Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Students and the recession

• 24-03-2011 1:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

I'm a second year student looking for part time work when my current employer shuts down next month now we've all heard about jobs being scarce but it's only when you start searching for jobs you realise it. so how are students surviving at the current time those without parental support? grants cover very little when you think of fees, accomadation, academic costs transport food. has anyone had success or loss with jobs/job hunting thoughts? (With the usual AH spin of course)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

you should try the pheonix park, after dark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Student jobs were tricky to get before the recession.

I had years experience in hotels and found it tough. Eventually got a porter job in a small Galway hotel, three Irish staff out of 17.
    Of course, half of boards will tell me Irish people wouldn't work these jobs and thought they were too good for them :rolleyes:

OP, if you have bar experience you might get somewhere. And if you don't well go glass collecting and they'll train you up. If I were you, I hit the local nightclubs and try for a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Ah good old hotel jobs, went down that route myself, about 70% of the staff were attending college when I was at it :pac:

In final year now though and scared sh1tless about having to get a proper job :pac:

Might join your man in that other thread on the dole :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'm finding it really hard to get a job, since I have so little experience. And my grant getting cut by almost two thirds next year since the adjacent distance has nearly doubled. May have to take a year out the way things are going right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I got a job the first day I looked,so I don't know what to tell ya, sorry....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Don't eat, drink or commute. Just sit in your lecture hall for the entire year. You'll be absolutely minted come end of term, plus really clever too cos of your 100% attendance record. Damn why didn't I think of this when I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

So glad I finished college last year!
    Got a summer job before college and managed to hang onto it throughout, and because of that job (nothing to do with my degree) I got promoted to a better job in a sister company. Thank god for good timing!

Hotels/bar staff always have a massive turnover so keep trying there and your bound to get something eventually. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I'm probably going to get shot down for saying this but any student I know is never short of money. I honestly don't know how they manage it, probably handouts from Mummy & Daddy.

All I hear out of any of them at the moment is what festival they're going to, holiday coming up or weekends away they have planned. That's not including the usual weekend nights out.

And none of them seem to look bedraggled or dressed in the same clothes the whole time so I find it hard to believe the 'poor student' stereotype I often hear about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

^^
    Saw a lot of this in college and it pished me off. Going out 3-4 nights a week, always dressed perfectly, going on class trips to Berlin or whatever in vogue city.

No sorry there, i have rent/bills/food/travel to pay for , aswell as feck all free time between classes and work!! GO AWAY. :D

That said I defo wasnt the only one, so I do feel sorry for students, just not all of em. I know what its like to live off pot noodle... and i HATE pot noodle!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Azureus wrote: »
    ^^
    Saw a lot of this in college and it pished me off. Going out 3-4 nights a week, always dressed perfectly, going on class trips to Berlin or whatever in vogue city.

No sorry there, i have rent/bills/food/travel to pay for , aswell as feck all free time between classes and work!! GO AWAY. :D

That said I defo wasnt the only one, so I do feel sorry for students, just not all of em. I know what its like to live off pot noodle... and i HATE pot noodle!!

Must be disheartening for anyone on a tight budget & working their arse off studying & working to see this alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

you should try the pheonix park, after dark

sorry,i'm full up

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I'm probably going to get shot down for saying this but any student I know is never short of money. I honestly don't know how they manage it, probably handouts from Mummy & Daddy.

All I hear out of any of them at the moment is what festival they're going to, holiday coming up or weekends away they have planned. That's not including the usual weekend nights out.

And none of them seem to look bedraggled or dressed in the same clothes the whole time so I find it hard to believe the 'poor student' stereotype I often hear about.

I worked me tits off while in college and saved as much money as I could.

The only thing is, I was living at the folks and college was only an hour walk away. If I had to move out of my folks, I would have never been able to afford it.

The "poor student" stereotype is going to be making a proper return shortly due a lack of part time jobs avail, as shown by the anxiousness of the OP and Aoifey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I got a job the first day I looked,so I don't know what to tell ya, sorry....

In fairness, we don't all live on a fking tundra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

sorry,i'm full up

Full up on cum :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

A lot of students don't/didn't get money from their parents. If you look hard enough and are willing to be flexible, you'll find work of some sort. I don't recall universities shutting down during the last recession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

When going through college I worked in tesco. Truly the most hellish thing I've ever done in my life. To all who work these kinds of jobs.. I salute you.

Point being if you're struggling you should be willing to work anywhere, drop your CV in EVERYWHERE around the local town.. Shops, pubs, restaurants.. Whatever..

Good luck!

Sykk wrote: »
    When going through college I worked in tesco. Truly the most hellish thing I've ever done in my life. To all who work these kinds of jobs.. I salute you.
    !

I worked in Dunnes briefly during college. I'm not sure I would call it hellish: boring maybe but then again maybe nothing genuinely hellish has ever happened to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I saw a lot of this in college too & really annoyed me. Even living at home, getting a grant & working, I struggled. Got let go from my job in second year (shop was sold & they only kept the full time staff), I ended up doing household jobs I wouldn't normally do for money from my parents.

