Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Japan declines Irish offer of aid

• 15-03-2011 6:22am
    Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭

The Japanese government has declined an offer of Irish aid for those displaced by last Friday’s earthquake and resultant tsunami, Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs Eamon Gilmore has said.
    Mr Gilmore said Japan was “probably the best-prepared country in the world for a major disaster”, and the Japanese Red Cross mobilised 62 response teams in the hours immediately following the earthquake.
    It had nearly 400 doctors, nurses and support staff providing assistance in affected areas through mobile medical clinics.
    However, Mr Gilmore said he had asked the Irish Ambassador in Tokyo John Neary to continue to keep in touch with the relief operation.
    The Irish Aid Rapid Response Corps and Malaysia-based emergency stockpiles would remain available as the relief effort wore on, he said. The emergency stockpiles include temporary shelters, blankets, and water and sanitation equipment.
    The Japanese have distributed more then 30,000 blankets to people who were evacuated before the tsunami struck and are now housed in temporary shelters set up in schools and public buildings.
    “The Japanese Red Cross is working with the communities most-affected by the disaster and are providing vital emergency relief. Our embassy in Tokyo is in contact with them and with the Japanese government and we have offered our assistance."
    "We are also in contact with the United Nations, who have sent a disaster assessment team to Japan” said the Tánaiste.
    The mayor of Killarney, Donal Grady, today called on the Government to lead the way and offer shelter and refuge to Japanese earthquake victims.

Mr Grady said the southern region had a long association with Japanese companies who had been very good employers. “There are plenty of empty houses here. We should lead the way,” he said.
    Astellas, a pharmaceutical company based in Killorglin whose headquarters are in Tokyo, announced yesterday it was donating donated €1 million to the Japanese earthquake relief fund. It is also donating medicines.

Article here

Its a sad state of affairs when even the Japanese dont want our help right now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

Article here

Its a sad state of affairs when even the Japanese dont want our help right now...

Why are they refusing help?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Personally, i would have thought Beggars cant be choosers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I'd say it's because they're not beggars. They already have teams from dozens of nations on the ground, as well as 100 000 of their own troops. They probably have all the help they need at the moment, and accepting more might just add to confusion. It's no doubt a logistical nightmare trying to co-ordinate everything as it is, without having to look after and co-ordinate aid and teams from dozens of small nations like Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

they refused plenty of aid during the kobe earthquake too. The Japanese are very proud people. Not that I would call it stubborness, they are accepting the help they need, but for the most part they are just very well prepared when you consider all things.

we've also seen disaster scenarios where people send irresponsible aid, such as blankets that just end up discarded because they arent needed, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

I remember after 9/11 people not just in New York but all around the world rushed to give blood as they understandably thought it would be needed. But it wasn't and clinics had to turn people away simply because they couldn't cope with the volume.

Apparently in Japan they need teams who can be totally self sufficient and can speak Japanese. I'm sure the Japanese Government and Red Cross are doing all they can to cope with the logistical nightmare that has been thrust upon them.

We did the right thing by offering our help and the fact it was for the moment turned down shouldn't be taken as an insult. And I really hope it isn't used for a predictable dig like "ah look how crap we Irish are, even disaster victims don't want anything to do with us."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I remember after 9/11 people not just in New York but all around the world rushed to give blood as they understandably thought it would be needed. But it wasn't and clinics had to turn people away simply because they couldn't cope with the volume.

Apparently in Japan they need teams who can be totally self sufficient and can speak Japanese. I'm sure the Japanese Government and Red Cross are doing all they can to cope with the logistical nightmare that has been thrust upon them.

We did the right thing by offering our help and the fact it was for the moment turned down shouldn't be taken as an insult. And I really hope it isn't used for a predictable dig like "ah look how crap we Irish are, even disaster victims don't want anything to do with us."

I'd say it's mostly the language barrier. At least with the 11/09 fiasco, it was a place with English as its first language. While a lot of people might speak Irish, not a lot speak Japanese.

That and the Japanese are suprisingly proud (kamikaze fighters anyone?), I think they'd sooner starve than except defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Am I the only one thinks quoting the mayor of Killarney is really bizarre?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

I'd say it's mostly the language barrier. At least with the 11/09 fiasco, it was a place with English as its first language. While a lot of people might speak Irish, not a lot speak Japanese.

That and the Japanese are suprisingly proud (kamikaze fighters anyone?), I think they'd sooner starve than except defeat.

Some of the older rural Japanese in particular are very nationalistic and quite simply don't always take kindly to foreigners but I'm unsure if their pride would extend to a time of crisis like now.

I don't think it's really a "foreigner" thing. I think it's just "we're proud, we can take care of ourselves but we will take the help we need". To them, they have the help they need. I'm sure if they thought they needed more help, they would have accepted. Or probably asked a better country. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Phony Scott

:facepalm: Pity you couldn't have posted this up a little earlier OP :o

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I think its a combination of having been prepared and being proud. Apparently Japan has been expecting the "big one" for years and everything they did when building and upgrading infrastructure was considered when planning for it. The fact that it was followed by the tsunami is what seems to have caught them off guard..

