Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ones to watch

• 19-03-2011 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭

Going to have a little run back through results and videos to find horses that didn't perform to their best for one reason or another. Some winners can be worth taking on in different cicumstances. Post here if you can find any yourself.

Arkle -

Finians Rainbow could be the best horse in the race but was pushed hard early in the race and was asking to be picked up on the run in. Seems he's a genuine 2m chaser rather than wanting further.

Ghizao will be definitely worth following at a price in the Autumn/Winter. Hated the ground and Murphy went easy on him when beaten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Your selection in the Supreme looks built for chasing. Rathlin,he did well to finish so near,will be better over at least 2 and a half miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Oscars Wells - Looked class act in the novice hurdles to me. Can see him placing in next years Champion Hurdle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

First Lieutenant looks a serious animal.

Zarkandar could be anything

Long Run is a superstar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Junior; looks like he'd stay all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Anything less obvious?

If you're trying to be smart you've got the wrong lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Whest

Voy por Ustedes ran a cracker in the Ryanair. Aintree is the primary target according to Henderson

Relax cson. No ones getting fresh. I was just asking for something that didn't hit the headlines. And it wasn't aimed at just you.

Recession Proof was staying on strongly in the Supreme. He was outpaced at 3 out and stayed on through about 5 horses and never nearer than at the finish when a length off Cue Card.

Actually scrap that. He missed the kick at the top of the hill but was closing after that. Not really making impression on the front two but catching the 3rd and 4th. Maybe better than his 5th placing

Fair enough but its pretty much the obvious ones who've caught my eye; another one being Peddlers Cross who could be something if he takes to a fence. Certainly if he jumps he has the pace for 2m over fences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

I dont think Time For Rupert was 100% ready for the race.
    He did'nt get into much of a rhythm and was'nt jumping well which is out of character.
    l would'nt write him off yet.

Good god PP have long run at 2/1 for next years race .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Agree with the OP that Finians Rainbow was the one to take out of the Arkle, I also thought Rigour Back Bob ran an absolute cracker in the world hurdle and with a strong possibility that Big Bucks or Grand Crus or possibly both could go chasing he will be a major player in the staying hurdle division next year.

Sam Winner ran a belter in the Triumph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

A horse that caught my eye was Nearby in the County Hurdle. Ran a cracker to finish a staying on 3rd(66/1 backed him e/w:D) and really with another furlong would have possible won from Final Approach and Get Me Out Of Here.Its the first time he's raced on decent ground since completing an early season hat trick, couldn't cut it in the Christmas Hurdle and then struggled in the Totesport Trophy on soft so could be an interesting runner over the next couple of months with the better ground. I'll be keeping a close on him anyway;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

mr.jingle wrote: »
    A horse that caught my eye was Nearby in the County Hurdle. Ran a cracker to finish a staying on 3rd(66/1 backed him e/w:D) and really with another furlong would have possible won from Final Approach and Get Me Out Of Here.Its the first time he's raced on decent ground since completing an early season hat trick, couldn't cut it in the Christmas Hurdle and then struggled in the Totesport Trophy on soft so could be an interesting runner over the next couple of months with the better ground. I'll be keeping a close on him anyway;)

Was just about to post that, not alone did he finish well, he got caugh with nowhere to go a few times late on.. Should win something at aintree in that kind of form..

Agree with the OP that Finians Rainbow was the one to take out of the Arkle, I also thought Rigour Back Bob ran an absolute cracker in the world hurdle and with a strong possibility that Big Bucks or Grand Crus or possibly both could go chasing he will be a major player in the staying hurdle division next year.

Yeah +1 to Rigour Back Bob, ran a massive race. Certainly one for the notebook, it'll be interesting to see what his [Tipperary... any connection?] owner does next with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

If Mikael D'haugent doesn't run over fences again this season hell still be a novice and a serious force in the RSA next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭rescue16

Nulty wrote: »
    Relax cson. No ones getting fresh. I was just asking for something that didn't hit the headlines. And it wasn't aimed at just you.

Recession Proof was staying on strongly in the Supreme. He was outpaced at 3 out and stayed on through about 5 horses and never nearer than at the finish when a length off Cue Card.

Actually scrap that. He missed the kick at the top of the hill but was closing after that. Not really making impression on the front two but catching the 3rd and 4th. Maybe better than his 5th placing
    I tought Megan's star ran a good race unfortunally the ground was a bit quick for her but she would be well up there if the ground was a bit softer. One for the future to watch out for !

Beautiful Sound

9yo but only 5 career runs. Distance was much too short another furlong and he may have got up. Not sure his stamina would last out for the Irish National but if ground came up good he'd be worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

sonnky wrote: »
    If Mikael D'haugent doesn't run over fences again this season hell still be a novice and a serious force in the RSA next year.

Is this a joke?

Anyway mine to take are So Young....was easily the best horse in the neptune in my eyes and things just didn't go his way.

Also that handicap chaser of Elliott's who came from another county to finish second.

