Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook is bad!!!

• 26-03-2011 11:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

Jaysus I wish the thing never existed.....

.......It causes nothing but trouble, hurts a lot of people's feelings for example; Not commenting on a photo, not liking a status etc..

And the worst bit about it is about to come........;

People in pubs for example never stop talking about it, I overhear every single person usually when I go out to the pubs talking about it. I can't enjoy a good night out nowadays hearing it that much.

It's bloody everywhere!!!

Is there actually people out there that hates it like me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

cool story bro

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

The people who bought Bebo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

I don't hate it, not on it though and no plans to be.

Seems a little cyber Orwellian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

.......It causes nothing but trouble, hurts a lot of people's feelings for example; Not commenting on a photo, not liking a status etc..

People in pubs for example never stop talking about it, I overhear every single person usually when I go out to the pubs talking about it. I can't enjoy a good night out nowadays hearing it that much.

You'd better thank my post, or it's really gonna hurt my feelings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

There probably is but I'm not one of them :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

I like it, because most of my friends live on the opposite side of the world and its a cheap and easy way to keep in the loop...

Your friends seem to be taking it way too seriously though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

It's a mass profiling tool to gauge the habits of the masses. Never used it myself. But then again, I am not easily convinced. What is put out in the public domain, can not be taken back. Like this post for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

What the fu** IS facebook. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

I was just thinking right now how long more it will last before it gets usurped by the next trend in social networking. It has lost all its authenticity that it started with. I have noticed a very of sharp increase since christmas in companies adding a facebook/twitter element which screams look at us, we are like you! For me boards.ie is
    social networking, user led and authentic which facebook doesnt seem to be anymore! (to me anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭unfortunately

Who gets offended because you didn't like their status?
    Sounds like your friends are the problem not facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Claasman wrote: »
    I like it, because most of my friends live on the opposite side of the world and its a cheap and easy way to keep in the loop...

Same. Don't feel the need to start using facebook though, have plenty of other means to stay in touch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

u ok hun? xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

What kind of complete vagina's do you know on Facebook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

Who gets offended because you didn't like their status?
    Sounds like your friends are the problem not facebook.
    Yeah but it seems to me like a lot of people usually gets offended, if facebook wasn't there then they wouldn't be having these ****ty feelings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Strange friends if they get offended by what you don't say in a virtual world, mine usually only get offended by what I say in the real world!

What kind of complete vagina's do you know on Facebook?
    I know what you mean, they should just grow a set to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

What I don't understand is why people who kicked the **** outta me in school friend requesting me on facebook 15 years later.. It boggles!
    belated apology maybe?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

never had an account there, never will.
    im not a huge fan of enslavement in any form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Watching Football League show BBC 1 imo 1min ago :like:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

I joined fb because people that I met socially were constantly referring to it & I felt I was missing out in some way. I have found it disappointing overall.

On the plus side, I have been able to re-establish contact with some old friends ( I am in my late 40s btw) , people that I am fond of, but had not heard from for 10 years or more. In many cases, I found that I had moved on, and so had they. For a variety of reasons, (mainly geographical) maintaining a real relationship was no longer possible, but it was still nice to stay in touch.

On the minus side, almost all comments/posts are completely anodyne. I get a constant barrage of farmville requests from neices/nephews/cousins/etc that lead me to a process that goes like this:
    - OMG, 5yo mikey has asked me for a chicken, how cute!
    - Hi mikey, heres a chicken! Woo hoo!
    - OMG, Mikey, his mom, his aunt, her friend, and his brother have all asked me for chickens!
    - All of this quickly degenerates though, to feeling:
    - Arrgh, If I give them no chickens I am an evil toad.
    - But if I give them chickens, this BS will go on forever

And, lurking behind all of this, is the whole Facebook Privacy policy. I am sure that if I spent a day reading it, I would understand it - But I don't have a day!

So, I just dont like it. Combination of emotional blackmail, dodgy privacy, and useless anodyne, "I have friday off, woo hoo!" posts just kill it for me.

So, I log in about once a quarter, & ping any old friend that turns up.

Boards is, for me, enormously better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

bebo is where it's at lads :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I use Facebook (probably too often if I'm honest) and I think that it can be a pretty useful when used correctly. That said, I think in general, we're becoming too obsessed with it. It's like instant approval - people "like" someone's status/comment/photo and they're suddenly convinced they're super-popular and revered... and people also add everyone they've ever spoken to once and can feel great about themselves cause they've 600 friends. :rolleyes:. People I never once spoke to when we were in school a few years ago randomly add me and I have no idea why they'd even want to connect with me.

I have two "friends" in particular who, when they're together, constantly update their statuses every few minutes about what they're doing and how much fun it is. Can't be that much fun if they're both glued to Facebook!!

FoxT wrote: »
    I joined fb because people that I met socially were constantly referring to it & I felt I was missing out in some way. I have found it disappointing overall.

On the plus side, I have been able to re-establish contact with some old friends ( I am in my late 40s btw) , people that I am fond of, but had not heard from for 10 years or more. In many cases, I found that I had moved on, and so had they. For a variety of reasons, (mainly geographical) maintaining a real relationship was no longer possible, but it was still nice to stay in touch.

On the minus side, almost all comments/posts are completely anodyne. I get a constant barrage of farmville requests from neices/nephews/cousins/etc that lead me to a process that goes like this:
    - OMG, Mikey, his mom, his aunt, her friend, and his brother have all asked me for chickens!