However if they feel they can handle it, then who are we to judge. I just hope that if they do need outside help they don't leave it too late to ask and have their people needlessly suffering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭lifelongnoob

maybe we should hire some Japs to come run our country...they cant do much worse than the clowns we have in gov here do.

if they can prevent this nuclear meltdown and bounce back it shows they are doing something right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

What are the specifics of the Irish offer of aid.
    I wouldn't be surprised if it amounted to little more than "ahh jaysus lads is there anything we can do?".
    And quite frankly, there is SFA that we can do for them right now.
    The real aid will be required in the coming months, not days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Munurty

maybe we should hire some Japs to come run our country...they cant do much worse than the clowns we have in gov here do.

They don't have a good track record either. The lost decades refers to almost 20 years of stagnation in the economy with barley any economic growth. Not something we would like to emulate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

Zillah wrote: »

And offering Japanese quake victims houses in Killarney? :confused: that strikes me as one of the most half-baked ideas I've ever heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭dolphin city

yes, what a bizarre offer - he'd be better off trying to get needy people in Ireland into those houses to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

They're not beggars though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

if they can prevent this nuclear meltdown and bounce back it shows they are doing something right.

Japs is an offensive term; can we not use it, thanks.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And offering Japanese quake victims houses in Killarney? :confused: that strikes me as one of the most half-baked ideas I've ever heard.
    Cue Kerryman joke... Actually that's something that has oft puzzled me. Why when damn near every Kerry chap or chappess I've met has been sound, do they regularly elect the greatest shower of amadans you could possibly meet? I mean offering ghost estate houses to Japanese refugees? You couldn't make this shít up. Comedy gold.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Zillah wrote: »

O'Gradys mother is O'Grady nee nakamura

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Munurty wrote: »
    They don't have a good track record either. The lost decades refers to almost 20 years of stagnation in the economy with barley any economic growth. Not something we would like to emulate.

Most of the reason for Japan's economy never reaching the huge levels it should of is because they need to keep rebuilding half the country constantly, and with the global recession they have seen a huge plummet in the amount of electronic goods sales.

In terms of actual business though, it is a fantastic country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

old hippy wrote: »
    Japs is an offensive term; can we not use it, thanks.

Is it really (genuine question)? I use it a lot but never mean any offense...

Why are some people getting offended about our help being refused? It should be:

Ireland: Do ye need our help?

Japan: No thanks!

Ireland: No problem, best of wishes in this tough time and our thoughts are with you all.

And NOT:

Ireland: Do ye need our help?

Japan: No thanks!

Ireland: Grand so, F**K off...

Ev84 wrote: »
    Is it really (genuine question)? I use it a lot but never mean any offense...

Yeah for the most part it is used like that in America and the like.

TBH, I wouldn't see a problem but can see why you would be offended. It's basically "I know you're from Japan and the correct term is Japanese but I'll use "Jap" instead because I'm lazy".

Not saying that's why it's offensive, just my take on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Wibbs wrote: »
    Cue Kerryman joke... Actually that's something that has oft puzzled me. Why when damn near every Kerry chap or chappess I've met has been sound, do they regularly elect the greatest shower of amadans you could possibly meet? I mean offering ghost estate houses to Japanese refugees? You couldn't make this shít up. Comedy gold.

South Kerry boggers are a different breed entirely to the people of North, West and East Kerry. It should be a separate county called Skerry so that the rest of the Kerry folks don't get tarred with the same brush.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Declining any aid offering is probably more to do with the Japanese psyche, acceptance of any external aid might be construed as a loss of face in the moment of need.

I fully respect their resilient national pride, pity we didn't have more of it here in Ireland.

Boardies can donate through Irish Japanese Association (www.ija.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Apparently they have racks they can leave their shovels in so Irish trained lads would have nothing to prop up over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Declining any aid offering is probably more to do with the Japanese psyche, acceptance of any external aid might be construed as a loss of face in the moment of need.

I fully respect their resilient national pride, pity we didn't have more of it here in Ireland.

Boardies can donate through Irish Japanese Association (www.ija.ie)

Absolutely, its etiquette.
    We offer,
    They politely decline.

Bow, step back and turn away.
    Obligations fulfilled all around.
    Though declined, our offer is noted and appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

How should Ireland retaliate against this grave insult?

Yeah for the most part it is used like that in America and the like.

TBH, I wouldn't see a problem but can see why you would be offended. It's basically "I know you're from Japan and the correct term is Japanese but I'll use "Jap" instead because I'm lazy".

Not saying that's why it's offensive, just my take on it.

