Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[No abuse]What are your lasting memories of the Cowen Regime?

• 27-03-2011 2:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭

What are your lasting memories you have of the final weeks or days leading to the end of the Brian Cowen regime?

What will you remember most from those last weeks or days before his shambolic government collapsed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭omg a kitty

That 48 hours after his leadership vote :rolleyes:, how many ministers resigned? 6?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

jetsonx wrote: »

What will you remember most from those last weeks or days before his shambolic government collapsed?

His shambolic government being replaced by another shambolic government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

The drunken interview

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭jetsonx

jd007 wrote: »
    The drunken interview

but he was "congested"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Without a doubt it has to be the constant covering up of all there mistakes and trying to blame the rest of the world for the problems they created.
    They even tried to cover up and lie for Cowen's drunken interview...clearly the public knew he had been on the piss and they still tried to come up with a cover story :rolleyes::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What are your lasting memories of the Cowen Regime?
    Lies, evasion and the continuation of cronyism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I can't remember. I'm still hungover:o

Anyone think Bertie wouldve been better?

Thats just funny! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Without a doubt it has to be the constant covering up of all there mistakes and trying to blame the rest of the world for the problems they created.
    They even tried to cover up and lie for Cowen's drunken interview...clearly the public knew he had been on the piss and they still tried to come up with a cover story :rolleyes::mad:

blaming the global recession for their sheer and utter incompetence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Here is hoping he and bertie die of heart attacks soon to save this state some money.

Yeah, heart attacks, lets all call it heart attacks.

But Cowen was Finance Minister when Bertie was Taoiseach
    ...And Bertie was finance minister when Haughty was Taoiseach.

Between Cowen and Bertie, who is certainly more of questionable character?
    The answer is very obvious.

Biggins wrote: »
    ...And Bertie was finance minister when Haughty was Taoiseach.

That ended up better that this..

Ya think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It wasn't coherent enough to be called a regime.

mike65 wrote: »
    It wasn't coherent enough to be called a regime.
    Indeed, just a drinking party! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

At least, Bertie had a better reputation in Germany. Brian Cowen was seen as some kind of dork...at least by the people, I was talking to ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

'I don't accept that'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Actually under de B-B-Bert Fianna Fáil were generally disliked by their colleagues at the European institutions. They were seen as an arrogant bunch of jumped up knackers who showed up late and left meetings early.

Didn't know about the meetings though ;)

But from somebody's point of view, who is everything but fluent in English (=does not understand, what politicians say) like some older family members of mine, Bertie appeared to be intelligent...well...he looked like someone intelligent...but Brian Cowen? No further comment :D

My lasting memory of the Cowen regime has to be of that rat Dermot Aherne
    telling the whole nation that rumors of the IMF being in the country was "fiction" while the other FF sleeveen Noel Dempsey at his side nodding.

And of course, the last stunt of FF where a number of FF politicians all of a sudden developed "health problems" and had to resign. The episode was like something out of the film "Wag the Dog".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

The week that The Soldiers of Bankruptcy denied that the IMF were coming into the country.

Especially Dermot Ahern saying on Pravda RTE that it was nonesense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

The shame and indignity of his drunken visage on Jay Leno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Here is hoping he and bertie die of heart attacks soon to save this state some money.

More likely that someone will actually kill them . .

Bertie in my opinion was considerably worse than Cowen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭howardmarks

His nose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Can we possibly list the lies..

I'll start with 'We're heading for a soft landing'.

Or this cracker about the guarantee scheme "'This guarantee scheme will be the cheapest in banking history".

But hey, WE ARE WERE WE ARE lol - if it wasn't so fucking tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Can we possibly list the lies..

I'll start with 'We're heading for a soft landing'.

Or this cracker about the guarantee scheme "'This guarantee scheme will be the cheapest in banking history".

But hey, WE ARE WERE WE ARE lol - if it wasn't so fucking tragic.

'Proud of my / our acheivements' was the icing on the cake..:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

It would probably end up costing us more if the pension reverted to his wife and then she wold probably get the widows pension too! Not that I would wish that upon him or his family! Mind you a severe, lasting case of IBS woud be somewhat fitting!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I've had to delete a lot of abuse aimed at Cowen etc. Enough with the abuse guys. I won't give another warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Being drunk on RTE. I remember the interview well - I was channel hopping and thought it must have been Nob Nation before I looked at the clock and realised it was definitely Morning Ireland.

The litany of his late-night demeanour published in the Mail on Sunday some time ago.

His appointment and retention of a train-wreck Tainiste who was a total embarrassment to the country.

Uncouth behaviour in the dail when it suited him.

Up on three legged stools and slugging pints in Clara upon his election.

Bullying the Irish electorate into voting for the Lisbon treaty the second time.

Deciding the smoking ban didn't apply to him... laws are presumably only for little people.

Refusing to tackle items like ministerial transport.

Allowing the Croke Park deal to take place. Why oh why can't we sort all this out once and for all?

Constantly putting Fianna Fail ahead of the country's interests.

Constantly putting the banks ahead of the public at large.

