Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Substantial bomb planted at Derry courthouse

• 28-03-2011 10:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

It most certainly does seem that way! The dissident republicans seem to think that the majority of the people on both sides of the divide got it wrong when they said enough! No one wants this sh1t anymore, they had enough of it during the height of "the troubles".

Jesus wept, imagine the aftermath had the bomb gone off! Doesn't bear thinking about! Bast3rds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

They are unrelated.

Donegall is a result of the best candidate being from SF. Simple as.

Derry, who knows why exactly the disidents are getting stronger, perhaps people are becoming disolusioned with the peace process becuase of the recession and greater economic dificulty which(From their point of view) can be blamed on both Britain for reducing the grant to NI and SF for helping in implementing the Cuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Why do they hate Derry so much?

Seriously though I don't see why the rise of SF in Donegal is related to an increase in militant republicanism in Derry.

DSW was started with Pearse Doherty and that court case. Don't know much about north Donegal but I'd be likely to think it was carried over from people who liked Doherty but lived in the northern constituency, also Donegal was previously very pro FF, they didn't want to vote for them this time but didn't want to go FG either.

Secondly people who support militant republicans do not consider Sinn Fein republican, they see them now as the provos saw SDLP 20 years ago.

In what way do you see this being related to SF being elected in Donegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

They're unrelated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

That's interesting, Sinn Fein supporters in Northern Ireland tend to be the complete opposite.

When you say these ardent SF supporters are supporters of armed conflict is it a general sympathy with their goals, or do you think they would actually shelter these groups/turn a blind eye to their activities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Horrible to think of what's going through these people's heads when they do shít like this. Makes me think that there is no way we will ever be able to reason with them. Maybe Thatcher had the right idea when she refused to negotiate with them at all.

Shocking though this may be to you, you saying it does not make it so. There is a clear and marked distinction between the dissident movement and Sinn Fein and its supporters. If you can prove otherwise, by all means do so. Otherwise I'd suggest you're slinging muck for the sake of it.
    That's interesting, Sinn Fein supporters in Northern Ireland tend to be the complete opposite..

I wouldn't go taking his word for it.

When Donegal decides to appoint a spokesman to "pontificate about what is true and is not true" I'm sure you'll get the chance to run for the post. Until then, I don't think its really for somebody to appoint themselves temporarily to the role.

The facts are that there is a massive rift between SF and the dissidents, and your attempt to link the two is muck slinging, pure and simple.

"pontificate about what is true and is not true" indeed.

Ahh yes, the muddying of the waters begins....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

This is weak stuff PB, fairly desperate.

If I were to link racist attacks to the rise in support for FG on the basis they are both right wing, I would be rightfully laughed out of it. As should you.

We may disagree on most things, but I like reading your political analysis. But on this you are way off.

I can't comment either way here to be honest. Last time I was in Donegal I was 11!
    The huge increase in Sinn Féin support in Donegal and the increase in Real IRA/dissident activity a few miles away in Derry are correlated. One is feeding the other. There's no question about it.

This is not to say that all Sinn Féin voters in Donegal support terrorism in the North. They don't. But enough do to make a difference.

They are correlated sure, but I'm not sure they are connected in the way you are suggesting. I would have hypothesised that SF are becoming more votable because someone else is doing the killing now and they are condemning it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

At this stage is becoming difficult to see who militant republicans hate more, the British or Sinn Féin.

So yes permabear, they are unrelated. If people support armed campaign they would most likely leave SF who have branded militant republicans "traitors", "Combat junkies" and have called on people to inform and tell the PSNI anything they know about the militants. They would join one of the other increasing amount of republican groups.

Incredibly pathetic that you would try and blame SF for this in some way, when they have condemned it in every instance.

On a separate note I find it telling of the capabilities of the militant republicans that they can barely make a functioning pipe bomb, never mind a car bomb.

There is a little bit more than a wink and nudge to MMG calling them traitors and conflict junkies and encouraging people to rat them out to the PSNI and Gardaí, never mind the allegation that former Provo's are working with British Intellegence against the dissidents.

