Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your news sources?

• 15-03-2011 10:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭

Where do you get updated on the world? Do you watch the news on TV? Have a website you check (or a few)? Get it all from Boards? Word of mouth? Radio? Make it up as you go along? And what news do you refuse to trust?

I use Digg and Reddit for the most part, as I love social news projects, but I also follow BBC, Spiegel and Reuters.. and, admittedly, Boards for my Irish news :pac: Will stream Al Jazeera if there's something heavy going on in the East, but otherwise don't watch much news and prefer it written down.

I always steer clear of Daily Mail, Fox News and other typically hysteria-ridden and liberal-with-the-truth sources, other than for entertainment purposes I suppose. Also tend not to believe much 'til I've cross-checked on different sources, but there's only so much you can do, every source has some bias.

So, where do you get your news? And what's your bias?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Boards.ie

If there is something worth knowing about there will surely be a thread in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Fox news, because it's fair and honest.

i think i just threw up in my mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

BBC News online and BBC News 24. They're easily the most reliable and least biased of the major news stations around.

I'd stay well clear of right-wing papers (and tabloids).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Rte/Sky/BBC/Euronews/FRANCE 24/CNN/Russia Today/Al J-roc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Al Jazeera on TV,The Guardian and Washington Post for world stuff (and Charlie Brooker!)
    Evening Herald,Boards and RTE for Irish stuff aswell as the Echo,our weekly local paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

liah wrote: »
    Where do you get updated on the world? Do you watch the news on TV? Have a website you check (or a few)? Get it all from Boards? Word of mouth? Radio? Make it up as you go along? And what news do you refuse to trust?

I use Digg and Reddit for the most part, as I love social news projects, but I also follow BBC, Spiegel and Reuters.. and, admittedly, Boards for my Irish news :pac: Will stream Al Jazeera if there's something heavy going on in the East, but otherwise don't watch much news and prefer it written down.

I always steer clear of Daily Mail, Fox News and other typically hysteria-ridden and liberal-with-the-truth sources, other than for entertainment purposes I suppose. Also tend not to believe much 'til I've cross-checked on different sources, but there's only so much you can do, every source has some bias.

So, where do you get your news? And what's your bias?

:eek::eek: newspaper of choice for AH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

FOX News, Daily Mail and Sindo...breakfast, dinner and tea.;..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Weekly World News.

Did you know there was a Bat Boy Found in a Cave? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

The Onion. If I'm going to be lied to and fed opinion, it may as well be funny :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

I try to steer clear, if its that bad and worth hearing Ill hear about it anyway, folks LOVE the news :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Weekly World News.

Did you know there was a Bat Boy Found in a Cave? :eek:

I swear I saw that kid on the cover about 10 years ago. Maybe he's immortal, too :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Reddit :)

Saila wrote: »
    I try to steer clear, if its that bad and worth hearing Ill hear about it anyway, folks LOVE the news :rolleyes:

Totally agree, why would anybody possibly want to educate themselves on what's happening in the world around them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Mainly Sky News and Fox News. I use the Irish times website for my token fill of center-left reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

I just make it up myself, more fun that way. Say, did you hear they've invented sentient marshmallow?

Also watch Glen Beck for the truth on what's going on in American politics.

I swear I saw that kid on the cover about 10 years ago. Maybe he's immortal, too :eek:

Nah that's his grandson by now I'd say.

I remember reading about Batboy when I was like 6.... I had an odd choice of reading as a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Sky and CNN

Do newspapers publish more often than that?

Pauleta wrote: »
    Mainly Sky News and Fox News. I use the Irish times website for my token fill of center-left reporting.

It's fair and balanced.

If you disagree you're most likely a cross-dressing communist-terrorist supporter with connections to the North Koreans.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    It's fair and balanced.

If you disagree you're most likely a cross-dressing communist-terrorist supporter with connections to the North Koreans.

And you hate freedom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Read the examiner thrice a week, watch France 24 and Channel 4 (UK) news. Always turn over news when it comes on the radio. When will they respect the public and put a watershed on certain news articles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Bykobap

95% of news are politically assorted, corporate ****e/propaganda, which corrupts my scenic ignorance.
    Feck that.
    I comb my own news.

Pascal Sheehy...
    RTE News...
    Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Anne Doyle in bed every night. :cool:

/day dream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

RTE, sky news, cnn, daily mail.

After Hours and joe duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I use Digg and Reddit for the most part,

Digg went arseways after the redesign, half the articles are either spam, advertising or some just bollox that was dug by groups of spammers for political reasons

Ah, so you're one of the whiny little bolloxes who finally left. :p The place is better without ye lot tbh, it was a freaking website redesign and everyone threw a tantrum as if they'd murdered a baby. Digg is still fine and is regaining its userbase, and frankly, the quality of discussion has gone up now that all the kids left. If you ignore the spam-- I'll give you that one. There really isn't much, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

On an average day I will check:
    BBC, Irish Times, Spiegel, Breakingnews.ie, Guardian, Independent(ugh!), swissinfo, After Hours, Nein 11 and Twitter amongst others.

Read: 20 Minutes(Metro type paper),Tages Anzeiger, NZZ and Blick am Abend.

