Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Woodquay Pub

• 25-03-2011 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭

Opening soon in the former Stage Door. i cant remember the name, but its sign says bar/kitchen. Also ad in its window for any blues,roots and jazz groups to play there. Presuming its no longer a gay bar too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭emptybladder

Muddy Murphy's

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Not a good location, that area is where all the scanger bars are ala the goalpost.

Scanger bars? Most of them are just locals, older crowd pubs. Never seen/heard of any trouble around there.
    That word skanger annoys the hell out of me anyway; feckin Dublin slang!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

wood quay is a great area. The bars are all quiet local types with people who've been going there for years and tend to look at you funny as ya walk in but far from rough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Agree, mostly locals around there. The odd arty crowd from the Town Hall and at the weekend, a bunch mentaller drunk students floating from McSwiggans etc, but usually not rough.

Sorry guys i was only talking about the goalpost not the other pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭witnessrenegade

Just the goalpost? The Central oozes class doesn't it?!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

inisboffin wrote: »
    Agree, mostly locals around there. The odd arty crowd from the Town Hall and at the weekend, a bunch mentaller drunk students floating from McSwiggans etc, but usually not rough.

Drunk students and McSwiggins???
    Ive not been in for a few months but that doesnt compute.
    Sure you dont mean Hole In The Wall.

Drunk students and McSwiggins???
    Ive not been in for a few months but that doesnt compute.
    Sure you dont mean Hole In The Wall.

There are definitely more students in Hole in the Wall, yeah, but the last few times I was down that end of town on a Wed or Thurs (Student night), and a Sat a load of students landed over from Mc Swiggans. There is some drink special there, maybe it's a pint of Guinness? Anyway, definitely a certain student crowd that are regulars there. Nice enough crowd, off their faces, but nice ;)

Hope its not going downhill. Only time it used ever have students was for a match. And they were the respectful sound type as opposed to the usual bunch of spoilt idiots we see around at night.
    Guinness is 3euro alright but it doesnt come in a shot glass or mixed with Red Bull so it shouldnt attract the wrong crowd hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭emptybladder

There are definitely more students in Hole in the Wall, yeah, but the last few times I was down that end of town on a Wed or Thurs (Student night), and a Sat a load of students landed over from Mc Swiggans. There is some drink special there, maybe it's a pint of Guinness? Anyway, definitely a certain student crowd that are regulars there. Nice enough crowd, off their faces, but nice ;)

Students in McSwiggans? cough *bullplop* cough.

Ha ha! I hope I haven't blown their cover! (they sometimes look *just like other people* you know! I only knew they were students as they were chatting to my group of friends)

Yup, keep the plop for your flowerbeds, there's a largeish group of young drinkers, who also happen to be studying in college, and regularly drink in Mc Swiggians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Shanley

Been to the Goalpost many of times, one of the only pubs in Woodquay with a doorperson refusing scumbags as far as I can recall?
    Very nice pub anyways IMO

Best of Luck to this new place, will be def in for a look, their signing outside has a bit of an Irish-American feel to it but who knows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Placebo Effect

Not a good location, that area is where all the scanger bars are ala the goalpost.

Harsh, what socio-economic clientele fits your criteria for a decent bar?

Thought that kind of snobbery died with the Celtic Tiger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Steady on chaps, this is not Bohermore ( home of the "Corporate Get Together" in Galway) after all :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

If you're going to call the goalpost's crowd skangers admit you have a grudge against castlegar hurling.

Btb, who let you out of yank's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭galwaybabe

back to the topic, anyone been in there yet, i passed in taxi earlier and noticed it was open.
    Cool..been looking forward to checking it out. Used to be a great pub years ago, no reason why it shouldn't again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Off-topic/bickering removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Just found this thread.

Muddy Maher is the name of it. It opened on Sunday. John is the guy who is running it. Very nice guy. Was only in there again with him today. I supply him some beers in Bottle and Draught.