Even the DUP acknowledge that SF are doing all they can. Yet you come out with this?

You don't like SF. We know that. You don't like the dissidents. Fair enough. Equating them as the same phenomenon because you dislike them both is political autism.

Ok that's quite possibly true, but I don't think this has any bearing on the situation in Derry. There are more obvious reasons such as what I said previously about Donegal and the fact Derry has always been the strongest RIRA area.
    Sinn Féin will do whatever it can to gain political advantage. If that means condemning violence, they will do that. But that does not preclude driving around in the middle of an "Up the Ra!" post-election cavalcade (nudge nudge, wink wink).

I suppose these are SF supporters who believe what the PIRA did was right, but are against the RIRA. When they shout "Up da RA" its in reference to PIRA

Now anyone of reasonable intelligence would realise how stupid this is whilst there's another IRA still active, but hey I'm not expecting much from a SF entourage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

Great OP there closet unionist - or in your case not so closet unionist, more reasons than ever to vote for SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Great OP there closet unionist - or in your case not so closet unionist, more reasons than ever to vote for SF.
    Anyone against the IRA and Sinn Fein is a closet unionist? Guess that makes Margaret Ritchie a closet unionist. I'd better go tell her.

Not especially helpful....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

probably jealousy
    possibly mi5, ah who knows......

derry.png#

Here is the layout of the area.... Apparently the bomb was in the carpark. Derrys walls are between the carpark and the sheltered housing.

It was a 110lb bomb, hidden in a beer keg in a stolen vehicle. A warning was phoned in at 6:45 yesterday.

Just as an aside, there is a current alert ongoing in West Belfast. In a GAA club.

What the hell were they targeting? a 110lb bomb would do no more than scorch damage if placed right beside the bomb-proof courthouse, and it is a good distance away.

Ah not this type of thing again.

What the hell were they targeting? a 110lb bomb would do no more than scorch damage if placed right beside the bomb-proof courthouse, and it is a good distance away.
    No idea... Any court cases related to militant republicans due in that court soon? Seems a symbolic attack anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    At this stage is becoming difficult to see who militant republicans hate more, the British or Sinn Féin.

So yes permabear, they are unrelated. If people support armed campaign they would most likely leave SF who have branded militant republicans "traitors", "Combat junkies" and have called on people to inform and tell the PSNI anything they know about the militants. They would join one of the other increasing amount of republican groups.

Incredibly pathetic that you would try and blame SF for this in some way, when they have condemned it in every instance.

On a separate note I find it telling of the capabilities of the militant republicans that they can barely make a functioning pipe bomb, never mind a car bomb.

Not often I agree with Wolfe but the scum who planted this have nothing to do with the shinners, and if anything this action was carried out in spite of their recent showing in the elections rather than because of it.

Regarding the final paragraph above though, the ominous phrase 'we only have to be lucky once' comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

The guy I bought drugs off last night has never been convicted, therefore he isn't a drugdealer. It is a hilarious logic, I agree with you on that.

Also while there's obviously a huge difference between SF and the current paramilitaries for those (ironically) who know the most and the least, there's also a huge element of just "Fcuk the brits" and "up the RA" types who couldn't tell you a thing about NI.

Anyway, it's sad to see this kind of crap again. And the device in Belfast, ugh.

Personally I think the attacks in Derry will only escalate as we come closer to the city of culture year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

You don't need to cause a lot of damage to scare people, which is pretty much the goal of terrorists. Often and little can be more effective than scarce but big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

wish they would just winde down now.wars over and people are moving on.polotics is the only way.they certainly dont have the capability as the provos did to sustain guerilla warfare.......i see that johnny adair(aka maddog) had to pull out of some conference thing in dublin over the dissidents.there was a 75,000 euro bounty on his head and he classed the real ira as maniacs and he is not going to take the chance.

god the man survived 8 asasination atempts by the provos but he still survived.he still doesnt know himself how he is still alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I live in Donegal and there is no connection, if there is one, it's tenuous like your suggestion, there are muppets who support other parties too.

