Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RSA Expresses Serious Concerns About The Number of Badly Maintained Lights on Vehicle

• 20-03-2011 1:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭

It is a disgrace really. Also, the fog light misuse is a serious problem as well. It is a truly unique Irish Phenomenum. Never see it in other countries. A Garda clampdown would sort it out!

http://www.rsa.ie/Utility/News/2011/RSA-Expresses-Serious-Concerns-About-The-Number-of-Badly-Maintained-Lights-on-Vehicles/

†With respect to fog lamps Road Traffic (Lighting of Vehicles) Regulations (S.I. 189 of 1963) states: (8) Where a vehicle equipped with a fog lamp within the meaning of article 44 of these Regulations is used in a public place, such lamp shall be used only in fog or while snow is falling. Penalties for misuse of fog lights are €1,000 in the case of a first offence and €2,000 in the case of a second, third or subsequent offence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Bollixed lights do actually drive me nuts. I'd be in favour if a crackdown.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

And likewise for the idiots who think parking lights are suitable for fog and low light driving conditions....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

TBH, a full education for drivers on lighting up is required. Most think, well I can see where I am going so I don't need to turn my lights on. I drove a 2 mile strech the other morning while it was foggy and I passed in excess of 50 cars with no lights on, never mind people with only side lights on. (This was between Celbridge interchange and the village between 8:45 and 9am). The same morning, I was pulling out of the housing estate and noticed at the last minute a Porchse with only the sidelights on, had there been an accident, I would have been at fault, even though the tool in the cool didn't know how to use his lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭1916

NFD100 wrote: »
    It is a disgrace really. Also, the fog light misuse is a serious problem as well.
    †With respect to fog lamps Road Traffic (Lighting of Vehicles) Regulations (S.I. 189 of 1963) states: (8) Where a vehicle equipped with a fog lamp within the meaning of article 44 of these Regulations is used in a public place, such lamp shall be used only in fog or while snow is falling. Penalties for misuse of fog lights are €1,000 in the case of a first offence and €2,000 in the case of a second, third or subsequent offence

I am staggered at the amount of Taxi's that use them (when there is no fog)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Quote from the article:
    The call comes as anecdotal evidence suggests there is a major problem on our roads with poorly lit vehicles.

Anecdotal evidence ...

You really have to let that roll around your tongue a few times ...anecdotal evidence.

Anecdotal, me arse :D

How many years is that useless "authority" in existence now? For how many years have they been preaching us that "speed kills"? And now ...finally ..they wake up to "anecdotal evidence" that "suggests" that there is a major problem with vehicle lights.

Useless agency, scrap them, save the money ...ffs boards is doing a better job than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

I don't know if it's just me, but I'm noticing a lot more cars with only one headlight recently. It is very dangerous. There are a couple of cars I recognise locally and they've been driving around with one headlight for some time.

With the likes of Halfords who will actually fit the bulb for a small fee, there is no excuse for having a headlight out for an extended period of time. A lot of people only worry about car maintenance when their NCT is due.

Front fog lights are annoying, but I don't understand how people can drive around with rear fog lights on when it's not foggy. You see it a lot on the M50. Perfect visibility and cars driving with rear fogs on.

The front fogs thing was an issue in the UK, but the police clamped down with on the spot fines and that quickly put an end to it. Their law is very specific with visibility needing to be less than 100 meters before they can be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

No lights on, one headlight working, fog lights left on, brake lights stuck on, two indicators lighting up when braking....really pisses me off some times.
    I was behind someone with the brake lights stuck on one day and I managed to get beside him in traffic, told him about it and he said 'oh yeah thanks, I know'.....and off he drove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Sammy_Jankis

No lights on, one headlight working, fog lights left on, brake lights stuck on, two indicators lighting up when braking....really pisses me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Unfortunetly people are using the excuse of I have no money to fix my car to get away with a lot these days.

I haven't changed a headlight in about 6 years since I got xenon's on my car's. But I have noticed the increasing number of idiots who are putting their light bulbs in upside down, well that's the only conceivable theory I can come up with for the sheer number of cars with one bulb that is normal and one bulb pointing up. Either that or their is a huge number of crashed cars that have been badly repaired.

