Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Docklands 8k 21/6/2011

• 17-03-2011 11:35am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭

Course
    Race website
    Last years thread

Last year I ran this 8k (ish) course and thoroughly enjoyed it as it was the first race that I'd ran since leaving school back in the 90s. :o

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 24 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    25%
    troyrovers_runnerjprenderChazMichaelJosDelPhoenixParker 6 votes
    3 stars (average)
    50%
    bazmanPaulieCdonaghsollietrexpotsy11smmoore79ed93105tang1MarthastewDuckeeBrendanCroHelenAnne 12 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    20%
    couerdelionliamoggreenplainCramCyclenapathy 5 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    4%
    olaola 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

No, it wasn't a once off Docklands has been running since 2001, and its on again this year, but its changed to a Thursday.

http://www.visitdublin.com/Events/AllDublinEvents/Detail.aspx?id=238&mid=8827

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

The Hammer wrote: »
    No, it wasn't a once off Docklands has been running since 2001, and its on again this year, but its changed to a Thursday.

http://www.visitdublin.com/Events/AllDublinEvents/Detail.aspx?id=238&mid=8827
    Okay, thanks. Still no way of registering that I can see. I'll bookmark it and check back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭guapos

http://www.docklandsrun.ie/
    Tuesday June the 21st is the date for the 2011 Docklands Run. This will be our 11th Docklands run and we’re happy to announce that for the next three years, the Docklands Run will be raising money to fund child development under the Docklands Authority Schools Social Regeneration Initiative.
    250 early bird Entries will open on Tuesday the 5th of April.
    The Docklands Run course will be the same AAI measured 8km flat run along both sides of the Liffey. The start and finish are in Grand Canal Square.
    • Technical T-shirt for all competitors
    • 250 early bird entries
    • Much improved timing, with 4km as well as finish times, as well as live timing during the event.
    • A specially constructed ramp over the pinch point at the East Link tole bridge.
    • Expo in chq leading up to Docklands Run
    • Post race party – Red Bull are already on board to power runners into dance mode.
    Hope to see you on the start line.
    The Docklands Run Team
    Bobby, Owen & Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Why is this on, on a Tuesday? For folks working in area or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

It starts at 7.45pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Why 8k? its not even a distance. Could they not add on the extra 46m and make it a proper distance?

Tried to do this the last 3 years but missed the registration date all 3 times! It used to be on late May if i remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Wonkagirl

Worst organised online event ever. 2 different dates and proving very difficult to register online for it- crazy!

Good event though, so hopefully they'll sort out the 'web' issues over the next few days.

It's on a Tuesday. praise the lord. THe sunday runs ruin my social life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

really not worth doing this race-far better ones to support

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

3 stars (average)
    Just entered this, its worth a shot at 20 yo-yos. Anybody hav any feedback on previous years races??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

I think its a great idea to have on a Tuesday evening.of course I work weekend so I would say this.Ran in 4 years ago and was a nice race(finished 2nd),one tough little hill but mainly flat.
    Red Bull being a sponsor now all we need is Smirnoff and it will be a real party:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

I think its a great idea to have on a Tuesday evening.of course I work weekend so I would say this.Ran in 4 years ago and was a nice race(finished 2nd),one tough little hill but mainly flat.
    Red Bull being a sponsor now all we need is Smirnoff and it will be a real party:D

right changed my mind free booze
    Yes a great race-everybody should do it!:D

tang1 wrote: »
    Just entered this, its worth a shot at 20 yo-yos. Anybody hav any feedback on previous years races??

I'm gonna try and enter too (tried earlier but failed miserably, wasnt sure if it was my webfiltering in work, or their arsed attempt at the online entry)

I did it last yr and really enjoyed it. I know 8km isnt a 'distance', but i really liked the distance. I find 5km too short to get into any real stride, and 10km is just that bit too far to 'peg it', so this was a nice in between distance- you can fire on all cyclinders pretty much from the start.

Great buzz among the crowd too, we all went to Slatterys in beggars bush afterwards (unshowered!) and had a few pints for ourselves- i definitely enjoyed it. I love that it was on a weeknite and didnt take up my whole weekend as well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Wonkagirl wrote: »
    Great buzz among the crowd too, we all went to Slatterys in beggars bush afterwards (unshowered!) and had a few pints for ourselves- i definitely enjoyed it. I love that it was on a weeknite and didnt take up my whole weekend as well..
    Don't be giving people ideas :pac:

Well, you have to have the ole recovery salts (taytos) and rehydration (bulmers) after all!

Spot on wonkagirl ;)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 21 JinkyJ

tang1 wrote: »

Ran it last year and thought it was a good course well organised a couple of bridges to go over other than that it is flat, done it in 43 mins hoping to break 39 this year...

JinkyJ wrote: »
    Ran it last year and thought it was a good course well organised a couple of bridges to go over other than that it is flat, done it in 43 mins hoping to break 39 this year...

Same as- just under 43 last yr, and they asked me on the online entry what my projected time was and i said 39! Easy peasy. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SpeedyDude

Why 8k? its not even a distance. Could they not add on the extra 46m and make it a proper distance?

8km is 5miles so it would be pretty even. Great distance in my opinion. I did the race as well a few years ago and was my favourite race for a long time. Ran a personal best, course was very flat,great for pushin it hard.

Tuesday at 7:45???? suppose I would make it coming straight from work :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Here's the thread from last year - seems to have been a bit of a shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

SpeedyDude wrote: »
    8km is 5miles so it would be pretty even. Great distance in my opinion. I did the race as well a few years ago and was my favourite race for a long time. Ran a personal best, course was very flat,great for pushin it hard.