Any of the first 4 in the Supreme, a seriously classy renewal

Edit: And even though Grand Crus will be a novice chaser, i'll be backing him ante-post for the Gold Cup next year if someone on Betfair offers a huge price.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Also that handicap chaser of Elliott's who came from another county to finish second.

Beautiful Sound?

Edit: And even though Grand Crus will be a novice chaser, i'll be backing him ante-post for the Gold Cup next year if someone on Betfair offers a huge price.

No offence to you but you'd have to imagine Pipe has a lot more sense than to set the Gold Cup as a target for a novice, as good and all as Grand Crus may be.

cson wrote: »
    No offence to you but you'd have to imagine Pipe has a lot more sense than to set the Gold Cup as a target for a novice, as good and all as Grand Crus may be.

Oh he'll never set it as the target, but he might come under pressure to run if GC jumps beautifully as I suspect he will and wins all his preps on the bridle. It will just be a speculative bet and certainly wont be placed at anything less than 3 figure odds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

doubt they'll risk a novice in the Gc again after what happened to Gloria Victis

my one to watch is Mr Nosie, just touched off in what looked like a decent beginers chase at Navan last week, was interesting that they stuck with him after a 5 year layoff, and should have a few wins in him

also wouldnt surprise me if Zaidpour turned up at Ascot, or ran in a big staying handicap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Plentyofice

Zarkandar for me. Looked exceptional, pacy, great acceleration.

Also, Dirar, given a stewards enquiry of a ride out the back. Definitely watch him in big handicaps.

Bobs worth arguably the most impressive. Had them all beat as they came down the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Is this a joke?

Sonnkey is dead right about Mikhael d'Haguent. Thought he was travelling like the winner when he fell, and the only danger would be at his age Mullins, having already lost a year with him, might target the Gold Cup rather than the RSA.

sonnky wrote: »
    Morgans wrote: »
    Sonnkey is dead right about Mikhael d'Haguent. Thought he was travelling like the winner when he fell, and the only danger would be at his age Mullins, having already lost a year with him, might target the Gold Cup rather than the RSA.

I think he'll be a very good chaser too Morgans, it was the bit about remaining a novice that I was referring to.

Edit: Didn't read your post fully. How can he remain a novice when he has had 4 runs over fences this season?

I think he'll be a very good chaser too Morgans, it was the bit about remaining a novice that I was referring to.

Edit: Didn't read your post fully. How can he remain a novice when he has had 4 runs over fences this season?

He remains a novice if he doesnt win over fences.

Junior 14/1 for the National, I'll be having some of that.

Quel Esprit of willie mullins would be another one. Has had 2 falls in a row now but for me was going best of all in the RSA when he fell. Fell at Christmas when going well too.

Obvious jumping questions as fell at last years festival too but clearly talented. Could make up into decent chaser next season if he can sort the jumping.

Morgans wrote: »
    He remains a novice if he doesnt win over fences.

Lets say he runs and wins that novice chase he fell in November this year, the one won by Jessie's Dream. Would he remain a novice for the full season, or does he lose that once he wins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

For some reason Peddlers Cross stands out to me as a Gold Cup horse. I really think he wants further and definitely has the build to jump a fence. I'll back him if he runs in the Aintree Hurdle too.

Sprinter Sacre looks like a beautiful animal. I think McCoy went for the jugular a little too soon on him. He looked a winner turning the bend. A classy, classy supreme.

Noble Prince should win more races, Cheltenham really suited him. He didn't even jump that fluently but AP always looked to think he had the measure of the field.

Very surprised and impressed with the performance of Captain Chris in the Arkle. Cheltenham suited him down to the ground too. Will he go further or have a craic at the QM next year? Will be interesting. I say go for the QM next year and further the year after.

I'd say go down 3m route with Captain Chris. He has won over 2 1/2 mile and the day he lost to Medermit he may have got up had the race been a little further. You'd worry about his speed in the QM.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    I'd say go down 3m route with Captain Chris. He has won over 2 1/2 mile and the day he lost to Medermit he may have got up had the race been a little further. You'd worry about his speed in the QM.
    I agree he will be a good horse over 3m. All you have to do is look at Arkle winners records in the QM to see what the best option is though. Sizing Europe being a prime example this year. At the end of the day I'd say CC won the Arkle even more impressively than SE, and I would hesitate to back against him if the QM was run tomorrow.

minty16 wrote: »
    I agree he will be a good horse over 3m. All you have to do is look at Arkle winners records in the QM to see what the best option is though. Sizing Europe being a prime example this year. At the end of the day I'd say CC won the Arkle even more impressively than SE, and I would hesitate to back against him if the QM was run tomorrow.

Lets be honest it has all the hallmarks of being one of the weakest renewals of the Arkle in living memory.

cson wrote: »
    Yeah +1 to Rigour Back Bob, ran a massive race. Certainly one for the notebook, it'll be interesting to see what his [Tipperary... any connection?] owner does next with him.

owned by a syndicate from Galway, Tipp, Mayo and Limerick AFAIK the Tipperary owner been John Mcintyre the current Galway hurling manager.