I counted one morning last year 13 cars in a row with some lighting issue i.e. no lights, one bulb, fog lights etc etc etc.

It all comes down to the Gardai not enforcing these issues and drivers pushing things to the limit because they know they won't be stopped "Yeah I know it's the law but when's the last time you heard of someone being done for it" attitude. Not the "**** better get it fixed before I cause an accident" attitude.

In all honesty it's like driving in a third world country every time you go on the roads over here. Poor road condition, drivers who DON'T know the rules but think they do, badly maintained cars etc etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've said it before, I'll say it again. I see no problem with having front fogs on. They're not distracting or blinding like a rear fog...

anyway, why don't the RSA take concern with the number of badly maintained ROADS in the country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

I've said it before, I'll say it again. I see no problem with having front fogs on. They're not distracting or blinding like a rear fog...

anyway, why don't the RSA take concern with the number of badly maintained ROADS in the country...

They are blinding if they are badly aligned or more powerful than the dipped beams i.e. the Micra had more powerful fogs than dipped. They are blinding if they are on on a high vehicle 4x4, truck etc.

White light decreases your night vision so technically they ARE blinding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭dave45dave

Noticed a lot of cars on the M1 with only one headlight working. Either a fixed penalty or penalty points should sort it out. Dont most up to date cars tell you that you have a bulb out. Also saw an 11D Toyota cop car with no rear lights at 5.30 in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I've said it before, I'll say it again. I see no problem with having front fogs on.

Front FOGS eh? Why is it they call them that? Why are they not just on with the rest of the lights. How come you dont drive with your wipers on in the dry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Front FOGS eh? Why is it they call them that? Why are they not just on with the rest of the lights. How come you dont drive with your wipers on in the dry?

because i dont like the sqeaking noise :pac:

Yes, its obvious fog lights should be used in fog. Duh. My point is people get far too worked up about it, and mostly its just being pedantic like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Your average Irish motorist is the neanderthal of drivers. Totally obliviouse to anything other than getting into the car, turning the key and driving it. And most can't even do that properly either.

Epecting them to check their headlights regularly, not to mind changing the bulb is a bridge too far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

On the subject of front facing foglights, I dont think they are a problem. The only ones which blind me are usually aftermarket ones which aren't correctly aligned, and these are usually on 4x4 vehicles and boy racers cars. A factory fitted fog light is intended to light only the ground immediately in front, and to the sides so should never be pointed towards oncoming road users. Unfortunately this is often not the case with the aftermarket ones...

They are very useful for detecting potholes ;);)
    Ps I turn them off if i'm driving behind a car, and have never been flashed at by an oncoming car with them on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

Any danger of them cracking down on potholes too as they're at it?? It's a case of the kettle calling the pot black, plenty of crap in their own back yard that they need to sort out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

peasant wrote: »
    Anecdotal evidence ...

You really have to let that roll around your tongue a few times ...anecdotal evidence.

Anecdotal, me arse :D

How many years is that useless "authority" in existence now? For how many years have they been preaching us that "speed kills"? And now ...finally ..they wake up to "anecdotal evidence" that "suggests" that there is a major problem with vehicle lights.

I find it absolutely incredible that they would state that they're relying on anecdotal evidence to inform their policy decisions.

FSS, put two interns standing at the side of the road for an hour with a clipboard and they'd be able to say "from our analysis, x% of vehicles have issues with their lighting". They could possibly do it for several hours, on several roads. I'm sure there are college students who'd do it as part of a project FOC.

They couldn't even be arsed doing that, I don't know how they can call themselves a credible organisation.

NO FOG LIGHT THREADS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

I would love the whole lighting issue sorted out.

I drove past a white Renault Kangoo van between Kilcock and Trim, I think it was a Renault anyway, which had both dips broken and only one front fog working.

Although I think that everyone should have spare bulbs handy I dont mind if someone tries to limp their way at a sensible speed to a garage to fix the broken lights by using the fogs but this was just something else. He was moving fairly quickly too with just one light on designed for fog actually working.

Another thing I would like to see on top of this is strict enforcement against misaligned lights. Either when its just the one light which is out of whack or the people who do not know how to use the little level adjuster.