Although some of those people aren't like that as I discovered recently. Ended up working with a girl who I was in college who I would have classed as "one of those types" & said something to her bout her clothes in college & never wearing the same thing - turns out she had a sister a couple of years older who was the same size so they swapped clothes a lot.

As for the OP - have you tried chemists? I worked as an over-the-counter (otc) assisstent for a couple of years & it was really good. Plus you end up gaining a weird knowledge of what otc medicines to take for what which is handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

I was away recently on Erasmus in France, I got home about 3 weeks ago, went into town looking for work on the Saturday and I started the next day on Sunday :)
    I've never received handouts from the parents to help me through college, I pay everything myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Some students have loads of money.

Some students have no money.

And when you leave college, you find that some people have loads of money and others don't.

That's something they don't teach you in university.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

bobcar61 wrote: »
    I was away recently on Erasmus in France, I got home about 3 weeks ago, went into town looking for work on the Saturday and I started the next day on Sunday :)
    I've never received handouts from the parents to help me through college, I pay everything myself.

Yea, but you're probably a prick. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Im at the end of my third year now.

I had a job from just before I started first year until the start of my third year. College timetable became so packed and constricting that I was unable to continue that work.

I live close enough to the college and run a 1.8 car just about, purely because when I was working for those 2+ years, I was saving my arse off. Any spare bit of cash went to the bank. I think that is key.

I'm looking again now for part time work for the summer before fourth year so will be good to see how hard it is. Might have to drag out the old petrol lawnmower :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

stovelid wrote: »
    I worked in Dunnes briefly during college. I'm not sure I would call it hellish: boring maybe but then again maybe nothing genuinely hellish has ever happened to me.

No, you don't understand, stovelid, working in Tesco IS hell. It's not the nature of the work, it's the overbearing management, power-tripping management.

With two management structures, things are going to get difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

RichieC wrote: »
    In fairness, we don't all live on a fking tundra.

Only in winter,its lovely here now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I worked in tesco. Truly the most hellish thing I've ever done in my life.

Story of my life, was only 16 tho and raking it in on minimum wage at the time, for eff all work, oh the heady summer days off 2007

Looking back it was the best paid job i ever had and would gladly go back tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

OP, whereabouts are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Antheia

kelle wrote: »
    OP, whereabouts are you?
    I'm in Dublin at the minute but will be attending GMIT. Think I'll try the bars and nightclubs good ideas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Antheia wrote: »
    I'm in Dublin at the minute but will be attending GMIT. Think I'll try the bars and nightclubs good ideas

It's just that I see BB's in Blanchardstown are looking for full and part-time staff, if that's of any help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I had years experience in hotels and found it tough. Eventually got a porter job in a small Galway hotel, three Irish staff out of 17.
    Of course, half of boards will tell me Irish people wouldn't work these jobs and thought they were too good for them :rolleyes:
    As only 3 out of 17 were Irish, you are nearly proving them right. Esp as you have now left there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Try call centres OP. Its horrible, soul destroying work, but its money. Nightclubs and pubs are usually looking for part timers too.

Cleaning firms are a good option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

I went to GMIT for the first year and a half of college (dropped out and went to another college after that) and I applied for a job in Tesco, and got it. One thing I would say though, is be up front and honest about your availability, you tell them what days you are available.

Bear in mind when you might want to go home. I worked every 2nd weekend (Saturday and Sunday) and 2 evenings a week.

In 2nd year though, the manager in Tesco wanted me to work xmas eve and stephens day, thought she was having a laugh as I would be coming home (Wicklow) and she wasn't so handed in my notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Must be disheartening for anyone on a tight budget & working their arse off studying & working to see this alright.

I worked hard abroad to earn my education, paid for myself and then came here to return to education and I have to say the amount of students who get mammy and daddy to pay for them is ridiculous!! It definatly wasnt as noticable in america were I first studied. I only have been to ucd here but from what I hear trinity is much the same or even worse!

For parents to fund their kids in non essential things like traveling abroad, drinking 3-4 nights a week and buying new clothes to keep up with the jones is staggering!

What mammy and daddy seem not to realize is that their encouraging their kids to have zero work ethic and it really does show! When these people look for jobs you can tell one who worked his *ss off and one who had everything handed to him. The one who worked hard will often be willing to travel to sh1tholes in order to secure employment but again and again I see some student complain that theres no jobs, no jobs within twenty miles of ma and da is what they really mean!

These types of people like people who contantly draw to dole and avoid work are part of the welfare class, the only difference is the state supports those who dont work and the parents support the rest who dont work! Their attitudes are much the same!

