Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think there will be an All Ireland League in the near future ?

• 22-03-2011 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭

I don't really think there is much clamour for such a competition. I could be wrong but I'd be surprised to see an AIL formed. Your thoughts ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I think it might happen. Supposedly the FAI are reconsidering the running of the League and I could see possibly Platnium One running at the chance of an All Ireland League. Whether it's viable or not is a different question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Number 10 Shirt

I think it might happen. Supposedly the FAI are reconsidering the running of the League and I could see possibly Platnium One running at the chance of an All Ireland League. Whether it's viable or not is a different question.

I hope it does happen. Sometimes I'd be talking to people from abroad about the League in Ireland and they can't believe that Ireland has 2 separate leagues. Another question worth asking is whether or not it will bring back the big crowds and non-LOI supporters ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Would love to see it even if its just a premier league with the rest regional divisions. Our league is virtually on its knees and the norths aint that much healthier either. Some will say the politics would be a big obstacle but Linfield brought 900 fans to dalymount last year and the gards had it sorted.
    For our domestic game to survive we need an all-Ireland league with a good Linfield/rovers rivalry as they are prob two biggest clubs on the Island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭partyndbs

yeah sure why not but i dont think it will change much. the loi has to be rebranded big time, at the moment its just for social rejects.

partyndbs wrote: »
    yeah sure why not but i dont think it will change much. the loi has to be rebranded big time, at the moment its just for social rejects.

You have to be a kid or just a very bad troll:rolleyes:

nah man am not trolling..the guys on here seem grand same with foot.ie but u get some strange folk at the loi, real ugly nacker types u no what i mean like? most of us cant associate with the fans of the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

just ignore and stick the eejits on the ignore list, if you think they are eejits

r we not alllowed an opinion here no? ask any1 what they think of loi fans and the stereotype is:
    fat unemployed ppl swearing all the time at the ref
    fight with other fans and start fights with passers by
    create a scene wherever they go

seriously that is why the loi isnt liked. its not cool to support, the jerseys are cheap(not cost looks wise) the stadiums are kips, the fans are thugs and the players are skinny no hopers who decided to keep playing football past the age of 18. this is the rep the league has...sad really but it needs to modernise, its stuck in the dark ages.

nah man am not trolling..the guys on here seem grand same with foot.ie but u get some strange folk at the loi, real ugly nacker types u no what i mean like? most of us cant associate with the fans of the league

Il agree ive seen some strange people at games but ive also seen these in other sports but i suppose you been a d4 type wouldnt have much of a connection with soccer folk in general but lets not derail what could be a decent thread;)

major bill wrote: »
    Would love to see it even if its just a premier league with the rest regional divisions. Our league is virtually on its knees and the norths aint that much healthier either. Some will say the politics would be a big obstacle but Linfield brought 900 fans to dalymount last year and the gards had it sorted.
    For our domestic game to survive we need an all-Ireland league with a good Linfield/rovers rivalry as they are prob two biggest clubs on the Island.

Depends which way it was done and which teams where in it, Rovers, Bohs, Pats, Shels, Glens, Linfield, Cliftonville, Derry, Cork, Sligo, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, Athlone/Longford, Finn Harps. Maybe another two IL sides, plenty of derbies, could develop into a quality League. Then after the say 18/20 division Premier Division, you could have two Regional Leagues, North and South.
    the loi has to be rebranded big time

In what way?

major bill wrote: »
    Il agree ive seen some strange people at games but ive also seen these in other sports but i suppose you been a d4 type wouldnt have much of a connection with soccer folk in general but lets not derail what could be a decent thread;)

oh plz soccer is my number 1 sport :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

In what way?

dude........why?

Depends which way it was done and which teams where in it, Rovers, Bohs, Pats, Shels, Glens, Linfield, Cliftonville, Derry, Cork, Sligo, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, Athlone/Longford, Finn Harps. Maybe another two IL sides, plenty of derbies, could develop into a quality League. Then after the say 18/20 division Premier Division, you could have two Regional Leagues, North and South.

In what way?

