanded by the accounting firms, manageable & 80% job guaranteed.

3) Master in accounting DCU: The course is unbelievable tough & intensive, not easily manageable & 50% job guaranteed.

4) Master in accounting Maynooth: The course is easy, relaxing year (compare to other masters) & 30-40% job guaranteed.

All courses mentioned above get you CAP2 exemption.

First of all don't patronise me by calling me 'dear'.

Secondly you did the masters when? Don't post on a thread looking to see if it is worthwhile doing the Masters in DCU if, when someone replys you are goin to pull figures out of nowhere and act as if you have been through it! You are not guaranteed a job from any masters and you won't see that written in any prospectus! You get a job based on your own merit and on the impression which you make, not based upon which college you went to.

Just FYI, in your post you first of all say your '120%' job guaranteed from Smurfit, then you say '95%' later! Perhaps not the career for you if you can't tie two figures together.

First of all don't patronise me by calling me 'dear'.

Secondly you did the masters when? Don't post on a thread looking to see if it is worthwhile doing the Masters in DCU if, when someone replys you are goin to pull figures out of nowhere and act as if you have been through it! You are not guaranteed a job from any masters and you won't see that written in any prospectus! You get a job based on your own merit and on the impression which you make, not based upon which college you went to.

Just FYI, in your post you first of all say your '120%' job guaranteed from Smurfit, then you say '95%' later! Perhaps not the career for you if you can't tie two figures together.

95% what the firms confirmed.

120% is the reality.

I am a Qualified Financial Adviser (QFA). I was interested in doing a Masters in Accounting @ DCU but I am NOT anymore , you know , I know the master in accounting at DCU is more theory rather than technical and it's all about waffel waffel .... anyway i respect your opinion if you feel DCU MBS is a good course, however I dont recommend this tough & complected course to friends .

Good Luck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

95% what the firms confirmed.

120% is the reality.

I am a Qualified Financial Adviser (QFA). I was interested in doing a Masters in Accounting @ DCU but I am NOT anymore , you know , I know the master in accounting at DCU is more theory rather than technical and it's all about waffel waffel .... anyway i respect your opinion if you feel DCU MBS is a good course, however I dont recommend this tough & complected course to friends .

If you haven't done the course, I'm not sure how you can or can't recommend it to other people.

You started this thread asking for advice on the course - please don't be so dismissive of the people who have kindly replied to your question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Tellindatruth

The extra subjects on the course, while work intensive, are very beneficial and help to give you a broader context of what the accounting world is all about.

I don't believe the extra subjects are necessary to give you a 'broader context of what the accounting world is all about'. To be honest, I think I learned more about that 'world' in one month of work with a big4 company than I did for the whole year of Critical Perspectives. That's Theory vs Practice though I suppose.

The level 9 should go above basic CAP 2 exemptions.

My point was that other Masters courses don't do these extra subjects and they come out with it at the end with the exact same thing, a Masters in Accounting and CAP 2 exemptions. In my opinion, and having spoke with other more senior members in the firm, saying in an interview that you did critical perspectives is not worth anything. They don't look at you as being superior to other people with Masters in Accounting who didn't do Critical Perspectives. If i'm completely honest I'm not even sure how much they care if you have a Masters in the first place. You say Masters, they hear CAP 2 exemptions - FACT. To them it just means that you won't be gone for a few months doing exams in your first year. As I said in my first post though, if you are thinking of going on to do a PhD or lecturing then these subjects might be of use.

Look, I kind of see where you're coming from. Perhaps a Masters should involve more, but the thing is, the material covered for gaining CAP 2 exemptions and the writing of a thesis obviously equates to a level 9 degree when other courses are conferring these on their students.

Martin, go where ever is handiest for you. If you're a strong candidate you should get a job anyway. Regardless of whether you go to DIT/DCU/UCD.

I don't believe the extra subjects are necessary to give you a 'broader context of what the accounting world is all about'. To be honest, I think I learned more about that 'world' in one month of work with a big4 company than I did for the whole year of Critical Perspectives. That's Theory vs Practice though I suppose.