Watch: RTE Player and BBC world.

Listen to: The Right Hook/Last Word.

Have to come up with new topics and articles for conversation classes everyday. That and the fact that I like to know what's going on!

Some sources are better than others....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

I just make up the news as I go along. "All's well, Ireland is ok! There's no major catastrophe happening right now! And here's Tom with the weather" "Thanks, Tom! It'll be sunny forever!"

BBC and Reuters, mainly only check online when I'm at work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Ah, so you're one of the whiny little bolloxes who finally left. :p The place is better without ye lot tbh, it was a freaking website redesign and everyone threw a tantrum as if they'd murdered a baby. Digg is still fine and is regaining its userbase, and frankly, the quality of discussion has gone up now that all the kids left. If you ignore the spam-- I'll give you that one. There really isn't much, though.

Ah the comments are a shadow of their former selves, they used to be a goldmine of intelligent wit, now the most dugg comments are just general observations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Chinasmack.com its great. its like the Chinese daily mail and walking.t has comments by Chinese too. still a lot of hard feeling towards what the Japanese did during the war

Rte website, rte news on tv, boards and I usually put on sky news for following stories like the earth quake in japan etc.

I also buy the Irish independent and sunday independent from time to time and always read them when I'm up home as the independent is bought everyday.

Tbh I have much more interest in sports news so mostly I watch skysports news and read various different sports related sites, sports section of boards being one of the main ones.

Ah the comments are a shadow of their former selves, they used to be a goldmine of intelligent wit, now the most dugg comments are just general observations

Dunno about that, really, had my account on Digg since '06 and I find it a bit nicer now that all the temper-tantrum, immature, my-way-or-the-highway types (seriously, that redesign temper tantrum was one of the most inane, ridiculous things I've seen online, right up there with the Facebook redesign tantrums that come about every year or two..) left and people who actually care are left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

print

Indo, Irish Times

BBC, thisislondon

TV

BBC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Generalissimo

BBC website, CNN website (and Broadsheet.ie :P). I only rarely check RTE.ie for Irish news and almost never read a newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

BBC News
    Sky News
    LBC (London News station)

Newstalk - Right Hook

London Times
    London Evening Standard/ This is London

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭murphthesmurf

Skynews is a broadcastable version of the daily star,a complete pile of w**k. Celebrity news reporters who wouldn't know a news story if you slappd em round the face with the Gaurdian. Far too sensationalistic, just trying to grab as many viewers as poss ready to show you some adverts.
    BBC is good, but not as good as it once was. Channel 4 news at 7pm is really good, they ask the questions and don't take no for an answer. Newsnight on the BBC is also good. Been watching NHK world the last few days for news on Japan. Its an english speaking japanese broadcast, not bad, but once earthquake thing has blew over prob wont watch it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭MASTER...of the bra

Im surprised no one said Google News.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

usually keep an open mind on most news storys. Would never take papers as gospel as ive read some stories that have been aload of bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Alive magazine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭lifelongnoob

google.com click on news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

My main online news sources include BBC, Irish Times, Guardian, Reuters, Independent(.co.uk). I've increasingly found myself accidentally happening upon big breaking stories on Twitter, which can be a bit disconcerting sometimes.

If I want to wind myself up or shed some of my ever-decreasing faith in humanity, I find that a quick browse through the Daily Mail website usually does the trick. Their columnists (Richard Littlejohn, Melanie Philips, Jan Moir, etc) rarely disappoint, persistently outcunting each other with the worst kind of bilious, right-wing crap this side of the average Youtube comment.

I don't watch a lot of rolling TV news, largely because it's so repetitive, obsessed with dramatic imagery and bereft of any kind of worthwhile analysis. BBC News 24 is probably the best of a bad lot; a bit like Sky News, but without the twats.

As for radio news, nothing beats BBC World Service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Fox News, Sky News, Star, Herlad,Examiner, Google News, Boards.ie,.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

TPD wrote: »
    The Onion. If I'm going to be lied to and fed opinion, it may as well be funny :pac:
    Can you expand on this... the stench of shit is beginning to overwhelm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

News is overrated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Cool_CM wrote: »
    On an average day I will check:
    BBC, Irish Times, Spiegel, Breakingnews.ie, Guardian, Independent(ugh!), swissinfo, After Hours, Nein 11 and Twitter amongst others.

Read: 20 Minutes(Metro type paper),Tages Anzeiger, NZZ and Blick am Abend.

Watch: RTE Player and BBC world.

Listen to: The Right Hook/Last Word.

Have to come up with new topics and articles for conversation classes everyday. That and the fact that I like to know what's going on!

Some sources are better than others....

I'm surprised you actually have time for conversation classes!

I get my news from BBC History magazine. Grant has just taken Vicksburg! Huzzah!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I don't search for news really or try to find it/seek it out, but if I hear of something, I'll normally find my way to The Guardian in print or more usually online.

Maybe BBC or whichever links I find around from then on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭s3129

Inside Soap

When will Ronnie give the baby back.?!?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

I usually check BBC, CNN, NY Times, Irish Times, MSNBC, Chicago Tribune and The Washington Post.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Frank Sinatra.