New stadiums-the sight of some of them are sickening. tallaght is the minimum standard loi clubs should be aspiring to have. but its a good start. theres not even a loi ground that is quaint and charming, dalymount should be but well its a kip, the ballymun of stadiums :P
    Mergers of clubs-ohhhh no but our tradition ye reality check the casual fan doesnt care. ;)
    I think the FAI should take a leaf out of what the mls has done and try replicate that in an irish context

New stadiums-the sight of some of them are sickening. tallaght is the minimum standard loi clubs should be aspiring to have. but its a good start.
    Mergers of clubs-ohhhh no but our tradition ye reality check nobody cares. ;)

Grand, at least you proven my perception that you're about 12 anyway.

*Adds to ignore list*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

And ya don't think the fella that goes around to every single GAA match with "John 3:7" is a bit weird? Christ above bitter or what!

i dont care about the gaa im talking about the loi. i know a few of the guys we used to go to loi matches on a friday with one of our mates when we were in 2nd year, it was just embarassing seeing some of the types that go to these matches. it alienates a lot of the market imo

Grand, at least you proven my perception that you're about 12 anyway.

*Adds to ignore list*

this is the type that is gonna stunt the growth of soccer in this country. cant accept that big changes will need to and imo will be made if soccer is to improve in ireland. the loi militants may cry but the clubs wont care as they will open themselves to a whole new market. imo i think the loi could do with a red bull franchise, the country is crying out for a modern sophisticated club that the middle class can get behind. atm it is almost as if ur a foreigner at matches(dublin clubs)

How exactly would YOU go about rebranding the LOI so? And more importantly, what bank(s) would you have to rob to be able to afford it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    How exactly would YOU go about rebranding the LOI so? And more importantly, what bank(s) would you have to rob to be able to afford it?

His daddy will pay for it...loike

Xavi6 wrote: »
    His daddy will pay for it...loike

well done u read rock i c

That's a solid LOI business plan right there!

WallyGUFC wrote: »

It wont happen over night this is the problem. this will take a long time, once again look at mls its gone through so much but now today it is a respected league on the rise. i know mls has much more money but it shows it can be done, but it needs to be done with a long term goal.

imo there needs to be a centralised academy(like img in us) that feeds players into the loi.

1) Somebody needs to make a breakthrough in Europe
    2) There needs to be more teams outside Dublin
    3) Some grounds need improving but generally the facilities are no worse than some GAA or rugby grounds, Sportsground being the prime example.

If you ask people have they ever been to a LOI match the majority would say no, whereas a lot more would say yes to GAA. They havn't experienced LOI. And that knacker fans thing is a joke. Every league in the world has that.

Nick Leeson :rolleyes: is a crazy man but he said 1 thing I agreed with. In comparison to England you need very little investment to reach Europe. Never mind the Champions League, get to Europa League groups and you could get a big team or 2. When one team gets to Europe the whole standard will eventually be brought up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

imo i think the loi could do with a red bull franchise, the country is crying out for a modern sophisticated club that the middle class can get behind.
    Who exactly would get behind them? The same people that got behind Sporting Fingal?

Most grounds need improving but the money isn't there now and won't be for some time. Do you honestly believe anyone decides not to follow an Irish team because of the facilities though? Its an excuse used by people who wish only to watch football on TV.

As for the merging of clubs its the worst idea I've heard in a while. If a club is merged who will support them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

all ireland league means all ireland team, which puts a spanner in the works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Beast ASI

Not a chance. Don't know what it's like in the South but we've got a pretty well run league and stadiums, facilities are improving continuously. If you wanted an all Ireland league it would disadvantage a lot of clubs in the North eg. Whoever made that list of teams above wouldn't include relatively big clubs such as Portadown and would have a large southern bias due to the number of teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

No chance in an All Ireland league. That means Linfield giving up there CL spot which isn't going to happen and also means an all Ireland team is needed too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Like people with no grasp of the English language?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

I think its universally accepted that an AIL is the long term vision by all stakeholders. Its the practicalities that are the issue:

In no particular order:

- European places will be lost
    - Possible merger of international teams which is not going to happen, but I suspect a 'peace and love' dispensation might be obtainable.
    - Summer or winter? With the small time bogger clubs looking to regress back to winter ball, its imperitive to try and defend summer football, and this might be weakend by a merger.