Constantly putting his fellow henchmen in Europe ahead of the Irish public. (We're slightly to blame for this one too - do you think the French would have lied down and taken it?)

I could go on, but this is AH.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Red Alert wrote: »
    Being drunk on RTE. I remember the interview well - I was channel hopping and thought it must have been Nob Nation before I looked at the clock and realised it was definitely Morning Ireland.

The litany of his late-night demeanour published in the Mail on Sunday some time ago.

His appointment and retention of a train-wreck Tainiste who was a total embarrassment to the country.

Uncouth behaviour in the dail when it suited him.

Up on three legged stools and slugging pints in Clara upon his election.

Bullying the Irish electorate into voting for the Lisbon treaty the second time.

Deciding the smoking ban didn't apply to him... laws are presumably only for little people.

Refusing to tackle items like ministerial transport.

Allowing the Croke Park deal to take place. Why oh why can't we sort all this out once and for all?

Constantly putting Fianna Fail ahead of the country's interests.

Constantly putting the banks ahead of the public at large.

Constantly putting his fellow henchmen in Europe ahead of the Irish public. (We're slightly to blame for this one too - do you think the French would have lied down and taken it?)

I could go on, but this is AH.!

You should go on - this is AH!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

What has changed? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

No abuse, you say...

Well, in that case the rest of my memories of the Cowen government are .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Blobby George

How did your general election campaign go?

Great clip Oranage2 - interesting to watch the body language of the other FF'ers as he is spewing out his BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

I don't think I will ever forget the official announcement of the IMF presence in Ireland; I just felt so hopeless and ashamed for Ireland. We all watched at home and were completely silent, it almost felt at the time to be like the announcement of a death. Of course, all of that is a bit melodramatic. But because it had been concealed and we had been lied to so much, it felt a particularly black and bleak day. That is a betrayal that will stay with me for a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

jetsonx wrote: »
    What are your lasting memories you have of the final weeks or days leading to the end of the Brian Cowen regime?

The fact that the criminals who destroyed this country seemed immune from any justice. :mad:

How did your general election campaign go?
    Going to run in the election as you know but sadly before I submitted my application to the Dundalk Returning officer in charge of elections, I discovered that there was already far too many people running as independents - one of whom were actually FF in disguise.
    Add to that the lack of time I had to get together material, financial resources and manpower, I decided to pass on the chance to run until next time - if things turn out badly for the government and given that at least two seats will be not available anyway (One can assume Gerry and O'Dowd will get back in yet again next time).

In the meantime I can concentrate on building up support over a longer period of time, work on my site and put together better formulate plans, org constitution and ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

The fact that they gave a free hand to the greens.

Also their refusal to stand up to the public sector unions, or the Eu's 'no bank left behind' policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Ok, two things that'll stick with me for life.

Can't remember was this during Cowan or Bertie, the newspaper headline "We didn't/never saw it coming".

Radio interview, possibly The News at One, with Cowan answering an important question at the very start of the recession with " *Irritated pause* Lookit, sure don't worry about it".

Real leadership in action :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭seipeal1

No more abuse Then, you thoughtless plebeians. Hasn't Mr Cowen suffered enough?
    My overwhelming memory of Mr. Cowen's time in office is emigrating with my family. Of leaving my 82 year old father probably for the last time. Of spending 1 year of my life with my son hating me. Of hearing my little girl starting to speak with an Aussie accent. Of being glad I was one of the lucky ones to be able to do this. Please do not speak of Mr Cowen and his minions as slaves to to the global financial crisis. He epitomizes everything that was and may still be wrong with modern Ireland. Arrogant, lazy, vain, a know all who ended up doing lots more harm than good.

The truth hurts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

What will I remember? Don't you mean 'What our Grandchildren will remember and pay for?'

My answer - the unconditional guarantee of all banks including all bondholders.

An absolute disgrace.

seipeal1 wrote: »
    Please do not speak of Mr Cowen and his minions as slaves to to the global financial crisis. He epitomizes everything that was and may still be wrong with modern Ireland. Arrogant, lazy, vain, a know all who ended up doing lots more harm than good.

The truth hurts.

Well said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Cowen being such a drooling, incoherent braindead buffoon that Enda Kenny looks statesmanlike in comparison.

Also, Clowen deciding that he's fit to be Taoiseach but not fit to lead Fianna Failure. That sums up that filthy party's attitude towards this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

The way that the Dáil was basically brushed aside and how just the 2 Brian's ran the country into a black hole of oblivious debt and auld fellas in pubs starting with the line 'if I was him now...'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

pajor wrote: »
    The way that the Dáil was basically brushed aside and how just the 2 Brian's ran the country

Ran the country?

If those two knob ends were stranded on a desert island, they couldn't organise a trip to the beach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,969 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Lie after lie after lie after lie after fcuking lie.

We have enough capital and funding and do not need the assistance of the IMF.........brian they are behind you looking though the window!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

Ran the country?

If those two knob ends were stranded on a desert island, they couldn't organise a trip to the beach.

cheerfully altered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭phkk

"The fundamentals are sound"!

"Going forward"!

"I don't accept that Miriam"!