My point was that other Masters courses don't do these extra subjects and they come out with it at the end with the exact same thing, a Masters in Accounting and CAP 2 exemptions. In my opinion, and having spoke with other more senior members in the firm, saying in an interview that you did critical perspectives is not worth anything. They don't look at you as being superior to other people with Masters in Accounting who didn't do Critical Perspectives. If i'm completely honest I'm not even sure how much they care if you have a Masters in the first place. You say Masters, they hear CAP 2 exemptions - FACT. To them it just means that you won't be gone for a few months doing exams in your first year. As I said in my first post though, if you are thinking of going on to do a PhD or lecturing then these subjects might be of use.

Look, I kind of see where you're coming from. Perhaps a Masters should involve more, but the thing is, the material covered for gaining CAP 2 exemptions and the writing of a thesis obviously equates to a level 9 degree when other courses are conferring these on their students.

Martin, go where ever is handiest for you. If you're a strong candidate you should get a job anyway. Regardless of whether you go to DIT/DCU/UCD.

I see where you are coming from and there were definitely times during the year where I was like 'why didn't I go somewhere else where we would just be CAP2 focused'. But on a personal level by the end of the year I felt that the subjects were beneficial to me in tems of supporting my own opinions on subjects and getting my point of view across.

Agree with you completely that the Big4 won't really care whether you have these subjects or not and that a lot of pdm in the firms who have Masters will probably tell you not to bother with the Masters in the first place.

My views are obviously my own and everyone will take different things from the course, for me it was a great year and very rewarding. Others will not like it. I just don't want people reading the thread to think that it's all bad and that everyone dislikes the course.

I see where you are coming from and there were definitely times during the year where I was like 'why didn't I go somewhere else where we would just be CAP2 focused'. But on a personal level by the end of the year I felt that the subjects were beneficial to me in tems of supporting my own opinions on subjects and getting my point of view across.

Agree with you completely that the Big4 won't really care whether you have these subjects or not and that a lot of pdm in the firms who have Masters will probably tell you not to bother with the Masters in the first place.

My views are obviously my own and everyone will take different things from the course, for me it was a great year and very rewarding. Others will not like it. I just don't want people reading the thread to think that it's all bad and that everyone dislikes the course.

I respect your opinion & I also feel you were one of those students who really like to take something from journal articles .... change it into your own words and put it on a blank paper and get some marks and try to believe that you did something rewarding and you learnt a lot ... at the real point in the office if they ask you to get a bonus fraction or ask you how to get revenue figure you would say assets minus profit + equity * cos = Revenue .

Yes I start asking people about the DCU masters in accounting & the feedback given was absolutely NEGATIVE , I don't believe that a masters course with a final 20000 words thesis needs to be included with a subjects of Critical prospective ( 10000 words) , IT (10000 words) and other CA's (infinity words) atc....

well done to ya if you completed this course.

Thank you so much for your advice , I took it and I applied for a masters in Smurfit. I also share all this great information with my colleagues & I think they will consider their other options rather than writing 50 million words masters degree( wafel wafel)

Kind Regards:)

I respect your opinion & I also feel you were one of those students who really like to take something from journal articles .... change it into your own words and put it on a blank paper and get some marks and try to believe that you did something rewarding and you learnt a lot ... at the real point in the office if they ask you to get a bonus fraction or ask you how to get revenue figure you would say assets minus profit + equity * cos = Revenue .

Yes I start asking people about the DCU masters in accounting & the feedback given was absolutely [COLOR="Red"]NEGATIVE [/COLOR] , I don't believe that a masters course with a final 20000 words thesis needs to be included with a subjects of Critical prospective ( 10000 words) , IT (10000 words) and other CA's (infinity words) atc....

well done to ya if you completed this course.

Good Luck :)[/Quote]

You clearly don't respect my opinion...not that I'm overly bothered whether you do or not.

And I'm not one of those students who like writing essays on blank paper...I do prefer the technical side of things of which I got plenty of exposure to during the Masters.

Also, yes you started asking people for their views about the masters....but I gave you positive feedback so clearly it wasn't "absolutely NEGATIVE".

The thesis is a max of 15000 words actually. And the large projects are done in groups of 4-5.

Yea good luck in Smurfit. I'm sure you will fit right in.