Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda's Paddy's Trip!!

• 18-03-2011 6:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭

Just watching the six news when Mr Kenny was giving a speech in the White House with Obama, funny enough.

He didn't seem fazed on the trip unlike Mr Cowen had in his trips and all in all I think he did well promoting Irish/American relations which can only be beneficial in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 PingPing

Shallow and simplistic though it may be, I like that Enda looks like a head of state, as opposed to a complete state. :) Makes such a nice change!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

"Never before has an apostrophe meant so much to so many people" - while referring to O'bama's Irish roots

*cringe*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

I wonder if he writes his own material.

Because if it turns out someone was paid to write that for him, it's the biggest offense ever to the taxes I pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭MANUTD99

I wonder how many times O' Bama had to practice saying Taoiseach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

MANUTD99 wrote: »

Biden could do with some practice, for Taoiseach and Fionnúla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

If nothing else, the bill for porther should be well down on last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

donvito99 wrote: »
    Biden could do with some practice, for Taoiseach and Fionnúla

Biden is Gaff central, leave him be. It's funny.

In fairness I think he did a good job promoting Ireland.

"Ireland is open and ready for business"..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭jos28

I was very impressed with how he handled the visit. So what if the apostrophe was cringeworthy. If loads of tourists come and spend loadsa money, I for one will be happy. A fresh positive attitude in the air today, long overdue ! And you can be sure that Enda arrived fresh and well groomed, not dishevelled and smelling of last nights booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

"Never before has an apostrophe meant so much to so many people" - while referring to O'bama's Irish roots

*cringe*

The yanks love that kinda stuff - great line.

Very interesting interview also from our Taoiseach in the USA..

He ain't taking any **** from the French!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCA_3NiwZ60&feature=player_embedded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Did he give O'Bama his complimentary bowl of grass to smoke backstage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

In fairness to the bould Barack he was telling us all "Is féidir linn!" last Lá 'le Pádraig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Great interview in fairness. The yanks love those side partings too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

PingPing wrote: »
    Shallow and simplistic though it may be, I like that Enda looks like a head of state, as opposed to a complete state. :) Makes such a nice change!:)
    He isn't our head of state.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

bonerm wrote: »
    Did he give O'Bama his complimentary bowl of grass to smoke backstage?

yep, and a fine big bowl to smoke it in too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

I have to say, and I didn't have very high hopes for Enda despite having voted Fine Gael, he is impressing me. Though only slight, I do feel a change in the air, and I hope I'm not the only eejit thinking that way.

I'm starting to have a bit more confidence in Enda in this new role, and he's had a fantastic first week as Taoiseach. He's handling himself professionally, with confidence and authority, and whether that's just appearances or not it's too early to tell. It makes a huge change from the mix of belligerence, defensiveness and downright shitology coming from Cowen. It's great to see Enda standing up for Ireland, not snivelling and grovelling and letting himself, and by extension us, get fcuked by the EU. I can't believe our tax rate is even up for discussion at an EU level; it completely undermines the expressly stated limits of EU competence. Tax harmonisation should not be on the table for EU intervention, but of course, the EU has never seen itself to be constrained by the limits it has apparently set itself before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭A19B1C12

Apparently Bernard Brogan an Eoin Kelly had to pay their own way over while Tainiste and Taoiseach get the Govt. Jet.

The more things change the more they stay the same....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

He has done well so far, but its been at a fairly superficial level. The real test is what state the country is going to be in a few years time. Even Brian Cowen had his day in the sun.

I have to say, and I didn't have very high hopes for Enda despite having voted Fine Gael, he is impressing me. Though only slight, I do feel a change in the air, and I hope I'm not the only eejit thinking that way.

I'm starting to have a bit more confidence in Enda in this new role, and he's had a fantastic first week as Taoiseach. He's handling himself professionally, with confidence and authority, and whether that's just appearances or not it's too early to tell. It makes a huge change from the mix of belligerence, defensiveness and downright shitology coming from Cowen. It's great to see Enda standing up for Ireland, not snivelling and grovelling and letting himself, and by extension us, get fcuked by the EU. I can't believe our tax rate is even up for discussion at an EU level; it completely undermines the expressly stated limits of EU competence. Tax harmonisation should not be on the table for EU intervention, but of course, the EU has never seen itself to be constrained by the limits it has apparently set itself before.

Very much so. I mean I know its only a week since he began leadership. He seems to have a good agenda so far and I think the good of the Irish people is his main mandate which I am happy about

johnb03 wrote: »
    Apparently Bernard Brogan an Eoin Kelly had to pay their own way over while Tainiste and Taoiseach get the Govt. Jet.

I'm pretty sure the GAA paid for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

johnb03 wrote: »

Why would representatives of the GAA be on the government jet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭futonic

was doubtful before the election, but must admit, Enda is, so far, doing much better than his predecessor. Dg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

Good enough interview but whats with his breathing? Does he have a condition or something?

gernon wrote: »
    Good enough interview but whats with his breathing? Does he have a condition or something?

Really don't understand the stupid bashing remarks. We have someone willing to stand up for Ireland and you remark on his BREATHING!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭gernon

Really don't understand the stupid bashing remarks. We have someone willing to stand up for Ireland and you remark on his BREATHING!!!

I was not bashing as you put it simply asking if he has a breathing problem as it seems very obvious in the clip. But thanks for your input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

The change of a leader who carries himself with confidence, competence and authority is huge. Bit of optimism in the air for the first time in a long while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Rubik. wrote: »
    He has done well so far, but its been at a fairly superficial level. The real test is what state the country is going to be in a few years time. Even Brian Cowen had his day in the sun.
    Can we cancel that bastard's pension already?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Very impressed so far. Seems strong, competent and assured. First time in a long time I did not feel embarassed seeing our Taoiseach on television *remember Cowen and Ahern - shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Well compare him to this...

And I actually thought Cowen would be ok before he got the top post, but he treated the opposition, the electorate and legitimate questions with contempt

I'm still a softy though, I feel real sorry for him when I see this clip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Well compare him to this...

And I actually thought Cowen would be ok before he got the top post, but he treated the opposition, the electorate and legitimate questions with contempt

I'm still a softy though, I feel real sorry for him when I see this clip

Fúck him. Thick ignorant cúnt who treated the people of this country with contempt as he incompetently steered the sinking ship right into the rocks.

I only wish he'd stayed FF leader for this election so their results could have been even more disastrous then they already were as a knock-on effect of his thick fat head on giant billboards giving everyone nightmares in the run-up.