Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to do next...

• 27-03-2011 8:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

Hey guys. Bought my road bike today at last thanks to a boardsie :) my question is, what do I need to buy next for my bike? It's second hand but in good condition. Do I need to get spare tubes and patches? Whats the best thing to clean the chain etc?
    Thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Deep section carbon wheels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Even if I wont be doing anything serious for a while and the wheels on it are perfect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,429 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

you should have some spare tubes, a couple of chain links, a small pump, as for what else id suggest id say a camlebak backpack with a water bladder, a multitool; this is what i use but then again im into mtb's so it could differ slightly

fat bloke wrote: »
    Yes.

How much for a good pair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I wouldn't spend less than about 2k on a pair tbh. And even at that they'd only be training wheels. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Ah lads..........:D:D:D come on and cut the guy a bit of slack

(the answer is about a grand....;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Whats springs to mind. A multi-tool kit, spare tubes, compressed air or mini pump, track-side pump, couple of bottles and cages, some LEDs if out early or late, and a cycle computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

fat bloke wrote: »
    Yes.

Why don't you Fat Off and stop taking the piss out of the guy ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

irish-stew wrote: »
    Whats springs to mind. A multi-tool kit, spare tubes, compressed air or mini pump, track-side pump, couple of bottles and cages, some LEDs if out early or late, and a cycle computer.

Good pair of bibshorts if you don't have them, clipless pedals and shoes make a hell of a difference too. Track pump vital.

What bike did you get btw? What are your goals?

I knew as soon as I heard carbon that something was gonna be expensive :( thanks guys. There's a good cycling shop in riverstick near me so I'll pop in there during the week. How much for a decent helmet? I see ones for €20 but dunno how safe these are? The bike came with a catseye 8:D

kenmc wrote: »
    Good pair of bibshorts if you don't have them, clipless pedals and shoes make a hell of a difference too. Track pump vital.

What bike did you get btw? What are your goals?

Got a trek 1500 slr. Well I've played soccer for years and years so I should be pretty fit. At the moment I'm just hoping to get used to being on the bike and changing gears efficiently. Gonna do the ring of Kerry and cork to Galway if I'm around. I'm very interested in ww2 so eventually I would love to cycle around certain places in Europe to visit more ww2 places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

I try to prioritise when getting stuff, nice to have and need to have!

Focus on what will get you out on the bike reliably, you can do without bibshorts and clipless pedals for a while.

I would be looking at spare tubes, track pump, carry pump, multitool, chain oil, some cleaning gear and a decent lock if you plan on leaving it anywhere other than home.

For degreasing the chain and cassette I use jizer degreaser that I got in the local motor factors, can't remember how much but its fairly cheap for a gallon and it lasts for ages, apply with a plastic bristle brush.
    Dry off and oil chain.

After I have done the degreasing I clean the bike with diluted truckwash, motor factors again, 5 gallon drum, very cheap, some places call it traffic film remover, read instructions though, needs to be heavily diluted, stuff is fairly potent when neat.

Check tyres for glass or any other puncture inducing sh*te, pump tyres, refit wheels and adjust brakes if needed. I do this once every week, keeps the bike looking and going good.

Best of luck on your new steed!

I knew as soon as I heard carbon that something was gonna be expensive :( thanks guys. There's a good cycling shop in riverstick near me so I'll pop in there during the week. How much for a decent helmet? I see ones for €20 but dunno how safe these are? The bike came with a catseye 8:D

Helmets can cost into the 3 figures. I have a Metz Stradivarius, didn't quite pay as much as the one on the link (have had 4-5 years). If your going to be doing a lot of cycling, a lighter one and with more vents will keep your head cooler, but will cost more as well.

murph226 wrote: »
    I try to prioritise when getting stuff, nice to have and need to have!

Focus on what will get you out on the bike reliably, you can do without bibshorts and clipless pedals for a while.

I would be looking at spare tubes, track pump, carry pump, multitool, chain oil, some cleaning gear and a decent lock if you plan on leaving it anywhere other than home.

For degreasing the chain and cassette I use jizer degreaser that I got in the local motor factors, can't remember how much but its fairly cheap for a gallon and it lasts for ages, apply with a plastic bristle brush.
    Dry off and oil chain.

