Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampers!

• 15-03-2011 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

Just had the extreme pleasure this morning of cutting a clamp, belonging to NCPS, off my front tyre.

Story is I have a permit for parking in a private apartment complex, only got the permit out of the post box on Sunday, forgot to put it on and by this morning the clamp was on the wheel.

They said they clamped it as it didn't show the permit on the vehicle. They obviously knew I have a permit to park there all the same.

Just wondering what form of retribution may befall me by this crowd? I have the clamp in the boot of the car, obviously I'll have to take some photographs for Facebook of the clamp my hands as if I were cusping the Sam Maguire trophy but they can have it back tonight when I get home.

My plan is to leave the clamp beside the car in the same spot, take a few photographs of the car properly parked and displaying the permit I just received and leave the clamper a nice letter saying if anyone tampers with the car they will be reported to the Guards.

Anybody got a similar story or any idea what may happen?

They'll have to find me first whatever happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

They obviously knew I have a permit to park there all the same.

How do they obviously know this if you've only just got it and hadn't actually displayed it with the vehicle?
    Just wondering what form of retribution may befall me by this crowd?

Have you damaged the clamp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Just had the extreme pleasure this morning of cutting a clamp, belonging to NCPS, off my front tyre.

Story is I have a permit for parking in a private apartment complex, only got the permit out of the post box on Sunday, forgot to put it on and by this morning the clamp was on the wheel.

They said they clamped it as it didn't show the permit on the vehicle. They obviously knew I have a permit to park there all the same.

Just wondering what form of retribution may befall me by this crowd? I have the clamp in the boot of the car, obviously I'll have to take some photographs for Facebook of the clamp my hands as if I were cusping the Sam Maguire trophy but they can have it back tonight when I get home.

My plan is to leave the clamp beside the car in the same spot, take a few photographs of the car properly parked and displaying the permit I just received and leave the clamper a nice letter saying if anyone tampers with the car they will be reported to the Guards.

Anybody got a similar story or any idea what may happen?

They'll have to find me first whatever happens!

Throw the clamp in the bin, they cant prove anything with no evidence. The only time we hear of people getting retribution is when the clamper returns mid cut. So youve passed that stage now dispose of the evidence.

they tend not to touch your car again when they find you have removed a clamp. Of course they know you took it off but whos to say it was you...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

They'll try to make you pay for the clamp.

Or in AH world they'll chose from the following:

kick you in the face/blast you in the face/do your mother/tell you pics or gtfo/send you back where you came from/take your job/won't be racist but..../tits on her/wahey!/ATM Machine/Gay marriage yay or nay/Fianna Fail should be x y or z/lock up the bankers/scumbags stole my skateboard/bouncers are thugs/toilet behaviour/annoying office behaviour/etc. etc. etc. ad nauseum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

i got clamped once, horrible, I swear i felt like shooting them, kunts, worse than the bankers, u should buy ur own clamp, follow the fookers home and clamp their car and leave ur mobile...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

AnonoBoy wrote: »

kick you in the face/blast you in the face/do your mother/tell you pics or gtfo/send you back where you came from/take your job/won't be racist but..../tits on her/wahey!/ATM Machine/Gay marriage yay or nay/Fianna Fail should be x y or z/lock up the bankers/scumbags stole my skateboard/bouncers are thugs/toilet behaviour/annoying office behaviour/etc. etc. etc. ad nauseum.

You forgot the fact that its all religions fault

AnonoBoy wrote: »

What Clamp?

came out to the car this morning and drove off as normal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

finding you will not be to difficult if the car is registered in your name and I would say you will be having a visit from the gardai. someone will have to pay for the damage to the clamp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

The clamper took a picture of your car, your reg and the clamp on the car. If they want to take it further they can sue you for criminal damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

listermint wrote: »
    What Clamp?

came out to the car this morning and drove off as normal

If you're going to use a sockpuppet account, might be best to keep using it on the thread :P

assuming you are the OP here

hondasam wrote: »
    finding you will not be to difficult if the car is registered in your name and I would say you will be having a visit from the gardai. someone will have to pay for the damage to the clamp.

