Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stopped for speeding

• 18-03-2011 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

Got stopped for speeding doing 165 on the M1 by a unmarked jeep, not paying attention to the clock silly me, but the Garda took my licence of me and then asked for my mobile number and said I will be in touch in a few days what does that mean??

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

You were doing 165km/h and you didn't know you were speeding? :eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,475 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

sidcon wrote: »
    Got stopped for speeding doing 165 on the M1 by a unmarked jeep, not paying attention to the clock silly me, but the Garda took my licence of me and then asked for my mobile number and said I will be in touch in a few days what does that mean??

Beangarda?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

your going to court
    sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Did they take licence off you completely. Meaning you don't have your licence now at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭patrickc

was it definitely a Garda that stopped you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Bumpstop

patrickc wrote: »
    was it definitely a Garda that stopped you?
    First thing I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidcon

Yeah he took the licence completely off me, and yes it was a Garda as a garda van also pulled in to make sure they were ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Wouldn't have let them take the licence dude are you sure they can?

Im not sure never heard of it before thats why im asking???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Yeah he took the licence completely off me, and yes it was a Garda as a garda van also pulled in to make sure they were ok.
    And rightly so. Do you think the speedo is an unnecessary extra?
    Pull the other one, did you not happen to notice all the other cars going a little bit slow as you passed them all?

And rightly so. Do you think the speedo is an unnecessary extra?
    Pull the other one, did you not happen to notice all the other cars going a little bit slow as you passed them all?

Omg guess you never broke the speed limit before..:rolleyes:

Im not sure never heard of it before thats why im asking???

Not sure myself, but it sounds wrong to me dude..

Im not saying that I know I was completly in the wrong, I just wanted to get home and the road was empty still no excuse, I just want to know had he a right to take my licence and what is my faith as I drive a lot for work

Did they at least gave you a receipt?

CiniO wrote: »
    Nothing, I called him back to talk to him but he ignored me spoke to the other Garda in the Van and then got in his jeep and drove off

Me thinks they had no right in taking your licence lad..

It's the courts decision end of..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

Something is not right with it all. I'd be getting on to a solicitor. As u know you shouldn't have been speeding but cannot imagine this is proper proceedure and thus could be thrown out In court.

Rang the local station there just to clarify, they said he should not of taken my licence

Ball burst game over so..;)

CiniO wrote: »

.. and loyalty points no doubt :pac:

OP how do they know it was exactly 165 km/h?
    Did they have a video camera speed detector in the jeep?
    Or were they just guessing?

bryaner wrote: »
    Omg guess you never broke the speed limit before..:rolleyes:

There's a difference between breaking the speed limit and doing 165km/h and not knowing it.
    Also- omg? I hate those 3 letters.

There's a difference between breaking the speed limit and doing 165km/h and not knowing it.

Make sure you don't miss mass on sunday, I also hate condescending nancy boys..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

So what are you to do now? Do you know where this guy is based? Have you his name? any details?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Yes, I do speed, and yes I have points from speeding
    but how do you not notice that you are doing 102mph?

I never heard of anything like this, maybe he had no proof, and being an impotent garda, he decided to take your license to scare you, these guys have very large ideas in small heads.

Why do I say they are impotent. if you have a fixed address they can find you for the simplest infraction, if you live in a mobil fashion, have no records, and the same name as everyone else, they can't touch you.

Lets set up a robot van to catch people 6 miles over the speed limit, we know where they live, easy revenue. whilst trucks with false plates drive by with laundered diesel and stolen JCB,s they would take effort to detect, makes me sick.

As usual lets hit the honest man paying his bills, we know where he lives, easy money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭johnthemull

Not IMMUNE myself to speeding on motorways. However 167 was a bit too fast. I have no idea why they took your licence on the scene, but unfortunately for you they will almost certainly take your licence from you in court for 6 months unless you are rich or well connected.

Or a knacker with no license, address or conscience, or viable name.

Guess you are a bit right wing so bump stop LOL:)

nope no wings, I just live in the real world.

Good answer.

Bumpstop wrote: »

You seem to have gone way off topic. The OP was not caught by a speed van or 6mph over the limit. He has also admitted he was wrong.
    OP , Was he a young gaurd? Maybe he misinterpreted the law and that could affect your case. You really should have taken his name and number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Report your licence lost/stolen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

You were doing 165km/h and you didn't know you were speeding? :eek:

It's NOT THAT FAST. Jeez, when are the Irish going to get over the idea that 100km/hr is super fast, and anything over 120 and the chassis of the car will start tearing apart as you cause the world to spin faster before reaching warp speed.

Sounds fishy as fcuk, report the license lost/stolen and see where it goes.

I never heard of anything like this, maybe he had no proof, and being an impotent garda, he decided to take your license to scare you, these guys have very large ideas in small heads.

Why do I say they are impotent. if you have a fixed address they can find you for the simplest infraction, if you live in a mobil fashion, have no records, and the same name as everyone else, they can't touch you.

You reckon the Garda couldn't get a horn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Not IMMUNE myself to speeding on motorways. However 167 was a bit too fast. I have no idea why they took your licence on the scene, but unfortunately for you they will almost certainly take your licence from you in court for 6 months unless you are rich or well connected.

No, the court will not take his licence off him for that

who made you a judge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

It's NOT THAT FAST. Jeez, when are the Irish going to get over the idea that 100km/hr is super fast, and anything over 120 and the chassis of the car will start tearing apart as you cause the world to spin faster before reaching warp speed.

