Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your favourite memories from the 90's era?

• 24-03-2011 2:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭

What were your favourite memories from this epic era? The 00's are going downhill and supposadly the worlds ending in 2012 with the Myans taking over the world :(

PS1 games with really ****ty graphics
    Tomb Radier/Laura Croft
    Nickelodean
    MTV shows that were about music and not arrogant rich spoilt brats
    Spice Grills
    General Cheesy Music (Ricky Martin :confused:)
    Having no luas and bieng forced to ride bikes
    Fat Frog Icepops & Whispa Bars
    The awful sense of fashion

And, this awesome epic tune I loved to dance to.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

opal fruits. NOT STARBURST!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

The rugrats game for the ps1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Being able to trust your local priest :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

The rugrats
    fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Going to the arcade to play street fighter 2! loved that s*it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Blur or Oasis??

My Super Nintendo and subsequent N64. And shifting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

if you're 21 you weren't even alive for this, but the whole tournament is still one of the most memorable times of my life (even though I was 7)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

Italia 90
    Shell Tracksuits (howyaa boss)
    Sonic the HedgeHog
    Sir Henrys
    2 Unlimited
    PJ & Duncan, Byker Grove

What I dont miss? Doing the Leaving Cert...ugggghhh

I was only 10 for the 1990 world cup but I remember it better than all subsequent ones.

fking epic.. Egypt game has to be one of the best world cup matches ever! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Er.......I think the problem was that we DID trust them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Mortal Kombat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

if you're 21 you weren't even alive for this, but the whole tournament is still one of the most memorable times of my life (even though I was 7)

Agree with this. The country has really never seen anything like it since. Even in 1994 when we qualified again the novelty was already gone a little. In 1990 I used to almost get physically sick before our games (nowadays thanks to everything thats happened since I don't even care tbh).

It'll never happen again because most of the younger generation are all arrogant sob's who expect success in every direction. Back then people were delighted to get any sort of ray of sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

EMF-Unbelivable.

Maggie Thatcher steps down.
    Miley does the dirty with Fidelma!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Goldeneye (N64) and Ok Computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

Ruu wrote: »

He he he made me giggle!! Aw I just had a flashback of them in the hay barn ha ha..

Ah the 90s, Outhere Brothers :pac: Cycling to school, going to work (part time) and enjoying it, wondering why the full time folk hated it, not a mystery anymore. Family dinner every day after school :)
    A milf was 20 odd for me back then :pac:
    Loads of stuff that you wanted to do when you got older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I remember the JFK visited Dun Laoghaire. The birth rate in the area shot up 9 months later :pac:

Serie A on Channel 4

FIFA 98

Ronaldo in his prime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

Alan McLoghlin equalising against the North i ran around the house roaring with joy.

Singing give her a lash jack in 1990!!!! WC 90 peno save, I remember in 1990 watching it in a pub and getting a free drink everytime ireland scored, Ray Houghton scoring against Italy in 94 and John Aldridge going mental against mexico " You f*ucking cheat, you twat"

God i was mad into the soccer as a young fella....Happy days.

Aww shucks... got misty watching that video :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Personal one is going to the Gaeltacht in Feothanach in '95.

aside from that, comodor 64, Nirvana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Wexford 1996 All-Ireland Champions. I was only eight but still remember the match, the homecoming (the Wild Swans playing in a swamped Gorey), and trophy tours. Won't be seeing that for a while.

Oh and Man United's green and gold away jersey!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Moshing to Big Generator playing Smells Like Teen Spirit and Basket Case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Ruu wrote: »

Well holy God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

Italia 90. So epic. The whole country was on a high. Never seen anything like it before or since.

Monster munch crisps were proper ****ing spicy, especially the one last one in the bottom of the packet that had absorbed all the spicy goodness. Not like the ****ing neutered excuse for monster munch they have nowadays.

Windows 95 being mindblowing. ****ing around for hours in MSpaint and Encarta.

People having less money but seemed happier.

Copying Atari games on floppy disks and feeling like a badass awesome pirate.

Getting a girls phone number and having to worry about her parents picking up the phone the first time you call her. Then sitting around for ages talking on the phone, cant remember the last time i had a phone conversation with someone that was longer than a bout 5 seconds now.

Hearing Nirvana and being absolutely blown away like HOLY **** ROCK N ROLL IS AWESOME. Music doesnt do that anymore :(

Thank you, OP! I have lots of great memories - very difficult to pick favourites. In terms of television, I was much too young for Italia '90 <snip>, but not so young that I don't remember my mom shouting 'GO ON, SONIA!!" for the '92 Olympics!

A brief list of shows on 'The Den', then: (den, den, den...)
    • The Den itself;
    • Bosco;
    • this little stop-motion show that was about dolls in a doll house - does anyone remember it? It used to be on before Bosco. It was quite dark in one episode - one doll killed another doll...
    • the Bobobobs!! Does anyone remember that?! It was one of those dubbed cartoons that filled up RTÉ's children's TV in the nineties. It was about these people living on a spaceship and it had a very 'Yellow Submarine'-esque song in the end credits: 'We're all on a spaceship / A very jolly spaceship". Anyone?!
    • Dogtanian and the Muskehounds ("One for all and all for one / Muskehounds are always ready"...);
    • TINTIN!!

