Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CLOCKS GO FORWARD REMINDER 2011

• 25-03-2011 7:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0325/breaking22.html

It is a case of lights out and clocks forward this weekend as summer time officially commences and Earth Hour is marked.

Summer time officially begins at 1am on Sunday and members of the public are reminded to remember to put their clocks and watches forward by one hour at that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Summer time officially begins at 1am on Sunday and members of the public are reminded to remember to put their clocks and watches forward by one hour at that time.

What are these clocks and watches you speak of ?

Oh you mean computers, mobile phones, DVD recorders and Central heating timers (if theyre not smart enough to do it automatically).

Stupid bollicking around if you ask me. They should pick one timezone (dont really care which although UTC would be the most sensible) and stick to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:eek: no leave winter alone:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I went forward on the 13th, slowpokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Pah, i wont be putting MINE forward, i was clever and just didn't put it back for Wintertime!

I'm not late for work everyday, i'm simply a loose cannon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Spring forward,
    Fall back
    The only way I can remember how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    What are these clocks and watches you speak of ?

Oh you mean computers, mobile phones, DVD recorders and Central heating timers (if theyre not smart enough to do it automatically).

Stupid bollicking around if you ask me. They should pick one timezone (dont really care which although UTC would be the most sensible) and stick to it.

YOUR PHONE AND PC SHOULD DO:D
    but yeah they should just leave it at one time and thats it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Ugh. I hate having to get up at 12:59 just to turn it back. Why do they have to make it so late?? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭cgordonfreeman

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Ugh. I hate having to get up at 12:59 just to turn it back. Why do they have to make it so late?? :mad:

Would you not just change it before you go to bed?

Oh dear...

it was a joke

:o

Spring forward,
    Fall back
    The only way I can remember how it works.
    "but its Autumn!" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

It just isn't the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bigmouth writes again

Geddy Lee wrote: »
    Time Stands Still

STFU.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Overheal wrote: »
    I went forward on the 13th, slowpokes

We're 4-8 hours ahead of you... Slowpoke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭bigmouth writes again

tman wrote: »
    nopoke!

fyp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I always forget doing this :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭cgordonfreeman

Oh dear...

it was a joke

:o

Ah. Gotcha. It's been a long day...

Its ok, nobody ever gets my jokes.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

woooo more sun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Its ok, nobody ever gets my jokes.:(

I got it. It was quite riveting. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i allways leave some of my clocks at summer time mode and some at winter time mode so im living in a time warp take us forward 7of 9 warp speed :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

So, do I get an extra hour in bed or an hour less in bed? I can never remember....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

So, do I get an extra hour in bed or an hour less in bed? I can never remember....
    An hour less

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Hour less.

Look, let's just fu*king move to another country were it'll still be the same timezone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Overheal wrote: »
    "but its Autumn!" :pac:
    Yankie see yankie do:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

:eek: no leave winter alone:(

You know Spring is between Winter and Summer right?

Yankie see yankie do:pac:
    Yankie? Gosh thats bad spelling by even European standards :P (Yankee)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Fecking clocks going forward :mad:

Longer brighter evenings :(

Roll on the early dark evenings imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

when they go forward tomorrow they should stay forward. i fucking hate the dark evenings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

when they go forward tomorrow they should stay forward. i fucking hate the dark evenings

No way, put them back two hours imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Years back , just before the clocks were due to go forward I got my Dad one of those battery operated radio controlled wall clocks that adjust their time automatically.

It looked just like any wall clock and I explained that there was no need for him to move the hands himself when the clocks go back or forward, that they pick up signals from the UK and so they will know when to go forward and back. He kinda laughed but I said trust me.

The next day my mam told me that when I went out he phoned her and said that I was on drugs :pac:

When eventually he did see the minute hand automatically start to fly around on the clock, when it was adjusting the time forward by the hour, he nearly fell off his chair. Was convinced then that I had some remote control and was operating it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

You know Spring is between Winter and Summer right?

We only get two seasons in this part of the world. Winter and July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

One year when it was time to put the clocks backwards, instead me and my friend (who were on holiday at the time with her mother) accidently put the clocks forward. We woke up at what we thought was 9 (actually 7), got food and wondered where the hell her mother was. Walked around the place wondering why the place was so empty nearing 11 (9). Then went to a show at 2 (12) and sat there for an hour giving out about how late it was before giving in and heading back to where we were staying. Her mother was sitting there wondering what the fuck we were doing getting up at 7 and wandering around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

cue the "AHHHHHH do we lose an hour in the pubs/clubs?" threads......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

The clocks will be going forward everywhere else.In Ireland we will be goin back thirty years:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

My phone changed by an hour overnight, and now I don't know if I have another hours sleep, or whether I need to get up??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

No. They change at 1am on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

jimmynokia wrote: »
    YOUR PHONE AND PC SHOULD DO:D

Phone: older/cheaper ones dont
    PC: they tend to make an @r$€; of it and either not move at all or move TWO hours

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Phone: older/cheaper ones dont
    PC: they tend to make an @r$€; of it and either not move at all or move TWO hours

The option for auto updating on my phone ends up shifting the time 2 hours either way. I will never figure it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

This was posted earlier, I've just copied and pasted it, I could have just thanked the post, but thought that it needed resaying.

STOP BOLLICKING AROUND WITH OUR TIME

Great! an extra hour of daylight in the evening.... plus one hour less on the nightshift! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

Yay hopefully it will be nice beach weather :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

They'll owe us all an hour's sleep though.

deathrider wrote: »
    They'll owe us all an hour's sleep though.

I never understood this, Just stay in bed an hour longer, jeez!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Clocks go back for me next week - summer is over. Boo-urns!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

On one side the boobs are back in town after the winter discontent of dufflecoats and big cover everything pullovers. On the other I could do with an extra hour of sleep.
    Getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Asphyxia wrote: »

Now if only we had a nice beach

(Yes, I'm flagrantly ignoring the possibility that you live anywhere other than Dublin)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

The worst thing about the clocks going forward is that it gets brighter later in the morning.

There's nothing like pulling an all nighter in front of the computer and being awake for when the sun comes up. I feel so rejuvinated at that time when it's bright enough to turn the lights off, I switch from tea to coffee and the sun is streaming in, and you can look out at the dew on the grass.

Great stuff.

Dawn is awesome.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Asphyxia wrote: »

Aw, that's the spirit. Never give up! :p

watna wrote: »
    Clocks go back for me next week - summer is over. Boo-urns!

AH! So you're the thief that's nicking our hour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

What a load of shite this is. I have to get up in what would normaly be 6 hours but now its 5, but my clock is wrong so its probably 4.

Wish we could stay on winter time permanently, "Daylight savings" <-- can't stand this Americanism is just a fad that has been proven not to work. To hell with it.