And, lurking behind all of this, is the whole Facebook Privacy policy. I am sure that if I spent a day reading it, I would understand it - But I don't have a day!

So, I just dont like it. Combination of emotional blackmail, dodgy privacy, and useless anodyne, "I have friday off, woo hoo!" posts just kill it for me.

Brilliant post!

Facebook was made for people to get in contact with friends and family worldwide, not some sort of external world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Brilliant post!

Facebook was made for poeple to get in contact with friends and family worldwide, not some sort of external world!

Clearly haven't seen the social network...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

I have an account, don't use it much though and have very little trust in facebook and their changing privacy policy and the spam apps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Spot on. I never understand these people who have 100+ friends. Really?! Just because you talked to someone 2 or 3 times is not a reason to add them. I hardly ever log in or update my status but I have an app on my phone that uses the chat feature. This is about the only good thing I get out of it, can have a quick chat with friends and family who are spread around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

It's odd that so many people are put off about filling out a confidential census form yet stick digital photos of themselves on this website.

To be honest I know very little about it. I always thought it was something aimed at teenage girls. I was fairly surprised to hear that a lot of my male friends and acquaintances have accounts.

When I was in primary school the girls in my class used to send around notes asking others if they were their friends or not, YES or NO. The girl with the most YES notes had the bragging rights. I always equated the Facebook phenomenon with this childish behaviour but people tell me that there's more to it and they can't imagine life without it.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

On the minus side, almost all comments/posts are completely anodyne. I get a constant barrage of farmville requests from neices/nephews/cousins/etc

Gah, I hate Farmville. And Fishville. And Zooworld and all those pointless apps. I have most of em blocked. "Jane Doe found a lost cow. Give the cow a home?" - Why the f**k would I wanna adopt a random cow?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

mink_man wrote: »

Like hello? What is this, 2007?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭aquarian_fire

jester77 wrote: »
    Spot on. I never understand these people who have 100+ friends. Really?! Just because you talked to someone 2 or 3 times is not a reason to add them. I hardly ever log in or update my status but I have an app on my phone that uses the chat feature. This is about the only good thing I get out of it, can have a quick chat with friends and family who are spread around the world.

That said it is pretty handy to get to know people you have met a few times before. That's how myself and my now boyfriend got to talk to each other a lot after we met at a ball in college. Though I mostly use Facebook as a way of getting in contact with people that I can't text or ring anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭marxcoo

It's odd that so many people are put off about filling out a confidential census form yet stick digital photos of themselves on this website.

To be honest I know very little about it. I always thought it was something aimed at teenage girls. I was fairly surprised to hear that a lot of my male friends and acquaintances have accounts.

When I was in primary school the girls in my class used to send around notes asking others if they were their friends or not, YES or NO. The girl with the most YES notes had the bragging rights. I always equated the Facebook phenomenon with this childish behaviour but people tell me that there's more to it and they can't imagine life without it.:eek:

C'mhere those girls might have a case to make against Mark Zuckerburg - he's good for the cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

FaceSpace is really just a class reunion that never fucking ends.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

OutlawPete wrote: »
    FaceSpace is really just a class reunion that never fucking ends.

You call it FaceSpace too? Mwah! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

marxcoo wrote: »
    C'mhere those girls might have a case to make against Mark Zuckerburg - he's good for the cash.

Yeah maybe, sadly though they have all died in mysterious circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

u ok hun? xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

sooo relieved to see people giving out about face book because I thought I was the only person on the planet without a face book account!
    Its feckin everywhere and literally takes over peoples lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

XcupcakeX wrote: »
    Its feckin everywhere and literally takes over peoples lives

Yea I thought so too until I installed the 'antisocial' blocklist on my AdBlock sunglasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

mink_man wrote: »
    surely FriendFace is where IT's at.

Catch it now and spread it around

that diseased face of friendship, careful now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Im a facebook refusenik

Not long after it started I went go on there for an initial look around didnt like what I saw and havent been back there since despite everyone and his dog trying to convince me otherwise.

Anyway I waste far too much time on the interweb as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

hiya mate how u gettin on its good for jokes,clips etc nothin too serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Facebook is not very good.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Brilliant post!

Facebook was made for people to get in contact with friends and family worldwide, not some sort of external world!
    I think you should look into the pre-history of facebook

http://www.thecrimson.com/article/2003/11/19/facemash-creator-survives-ad-board-the/
    Mark E. Zuckerberg ’06 said he was accused of breaching security, violating copyrights and violating individual privacy by creating the website, www.facemash.com, about two weeks ago.

The charges were based on a complaint from the computer services department over his unauthorized use of on-line facebook photographs, he said.
    Zuckerberg hacked into House websites to gather the photos, and then wrote the codes to compute rankings after every vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    refusenik

This word pleases me. *files to memory*

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

I become sad and miserable if I spend more than 2 mins on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Not on it, no interest in it :)

flag123 wrote: »
    I become sad and miserable if I spend more than 2 mins on it.
    A common enough problem, you need to install an essential upgrade of friends 2.
    Failing that reinstall your entire life.

Does my head in the way you can't have a negative status, like "see yous, yeah the whole 756 of yis, well yis r all cocks"
    I dont lke that post:( :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

sure its handy 4 keepin n touch with people and stalkin people :p