Saying that there are a large number of students like myself who work bloody hard both in and out of college, I think education is a right and should be egalitarian so there should be some way of helping students caught in poverty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Howya fixed for some traditional Irish lap-dancing?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I worked hard abroad to earn my education, paid for myself and then came here to return to education and I have to say the amount of students who get mammy and daddy to pay for them is ridiculous!! It definatly wasnt as noticable in america were I first studied. I only have been to ucd here but from what I hear trinity is much the same or even worse!

For parents to fund their kids in non essential things like traveling abroad, drinking 3-4 nights a week and buying new clothes to keep up with the jones is staggering!

Parents funding kids through college and parents paying for travel abroad and drinking four nights a week aren't one and the same.

And I don't think anyone going through University should have to work to get by. And by getting by I mean with accommodation near the college, three square meals a day, all materials like books and stationery, and enough to partake in some university activities (and I don't mean going on the piss Monday to Thursday.)

Buceph wrote: »
    Parents funding kids through college and parents paying for travel abroad and drinking four nights a week aren't one and the same.

And I don't think anyone going through University should have to work to get by. And by getting by I mean with accommodation near the college, three square meals a day, all materials like books and stationery, and enough to partake in some university activities (and I don't mean going on the piss Monday to Thursday.)

Exactly like a pointed out when I said parents who pay for non essentials like drinking and traveling abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Not going to lie, finding a job is INCREDIBLY difficult. Not impossible, but difficult. My advice would also go down the contacts route: I'm on my third job since coming back to Ireland in August (got let go from the first one because the manager wanted a fresh new staff team, HATED the second and now the third is doing me fine), and two of them were from a friend or a friend of a friend. Needless to say it wasn't just that which got me the job, I was given trial shifts and had to make sure I actually was up to the managers' standards. Thank God I have three years' waitering experience!

My housemate was looking for a job a while ago but gave up because there seemed to be nothing. I kept telling her to pour CVs everywhere, and I mean literally EVERYWHERE. I got back from Germany in August, did not like the prospect of living at home, so I went up to Dublin every second day. No exaggeration at this point I gave out 150 applications in a three week period, NOT including what I'd posted on jobs.ie.

In essence it's down to hard work, a bit of a luck and possibly knowing someone who already has a job. I'm only thankful I have three months left here before I'm moving back to Germany. Goodbye to this miserable country forever!

Well thats were I disagree

When I was in college I worked the 4 months off in the summer and saturdays (some fridays too) in a fairly well paying construction job so that coupled with living at home I was never short of money during college, I did have a car too.

My parents would never see me stuck either though and would always cover reg fees etc, there opinion was money I earned was for what I wanted to spend it on not for paying on things like fees. I know they would have kept me in money even if I wasn't working which they did before I got a job but I preferred to to work for my own money for things I wanted to buy, nights out etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Mongo

As a student who works every hour possible at weekends to pay my way through college it is soooo annoying when you see the amount of students who go out all the time and have no worries. I may manage a cheap night out every few weeks but this is only cos I really have to budget everything and shop as cheaply as possible.
    Oh well these people will struggle when they get in to the big bad world.

Mongo wrote: »
    As a student who works every hour possible at weekends to pay my way through college it is soooo annoying when you see the amount of students who go out all the time and have no worries. I may manage a cheap night out every few weeks but this is only cos I really have to budget everything and shop as cheaply as possible.

And they do bigtime. Several of these types claim there is no jobs to be found, in essence what they mean is that their not willing to travel for jobs and the ones who are often lack the work ethic or the common sense aquired from living on your wits to secure a job. One of my lecturers at ucd often told me stories about these types that would make you cringe.

Mongo wrote: »

And all ugly people have great personalities, and all beautiful people aren't fullfilled.

Your comparing a genetic situation to an economic one?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Your comparing a genetic situation to an economic one?

No, I'm saying that things like "Ugly people have great personalities" and "People whose parents pay for their college will crash when it comes to the real world" are things Mammys tell their children to cheer them up when they're feeling down because the world has been unfair to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Students don't need much cash anyway. They rob pints, toilet roll, anything. To hell with them. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

No, I'm saying that things like "Ugly people have great personalities" and "People whose parents pay for their college will crash when it comes to the real world" are things Mammys tell their children to cheer them up when they're feeling down because the world has been unfair to them.
    Although we don't like to admit it, Buceph is right. Some people who do minimum work, get everything they want, and take no responsibility, get great jobs. It's not nice, it's not fair, but it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Students don't need much cash anyway. They rob pints, toilet roll, anything. To hell with them. :P

A friend of mine once stumbled over and put the pint I had just seen him drink from on the table, it was a weird colour and..........body temperature

Do you seriously believe that someone who works his way to supporting himself through college as opposed to someone who relies on someone else to pay for them through college wont have a better work ethic and experience when it comes to leaving college?

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Although we don't like to admit it, Buceph is right. Some people who do minimum work, get everything they want, and take no responsibility, get great jobs. It's not nice, it's not fair, but it happens.

Well that certainly is true in a lot of cases but I have seen these people unable to carry out the job at hand once they have it. In the scientific disciplines anyway.