Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Run in with an undercover garda

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

i nearly always have the left ear piece in listening to a bit of music while i cycle along and ive never had any problems hearing traffic coming up from behind, but tbh if a car is coming 70 mph up behind you there is very little you can do except hope that the guy has enough sense to slow down and not kill you. Then again i do mtb'ing not road biking so im a bit safer than ye lot :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,984 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

i nearly always have the left ear piece in listening to a bit of music while i cycle along and ive never had any problems hearing traffic coming up from behind, but tbh if a car is coming 70 mph up behind you there is very little you can do except hope that the guy has enough sense to slow down and not kill you. Then again i do mtb'ing not road biking so im a bit safer than ye lot :D

Really :p :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

seamus wrote: »
    There is far too much weight given to the importance of hearing in traffic environments, to the point that people will substitute hearing for visual cues and may even subconsciously use their hearing for tasks which require visual confirmation, such as estimating the distance of following traffic.

False dichotomy. It doesn’t have to be either-or. You can estimate the speed and distance of following traffic using your hearing while confirming your estimates using your vision. The two methods are complementary. However, the important advantage offered by your hearing is that you can listen behind all of the time whereas you can only look behind intermittently. Wearing headphones forces you to rely exclusively on the latter method.

BTW, I perform my visual checks using this:

152398.JPG

[OK, I’m resigned to the fact that this now places me firmly in the nerd category]

As an aside, a mirror allows for more frequent visual checks, with much less “dead time” per check, since shifting your eyeballs right by a few degrees is much faster than turning your head to look behind. As an added bonus, it also means that you never have to look behind during commuter races, offering an important psychological advantage. :D

seamus wrote: »
    It would be a valuable lesson to "deafen" someone while they drive around for an hour to show them the importance of never relying on your hearing for anything.

If I should never rely on my hearing for anything, this leads inevitably to the strange conclusion that I should rely exclusively on my vision for everything (or that I shouldn’t rely on any of my senses for anything, in which case I wouldn’t dare leave the house in the morning). Why not use both hearing and vision to maximum effect? My hearing provides valuable information that cannot be substituted by my vision. Without my hearing, I am worse off. It isn’t a redundant sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,530 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

CramCycle wrote: »
    Really :p :

yup i would take every one of those crashes before id want to get hit by an idiot in a car going 70 mph :D broken bones heal getting killed is forever, thanks for those videos btw great laugh, some of those lads where going massive :eek: getting my bike back tomorrow as well so very inspirational haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

[OK, I’m resigned to the fact that this now places me firmly in the nerd category]

It does ;) and maybe I'm generalising but at any mass cycle I have attended the owners of bicycle mirrors seem to be the most twitchy and over correcting of anyone on the road, always to be given a wide berth. Same goes for commuting but they're not common on my route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It doesn’t have to be either-or. You can estimate the speed and distance of following traffic using your hearing while confirming your estimates using your vision. The two methods are complementary. However, the important advantage offered by your hearing is that you can listen behind all of the time whereas you can only look behind intermittently. Wearing headphones forces you to rely exclusively on the latter method.
    You're right, it doesn't have to be either/or. But it's not a 50/50 relationship either. Hearing is complementary to vision. I would disagree that wearing headphones completely removes your ability to hear. That's user-adjustable and the ambient sounds, particularly in urban environments or high winds can be quite loud.

Interesting to consider the future; all-electric vehicles are surprisingly quiet. Even the Luas can be surprisingly quiet.
    If I should never rely on my hearing for anything, this leads inevitably to the strange conclusion that I should rely exclusively on my vision for everything
    Don't see how you're making that jump. I would see hearing somewhat like your rear-view mirror. Useful and complementary but not essential and not something which should be a substitute for looking over your shoulder.

Or to put it another way, I don't feel that my safety is enhanced nor detracted from depending on whether I've earphones in. When the battery dies and I've no sounds anymore, the only difference I notice is that my earholes are now cold without the buds inside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

kippy wrote: »
    anything that makes me feel more safe I will do, high viz jacket, lights, reflectors, helmet.

You realise, I assume, that feeling safer and being safer are two very different things?

Some people might argue that what makes you feel safer ('subjective safety') actually puts you at greater risk ('objective safety').

Feeling vulnerable can be very good at focusing the mind.

It does ;)

Thankfully, I’m largely immune to peer pressure at this stage of my life. After spending a few very dangerous years taking enormous risks on high performance sports bikes, I really missed having the instant access to rear vision that a mirror affords. I’ve never looked back since. :D
    maybe I'm generalising

Confirmed.
    at any mass cycle I have attended

I’m tempted to generalise about the kind of people who attend mass cycles. But I won’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Doctor Bob wrote: »
    You realise, I assume, that feeling safer and being safer are two very different things?

Some people might argue that what makes you feel safer ('subjective safety') actually puts you at greater risk ('objective safety').

Feeling vulnerable can be very good at focusing the mind.
    Indeed I do.

Feeling vulnerable and Being Vulnerable could also be added to the subjective and objective safety slants.

I’m tempted to generalise about the kind of people who attend mass cycles. But I won’t.
    I was referring sportives and the like not Critical mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

So, was the fact that the OP was wearing headphones and "in his own world" anything to do with his road position?

It seems to me that some people are assuming that being "in [your] own world' is a direct consequence of wearing headphones. I don't believe that one implies the other. Being in your own world is certainly a danger when you are doing anything where harm can result from your not thinking about what you are doing, but there are any number of things that can cause you to mentally detach from the world around you, tiredness being one obvious example. You might just as well call someone an idiot for venturing outside of their house without several consecutive nights of at least 8 hours sleep as for wearing headphones while cycling, but you'd be equally misguided for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It does ;) and maybe I'm generalising but at any mass cycle I have attended the owners of bicycle mirrors seem to be the most twitchy and over correcting of anyone on the road, always to be given a wide berth. Same goes for commuting but they're not common on my route.