5 miles is 8,046.5m

Its a great course for a PB alright, but a meaningless PB with nothing to compare it to imo. Why not have a 99m sprint in the olympics while they're at it.
    Good prep for the irish runner "5 mile" i suppose :P

3 stars (average)
    Not liking the comments from last years race, dont tell me this is going to be another race on the same lines as the laughable Cupids Dash earlier in the year.

the year I ran it they got the start mixed up so walkers where near the front and runners behind.Lucky most of us coppedon to this.The road was very narrow at the start also but think they have changed it since.
    New organisers this year so give them a fair craic and don't judge on previous ones ;)

Yeah I was at the year where they had the walkers starting infront of the runners. The direction people made their way to the starting line was the direction we were running which messed everything up. It was fairly obvious what happened so hope it's easier to fix. I do like a nice evening run in good weather and docklands looks deadly

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 21 JinkyJ

I use this course all the time on my training runs and love it...bring it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭BananaR

I emailed them regarding last year's problems with the race [no starting mat for chip timing ; lack of distance markers]
    Have been given assurance that

On timing
    We'll have a much improved timing, with start mat, 4km mat as well as finish times, plus live timing during the event.

We'll definitely have distance markers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

3 stars (average)
    Cool...this runs past my house, have to enter it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭ollietrex

3 stars (average)
    Entered, looks a good evening out running somewhere different to where I would normally run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Any water staions on this one? I expect at least 3......

menoscemo wrote: »

\well if the temp continues to rise at the rate that it has been, i forecast it'll be 48'c on the day- 1 water station at each km mark i reckon- we'll add an extra 5 mins for the pee stops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭troy

4 stars (good)
    I ran this in 2009 and the timing setup and distance marking was fine. Ran it last year and it was a disaster. I emailed them after the event as well about how poor it was.

I registered again for this year and I'm glad to hear that it is sorted.
    BananaR wrote: »
    I emailed them regarding last year's problems with the race [no starting mat for chip timing ; lack of distance markers]
    Have been given assurance that

On timing
    We'll have a much improved timing, with start mat, 4km mat as well as finish times, plus live timing during the event.

We'll definitely have distance markers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

im gonna travel up fom waterford for this any helpful advive on a hotel to stay in close to the route ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Ray von

Maldron hotel Cardiff lane 1 minute walk to start line. Nice hotel with pool & gym.

Others close by are jurys and clarion IFSC less than 5 mins walk & grand canal hotel very close by also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

Ray von wrote: »
    Maldron hotel Cardiff lane 1 minute walk to start line. Nice hotel with pool & gym.

Others close by are jurys and clarion IFSC less than 5 mins walk & grand canal hotel very close by also.
    cheers ray thanks

deise48 wrote: »
    im gonna travel up fom waterford for this any helpful advive on a hotel to stay in close to the route ?

There's also some great offers in the D4hotels.ie group (old jurys and berkeley court)- 10 min walk to the race and lovely part of the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Ar Strae

Ran it twice before, including last year.

Last year was an embarassing shambles but it's a different crowd organising it this year. Apparently it's now being run by the guys that do the Duathlon Series and I'm expecting a much tighter ship (actually having a starting timing mat for instance :-))

I mailed them asking that they put Km markers up, there was only 1 at the 7Km mark last time and they promised there would be.

The route is actually nice and it's a fun race to run. I work in the IFSC and there's a gang from work doing it so I've got a title to defend.... :D

32:32 last year...would be nice to get under that... and hopefully it won't lash rain again this time!

Ro

menoscemo wrote: »

3 water stations!! that's loads. I highly doubt they'll have 3stations at it. 1 anyway at half way with one at the end but 3 is asking for a lot. You need volunteers to help out for each water station so 3 is being optimistic!!

hahah 3 water stations? You're having a laugh! :eek:

I'm pretty sure there were no water stations on the race course last year. And none are mentioned on the course or in the FAQ

Ro

yeah hopefully they will have a water station. Not 3....but at least 1 in the middle anyway and stuff at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭troy

4 stars (good)
    Lads, you need to take a look at the Great Ireland Run 10k 2011 thread. Most of the stuff about water stations are tongue in cheek. Some people got very pissed off at the lack of water stations and some people got very snooty about needing water in a 10k race.

This is an 8k run, there won't be any water stations. There is water at the end of the race. If you think you'll need water during the race then plan ahead and carry a bottle yourself.

Man I take it back...someone's been watching this thread :D

http://www.docklandsrun.ie/index.php/map-updated-with-water-stations/2011/04/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Ar Strae wrote: »
    Man I take it back...someone's been watching this thread :D

http://www.docklandsrun.ie/index.php/map-updated-with-water-stations/2011/04/

lol. I was only joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Signed up for this today. Looks like a very fast and nice course. Cool t-shirt too.

Any indications on turn out for this based on previous races?

3 stars (average)
    Apparently there are about 2200 signed up. It will be a max of 2500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

4 stars (good)
    I'm pretty sure we went down Cambridge Road last year ? I notice it's change this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 new2tri

JosDel wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure we went down Cambridge Road last year ? I notice it's change this year

Ditto. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Apparently there are about 2200 signed up. It will be a max of 2500

Nice one. That's a good size for the short and compact course that it is.
    Defo PB territory of Sub 35 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Just enter this so be interesting to see how it goes.

Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 cfd

<Mod edit> Read charter <Mod edit>

3 stars (average)
    Anybody say if theres parking near the start/ finish?? Or where is the best place to park??

3 stars (average)
    There is an underground car park in the theatre, but it's probably going to be packed out with 3k people registered to run