Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Car Would You Be Too Embarrassed To Drive?

• 19-03-2011 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭

Like the title....what would you not drive?
    I dont mean pink Minis or badly modified Puntos.
    I mean off the shelf cars.

To start off....

Old Kia Rio
    Range Rover Sport
    Audi Q7
    Hummer
    Chevy Matiz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Huinday accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭letsbehonest

Skoda Octavia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

Any model of Kia - has about as much class as a stale bottle of Ritz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

I'd drive any car couldn't give a sh!t what anyone thinks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    To start off....
    Range Rover Sport
    Audi Q7
    Hummer
    I would add to the list:
    Toyota Prius
    Nissan Quashkai (or whatever the spelling is),
    Nissan Juke
    BMW X6
    BMW X3
    BMW X... (all X-models actually)
    Lexus RX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

bryaner wrote: »
    I'd drive any car couldn't give a sh!t what anyone thinks..
    Even something as hideous as this?

Pn37653.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Any of those Japanese "Cubeoid" cars, any of those strange cars which feature a psudo Rolls Royce/Jaguar type front end tacked onto a Nissan Micra/etc. Small french covertables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Even something as hideous as this?

Pn37653.jpg

If it would get me to Lidl and back..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭jmbkay

Suzuki Wagon. Whats wrong with a quashqai?? I'm thinking of buying one. Diesel.

jmbkay wrote: »
    Whats wrong with a quashqai?? I'm thinking of buying one. Diesel.
    It is pointless in my opinion. I can't think about a single reason why someone would buy it instead of anything else. It does nothing better that other cars do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Audi Felt Spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Mr.Boots

BMW X's are a bit cringe allright.
    Bently Continentals are a bit "Fake Tan Man" also. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

I'm not that picky but I'd draw the line at a Hyundai Atoz, Daewoo Matiz or a Ssangyong Rodius!

eamon234 wrote: »
    I'm not that picky but I'd draw the line at a Hyundai Atoz, Daewoo Matiz or a Ssangyong Rodius!

THe Rodius is so ugly i knda like it...looks comfy :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I'd probably drive most cars to be honest unless it was a horrific colour like that pink micro convertible. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

2851997728_4eb7d90960.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I can't think of anything, seeing as I've driven some right heaps of sh!te in my time.

aujopimur wrote: »
    I can't think of anything, seeing as I've driven some right heaps of sh!te in my time.

It dosnt have to be a heap of sh1te to be embarrassing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

I can't believe nobody has said it already - Micra. Above all others.

Ssanyyong Hideous would be high on the list also - but at least it has some sense to it, if not style.

I'd hate to drive a Passat, Octavia or Focus etc, stuff that are really common place. Wouldn't be embarrassed as such but I'd hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I was given a black "bubble" Micra one time when my Passat was in for servicing for the day - only thing they had (and I DID ask/beg!! :p)

Anyway, I had to go back to work and coming into Ratoath from the old N3, some dumbass cut me off on the roundabout so I instinctively leaned on the horn - only to hear a very pitiful beeeeep (not quite the "manly" horn of my own car :p) and yer man giving me an odd look! :o

Never again!!!

I did also get an imported Suzuki Swift to drive one time, and I have to say for what it was - it wasn't bad.. electric windows all round, climate control etc... yea it was cheap but not as bad as the Micra!

Still as Dorothy said, "there's no place like home!" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Any Korean jeep just screams Irish GAA mammy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Scangered corolla, or any corolla for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭mondeo

Ford escort estate

MR2 with a Ferrari bodykit

Glanza

Suzuki Wagon R of the late 90's (jaysus)

mondeo wrote: »
    Suzuki Wagon R of the late 90's (jaysus)
    Yeah, they are ugly as hell...

Another embarrassing heap for me would be the Fiat Multipla, Toyota Yaris Verso or Renault Megane II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Bettyboop

Opal Algila, Fiesta 1990s models , Fiat sciencento :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Already had to drive a cringe worthy car. A bright yellow Mini One belonging to an ex girlfriend she used call it "bumble bee"! :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Plowman wrote: »

I have driven a few hire Smarts, great fun.
    The convertible is very nice, I'd have it any day, though not in pink.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I wouldnt be embarrased to drive anything or sit in it. I often thought isnt your mans cars a right heap but then you need a spin home from the pub some night its pissing rain and suddenly the heap is damm fine.

I have driven top end luxury cars to bangers in the last few years and it dont bother me at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Not really bothered if I can find something to like I'd drive anything.

Now if I'd own it for a long time is a different matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

Mr.Boots wrote: »
    Like the title....what would you not drive?
    I dont mean pink Minis or badly modified Puntos.
    I mean off the shelf cars.

To start off....

Old Kia Rio
    Range Rover Sport
    Audi Q7
    Hummer
    Chevy Matiz

bmw M3 or an M5, on Irish roads with our speed limits ffs, and with petrol @ 1.52 a litre. dinosaurs .

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Not really bothered if I can find something to like I'd drive anything.

Now if I'd own it for a long time is a different matter

Actually there is one car, a project KUNT Range Rover.

Stupid jeep with stupid owners

gigino wrote: »
    bmw M3 or an M5, on Irish roads with our speed limits ffs, and with petrol @ 1.52 a litre. dinosaurs .

I dunno about that, no way would I be embarrassed, I could see myself in a e45 or an e39 M car no bother at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭taintabird

anything made by Hyundai, Kia or Daewoo really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

gigino wrote: »

Hahaha.

Dinosaurs my arse. Whatever you drive, it's crap compared to an M5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

There is a lot of cars i hate to drive.....

but none i am ambarrassed to drive...... i couldnt give a Fcuk what people think..so wouldnt be embarrassed..... (grew out of that in my twenties)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Anything sold by Onyx Cars.
    http://www.onyxconcept.com/

Proof, if any were necessary, that money can't buy taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

The new mini, Cooper S's and up excluded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

520d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭SmartFox

- Toyota Verso - just couldn't (although had a Yaris previously and have no problem with that, great small car)

- any type of Maybach - just crude...

- Audi A5 (don't know why, just gives me a shiver... of embarrassment...;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

SmartFox wrote: »
    any type of Maybach - just crude...

- Audi A5 (don't know why, just gives me a shiver... of embarrassment...;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

fiat punto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I can't believe some of the posts here - Maybach, M3, M5. Q7, A5, Range Rover...

Please tell what cars you lads drive then instead.

T-Maxx wrote: »
    I can't believe some of the posts here - Maybach, M3, M5. Q7, A5, Range Rover...

Please tell what cars you lads drive then instead.
    I'd drive a Range Rover just not a Project KUNT.

A Overfinch would be fine with a gun rack and a drinks cabinet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Brian Cowen's Merc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

As mentioned aleady...

Any kia Rio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

-Chris- wrote: »
    Anything sold by Onyx Cars.
    http://www.onyxconcept.com/

Proof, if any were necessary, that money can't buy taste.

+1000

Was just about to post them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I'd feel seriously old if I had to drive a Mercedes luxo barge, wouldn't be embarrassed just about twenty five years too young.

Most certainly would not drive anything modified especially if it was scangerised.

My sisters car was in the garage once and she was given a Fiat Cinquecento, I almost died laughing when I saw her in it and the lads in the garage had ripped the piss out of her to take it easy on the corners and she had the groceries spread across the back seat, in the front and in the boot, for weight distribution as the lads told her! Oh man how we laughed at her! Still she thought it was dinky!