But I also question wheter it will be the panacea everyone thinks. Will the ole ole brigade who won't go and see Rovers v Bohs go and see Rovers v Bangor? Some clubs like Derry, Dundalk and Cliftonville will of course see a bump do to geography and history, but will it sustain?

Des wrote: »
    do me a favour Gav, I'm kinda busy in work.

I've PMd the mod team about this, but reported posts would back it up a bit more, can you go and report a few of his wumming posts?

Cheers.

We should all do that. Considering if you get any report from an English fan or a Ranger you automatically get huckled, logically they will do the same for us. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Couple of points:

partyndbs, cut it the fúck out.

Others, put him on ignore if he's annoying you. We're aware he's trolling and I'm sure it's frustrating the fúck out of you and action is to be taken on it. As Mods we don't do everything out in the open on the forum for all to see.

Also Mod decisions, actions or lack thereof aren't to be discussed on thread. Some of you should know better.

Also cheers for the PM fom the LOI Lads, it's being looked at.

this is the last loi thread am gonna post in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

this is the last loi thread am gonna post in

\0/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

You'd better be adding Newry to that list Gav.... :D

Its very easy to throw out suggestions about what the LOI or IL should be doing, but the fact that there isn't the money there scuppers almost every plan.

The inescapable fact is that the vast majority of football fans in this country, feel no affiliation to their local club. They do feel an affiliation to an English/Scottish/Italian/Spanish club though. A loyalty you could say.

Its all very well, harping on about barstoolers or how its so shocking that they can't be bothered to support a local club, but its the way it is. Its a case of having to accept that for what it is and why it is. The LOI/IL and the associations need to look at the mindset of these fans and try and engage with it.

Having Tom Dunne do a radio advert won't convince those people to go to a game. Using the media to promote the game will though. MNS is a good example of this. Hardly the greatest football show in the world, but I know quite a few people who have increased their knowledge and interest of the local game because of it. Its football, its on TV, so they'll watch it. The print media needs to take a lead role as well. Its all about soakage. Stick stories in front of people enough times and they will get soaked up by the brain. Maybe the clubs need to more active in getting their own information out there to the relevant media organisations as well as using facebook/twitter/youtube in a more organised fashion.

An All-Ireland League, would, I feel be a good idea. There would be issues to clear up. The loss of Euro places would be a huge one, but faced with decreasing revenue and rising costs, it could simply be a choice between continuing to exist for many clubs. If an AIL could bring in a bit more TV money, increase revenues across the club and put a few more bums on seats I think the issues would start to get sorted pretty quickly tbh.

People talk about getting the youth involved. Totally true, but actually right now, most important for the clubs should be getting people like me, in the 30-40 bracket involved in the club. Be it as a fan or something more. One of the biggest breeders of club loyalty is family. Many kids support the team that their dad/uncle/brother supports. By getting the 30-40 bracket invested in the idea of a local club, you stand a good chance of getting their young/unborn kids involved in the longer term. Another upshot of this is that, this generation has a few quid to be going to games regularly, buying a bit of merchandise, buying a few pints in the bar etc. Many of the football fans that support non-Irish teams are also in this age group. Bringing only a few percent of these people into the LOI fold would have a significant impact on the fortunes of clubs. Using the rivalries that an AIL could bring, as well as hopefully upping the standard of the league a bit more could help achieve this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dr Galen wrote: »
    You'd better be adding Newry to that list Gav.... :D

Its very easy to throw out suggestions about what the LOI or IL should be doing, but the fact that there isn't the money there scuppers almost every plan.

The inescapable fact is that the vast majority of football fans in this country, feel no affiliation to their local club. They do feel an affiliation to an English/Scottish/Italian/Spanish club though. A loyalty you could say.

Its all very well, harping on about barstoolers or how its so shocking that they can't be bothered to support a local club, but its the way it is. Its a case of having to accept that for what it is and why it is. The LOI/IL and the associations need to look at the mindset of these fans and try and engage with it.

Having Tom Dunne do a radio advert won't convince those people to go to a game. Using the media to promote the game will though. MNS is a good example of this. Hardly the greatest football show in the world, but I know quite a few people who have increased their knowledge and interest of the local game because of it. Its football, its on TV, so they'll watch it. The print media needs to take a lead role as well. Its all about soakage. Stick stories in front of people enough times and they will get soaked up by the brain. Maybe the clubs need to more active in getting their own information out there to the relevant media organisations as well as using facebook/twitter/youtube in a more organised fashion.