After I have done the degreasing I clean the bike with diluted truckwash, motor factors again, 5 gallon drum, very cheap, some places call it traffic film remover, read instructions though, needs to be heavily diluted, stuff is fairly potent when neat.

Check tyres for glass or any other puncture inducing sh*te, pump tyres, refit wheels and adjust brakes if needed. I do this once every week, keeps the bike looking and going good.

Best of luck on your new steed!
    Thanks man exactly what I was thinking. Gonna get by bibs and stuff in the next 2weeks and get the most important stuff tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I'm very interested in ww2 so eventually I would love to cycle around certain places in Europe to visit more ww2 places

My limited German (and google translate) says your username means Germany Forever. Does your saddlebag have to be big enough for an SS Uniform?

Hahahahahahaha....no

Good selection of stuff in the shop in Riverstick aswell, his prices are spot on too, anything I've bought there is same price as most of the online shops.

whereabouts are you based, I'm down in Crosshaven myself.

You should stick yourself down for the Tour De Cure in Midleton, something to train towards!

I'm up by cork airport myself. Ballygarvan area. When and how long is that? Have you any interest in Sunday spins? There's another guy here trying to organize something I think

http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/index.php

I was thinking of joining the club in Carrigaline for a bit of motivation and to learn how to ride in a group, but sometimes I have to work weekends so I'm kind of all over the shop at the moment so I just try to get out whenever I can and for getting to and from work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

question is, what do I need to buy next.....

Another bike of course....:rolleyes:

murph226 wrote: »
    http://www.stephenrochetourdecure.com/index.php

I was thinking of joining the club in Carrigaline for a bit of motivation and to learn how to ride in a group, but sometimes I have to work weekends so I'm kind of all over the shop at the moment so I just try to get out whenever I can and for getting to and from work!

Cool man thank you. Actually, where the feckin he'll is that place in riverstick!? I've driven through there lots but never seen it. It must be off the main road?

Another bike of course....:rolleyes:

Some right funny fellas on this forum aswel as some very helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Ride sally ride:p

Some right funny fellas on this forum aswel as some very helpful

some have three bikes as well.

Hes behind the petrol station in Riverstick, on the rhs bhind the chipper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭brainstorm

Actually, where the feckin he'll is that place in riverstick!? I've driven through there lots but never seen it. It must be off the main road?

behind the petrol station

Very good man thank you! If you ever interested in a spin around carrigaline or your way I'll come:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭redzone

What you need now is a filter for the ars@$&£es taking the piss out of ye. They seem to forget they were all beginners at one time aswell. Usually the dicks mouthin out of them on the club spins, or the knobs who wouldn't wave to ye on the road because ye havn't got pro team colours on your back.

You don't have to spend big as already advised, just get yourself on the road and learn as ye go. The LBS will give ye some tips.

As for a helmet ye could get a Bell Solar for no more than 30euros, is light has plenty of vents and does the same job as the more expensive ones.

redzone wrote: »
    What you need now is a filter for the ars@$&£es taking the piss out of ye. They seem to forget they were all beginners at one time aswell. Usually the dicks mouthin out of them on the club spins, or the knobs who wouldn't wave to ye on the road because ye havn't got pro team colours on your back.

You don't have to spend big as already advised, just get yourself on the road and learn as ye go. The LBS will give ye some tips.

As for a helmet ye could get a Bell Solar for no more than 30euros, is light has plenty of vents and does the same job as the more expensive ones.

Thanks a million man appreciate it. I like humor but didn't know this was a part time AH forum :rolleyes:
    I got my bike for 400 today anyway so gonnanenjoy getting into the whole road bike thing. I'm 19 and quite fit so I'll leave my legs do the talking as best I can should I ever meet some of these...men.

No need for such aggression there red my boy, we are friendly about these parts and unlike other forums actually engage with newbies, you will find friendly banter is common around here and Deuts has been posting a bit so I'm sure he doesn't mind people answering his questions while having a bit of a laugh.
    Now on with your insightful post...

jezz, broke your arse there didn't you, insightful if nothing else........

*TBW waves at redzone as his name is so apt :rolleyes:*

No need for such aggression there red my boy, we are friendly about these parts and unlike other forums actually engage with newbies, you will find friendly banter is common around here and Deuts has been posting a bit so I'm sure he doesn't mind people answering his questions while having a bit of a laugh.
    Now on with your insightful post...

jezz, broke your arse there didn't you, insightful if nothing else........