Come to think of it, one of my side lights is gone, I am dreading changing it as it is a full headlight unit out to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I had to do my mothers fiesta the other day, same thing, whole headlamp has to come out and you have to bend the bumper trim to get it out. Friggin nightmare...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭pcbscott

Saw some idiot the other day during night time hours with parking lights and fog lights but no main headlamps, Seriously?!?!?!

So what you go to the bother of turning on the parking lights and the fog lights, but when it comes to the main headlamps you just think ah well why would I bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭DriveSkill

While I totally agree that there is no excuse for driving for any length of time with a bulb out I think some push back should be made (perhaps at the Euro level) to force manufacturers to ensure that changing a light bulb does not involve major dismantling of the front of the car and can be done at the side of the road by the driver. Its a critical part of the safety equipment and is almost certain to go at some stage.

It seems most modern cars now make it almost impossible to change the front bulbs without having to remove something or other. I spent over 2 hours at one stage trying to get at the bulb in a Corsa - generally involves almost taking off the front bumper!. What really gets me is when you go to the manual to see info on changing the bulb and all you get is 'please contact your nearest service center' - AGGGHH

I remember on older cars it was simple case of opening the bonnet, removing the back cover off the lamp, take out bulb and put in new one - no hassle, 2 min job. I know in some european it is mandatory to carry spare bulbs but I've often wondered how many people change them in the dark on the side of the road based on the experience I've had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Come to think of it, one of my side lights is gone, I am dreading changing it as it is a full headlight unit out to do it.

If as your username suggests, you have a mondeo, and its a 01 or newer, then removing the headlight takes approximatly 4 seconds;)

As for all the driving issues we have in Ireland. Get rid of the waste of office space that is the RSA and spend the money on proper drivers education in schools and we'll see a vast improvement.

If as your username suggests, you have a mondeo, and its a 01 or newer, then removing the headlight takes approximatly 4 seconds;)

Had a 06 Mondeo, and these were easy to change. I now have an 08 model and you have to pull the front grill forward to remove the headlamp. While is does only that about a minute, once you remove the 3 screws that are welded into place, the fear of cracking the grill is a pain. I did change the bulb, and fixed a bulb on the other light and then had to take the first one back out again cause I forgot to put the cover on the back of the lamp :o All good now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

-Chris- wrote: »
    I find it absolutely incredible that they would state that they're relying on anecdotal evidence to inform their policy decisions.

FSS, put two interns standing at the side of the road for an hour with a clipboard and they'd be able to say "from our analysis, x% of vehicles have issues with their lighting". They could possibly do it for several hours, on several roads. I'm sure there are college students who'd do it as part of a project FOC.

They couldn't even be arsed doing that, I don't know how they can call themselves a credible organisation.

NO FOG LIGHT THREADS!!!

1. I presume the RSA is referring to anecdotal evidence in the absence of formal research evidence. However, they refer to an unpublished observational study later in the same news release:
    In a previously unpublished observational study carried out by the RSA in 2009, a total of 53,881 vehicles were observed to monitor their use of fog lights. The survey found that 13% of drivers used their fog lights when not needed, for example, when there was no fog or falling snow. Drivers in Cavan, Cork and Offaly were the worst offenders with 23%, 22% and 19% of motorists (respectively) using their fog lights incorrectly.

A proper study capable of producing generalisable findings regarding "poorly lit vehicles" would require a lot more than a couple of interns standing on the side of the road for an hour.

2. If fog light threads are verboten, how can we discuss the RSA's research and news release? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    2. If fog light threads are verboten, how can we discuss the RSA's research and news release? :)

Well I think it has more about what was quoted. The whole "I see no problem with fog lights" type of comment is what is being shut up. I could not give a damn if anyone has an opinion on if fogs blind or not. They have a defined purpose and that is that.

Their misuse by ignorant motorists along with general ignorance about vehicle lighting systems is what thread is about, not talking about validating the misuse of a particular set of lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,828 ✭✭✭meercat

i agree a clampdown on front driving lights is needed
    posted this late last year but i still see loads of one light only merchants http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056130572

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭richardsheil

-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Renault should be forced to do a recall for all those scenics you see where the brake light flashes when the indicators are used..

http://www.renaultforums.co.uk/showthread.php?t=100202
    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Break_lights_flash_insted_of_indicater_renault_scenic

+ Anybody else get that spooky feeling when you realise the car in front of you has no working brake lights..