An All-Ireland League, would, I feel be a good idea. There would be issues to clear up. The loss of Euro places would be a huge one, but faced with decreasing revenue and rising costs, it could simply be a choice between continuing to exist for many clubs. If an AIL could bring in a bit more TV money, increase revenues across the club and put a few more bums on seats I think the issues would start to get sorted pretty quickly tbh.

People talk about getting the youth involved. Totally true, but actually right now, most important for the clubs should be getting people like me, in the 30-40 bracket involved in the club. Be it as a fan or something more. One of the biggest breeders of club loyalty is family. Many kids support the team that their dad/uncle/brother supports. By getting the 30-40 bracket invested in the idea of a local club, you stand a good chance of getting their young/unborn kids involved in the longer term. Another upshot of this is that, this generation has a few quid to be going to games regularly, buying a bit of merchandise, buying a few pints in the bar etc. Many of the football fans that support non-Irish teams are also in this age group. Bringing only a few percent of these people into the LOI fold would have a significant impact on the fortunes of clubs. Using the rivalries that an AIL could bring, as well as hopefully upping the standard of the league a bit more could help achieve this.

Seeing as you're on a roll, have you any views on the topic at hand?

That did ramble, apologies. For the record, I wasn't having a go, its because of this forum that I started going to games a few years ago.

I think an All Ireland League would be a good idea, and if it gets discussed seriously at the right levels of the game on both sides, then I think financial reality will make it happen. The market is too small on both sides of the border to make the leagues sustainable. As I was trying to point out though, its not as simple as just smushing it all together and letting it go.

That did ramble, apologies. For the record, I wasn't having a go, its because of this forum that I started going to games a few years ago.

I think an All Ireland League would be a good idea, and if it gets discussed seriously at the right levels of the game on both sides, then I think financial reality will make it happen. The market is too small on both sides of the border to make the leagues sustainable. As I was trying to point out though, its not as simple as just smushing it all together and letting it go.

Sorry I snapped. I think everything you bring up is valid and is often discussed amongst the LOI fraternity but there really is a point when prospective supporters have to stop waiting for an Irish neo-Premiership setup to drop into their lap and take the plunge. The money and the coverage will increase exponentially with increased support - Rovers are a good example of increased attendance begetting improved coverage and facilities.

New stadiums-the sight of some of them are sickening. tallaght is the minimum standard loi clubs should be aspiring to have. but its a good start. theres not even a loi ground that is quaint and charming, dalymount should be but well its a kip, the ballymun of stadiums :P
    Mergers of clubs-ohhhh no but our tradition ye reality check the casual fan doesnt care. ;)
    I think the FAI should take a leaf out of what the mls has done and try replicate that in an irish context

I don't know much about the MLS. What sort of crowds do they get and is the standard good ?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Would be nice to be able to avoid have to play teams 4 times in the league, with NI teams we could have 16/18 team leagues which would result in a better spread. At the moment, with various cups, you can end up playing a team 5/6/7 times a season =/

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

stovelid wrote: »
    Sorry I snapped. I think everything you bring up is valid and is often discussed amongst the LOI fraternity but there really is a point when prospective supporters have to stop waiting for an Irish neo-Premiership setup to drop into their lap and take the plunge. The money and the coverage will increase exponentially with increased support - Rovers are a good example of increased attendance begetting improved coverage and facilities.

In one way I agree, that people out there do need to just take the plunge and go to a few games. The problem is that this just hasn't happened to any great degree in the past few years. So that means that something new needs to happen. The neo-Premiership could be that thing. The clubs need to do something drastic or there are going to more clubs in problems. Thats not to take away from the internal issues at some of the clubs that have issues. Internal structures for clubs really need to be looked at, but thats a semi separate issue. Rovers are a good example for others to follow. Looking at the scandanavian, Belgian and Swiss clubs and how they have developed should also be a priority for any AIL to really succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Would be nice to be able to avoid have to play teams 4 times in the league, with NI teams we could have 16/18 team leagues which would result in a better spread. At the moment, with various cups, you can end up playing a team 5/6/7 times a season =/

I can't see a 16/18 team league being viable. Just thinking of Scotland, they are finding it difficult to make a 12 team league viable and are cutting to 10.