He did have some issues opening due to the feckin license from the previous owners who went "bang". He was supposed to open before Paddys day, on Paddys day and just after. One thing after another really. He is open now. Seriously folks, head in and judge it for yourself. Its a nice place. Lots of things on the wall to keep the eyes occupied. There is a great range of beers to be had as well. Everything from Guinness, through Heineken, O'Haras, Erdinger & Fischers and more.

(pppsssstttt the Oslo has Peroni on draught). I don't sell Peroni but its a rare thing to see on draught(installed on the 6/4/11)

Ooh O Haras!!
    Must pay a visit. Hope his prices are at the Woodquay rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭soadtool

pint is a little more expensive in muddy's. but could be worth it if entertainment is good.

How much is a pint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Berty wrote: »
    Muddy Maher is the name of it. It opened on Sunday. John is the guy who is running it. Very nice guy. Was only in there again with him today. I supply him some beers in Bottle and Draught.

..... Its a nice place. Lots of things on the wall to keep the eyes occupied. There is a great range of beers to be had as well. Everything from Guinness, through Heineken, O'Haras, Erdinger & Fischers and more.

Funnily enough I was going to come and post much the same thing. Was in there last night, and found out very similar info.

Pints 3.90, for Guinness and O'Haras anyway, so not really Woodquay prices. Will be interesting to see if they respond to market forces on that front. That said, I'd not met O'Haras before, rather like it. They also have Hooegarden (spelling, schmelling!) on tap.

Music starts tomorrow (Sunday) night, and they're looking for more jazz / blues acts. Yer man's not keen on trad though, so don't be suggesting any of that to him.

Galway Hooker 4euro. Thats good. The jazz is Sunday mornings I think.

But there is one fking annoying barman working there!

On the plus side the benches outside would be a handy addition to the dog walking route ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭SparKing

Galway Hooker 4euro. Thats good.

Seems to be the price for Hooker across the board.
    It is in Kellys and O Connells anyway,

Oh in what way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Phantom Crapper

Was in there the other evening. Very nice place. Some amazing stuff on the walls. Bit quite, but apparently their only open a fortnight yet. It looks like it could be a cult pub. Good music, and theyve a policy of most styles of muisc except trad.
    The staff on when I was there were pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

Berty wrote: »
    Just found this thread.

He did have some issues opening due to the feckin license from the previous owners who went "bang". He was supposed to open before Paddys day, on Paddys day and just after. One thing after another really. He is open now. Seriously folks, head in and judge it for yourself. Its a nice place. Lots of things on the wall to keep the eyes occupied. There is a great range of beers to be had as well. Everything from Guinness, through Heineken, O'Haras, Erdinger & Fischers and more.

(pppsssstttt the Oslo has Peroni on draught). I don't sell Peroni but its a rare thing to see on draught(installed on the 6/4/11)

it seems to be an Oirish pub and sure why not. its what the tourists want.

Galway Hooker 4euro. Thats good. The jazz is Sunday mornings I think.

apparently a popular beer. I was crucified in another thread for daring to criticise it.

how is he annoying? does he greet you with 'top of the morning'?

We popped in last night for a nose. Needs a few more people, so hope it picks up for him. Staff were nice and the band were really great. I'd go back again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭brozio7

Was also in Muddy's last night, really liked the place and once they get a few more in the door it'll be a great spot. Band were very good too.

The owner came over to our group, introduced himself and got us a round on the house :pac:

will be going back, really like the idea of jazz on sunday afternoons too!

brozio7 wrote: »

The owner came over to our group, introduced himself and got us a round on the house :pac:

Drat! Should have sat at your table:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Fuinseog wrote: »
    apparently a popular beer. I was crucified in another thread for daring to criticise it.

It's a very good pale ale.

We were there too.

Liked the fact that it wasn't packed, so breathing and even a seat weren't out f the question.