And thank feck for high level brake lights, they are often the only ones left working in poorly maintained cars!

And finally, I see a lot of fairly new cars with their fog lights on but the headlights off (I'm not confusing this with DRL's) how is this possible?? Surely there is an interlock like that for the rear fogs in my car which ensures the standard lights are switched on before auxiliary lights can be..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,120 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Its gone beyond a joke. I'm doing serious mileage all over the country at the moment, and its like every second car has one light, badly aligned, one brake light (if any :eek:). One week of checkpoints would have people scurrying for bulbs. Actually one thing I have noticed is that a lot of very new cars have bulbs going, i.e. 2008/2009 with blown bulbs.

Another problem, what about the new generation of vags with the spangly LED running lights. I've seen dozens of Audis with one side dimmer the the other or not working at all. They have no bulbs that can be replaced so are Audi going to replace these at a cheap price? I doubt it.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭batman2000

I can agree that the issue of Headlight (dipped) is an issue and the "I know"... but never get it fixed nature is a pain, the fact that a bulb is a couple of euro (Halford have buy one get one free), the issue of mis-aligned lights is also an issue. The cost of alignment €20 is riduculous and should be provided FOC when you purchase a bulb or get it installed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Another problem, what about the new generation of vags with the spangly LED running lights. I've seen dozens of Audis with one side dimmer the the other or not working at all. They have no bulbs that can be replaced so are Audi going to replace these at a cheap price? I doubt it.:rolleyes:

When you turn on the indicators it dims the LEDs on that side to make the indicator more visible. Is it possibly that you're seeing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

If this is new infomation to them theres something seriously wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

It's amazing isn't it, given all the bureaucracy in the European Union, and all the regulations cars have to pass before they're even allowed on sale, that there isn't a single thing about making all external lights on a car easily accessible?

It is about time car manufacturers were forced to make changing lights of any description on the outside of the car a five minute job.

The conspiracy theorist in me says that lights are deliberately inaccessible so that you have to take them back to a main dealer to change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Wolverine_1999

The conspiracy theorist in me says that lights are deliberately inaccessible so that you have to take them back to a main dealer to change!

Did you see that episode of Top Gear I think where they had to remove the wheel to replace a light in a Renault or Puegeot I think? The French seem to be the worst offenders.

Having said that, it should be law that every person is aware of how to change their own lights seeing it is a critical part of every driving.

-Chris- wrote: »
    When you turn on the indicators it dims the LEDs on that side to make the indicator more visible. Is it possibly that you're seeing?

I've never noticed them doing that, Only notice it when they are driving towards me so no indication involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Did you see that episode of Top Gear I think where they had to remove the wheel to replace a light in a Renault or Puegeot I think? The French seem to be the worst offenders.

Think it was actually Fifth Gear, and it was a comparison between a Golf and a Megane. Fifth Gear presenter at the time, Tom Ford, changed a headlight bulb in the Golf in about 30 seconds. It took an AA mechanic 40 minutes to change the bulb in the Megane.

I like to try to count ten cars in a row coming toward me with all their lights working properly. It's harder than you'd think...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

See, I cannot ever see this being enforced or cracked down on.

The guards drive on roads every day, see cars missing lights, indicators coming on when breaking etc. and they have no interest in it what so ever, they would rather pull the the "boyracer" who is just cruising about who's car is all in order.

RSA are an idiotic bunch of lazy pricks tbh, stating the obvious, rarely do anything about it. Same can be said for the guards regarding road policing.

Yakult wrote: »
    See, I cannot ever see this being enforced or cracked down on.

The guards drive on roads every day, see cars missing lights, indicators coming on when breaking etc. and they have no interest in it what so ever, they would rather pull the the "boyracer" who is just cruising about who's car is all in order.

RSA are an idiotic bunch of lazy pricks tbh, stating the obvious, rarely do anything about it. Same can be said for the guards regarding road policing.

You can't win with the Motors pundits. When speed enforcement is ramped up we're told education is better. When the problem of badly-lit vehicles is highlighted in the national media (arguably a form of driver education) suddenly enforcement is better.