I'd say a 12 team PL with maybe 2 First Divisions based on geography.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

In one way I agree, that people out there do need to just take the plunge and go to a few games. The problem is that this just hasn't happened to any great degree in the past few years. So that means that something new needs to happen.

Without money it won't happen. And without support, clubs will end up bust trying to create a product for them or exist within their means which will mean hidings in Europe and further disinterest from the public.

Although you say the youth thing shouldn't be the focus, it really should be. The 30-40 age group you mention are largely a busted flush unless something happens like a LOI team breaks the group stages of Europe. The kids are really where it's at.

For an AIL, a premier of 12-14 should be mooted otherwise you're into multiple games.

most important for the clubs should be getting people like me, in the 30-40 bracket involved in the club.

The FAI and League looked at that, in fact spent a fortune on a marketing report.

30-40 year olds will not suddenly decide they will take up a new hobby. It never happens, UNLESS, its one to do with their kids. Its all about getting the nippers in, the rest will follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I don't think this will happen, because in my opinion, there is still a certain North/South divide in people's mind, and therefore a lack of support from a political point of view or support from political parties on both sides of the border

Lars1916 wrote: »
    I don't think this will happen, because in my opinion, there is still a certain North/South divide in people's mind, and therefore a lack of support from a political point of view or support from political parties on both sides of the border

The political will is very much there.

The only blockage at the moment is the IFA in terms of losing the national side.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Glentoran maybe, Cliftonville and Linfield should be able to be competitive in an all Ireland League. But Distillery are fifth and Rovers steam-rolled them. Dundalk, a side that are high mid-table in the Premier have beaten mid-season Linfield and Glentoran in almost pre-season/early season.

Given that Glentoran have scored 77 goals, but looked pretty toothless last night I don't have much faith in the rest. Hopefully Portadown can beat Sligo. It can happen, but whether it is a good thing for IL sides to get involved long-term...

The political will is very much there.

The only blockage at the moment is the IFA in terms of losing the national side.

Is it a given that a League merger means one international side representing the whole island ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

r we not alllowed an opinion here no? ask any1 what they think of loi fans and the stereotype is:
    fat unemployed ppl swearing all the time at the ref
    fight with other fans and start fights with passers by
    create a scene wherever they go

seriously that is why the loi isnt liked. its not cool to support, the jerseys are cheap(not cost looks wise) the stadiums are kips, the fans are thugs and the players are skinny no hopers who decided to keep playing football past the age of 18. this is the rep the league has...sad really but it needs to modernise, its stuck in the dark ages.

Jesus, you really don't have a ****ing clue what you're talking about.

First point about fans. Totally wrong. You're making up stuff there. 99.9% of match go-ers are respectable and mannerly people. No problems whatsoever.

I don't support the league because it's "cool". I suppose cool I supporting whatever team is winning in England. Some of the gear this year is beautiful. Pats, Rovers and Bohs all have really slick Umbro gear. Many teams have decent kits likewise. Some stadiums are run-down I agree but grounds are gradually improving by installing new bucket seats (Dundalk, Drogheda, Bray)

The talent in the league is fantastic. And the exports from the league in recent prove your point is all hot air. Kevin Doyle, Keith Fahey amongst others all plied their trade in the league over 18. And with emerging talents like Jake Kelly at Bray and Jake Carroll at Pats, that trend will continue.

I think I proved your point was bull****. You should stay in "sodub" and **** over Johnny Sexton instead of associating with the "thugs" of the LOI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

How would this work with UEFA coefficients? also, assuming the IFA & FAI remain seperate organisations with seperate national teams, then would it be a case whereby the euro spots allocated to teams in the league would be distributed on the basis of the highest place team from each jurisdiction receiving the spots rather then final league standings?

EG final league standings of an A-IL
    1.Shams
    2.Bohs
    3.Linfield
    Shams & Linfield would get the 2 CL qualifying spots on the basis they're the highest placed teams from each of the jurisdictions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Is it a given that a League merger means one international side representing the whole island ?

Yes, it has to, you can't have a National Team without a National League.

I don't know of any national teams that don't have their own specific national league.