I would back Sizing Europe to actually eat Captain Chris over 2m at Cheltenham tomorrow.

Think MDH being ridden by Ruby and not Aiteen Thirtythree or Quel Esprit shows the regard he is held in. I think either of the Mullins pair would be very interesting contenders for the Hennessey Newbury next year.

Lets be honest it has all the hallmarks of being one of the weakest renewals of the Arkle in living memory.

I think it will turn out to be far better than Tidal Bays arkle in fairness

Lets say he runs and wins that novice chase he fell in November this year, the one won by Jessie's Dream. Would he remain a novice for the full season, or does he lose that once he wins?

MdH would be free to contest novice chases until April 30th had he won the Drinmore.

If he wins his first chase in mid May, for example, he would be a novice chaser to the end of the NH season - April 2012.

Rule Supreme won a novice at the punchestown festival one year - beating Hedgehunter - which meant he wasnt a novice in Ireland the following year.

However, because the English season finished the saturday before - Whitbread/Betfred/Attheraces/Bet365 gold cup weekend, he was still a novice in England. He won the Sun Alliance Chase the following March even though he couldnt contest novice races in Ireland.

I think the Irish and English calendar has been synched up now.

Im always impressed with front runners at cheltenham that hold on for a decent finish.

Dantari in the Coral Cup, ended up 6th and really should be picking up something soon..

Aikman in the Supreme, stayed on in the end for 6th also and could win a half decent novice hurdle at a possibly decent price..

Barizan, Ran well but looks to be better over shorter and ill be having a bet on him at aintree or punchestown over 2 miles of his current mark.

Captain Cee Bee missed a couple of fences down the back in the QM and met a little traffic in running.

I think he has a decent chance of reversing form with Big Zeb and Sizing Europe at Punchestown where there will be a little less emphasis on the jumping department, and probably a smaller field.

I think it will turn out to be far better than Tidal Bays arkle in fairness

Yeah fair enough that was a very weak renewal also, but it actually supports my point in that none of the contenders in the '08 Arkle even lined up in the '09 QM - maybe mahogany blaze?? but didnt land a blow in either - Captain Chris as things stand would be ate alive in a QM and I cant see him making the neccessary improvement, the one horse i could see making the step up is Finians Rainbow.

Who would eat him alive.

Sizing Europe may not line up, Big Zeb will be 11, MasterMinded clearly not the same horse.

Who would eat him alive.

Sizing Europe may not line up, Big Zeb will be 11, MasterMinded clearly not the same horse.

I meant if it was run tomorrow but yeah even in 12 months I would have Sizing Europe, Big Zeb, Captain Cee Bee, Finians Rainbow and dare I say if he looses hes novice status MDH all ahead of him.

And if it came up soft Noble Prince although the step up in trip really seemed to suit in Cheltenham.

I meant if it was run tomorrow but yeah even in 12 months I would have Sizing Europe, Big Zeb, Captain Cee Bee, Finians Rainbow and dare I say if he looses hes novice status MDH all ahead of him.

And if it came up soft Noble Prince although the step up in trip really seemed to suit in Cheltenham.

Two 11 year olds, the horse he beat this year, and MDH who couldn't jump over a gate and ran in the RSA this year? Are you ok ?

MdH is a good jumper. Sometimes you need to look beyond the form figures. I hope plenty are put off by those form figures. If anything were to happen Long Run he would be on my shortlist of candidates to replace him. And who knows missing out on what looked a grueling finale may have helped him.

Two 11 year olds, the horse he beat this year, and MDH who couldn't jump over a gate and ran in the RSA this year? Are you ok ?

MDH is still a seriously talented horse and anyone who cant see that needs to take up a new hobby:p

CCB had a far from ideal prep, was unlucky in running and still ran a huge race and has although he will be as you say 11 next year he has only ran in 8 chases so is relatively lightly raced.

Big Zeb has shown no signs of decline, so i dont see any reason why he will, probably be campaigned very lightly next year and Murphy is a great man to have hes horses peaking for the big day.

The fact he beat Finians Rainbow is largely irrelevant because if you want to use that logic I can add Medermit and Ghiazo to the list of those who will beat CC in next years renewal.

MD'H maybe a good horse but not over fences. At least not yet. I wouldn't dream of backing him until he won a race and thats been my position since his return.

How he was so short in the RSA is beyond me. I'd have been more inclined to back him without having ever run in a chase than with the three efforts he put in. What price did he start?

He can't be considered a chaser can he? I'll have to watch the RSA back again cause I can't remember what he did in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Kbolt

yes very good form, good race over all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

http://www.attheraces.com/form.aspx?type=H&id=2289471&dte=2011-03-21&npl=yes

Look at pigeon Island the race where he lost to Kilmurry was a novice chase. the season after he won the last race at the festival.

Just looking at the Ryanair again, and Rubi Lights Performance was Top Notch, the mistake 3 out and getting tightened up for space by Albertas Run really cost him the race. He ran on superbly up the hill, i wouldnt be 100% that he would loose to albertas with another shot, and he may be value. He'll be interesting in Aintree.