Another generalisation, I find the people decked out in the most safety gear and rear view mirrors to be the worst as well. I always just figure they're cycling newbs and thus a bit nervous hence making their cycling..... interesting.

They always seem to have their saddle down low and their knees up around their ears :)

Another generalisation

Confirmed.
    , I find the people decked out in the most safety gear and rear view mirrors to be the worst as well. I always just figure they're cycling newbs and thus a bit nervous hence making their cycling..... interesting.

I wish I was a newb, then I wouldn't need to work harder with each passing year to hang on to my fitness. Still, musn't grumble, since I've cycled to work for 22 of the past 27 years and enjoy it as much as ever.
    They always seem to have their saddle down low and their knees up around their ears :)

Any comments I get about my saddle height are precisely the opposite ("WTF is your saddle doing up there"). Works for me though.
    [SIZE=-1]
    147866.JPG

[/SIZE]

Any comments I get about my saddle height are precisely the opposite ("WTF is your saddle doing up there"). Works for me though.
    [SIZE=-1]
    147866.JPG

[/SIZE]

I like it but the comment about the saddle must be the understatement of the year, words escape me on how to describe how ridiculously high that looks but if it works for you, keep to it.

How in the name of jaysus do you reach those handle bars??? I'm jealous of your flexibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

That bike is a travesty :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

I dont use earphones when cycling (not been cycling that long mind) for the very fact that I believe they are more dangerous than NOT wearing them - anything that makes me feel more safe I will do, high viz jacket, lights, reflectors, helmet. I tend to avoid the things that I perceive to increase my chances of accident - such as earphones.

I find that wind noise without my earphones in impairs my hearing. Putting in the earphones actually increases the range of things I can hear*.

*AC/DC, Metallica, Motorhead etc...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭dquirke1

Well guys, Just back from an 80k spin sans helmet and with the headphones in.
    I'm amazed to say that I wasn't even killed once.:eek:
    +1 for common sense.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,908 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

How in the name of jaysus do you reach those handle bars???

Mr._Tickle.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

How in the name of jaysus do you reach those handle bars??? I'm jealous of your flexibility.
    tomasrojo wrote: »
    Mr._Tickle.jpg

Maybe K_H_L is more on topic than we realised, and he actually uses the long arm of the law?

Lads, thanks for the feedback.
    CramCycle wrote: »
    I like it but the comment about the saddle must be the understatement of the year, words escape me on how to describe how ridiculously high that looks but if it works for you, keep to it.

Other cyclists have commented about the saddle height only when they've seen the bike on its own. On club spins with roadies, I'm informed that I appear to be comfortable and at ease on the bike. That's how it feels too. It used to be higher, BTW.

tomasrojo has me rumbled...

Mr._Tickle.jpg

As you will observe, Mr. Tickle is quite correctly NOT wearing any headphones.
    That bike is a travesty :P

Well, that's a new compliment to add to the list. However, compared to a "normal" bike, it has numerous advantages. For starters, who in their right mind would ever want to steal it?

Personally I love the look of the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

Confirmed.

I wish I was a newb, then I wouldn't need to work harder with each passing year to hang on to my fitness. Still, musn't grumble, since I've cycled to work for 22 of the past 27 years and enjoy it as much as ever.

[SIZE=-1]
    147866.JPG

[/SIZE]

ah the wasp. before ye start slaggin him for his anti-euro mirrors and the fact that the bike looks like its weighed in stones rather than grams ye should try to keep up with him on the N11.

Ive tried cycling without the headphones the last couple of evenings and I can't say that it makes me feel more aware than having the tunes on. I suppose i listen to talk radio mostly if not random mp3s, not particularly loud and I dont wear in-ear phones so it really never affects me adversely as regards hearing traffic or being able to talk to other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

@Keep_Her_Lit, You appear to have taken Laurent Fignon's 1984 TT bike and pimped it up a bit:

1964095.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

TheBunk1 wrote: »
    I'd be pretty sure you're not going to hear anymore about this but wtf were you doing cycling around with you're headphones on? Accident waiting to happen

I wear headphones all the time. Can always still hear traffic, even with the ipod turned up full volume I can hear all the traffic around me. I've always had freakishly good hearing though.

Must try the giving a friendly wave when people beep thing. A wave and a big grin would be class, must start pissing drivers off so I can get beeped at, I never get beeped at. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I never get beeped at. :(

You do, but you don't actually hear it :P

poochiem wrote: »
    ah the wasp. before ye start slaggin him for his anti-euro mirrors and the fact that the bike looks like its weighed in stones rather than grams ye should try to keep up with him on the N11.

Aaarghh! I'll probably get dropped every morning for the rest of this month now!
    Ive tried cycling without the headphones the last couple of evenings and I can't say that it makes me feel more aware than having the tunes on. I suppose i listen to talk radio mostly if not random mp3s, not particularly loud and I dont wear in-ear phones so it really never affects me adversely as regards hearing traffic or being able to talk to other road users.

You know, with that groovy jazz you listen to, maybe the oul' headphones aren't such a bad idea after all ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭whoopdedoo

Cabaal wrote: »
    If I was told that I honestly just wouldn't be abe to stop laughing at them, :pac:

that happened to me one time when a garda stopped me and gave me the 3rd degree over not having a light on me bike! I will admit it was back in the mid naughties just b4 the flashy lights really took off. I'm more careful today but at the time I cracked up at the thought