*TBW waves at redzone as his name is so apt :rolleyes:*
    Yeah I like a laugh but c'mon I can't just bend over and take it:D na yeve been very helpful tbf but still....bastards:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭redzone

Thanks a million man appreciate it. I like humor but didn't know this was a part time AH forum :rolleyes:
    I got my bike for 400 today anyway so gonnanenjoy getting into the whole road bike thing. I'm 19 and quite fit so I'll leave my legs do the talking as best I can should I ever meet some of these...men.

Good man.......... don't worry ye will meet a few,I was in your position this time last year but I had a few mates to guide me. Summer on the way ye will be flying in no time.

Main thing is to enjoy it and have fun, your idea of cycling around Europe to WW2 site is brillant.:)

Good man.......... don't worry ye will meet a few,I was in your position this time last year but I had a few mates to guide me. Summer on the way ye will be flying in no time.

Main thing is to enjoy it and have fun, your idea of cycling around Europe to WW2 site is brillant.:)

Yeah I'm picking a good time to learn at least.
    Thanks man, damn Band of Brothers:D hopefully I'll meet someone who wants to do the exact same thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

my tuppance worth :

best piece of advice ever given to me in cycling ......

Long steady distance ...... LSD

figure out how far can u go at the moment before u get too tired , then work on incrementally increasing that distance/ time week after week after week .

be mindful to take days off once every 3 weeks or so.

this base work of long steady distance builds up the base muscles upon which all ur future work will be based upon. try to include some sportives in ur training, if only to see more of this countryside......

are u talking about the Pfizer Chernobyl Childrens charity cycle cork to galway ?

u know to forget about the carbon wheels for the moment !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Helmets all have to pass the same safety standards, from the cheapest to the most expensive. With the expensive ones you are paying for aesthetics, lightness, venting, comfort, that sort of thing- although probably more than all of that you are paying for the helmet manufacturer's sponsorship and marketing budget. I wouldn't worry about a cheap helmet doing the job at all.

michael196 wrote: »
    my tuppance worth :

best piece of advice ever given to me in cycling ......

Long steady distance ...... LSD

figure out how far can u go at the moment before u get too tired , then work on incrementally increasing that distance/ time week after week after week .

be mindful to take days off once every 3 weeks or so.

this base work of long steady distance builds up the base muscles upon which all ur future work will be based upon. try to include some sportives in ur
    training, if only to see more of this countryside......

are u talking about the Pfizer Chernobyl Childrens charity cycle cork to galway ?

u know to forget about the carbon wheels for the moment !!!

Yeah that's what imma do. Just back from my first spin, absolutely loved it and did much better than I thought. Jesus you feel every pebble on the road though:D
    Couldn't get my cateye to work though. It's on all zeroes cos I reset it last night but wouldn't budge off zero.
    And Yeah the Chernobyl one:)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Jesus you feel every pebble on the road though

See, the first thing I would have had on my list was a reasonable pair of padded shorts. As your spins get longer, you might even consider a really good pair of padded shorts and even a tub of chamois cream.

On Irish roads puncture resistant tyres such as gatorskins aren't a bad idea, particularly if you're hitting the smaller L-roads in Cork and Wicklow. You'll still want the mini-pump, spare tube, patches, etc... but much less often. Slightly wider tyres will give you a bit more comfort at the cost of some speed. A second bottle cage is a cheap but handy upgrade as well if you're going for longer spins.

My rear end was fine though no pain yet and i will of course get the proper clothing innthe coming weeks.
    Regarding the wheels I dont really mind the comfort for now as I would've stuck to my mtb if I wanted that. I might go for a slightly wider tyre whenni have to get new ones alri. Really thought it was so much easier than the mtb. Didn't think the difference would be so great. For those from cork my route today was a short one. Up my house ( near flight club) to the airport roundabout and down the airport hill to the kinsale roundabout, turned around andnheaded back up the airport hill and into the main airport terminal and back home again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 573 ✭✭✭dave.obrien

My opinion on what's important and what's not:

Vital
    Spare tubes, track pump, mini pump, water bottles and cage and a good pair of shorts (bibshorts are better than hip shorts for longer distances)