Sounds fishy as fcuk, report the license lost/stolen and see where it goes.

OK, i dont have a problem with speed, but even I know 102mph during the day is just asking for trouble

It's NOT THAT FAST.

It's quite fast when you need to stop all of a sudden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,582 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

RoverJames wrote: »
    It's quite fast when you need to stop all of a sudden.

So is 75-80mph most people do ;)

As for the folks on about not noticing, I'd said if the OP was paying attention to their speed they'd have noticed. It's been the case a few times that I've failed to process how fast I was going for a few minutes, even though I'd be overtaking pretty much all other vehicles on the motorway :o

Something up with them taking your license - I'm not sure it's a dealbreaker insofar as going to court, but by law you can't drive without having your license with you (Guards are lenient about this though, sticking with the old 10 days to produce at a station of your choice).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

your going to court period.........get a good solicitor as that gardai might be in a world of sh!t re his position confiscating your licence which may have a bearing on the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭holuc

Maybe he's a crooked copper!! He's taken ur licence got your number.... you have no details about him what so ever. You could get a call in a few days asking for x amount of money to sort the problem and get your licence back!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Wads he in normal Garda uniform?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Whether or not 165 "feels" like going too fast all depends on the car i think.
    I once had the pleasure of having a Volvo S80 T6 for a few days while my daily driver was an Astra 1.6. Can tell you that i had quite a few OOOPPS moments in the Volvo doing 160/170 without really noticing going that fast on empty motorways.

Dont know how it is here but where i come from, doing 165 on a road where 100 is the limit you will not only loose your license, you can take the bus for the rest of your journey as well.

Since i dont have the ability off pulling money out of my hole i drive cars where i will notice if i am really going too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Drop the handbags, lads.

Please don't let this thread be an excuse for anti-traveler posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fries-With-That

Im not saying that I know I was completly in the wrong, I just wanted to get home and the road was empty still no excuse, I just want to know had he a right to take my licence and what is my faith as I drive a lot for work

You must have faith in someone or something if you were driving at 160.

As to your fate, I reckon, you'll get you licence back in the post.

At some date in the future you'll meet a man in uniform wearing a peaked cap and he'll present you with a bit of paper, inviting you to meet another man in a funny uniform, who will decide if you keep your licence, pay a large fine or make a donation to a poor box.

If you're really unlucky he might even decide your romantic future by offering you an all expenses holiday in a male only hotel.

Talk to a solicitor :) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

You must have faith in someone or something if you were driving at 160.

As to your fate, I reckon, you'll get you licence back in the post.

It always amazes me how, virtually without fail, every time someone pedantically or "hilariously" corrects someone else's grammar or spelling, they make some sort of stupid mistake themselves.

Oh the ironing... :rolleyes:

If I can comment on speed.
    165 on a motorway is not really that fast.
    That's speeding by 37.5%.
    If someone is doing 41km/h in 30km/h zone, he's doing the same - speeding by 37.5%.

Lots of you guys do over 40km/h in 30 km/h zone. I'd say most cars do it.

It's just differenct approach to speeders in different countries.
    In some coutries you can be arrested for doing even 10 or 20km/h over the limit.
    In some other you can do 100km/h over the limit and get away with small fine.

What is funny for me, that in Ireland it's not regulated in any way.
    Someone might get the same penalty (80 euros and 2 ponits) for doing 2km/h over the limit, as well as doing 50km/h over the limit, which seems to be a bit radicalous.
    So while one person will get 2 points for doing 60km/h over the limit in the town, other might end up in court with no licence for just doing 165 km/h on motorway.

I think it should be regulated like in other countries.
    Penalty should be depedning on how much someone is speeding.

Sorry for little OT, but it's closely connected to what happened to OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

I've quite a liberal attitude towards speeding (under the appropriate circumstances).

However, I cannot understand how you could fail to be aware of your speed.

The fact that you could be 40kph over the limit without knowing scares me more than the speed itself.

What does that lack of awareness imply for the rest of your driving?!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭CR 7

Mr.David wrote: »
    I've quite a liberal attitude towards speeding (under the appropriate circumstances).

However, I cannot understand how you could fail to be aware of your speed.

The fact that you could be 40kph over the limit without knowing scares me more than the speed itself.

What does that lack of awareness imply for the rest of your driving?!:eek:

This is the type of attitude that's letting them justify the speed cameras.

I'd feel safer every single time with someone who's doing 160km/h and actually focusing on the road, and their driving than someone doing 120, eyes glued to the needle in case they go 1km/h over and die. And it seems to have been drilled into the majority that the second option is the safest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Vertakill

inforfun wrote: »
    Dont know how it is here but where i come from, doing 165 on a road where 100 is the limit you will not only loose your license, you can take the bus for the rest of your journey as well.

I think the OP was doing 165kmh on a 120kmh zone - correct me if I'm wrong.
    45kmh isn't a whole lot in itself but the OP's breaking the magic 100mph mark where all sorts of bad things can happen to you, legally.

I don't claim to know much about legal procedures but with this Garda doing something completely wrong like this, would this not scupper an attempt to bring the OP to court?

I don't see a huge problem with it to be honest. Driving on the motorway without any/many cars around and driving in a straight line in the overtaking lane. If you were doing 100+ mph weaving in and out of lanes, then that'd obviously be an issue. But driving in a straight line and paying attention to the road ahead... I don't see a major issue in 100'ish mph provided you're not attempting it in a Micra or something.