Volume was a bit loud for me (ok, so I'm old!), and I wasn't overly impressed with the very loud "ok folks, time to go" routine at one minute after drinking-up-time finished ... not very Woodquay at all.

JustMary wrote: »

Volume was a bit loud for me (ok, so I'm old!), and I wasn't overly impressed with the very loud "ok folks, time to go" routine at one minute after drinking-up-time finished ... not very Woodquay at all.

I found it a bit loud too, great sound but loud.TIt was a problem with the PA I overheard though, and the band couldn't hear themselves. Teething problems I'd say. The owner isn't local and I get the feeling he is doing everything very by the book (as opposed to the Galway/Woodquay way ;) )

Same with the food menu, looks good but a little pricey for location. Hopefully that'll mellow out. It was indeed great to get a seat, and I think the place could do well if they iron out the kinks.

Was in there too. Looks like a great addition to the area. The music was too loud though. But they did get it sorted. Some very pretty women, so I'll be back. Didn't see the menu? Didn't notice food being served.
    Like the music policy! No bleeding Trad. That's great news. A venture like this deserves support, for having the b#lls to do something different. And the beer selection is super loads of stuff to try. Good luck to them.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

In the spirit of honesty I better own up to being the drummer for the Prodigal Blues Band.
    Yeah we did have some PA issues that night but we should be grand next time out..... 6th May :)
    Do like the place and I like whet he's trying to do but he needs to start bringin bigger crowds and its tough as the place is a bit off the beaten track.... still heres hopin

HB

It might be a bit off the track, but there's no reason why people shouldn't make the trek down to Wood Quay for a beer or a good gig, by the sounds of it. Spread the word! Do them a favour anyway. The beer selection itself is a good reason to want to go there. I get a great buzz from being able to sample different beers, especially at this side of town.

hamsterboy wrote: »
    In the spirit of honesty I better own up to being the drummer for the Prodigal Blues Band.
    Yeah we did have some PA issues that night but we should be grand next time out..... 6th May :)
    Do like the place and I like whet he's trying to do but he needs to start bringin bigger crowds and its tough as the place is a bit off the beaten track.... still heres hopin

HB

Fair play HB - really great band. I'd see ye again wherever for sure :)

I'd agree, a lot of folks still don't know about the place. Haven't seen any advertising or flyers by the owners either. A sign guy even might be an idea. Even the city centre pubs do that. Still, ultimately it's Galway, so probably will be word of mouth if there's good music, drink selection and atmosphere. Takes time, so a boost would be good.

Fair play HB - really great band. I'd see ye again wherever for sure :)

I'd agree, a lot of folks still don't know about the place. Haven't seen any advertising or flyers by the owners either. A sign guy even might be an idea. Even the city centre pubs do that. Still, ultimately it's Galway, so probably will be word of mouth if there's good music, drink selection and atmosphere. Takes time, so a boost would be good.

He had a few A4 things fly-postered around town the first weekend ... not actually the best of things to be doing. Haven't seen any others though - but apparently he is aware of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Gingganggooley

I checked this place out last night and the music was outstandingly good. Really nice place.

went in there the other night. one of my party does not drink, but they did not charge for the red lemonade, which was sound.
    they had bluegrass live, which was enjoyable, but not too loud. I must say the place is unique enough to have potential.

maybe this place and McSwiggans will lead to a rejuvenation of Woodquay like in the Westend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭aido179

Fuinseog wrote: »

maybe this place and McSwiggans will lead to a rejuvenation of Woodquay like in the Westend.

With any luck! woodquay is a fantastic location. its such a pity its lost the business lately.
    I'll have to pop in at some stage. I play music in mcswiggs every thursday so it'd be worth scoping out the competition! haha

if they brought back the Woodquay festival it would bring the crowds. If they got rid of all the cars it would be even better.

Brilliant band (imo) 'The Screamin Bluecats' playing there next Thursday.
    Its three lads from 'The Maimin Cajun Band' doing Rockabilly stuff. They dont play in town very often.