MacLochlainns support I'd say came from a big part of the Blaney, IFF vote. It would be naturally Republican but I can't see how it could be linked to dissidents.

This would have happened anyway.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Ah not this type of thing again.

anything that remotely resembles irish nationalism will be disgusting to permabear , perhaps if just once he posted on something like the british parchute reg shooting a 12 year old girl in the back and getting off scott free while it takes that country 35 years to appolgize for it might give some balance , unfortunately as with all unionist posters here balance is hard to obtain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

I (still) don't understand why republicans think that killing people is a way to get this united Ireland that they seem to want so badly.

Asides from the multitude of reasons - economic, political and social - why do they think we (by "we" I mean the Republic) would want to take on a bunch of people who carry out acts like this? There's no guarantee they'd stop IF the 6 counties were handed over. Why they can't just grow up and cop on to themselves, I don't understand.

People want peace. Why is that such a hard concept to understand? Especially given that I'd say a large number of these groups are peopled with young lads, who have no memory whatsoever of any of the previous Troubles, and are carrying out these acts based on a mis-guided form of "patriotism", put in them by listening to one side of a story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

This is exactly why the UVF brigade staff are still around. Although, the Irish taliban in the RIRA strike again. They must be lovely chaps :rolleyes:

agh your in your twisting mood again i see , i have no time for the people planting bombs in derry and i consider myself a republican

sounds lovely permabear and i would love to believe you , but i have read many of your posts , and while i find many with shock and abhorrence at young republicans ,probably drunk, shouting up the ra after an election victory and many others condemning actions of ira in the past i have not found a single post from you that condemns the actions of the british / unionist side

perhaps you can show us a situation where you have and i will be glad to apologize for considering you a unionist .

lol and you call blaming Sinn Fein for dissident attacks "rational"?

Still waiting for an apology for you implying I support the attack.

Martin Mcguinness said the other day 3 senior RIRA went back home to their families and yet here we are, another planting of a bomb. What the hell is going on in the republican movement?

To be fair, the thread started from a fairly low base with your tenious logic.

The dramatic increase in dissident republicanism in the Derry area, and the huge surge in support for Sinn Féin in Donegal, are ominous signs—and please don't try to tell me that they are unrelated.

You are clearly associating and linking SF and its supporters with the attacks. You are trying to smear SF using this attempted bombing, pathetic, and transparent. Anyone with even a rudimentary understanding of modern day republicanism could tell you this is unrelated to SFs recent sucess.
    Are you saying that you weren't defending the placement of the bomb?
    Lets review this here... I posted a picture of the area, and highlighted the main buildings. I then proceeded to mention other details such as the bomb size, and that yes, the wall separates the car park from the housing(as you can see from the pic it is unclear that the wall is actually there). I posted the pic so that people unfamiliar with the area would appreciate where the bomb was in relation to the other buildings.

So no, I was not defending the bombing. Again you imply I support the bombing. Apologize and retract.

rational discussion of the Northern question

by which you probably mean everybody joining in your anti sinn fein rants .

The people of Donegal elected you to pontificate then?
    However, that is quite evidently not the same thing as claiming that Sinn Féin supports the attacks.
    Nah, just all there supporters do?

And why does it matter where the bomb was placed in relation to the other buildings? Explain the significance of your map and your commentary, please?
    Why would it not matter? I posted a picture so people could be more familiar with the areas geography, so they could have a greater understanding of the attempted bombing. Obviously this is some sort of serious crime.

Apologize and retract.

The bottom line is yet again the violence or attempted violence is coming from one community and its the republican community. People should be ratting on these people and putting them before the courts.

They don't want peace.

Ah for gods sake. When I heard about the alert last night/this morning I looked on google maps to get an idea of what we were looking at. I thought others would like to see it too as like me they may be unfamiliar with the area. It also raised the issue that the bomb was actually quite far from the courthouse. Also, seen as it is an aerial photo, it is not clear there is a wall so I mentioned that there was.

Now are you going to apologize and retract?