Again,

WHAT CLAMP?? There is no clamp. this company can do nothing at all what so ever. he has the clamp no one seen him. so he should just ditch it and move on.

They are not a legit business and they run their operations in shady ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Melion wrote: »
    The clamper took a picture of your car, your reg and the clamp on the car. If they want to take it further they can sue you for criminal damage.

they'll need proof that you actually did it though, anyone could have cut it off.

just say you came back and it was gone, let them prove otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

That's all well and good, but you didn't have a valid permit displayed when the clamp was placed on your vehicle.

If you're going to use a sockpuppet account, might be best to keep using it on the thread :P

assuming you are the OP here

Eh no sorry buddy, you clearly dont get humour and havent read MY posts.

I am not the OP, read the thread before making crazy accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mightysurveyor

listermint I hope your right!

I'll keep cutting as long as they keep clamping. I'm not averse to using a consaw so I only damaged the chain, the lock is A1 and left on the ground for them.

I'll throw the clamp against the wall outside the apartment and leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Or you could have waited till they came round, and they would have seen by the date on the permit that you had permission to park there instead of comin to AH to get a pat on the back for damaging private property on a company that were doing a job?

KUNTS!

listermint I hope your right!

I'll keep cutting as long as they keep clamping. I'm not averse to using a consaw so I only damaged the chain, the lock is A1 and left on the ground for them.

I'll throw the clamp against the wall outside the apartment and leave it there.

Well ideally move it away from your car as far as you can. Out of sight is better. They have no authority to fine you, they can call the guards if they wish but with no evidence of you being aware of a clamp or removing the clamp or even a damaged clamp they can not pursue it. The guards are aware the companys are aware. Thats why you never see these cases in court.

At best the clampers need to catch you red handed then the guards can actually do you for damage.

Again,

WHAT CLAMP?? There is no clamp. this company can do nothing at all what so ever. he has the clamp no one seen him. so he should just ditch it and move on.

They are not a legit business and they run their operations in shady ways.

well if you know the answer why are you asking us at all.

as you said move on !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

OP take the fifth. Say nothing. If/when a Garda arrives, be polite but say nothing.

I 'spect the Gardai will onlly pursue you if you admit to something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

hondasam wrote: »
    well if you know the answer why are you asking us at all.

as you said move on !

Okay I think your actually lost.

Il leave you to it. Its called humour, this is after hours isnt it ?

have you been here before ?:confused:

Okay I think your actually lost.

Il leave you to it. Its called humour, this is after hours isnt it ?

have you been here before ?:confused:

I prefer to play with adults and not a child ;)

this is my first time in AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

The clampers aren't going to pursue anything. They might threaten this, that or the other but, as you know, clamping is still illegal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mightysurveyor

Thanks people.

Can't wait to see if there is any reaction. We all know a district court judge wouldn't entertain this in a courthouse and I'd be suprised if the Guards got involved too as there is zero evidence bar a few photographs they took but there is still the obvious lack of evidence that links me to removing the clamp and causing criminal damage so best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I'd imagine at the very least they will refuse to renew your parking permit next year until you pay for the damage to their clamp.

Just out of interest OP, did you ring them asking them to remove the clamp after you had received the permit or just go straight to cutting it? I would have thought they would be happy to remove it if you had already paid, but you never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

these jobsworths are not legal, I'v cut a clamp off my car before and just threw it in the bin at my parents house. They have no lawfull grounds to clamp your car, loosers..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Clamping is illegal by private companies like the one you mentioned. I wouldn't worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Einstein wrote: »
    Or you could have waited till they came round, and they would have seen by the date on the permit that you had permission to park there instead of comin to AH to get a pat on the back for damaging private property on a company that were doing a job?

Then they shouldn't have attached their private property to the OP's car

If someone attaches a piece of metal to my car or throws it in my back yard they obviously don't want to keep it anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Ok im going to sound stupid here, but how is it illegal to clamp? I hate them by the way haha just curious.