Nice to have
    Jerseys, arm warmers, knee warmers, saddle bag, computer, sports sunglasses, chamois cream and clipless pedals and shoes

Unnecessary
    Team kit for any team other than the one that you are a member of, kinesium tape and air canister inflators

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Got a trek 1500 slr.
    I got my bike for 400 today
    Nice price. Did you have to travel up to Galway for it? Hope the boardsie gave it a good cleaning before handing it over to you. If not, have a go at doing it yourself and oil the chain afterwards, running it through all of the rings. The transmission sure looked like it was needed and it should make a noticeable difference to its performance.

I'll be keeping an eye out for it on my spins.

Lemag wrote: »
    Nice price. Did you have to travel up to Galway for it? Hope the boardsie gave it a good cleaning before handing it over to you. If not, have a go at doing it yourself and oil the chain afterwards, running it through all of the rings. The transmission sure looked like it was needed and it should make a noticeable difference to its performance.

I'll be keeping an eye out for it on my spins.

Met him in limerick. Got a rear light, bottle holder and cateye 8 that I wasn't expecting so gave him a lil more. He didn't clean it and I have cleaned the bike well itself but I realize obviously I need to give the whole chain set a clean. My dad has many many many greases penetrators etc. Can I spray the chain with penetrator and wd40 and just clean it with a rag for now? What basic brushes etc should I get for cleaning the chain etc?
    Do you cycle up the airport area much?
    Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,271 ✭✭✭shamrock55

good to see your enjoying the cycling mate im new to this game too just got my shorts shoes and new pedels today shorts make a big difference ive done about 50 miles since i got my bike last week trying to increase distance each day but its quiet hilly down hear in west cork its great fun though and really addictive

shamrock55 wrote: »
    good to see your enjoying the cycling mate im new to this game too just got my shorts shoes and new pedels today shorts make a big difference ive done about 50 miles since i got my bike last week trying to increase distance each day but its quiet hilly down hear in west cork its great fun though and really addictive

I know man. Although I've done loads of cycling before, now that I actually have a bike I can be proud of I feel like really giving this a go. I was out twice today, my first day, and I loved it. Even dragged out my mum for the second spin. How much did the equipment cost you? My problem too is trying to find long enough spins without hitting major roads or dangerous country ones. What bike have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

He didn't clean it and I have cleaned the bike well itself but I realize obviously I need to give the whole chain set a clean. My dad has many many many greases penetrators etc. Can I spray the chain with penetrator and wd40 and just clean it with a rag for now? What basic brushes etc should I get for cleaning the chain etc?
    Thank you
    I'd take that cassette off the rear wheel. You'll have to remove the wheel to do this and you'll need a chain whip and a lockring tool to remove the cassette. Then put the sprockets of the cassette into a basin with a solvent and getting scrubbing with a tooth brush. Btw, you don't need to do this every week but it looked from the pictures as though the seller might never have cleaned this. Reassemble the cassette when your done. If you know not to put a square peg into a round hole you'll be fine with this. It's pretty easy to do. Make sure all the splines inside the cassette align with the hub. When securing it to the wheel it should be a tight fit (no movement).

Regarding cleaning the chain. You could do this :eek:

..but I wouldn't. Keep the chain intact and have a thorough go at it with the same solvent you used on the cassette and a toothbrush (paying attention to each link).

Clean you FR, DR and chainset similarly although there isn't any real need to be as thorough with these. You won't need to remove them and you'll only really need to clean the parts that come into contact with the chain.
    Once you've got everything put back together get a dry rag and the oil which you want to lube your chain with. Pour some of the oil onto the rag and then scrub a short section of the chain with it (about 10cm), Them move the chain along and do this again until you've covered the whole of the chain. Now run the chain through all of the rings on the cassette and on the chainset.
    Thank you
    I generally let whomever I'm with dictate the route. I have been up to the airport but tend not to head that way. I'm open to new routes/ideas, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,271 ✭✭✭shamrock55

i got a giant defy 4 last wk i got most of my gear from http://www.wiggle.co.uk/
    and here http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ both sites are reasonably priced and have free postage to ireland i got helmet shorts jersey shoes pedals glasses(rec them keep bugs and wind out)saddle bag multi tool mini pump 2 spare tubes puncture repair kit bottle holder and bottle for about 250 euro next thing is wireless computer but that can wait need to pay off the bloody cc first:D