Okay, I'm off. More later.
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Niamh on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wolfstein and homemade Doom wads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

The 'buildup' to Y2K.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

1999 Not the song the whole year!

I remember the summers being way better too.. though that could be the old rose tinted glasses :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

RichieC wrote: »
    I was only 10 for the 1990 world cup but I remember it better than all subsequent ones.

fking epic.. Egypt game has to be one of the best world cup matches ever! :pac:
    Are you sure about that ?
    That match was sleep tastic
    Where as the the Romanian match was epic

RichieC wrote: »
    I remember the summers being way better too.. though that could be the old rose tinted glasses :)

Well in fairness those of us who remember were at least 12 and up to 21 years younger back then.

People grow up, move etc.:)

gcgirl wrote: »

My impression was he was being sarcastic but I could be wrong.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

In fairness ALL the Ireland games were awful (especially those played at daytime). It wasn't really about the football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

90's kids tv rocked..... Sabrina the teenage witch, saved by the bell, x-men cartoon, power rangers and keenan and kell
    'who loves orange soda'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

XcupcakeX wrote: »
    90's kids tv rocked..... Sabrina the teenage witch, saved by the bell, x-men cartoon, power rangers and keenan and kell
    'who loves orange soda'

Not to mention BattleTech and Skeleton Warriors on TCC. That network was the greatest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Dick Burns

Pogs
    Wrestling When it was good
    Art Attack
    Fun House
    Batman Annimated Series
    Fruit salads
    Apple jacks
    Street Fighter
    Streets of rage
    Golden Axe
    Rhythm is a dancer
    Match Magazine
    Adidas Predator Accelators
    Father Ted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Italia 90
    Utd winning the league for the first time in 27 years
    Grunge Music
    Yokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Dick Burns

Italia 90

What a Game!

Another 90's memory

Underworld - Born Slippy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭gravityisalie

Thank you, OP! I have lots of great memories - very difficult to pick favourites. In terms of television, I was much too young for Italia '90 (born in '87), but not so young that I don't remember my mom shouting 'GO ON, SONIA!!" for the '92 Olympics!

A brief list of shows on 'The Den', then: (den, den, den...)
    • The Den itself;
    • Bosco;
    • this little stop-motion show that was about dolls in a doll house - does anyone remember it? It used to be on before Bosco. It was quite dark in one episode - one doll killed another doll...
    • the Bobobobs!! Does anyone remember that?! It was one of those dubbed cartoons that filled up RTÉ's children's TV in the nineties. It was about these people living on a spaceship and it had a very 'Yellow Submarine'-esque song in the end credits: 'We're all on a spaceship / A very jolly spaceship". Anyone?!
    • Dogtanian and the Muskehounds ("One for all and all for one / Muskehounds are always ready"...);
    • TINTIN!!
    Okay, I'm off. More later.

cant remeber the shows name but the doll that was killed was called apple:( the other doll was jealous of the attention he/she got:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Proper LAN parties. I can remember my face playing Quake and Half Life for the first time -> O_O

Ah yes, the 90's. Twas a better time. Probably because I was a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Super Nintendo, had a shìtload of games but International Superstar Soccer (didn't have Deluxe) and Mortal Kombat 2 were the main staples.

The Den

Jurassic Park.

Doom

Arcades were awesome back then, walk in with £1 and you could be there for ages. They were like some sort of mystical game machines that your crappy console game ports couldn't even compare to.

Inflatable hammers

Beat on the street

Mosney

Getting on the web for the 1st time.....................5 seconds later looking for porn material :pac:

Crisps were tasty, they're utter shìte now from the way they've changed how they make them. Burger Bites just aren't the same, anymore :(

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Mala

Going to the video shop and getting 18 rated films when I clearly wasn't 18 :D

Playing GTA for the first time and just causing mayhem instead of doing the missions.

These little breaded turkey balls with garlic inside them (can't think of the name) They were bloody delicious but they just vanished and never saw them again.

Tip The Can

Dick Burns wrote: »
    Underworld - Born Slippy

I remember a gaff party we had that song literally was played over and over... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Heading down to Kerry and staying in a tent in the howling wind, playing soccer on the beach while my parents had a "rest" and getting to watch the final of the 95 World Cup in a very traditional and real Kerry village pub.

Loads of other memories, but that's the one that springs to mind. Holidays in tents.

Only because of the penalty shootout and what was at stake. The game itself would have been forgotten about if it had been an ordinary group game.

IMO of course.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Horses everywhere
    Moving the burnt out cars into the road every morning on the way to school so teachers would be late
    Lads getting bet up in the back of black mariahs
    Having 'banger wars' every halloween with kids from the rival estates
    Going egging
    Dance music
    Henrik Larsson getting hat tricks nearly every weekend
    Smuggling vodka+redbull into school discos
    Free money for pretending to be religious
    A young and pre messed up Britney Spears!

Clondalkin in the 90's,sounds horrible but was great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

Féile. Pure unorganized class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Ah the nineties- just about survived them!

Saved by the bell
    Italia 90 and that peno shoot out
    Michael Carruths gold in Barcelona
    Pulp's Disco 2000
    USA 94 and Aldo going nuts
    Michelle Smiths 'golds' in 96
    Sonia getting the sh1ts
    Arsene Who? Arriving at arsenal
    Arsenal winning the double
    My first sexual encounter with a girl :-/
    My first sexual encounter with a guy :-)
    This Life
    The Leaving and starting UCG
    Fun times...

cant remeber the shows name but the doll that was killed was called apple:( the other doll was jealous of the attention he/she got:mad:

Thanks, gravity. What is it about dolls called 'Apple'? Jealous dolls, at that. I remember another one-off show by Jim Hensen in which toys came to life when humans weren't watching (pre-Toy Story) and there was a doll called Apple who was sad that she was no longer her child's favourite toy. Plus, I saw it in the '90s. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Mistakingly thinking you can trust your local Priest;)