Ya i suppose but does that mean we Insult Australians when we say "Aussies"? Or Arabians, "Arabs"? I wouldn't really deem "Japs" for Japenese as offensive...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭fikay

All this stuff about Japanese pride is a little hard to stomach when the reason for declining aid has already been given above:
    Einhard wrote: »
    I'd say it's because they're not beggars. They already have teams from dozens of nations on the ground, as well as 100 000 of their own troops. They probably have all the help they need at the moment, and accepting more might just add to confusion. It's no doubt a logistical nightmare trying to co-ordinate everything as it is, without having to look after and co-ordinate aid and teams from dozens of small nations like Ireland.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    South Kerry boggers are a different breed entirely to the people of North, West and East Kerry. It should be a separate county called Skerry so that the rest of the Kerry folks don't get tarred with the same brush.:(
    Bit of a contradiction there bud.

Ya i suppose but does that mean we Insult Australians when we say "Aussies"? Or Arabians, "Arabs"? I wouldn't really deem "Japs" for Japenese as offensive...

It stems from WW2, when they would be call "Jap". There's a somewhat anti-Japanese cartoon where the line "Mr Jap you're a sap" is spoken, it was made around WW2 as a morale booster I guess in America.

I see your point but unless you change history it's still offensive to a point, though if you do change history, can you make it so we can't say "Brit" either, term annoys me and I'm Irish. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What are the specifics of the Irish offer of aid.

Free cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

The blanket Irish bank guarantee was very Japanese, they did it for their big corporations in the early 90s and are still lugging that load. We could actually do with less national pride and more civic responsibility.

ejmaztec wrote: »

South Kerry Boggers is an offensive term - can you not use it please :D

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Free cheese.

Honestly, I want that fu*king aid for me, the Irish person! If the Japanese don't like it, I want it! :mad:

yes, it's typical Irish lickarsism - listen ye lot of irish apes - ye will NEVER move into those ghost estates - ye can all FECK OFF. Hey japanese - lovely houses here for ye to move into lads c'mon over.

It stems from WW2, when they would be call "Jap". There's a somewhat anti-Japanese cartoon where the line "Mr Jap you're a sap" is spoken, it was made around WW2 as a morale booster I guess in America.

Learn something new everyday! Guess i'll stop saying Jap so! I bet the Americans weren't calling them saps when they had to go head to head with them... Man, Them Japenese were savage in that war... Brave to their deaths, Showed no fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

"At least they'd make the trains run on time".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Blut2

How should Ireland retaliate against this grave insult?

With a surprise air attack against their nearest naval base.

yes, it's typical Irish lickarsism - listen ye lot of irish apes - ye will NEVER move into those ghost estates - ye can all FECK OFF. Hey japanese - lovely houses here for ye to move into lads c'mon over.

You um... what?! What the Hell are you on about?
    Learn something new everyday! Guess i'll stop saying Jap so! I bet the Americans weren't calling them saps when they had to go head to head with them... Man, Them Japenese were savage in that war... Brave to their deaths, Showed no fear.

Wasn't just that they were brave, they were just very stoic, hence the refusal of aid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭daelight

This thread is a Zoo. Shut it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Realtine

To be fair I read yesterday that over 200 countries had offered aid to Japan but they had accepted help from only 19 countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

they know we need it more though. see the folk in haiti still scavenging amidst corpse ridden ruins; still living in tents. pathetically reliant on outside help - on america. who it seems they can't depend on anyhow - thats not the way to go. japan practicing / preaching self sufficiency is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 CantPushThis

Wife is in Japan at moment. I think only taking Aid workers that have own ships things like that. Even telling own people not to go up. Beacuse lack of accommodation for people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

It's the connotations that go with it. Aussie and Arabs are not usually used in a negative context.

As somebody else has pointed out the offensive term originates from the Pacific War and also the internment of US citizens of Japanese descent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 CantPushThis

I think most important thing for people is getting supplies of food and water. Frontline on Rte had Japanese guy who set up Japanese Earthquake Appeal. http://www.ija.ie/index.php?mact=News,cntnt01,detail,0&cntnt01articleid=79&cntnt01origid=15&cntnt01returnid=88
    So if anyone could help out it would be great. Thank You

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Einhard wrote: »
    They probably have all the help they need at the moment

Oh gimme a break. Anyone who has seen the pictures of utter devastation in the country knows the gargantuan scale of the disaster. And whereas I do admire the resilient attitude of the Japanese, I think refusing help in this early stage of emergency smacks of righteousness. Of course the logistics of coordinating response teams would be difficult but that's what delegation is for. People are starving, drowning, dying. Help in any form is paramount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

“You Irish, you very good at software”

I think they took umbrage at their cousins being slagged...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

The reason why they declined our aid is because they have an exact knowledge of the type of aid/personeel they require for the current situation. They are accepting aid in areas that it is required and declining in areas where they are ok (adequate staff/knowledge).

From what I hear, they were declining offers of search and rescue teams, but were taking body retreival teams from UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

michael martin rrraaar