Also if you did remove it OP, dump it somewhere it wont be found, your finger prints will be on it haha cant say you never saw it then :pac:

Fair play to you, il be cutting it off to if i ever get clamped!

these jobsworths are not legal, I'v cut a clamp off my car before and just threw it in the bin at my parents house. They have no lawfull grounds to clamp your car, loosers..

those Dublin kunts in the vans though are employed by some government dept or County Council, do that to one of those and go directly to jail without passing Go...........kunts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

cosmicfart wrote: »
    i got clamped once, horrible, I swear i felt like shooting them, kunts, worse than the bankers, u should buy ur own clamp, follow the fookers home and clamp their car and leave ur mobile...

Where were you parked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Story is I have a permit for parking in a private apartment complex

Are they allowed do that if it's private property???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Apanachi wrote: »

More than likely they have been retained by the management company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

IANAL but my understanding is that they are employed to operate at the behest of the management company who operate under orders from the residents board. So if you didn't want clampers operating in your apartment block you could table a motion to shut them down at the next residents meeting. Obviously then you may have to deal with people stealing your space.

Generally it seems that apartments come with a parking space and landlords tend to lease them separately back to the management company who in turn lease out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Rather than damaging the clamp, try this instead.

Where were you parked?

in a disabled parking space but thats besides the point, the was loads of these spaces in a row and not one of them was in use!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

stimpson wrote: »
    Rather than damaging the clamp, try this instead.

I'd rather damage the clamp for satisfaction value, to the extent that nobody would ever think it was a clamp in a previous life

in a disabled parking space but thats besides the point, the was loads of these spaces in a row and not one of them was in use!

lol

Sure the law only applies when it suits, right?

Personally i love it when people like yourself get clamped.

lol

Sure the law only applies when it suits, right?

Personally i love it when people like yourself get clamped.

personally this LAW can go fook itself. The clampers that is. I knew I had made a mistake parking in a disabled zone but there was non anywere else and I had to leave my car.

Okay.

So despite being fully aware that you had "made a mistake" you still think that the clampers, unaware of your enormous urgency and the mighty trek you had put in to find alternative parking should have just walked on by.

To be honest, they were working off the fact that some **** had parked in a handicapped spot and deserved a clamping.

OK, so let me get this straight, not only were you parking without a valid permit on display, but also in a disabled spot????

I'm sure most readers will excuse me for not feeling sympathetic....

(unless of course you ARE disabled and have a disabled parking badge - but I get the impression this isn't the case...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Parking in a disabled spot is very selfish.

They are only doing a job. OP, if you came back from work and someone with no permit was in your spot, you'd wish a clamp on every wheel of their car. They made a mistake, ringing them would have been the decent thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Can someone please provide a link to show how it's illegal for a company to clamp your car?

Parking in a disabled spot is very selfish.

at 8 o clock at night? with 4 or 5 other same spots available?! Selfish? get over yourself

OK, so let me get this straight, not only were you parking without a valid permit on display, but also in a disabled spot????

I'm sure most readers will excuse me for not feeling sympathetic....

(unless of course you ARE disabled and have a disabled parking badge - but I get the impression this isn't the case...)

see above post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

How on earth did you remove the clamp?

at 8 o clock at night? with 4 or 5 other same spots available?! Selfish? get over yourself

8 o clock at night and you couldn't find parking somewhere?

A tenuous truth i think, possibly prone to falling apart upon further inspection.

see above post

OK sorry to the OP, got the two situations mixed up, still have no sympathy for non-disabled people parking in disabled spots (just be glad you're able to walk)

8 o clock at night and you couldn't find parking somewhere?

A tenuous truth i think, possibly prone to falling apart upon further inspection.

inspect away.

It was near O Connell bridge, dont know the name of the st? and i was on my way to the cinema and yes I 'paid' for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Couldn't walk a bit further and leave the disabled spots free? Get over yourself.