Lemag wrote: »
    I'd take that cassette off the rear wheel. You'll have to remove the wheel to do this and you'll need a chain whip and a lockring tool to remove the cassette. Then put the sprockets of the cassette into a basin with a solvent and getting scrubbing with a tooth brush. Btw, you don't need to do this every week but it looked from the pictures as though the seller might never have cleaned this. Reassemble the cassette when your done. If you know not to put a square peg into a round hole you'll be fine with this. It's pretty easy to do. Make sure all the splines inside the cassette align with the hub. When securing it to the wheel it should be a tight fit (no movement).

Regarding cleaning the chain. You could do
    this :eek:

..but I wouldn't. Keep the chain intact and have a thorough go at it with the same solvent you used on the cassette and a toothbrush (paying attention to each link).

Clean you FR, DR and chainset similarly although there isn't any real need to be as thorough with these. You won't need to remove them and you'll only
    really need to clean the parts that come into contact with the chain.
    Once you've got everything put back together get a dry rag and the oil which you want to lube your chain with. Pour some of the oil onto the rag and then scrub a short section of the chain with it (about 10cm), Them move the chain along and do this again until you've covered the whole of the chain. Now run the chain through all of the rings on the cassette and on the chainset.

I generally let whomever I'm with dictate the route. I have been up to the airport but tend not to head that way. I'm open to new routes/ideas, however.
    Ok in short to all that I have three questions,
    What's the FR
    what's the DR
    And, do you think it would be possible for me to pay someone to show me how to do all the disassembly well? I am quite good with cars but am clueless here yet. I know the only way to learn is to do it yourself but I'm scared of ****ing up the gearing. I must see if any of my dads buddies are into cycling.

Were you part of the few cyclists here who met in the grand parade a couple of times on a Sunday a month or so ago?

This really is a great thread, I wish I had asked all these q's when I started:)

Your in Cork right? Get yourself into the edge (north main st or magic roundabout) and buy one of these

ventura-bike-chain-cleaner-degreaser-oil_7462294_175.jpg

Careful with it as they are a bit flimsy but they work a treat and are only about €15 or €20. put in some degreaser, spin and change gear to get it on the chain and cogs. repeat as necessary.
    When your happy empty and refill with warm soapy water and repeat. Then clean the cogs properly with a brush.

Tbh I haven't disassembled my rear group set and cleaned each one individually but I guess I should. Also get into Lidl (or aldi cant remember which one) they sell kitchen cleaning brushes in all shapes and sizes for next to nothing that will do the job. As you go you will know what you need to use for each job. I also use a washing up sponge and an old tea towel to wash and dry.

If you need someone to teach you (and no one here offers (hint hint)) give this guy a shout, he's based in Douglas and is a nice guy to deal with. Tell him what you want (someone to show you around your bike) suggest that he services it for you and lets you watch and learn. That way he gets paid, you learn and your bike gets a good service. I'm not saying he will say yes I'm just saying I found him very good and loves bikes so very good to talk to about what you need to do/know about cycling. Going by your posts you'll have no bother convincing him!! If your handy with cars you'll have no bother picking it up!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

bicycletutor.com is your friend for all your diy needs. I think as a beginner you should invest in a tub of chamois cream, assos being my choice. You're also going to need a bigger limit on your credit card :p

You're calling yourself deutschlandfuerimmer and you like ww2, reminds me of Fr. Fitzpatrick from Fr. Ted :D I cycled from Cherbourg to Caen last year taking in all the Normandy landing beaches, Carentan and Pegasus bridge, which was nice. It was also my longest day on a bike at over 200kms.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Jesus Christ lads could ye be anymore helpful in fairness. I don't want to be hand fed but even after 2hours on the bike today I love her already :D I realize like most things it's gonna take time to get into the swing of things. I really would love to organize or even find out if any cork heads would like to go for a spin some evening or weekend as it's no fun on your own all the time. At 19 all my buddies are into getting langers than anything else so it's hard to find anyone outside of a club.
    Will give your man in Douglas a ring tomorrow man thank you. I'll have to wipe clear all my car bits and start again!