Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Irish Flat Season 2011 Superthread

• 18-03-2011 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭

The Irish flat season starts on Sunday at The Curragh, with the feature race being the Irish Lincoln.
    This forum can be used for tips, results and analysis etc.
    Hope people will post on here and hopefully we can tip a few winners during the season.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Curragh-20-03-11
    14:35 The Tally Ho Stud European Breeders Fund Maiden
    15:05 The Big Bad Bob Maiden
    15:35 The Newbridge & Ocala Twinning Handicap
    16:05 The Lodge Park Stud European Breeders Fund Park Express Stakes(G3)
    16:35 The www.thetote.com Irish Lincolnshire
    17:05 The Gabriel Curran Memorial Madrid Handicap
    17:35 The Irish Stallion Farms European Breeders Fund Maiden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Can someone let me know what the situation is with the stable jockey in Ballydoyle?

This is what I think at The Curragh
    14:35-Tough As Nails
    15:05-Rose Bonhuer
    15:35-Blue Dahlia(e/w)
    16:05-Gemstone
    16:35-Gimlis Rock(e/w)
    17:05-Adilapour, Free Art(e/w)
    17:35-Red Shaheen(e/w)

sonnky wrote: »

Tough as Nails the outsider in the opener. Any reason for picking him?

On Gemstone the the 16.05. I heard a tip a few years back and follow it religiously now that you never back a 3 year old against a 4 years old for the first part of the season. She is up against some smarter older horses.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Can someone let me know what the situation is with the stable jockey in Ballydoyle?

Don't think they have 1 yet.
    O Donoghue rides in the Grade 3 on sunday for them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

mdwexford wrote: »
    Ugh.

Haha,I was waiting for that one.

Excited to see the 2 year olds in the maidens,always the highlight.

Same as the last two years,don't go near a Ballydoyle horse for about another month at least,no matter how short their odds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭kildareman09

kevin prendergast 2yo is ment to win tommorow

In the first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭smartaform

it is an interesting runner alright... first runner of Red Clubs... has been raining all night so will be a bog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Tommy Stack got a cracking start last year with 4 winners at this meeting and only has 2 going today. 3.35 lue Dahlia down the bottom of the weights and definightly has an each way shout and Lolly For Dolly who won on this card last year is going in the 4.05 also must have a good shout. Another that took my eye was Awareness in the trained by Takashi Kodama withJonny Murtagh on board and at 12/1 could be another e/w

sonnky wrote: »

Great start :)

Strange for a Ballydoyle winner so early on.

Tough As Nails won but lost the race in the stewards room.
    Gimlis Rock definetly needs further.
    Rose Bonheur beaten by better horse.
    Blue Dahlia gave Shane Gray a first ever winner and did it well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭rescue16

Hi people hope ye all doing well. There is a Horse called HILDOR ye might of heard of it before. There is a great story behind this horse. This horse when it was younger actually broke its leg and was to be destroyed but the owners refused this and brought it back to health. Now this horse has a good few wins under its belt so watch out for it likes to run 1m4f and like the ground good to soft. So keep them eyes open and best of luck !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Hey man, Ballydoyle are using the 'best available' policy on their horses this year.

Personally i dont like this policy but we'll see what happens.

Horses That Impressed In The First Week:
    Kylallchy Star
    Stayed on well in the Lincolnshire to grab third and had it been a furlong longer may have got up.Watched if stepped up in trip.

Gimlis Rock
    Definetly needs step up in trip from the one mile.Usually races at 1mile 4 furlongs and could win a big prize at that distance at long odds aswell.

Blue Dahlia
    Very impressive winner under young Shane Gray.Had a nice draw and travelled brilliantly throughout at bottom weight. Picked up well and as long as he stays low in the handicap can win at up to a mile.

Sapphire
    Looked very impressive under Pat Smullen. Has good gears also.First time blinkers did the trick.

Tough As Nails
    Unlucky to lose race in stewards room as Gary Carroll tryed to stop him drifting over towards the winner. A good battling type and will win a couple of races at some stage.

Eirnin
    Travelled well and was fourth about a furlong and a half from home but faded there-after under a jockey carrying 3 pounds overweight. A run or two more and she might win a nice fillies race somewhere.

Dundalk
    Friday-25-03-11
    18:30 Irish Stallion Farms E.B.F. Auction Maiden (2YO only) - 5f
    19:00 www.dundalkstadium.com Handicap (47-70) (3YO only) - 6f
    19:30 Bookings at dundalkstadium.com Handicap (47-70) (4YO plus) - 6f
    20:00 Crowne Plaza Race & Stay Package Median Auction Maiden (3YO only) -7f
    20:30 Dundalk Stadium On Facebook Maiden (4YO plus) - 1m
    21:00 Fundraising Made Easy At Dundalk Handicap (50-75) (4YO plus) - 1m
    21:25 Dundalk On Facebook Handicap (50-75) (4YO plus) - 1m 4f

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

guineas trials at leopardstown this weekend

Todays Tips
    7.30-One Of Three e/w
    8.00-Cina Rosa e/w
    8.30-Hot Sand

Curragh 26-03-11
    Sikara
    Dunboyne Express
    Slade
    Empowering
    Gimlis Rock
    File And Paint
    Train Of Thought

Decent racing today. Wonder what Oxx's filly in the trial will be like.
    A lot of the runners in that trial are so exposed for 3 year olds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Seamie covering himself in 'glory' yesterday on Wonder of Wonders! :rolleyes: It's a wonder of wonders how he's connected to such a powerful stable.