The RSA has no statutory enforcement role. Therefore, in the context of enforcement, is it fair to say that the essence of your argument is "the Guards are an idiotic bunch of lazy pricks"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

to change the subject slightly i see the garda come out to my local filling station every day for their coffee there is an area in front of the filling station( Hard shoulder) marked off as a clearway but big artic trucks park in it constantly while they are getting their coffee ,thereby leaving the garage very difficult and dangerous to exit as your view of the road is blocked as you try to exit the garage, yet you will see the gardai straining to see beyond the lorrys when they leave, so in other words they dont enforce the law and completely ignore a dangerous situation unless of course someone makes an official complaint but of course if you do you are a busybody and probably a marked man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

one headlight down?
    never fear!
    compensate by driving everywhere with your full beam on

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

Saw some idiot the other day during night time hours with parking lights and fog lights but no main headlamps, Seriously?!?!?!

So what you go to the bother of turning on the parking lights and the fog lights, but when it comes to the main headlamps you just think ah well why would I bother?

I had a rental car a while back that had a nice design feature. When you switch on the fog lights, the main beams switched off. I dont know if it is common but the design pleased me..
    (I know you're talking about dipped beams here)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

"the Guards are an idiotic bunch of lazy pricks"?

In reguards to policing our roads yes, yes they are.

The RSA shouldnt have to "express serious concerns" about an issue so simple. Its not like it only started this year or last year. Its been pretty bad for the past 4 years and its only now they "raise the issue".

Its not their job to stop people and make them aware of a defect, its the job of the AGS and its obvious they arent doing that if its such an issue.

Yakult wrote: »
    In reguards to policing our roads yes, yes they are.

The RSA shouldnt have to "express serious concerns" about an issue so simple. Its not like it only started this year or last year. Its been pretty bad for the past 4 years and its only now they "raise the issue".

Its not their job to stop people and make them aware of a defect, its the job of the AGS and its obvious they arent doing that if its such an issue.

The RSA came into existence September 2006, and in November 2006 they issued an advisory notice about problems with vehicle lights.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055029869

There was at least one critical remark about the lack of Garda enforcement in the above thread. I think it is fair to say that the RSA have highlighted the issue before, and that there is little or no effective enforcement by AGS.

The RSA comes in for regular criticism on Boards, and AFAIK calls have been made for them to make more of an effort to engage with the knowledgeable and committed car enthusiasts who frequent the Motors forum. Can the same be said of AGS?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭tweedledee

I guess it must be all those fog lights causing car crashes????Not the disgraceful,third world condition of most of Irelands road network,more of the usual smokescreen from the RSA,quick everybody look over there and dont pay any attention to our shambolic roads,reminds me of the shytestirring by FF when they tried to create public anger against the Public Service pay contracts.As usual Paddy went for it hook,line and sinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The RSA has no statutory enforcement role.

What exactly does it do then, other than give Gaybo a job, produce useless statistics, expensive ads and waste our money?

THE RSA is a joke, comes just after Conor Faughnan when it comes to wasting airtime with useless and ill-informed "advice".

Give the RSA some power to actually get things done and enforced or just abolish it ...preferably the latter, seenashow it's a recession and all that :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Considering the number of Garda vehicles with faulty lights it's no wonder that they don't hassle anyone else.

Last week I met a Traffic Corps car coming out of Anglesea Street in the blazing sun with his front fog lamps on. I inwardly groaned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

blastman wrote: »
    Think it was actually Fifth Gear, and it was a comparison between a Golf and a Megane. Fifth Gear presenter at the time, Tom Ford, changed a headlight bulb in the Golf in about 30 seconds. It took an AA mechanic 40 minutes to change the bulb in the Megane.

I like to try to count ten cars in a row coming toward me with all their lights working properly. It's harder than you'd think...

Which was a load of bull because if that AA "mechanic" had even bothered to look at the owners manual it would have known to turn the front wheel in, pull off a cover in the wheel arch, reach in, twist off the dust cover from the headlamp, replace bulb and repeat in reverse. No need to take off wheels. 5 minutes tops. All that segment served to do was show what a useless mechanic he was.