Dylan Thomas has sired his first winner, Snowflake Dancer obliged in the opener at Dundalk on Friday over 5f, reports are that his first crop of 2yo's are pretty forward which is great if a little unexpected!

kfallon wrote: »

Dylan Thomas has sired his first winner, Snowflake Dancer obliged in the opener at Dundalk on Friday over 5f, reports are that his first crop of 2yo's are pretty forward which is great if a little unexpected!

I had a nice bet in that race.. if you think Seamie rode a mare wait till you see Latham's ride on Bible Black... disgraceful :mad:

Joseph O'Brien riding well again,must have been some nice money landed in that fillies' group 3 he won,the horse was 20/1 in the morning.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Joseph O'Brien riding well again,must have been some nice money landed in that fillies' group 3 he won,the horse was 20/1 in the morning.

He struggled to do 9 stone though, so he wont be around for much longer.
    He could become a jumps jockey i guess.

I said it all the time last year,he's too heavy. A ride on Don Carlos stands out for me,when he was beaten a nose and put up 2 pounds over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I said it all the time last year,he's too heavy. A ride on Don Carlos stands out for me,when he was beaten a nose and put up 2 pounds over.

Would any other jockey (apart from the trainer's son) have been allowed to put up overweight in a Group 3 at Leopardstown and still been allowed to ride by connections? I don't think so.

Hard to say. I know I wouldn't have been happy if I had backed Don Carlos that time.

Racing at Dundalk tonight,anyone any fancies?
    I've gone for Formal Bid each way in the nine o'clock at 16/1

Young Joey O'Brien 3lbs OVERWEIGHT in the fillies maiden tonight, surely he wont be around much longer !!
    The lads wont stand for that even if he is The Maestro's son...

Who ate all the pies :D

Hard to say. I know I wouldn't have been happy if I had backed Don Carlos that time.

Very well played my man, well played indeed. Great shout.

Didnt actually do a bet today at all, but i can def say i wouldnt have looked at that!!
    Buy yourself a new car out of those winning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Great pick but how did you pick him.

I wonder what he was on betfair.

Thanks lads,only had a tenner each way but nice to have all the same. Had reasoning in my log here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056132026&page=43

Long story short was well down in the weights and had a run over hurdles last month so was at least fit,unlike most of the field.

Jolly St. Nic is back tomorrow.

Here's hoping he can fulfil his 2yo potetial. Presume this is a prep run for the Tattersalls Gold Cup. Interesting to see how forward he is up against Unaccompanied. Looks really interesting race.

If he was beaten by Unaccompanied it would be a brutal run.

Anyone see St Nic today? Must have been ****e.

Yeah watched it, was never gonna win.
    Got tired big time once Seamie went for him, he'll come on a ton though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

He was sweating like mad and going up and down in the one place from the turn in on ground he probably didn't like.

Considering alot of APOB's are running very well at the start of the season (for him), its one of two things i guess - he either been aimed gently at the start and will progress through the year winning 5 Group 1's or he never trained on from 2.

chinguetti wrote: »
    He was sweating like mad and going up and down in the one place from the turn in on ground he probably didn't like.

Considering alot of APOB's are running very well at the start of the season (for him), its one of two things i guess - he either been aimed gently at the start and will progress through the year winning 5 Group 1's or he never trained on from 2.

I disagree with the second thing :)
    With a stud career on the line i doubt they'd risk him having an awful 4 year old season if they didnt think he had trained on. Far to risky for Coolmore to do that.

They'll build him up, he didnt look happy on that ground either when i watch the race again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Blatant case of using the racecourse as a training ground. Exact same as Fame and Glory last year where thousands were wagered on a horse too unfit to do itself justice. If it was Charles Byrnes, there would have been a different reaction by media etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

Slattsy wrote: »
    I disagree with the second thing :)
    With a stud career on the line i doubt they'd risk him having an awful 4 year old season if they didnt think he had trained on. Far to risky for Coolmore to do that.

They'll build him up, he didnt look happy on that ground either when i watch the race again.

Think St. Nicholas Abbey would need to do more than what he has done to date (racing post trophy) to command a high stud fee. He'll run better in the Tattersalls Gold Cup, whether he is good enough to win is still open to question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

In relation to the earlier comment about Joseph O'Brien, I think he is a fantastic jockey, especially from the front. I think he has a huge future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Trafford Lad

I was impressed with Sing Softly yesterday, thats 2 wins from 2 for the O'Brien filly, definitely one to keep an eye out for over the summer. I think he said she'd be aimed at the English and French guineas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If St Nic does go for the Tatts Gold Cup he'll more than likely be facing Workforce!

I would say St Nic will have to pull out at least 2 G1's this season to get a place on the Coolmore stud roster! You can't keep chucking the same bloodlines in on top of each other, they have enough of the Saddlers Wells bloodline there already and you also have Fame And Glory and Cape Blanco with more on their CV than St Nic and I can't see both of them standing at Coolmore unless Fame And Glory wins the Gold Cup and is marketed as a NH Stallion!

Limerick today
    5.45-Brokovich
    6.15-Walking On Water
    6.45-Future Impact e/w
    7.15-Concrete And Clay
    7.45-Captainofthefleet, Gold Mirage e/w

I was very disappointed with St. Nic but it was not a disaster. Clearly a prep run. Better ground will help. Very early to write him off.

Christ,JOB put up 3 pounds over for the last race. He won by half a length,but that can't continue.

Disappointing effort from Recital. Not great ride from Moore either. Horse looked fierce keen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Disappointing effort from Recital. Not great ride from Moore either. Horse looked fierce keen.

He wasn't too hard on him either...

Still must have been a brutal run. If that is supposed to be a Derby horse he should have pissed it. Winner looked exposed and a filly.