Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gonna be a star

• 14-03-2011 1:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭

Now the couple next door are a bit "new ireland", no doubt about it.

Herself is the standard issue 35 year old corporate go getter. Now they have two nice enough young wans ( no not Kian and Angelica, Jack and Sophia).

She is easy enough on the eye, so I have the odd yarn over the garden fence, so to speak.

So the topic turns to her little pride and joys, and she then tells me they are going to "piano lessons tonight". I say, "good, good, used to tinkle the ivories myself". Then herself says that they have golf lessons on Tuesdays, Thursday/Friday is "soccer", Monday piano, Wednesday Swimming and Saturday is "conservation Group". Sophia may start acting lessons next term.

Overkill, Can a child not just have it large and not be a "potential star in the making"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Get a blog

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Tell them to start a blog too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Blogs for all, organic farming classes for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

nothing wrong with wanting your kid to do some activites instead of sitting on their arse every evening, but yeah, parents pushing their kids to do as much stuff as possible get on my goat, kids arent allowed just be kids anymore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Blog writing classes are on Sundays. Sophia goes to them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Tahuti

The mind bloggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

Don't see anything wrong with it tbh. They are giving their kids great activities and allowing them to interact with other groups etc. It's better than sitting them down in front of the TV with a microwave dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 The Skibereen Eagle

Betting she locks the doors on the Audi Touareg one day and drives them all off a pier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

New Ireland people live in blog cabins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Golf lessons?

Golf is for people too old, fat or slow to do proper sports, or for ladder-climbing corporate **** who think it'll help them make friends and influence people.

Inflicting that "sport" on your kids is tantamount to child abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

What do you want from them? Drug taking classes on Thursdays?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

sounds like good parents to me, pity about their neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Lumen wrote: »
    Golf lessons?

Golf is for people too old, fat or slow to do proper sports, or for ladder-climbing corporate **** who think it'll help them make friends and influence people.

that little kid of the Woods' did alright out of it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

What the hell is conservation group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Depends on the ages of the kids. Yes, extra-curricular activities are fine and important, but you don't want to go too far. Kids need free and unstructed time as well, so that they can just have a bit of fun. Also helps them to learn to manage their own time and resources.

Also depends on who's choosing what the kids do: them or the parents.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

krudler wrote: »

I've some news for ya.......

Indeed, but he would have turned out pretty crap if he'd spent the other 95% of the week doing gardening, piano and acting lessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Golf lessons?

Have you seen the professional golfers of today?
    The training most of them do enables them to run in marathons without any extra training whatsoever.

So stop talking about stuff you clearly have no clue about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

As long as the the kids enjouy it what harm? Do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

These people sound super humans, have you asked them if they're from this planet. Seriously what kid wants to go to a conservation group, on a weekend. Whatever about anything else, oh and don't even get me started on golf!

The training most of them do enables them to run in marathons without any extra training whatsoever.

Ah here, did you make that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Yes, young Tiger. And it's not only golf balls that he likes smashing.
    What the hell is conservation group?

You tell me. Probably one of these groups when they brainwash young wans into believeing this global warming trash.

Running marathons isn't really a huge deal for anyone moderately fit.

The fact that you're impressed by it suggests you're a golfer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I wish my waster parents pushed me like that. All i played was football. Come home from school: Play football all day. It was very enjoyable but what a complete waste.

Ah here, did you make that up?

No -_-

Sorry, at near world record pace.

Ya, I am, big deal?

No, not at all. Pass the Werthers, old boy.

I don't even like golf but can name these tubbies off the tomh for starters:

Angel cabrera
    Darren Clarke
    Lee Westwood
    Phil Mickelson
    John Daly
    Colin Montgomerie
    Ian Woosnam
    Laura Davies

I don't even like golf but can name these tubbies off the tomh for starters:

Angel cabrera
    Darren Clarke
    Lee Westwood
    Phil Mickelson
    John Daly
    Colin Montgomerie
    Ian Woosnam
    Laura Davies

LJW is fit enough at the minute, Clarkey can't hit the back door unless he has 10 pints of guinness in him. Phil mick is a player, Woosie likes the sauce and John Daly thinks he is fiddy cent in that film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

No, not at all. Pass the Werthers, old boy.
    ...... What??
    I don't even like golf but can name these tubbies off the top for starters:

Angel cabrera
    Darren Clarke
    Phil Mickelson
    John Daly
    Colin Montgomerie
    Ian Woosnam
    Laura Davies

Ah here, all 40+, And, the exeptions that prove the rule etc.

Lee Westwood - used to be a very good sportsman when he was younger, and would be the first to admit that he's left himself go a bit (he's said this before in interviews)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I would do the same when I have a kid. He/she will definally be learning piano from 4yo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Seymour Parrish, is that you? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nothing wrong with getting your kids to do a few activites and learn a few skills.

I played sports and did music lessons when I was a kid, not because my parents were pushing me to be anything but rather because they wanted me to broaden my horizons.

I'm glad I've got a bit of musical ability and I can take a decent free kick. When I was young it helped me make friends outside of my immediate classmates and even today I think it stands to me that I have a few interests outside of TV and drinking (although they're damn good interests too!)

...... What??

Westwood was World No.1 'til last week, Cabrera and Mickelson won at Augusta recently.

I forgot Jumbo Ozaki and Craig Stadtler, lardasses when at their peak.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Surely rugger should be present somewhere in little Fiacra's schedule? :confused: And why soccer? Do she want him to grow up to be working class or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

PAULWATSON wrote: »
    Now the couple next door are a bit "new ireland", no doubt about it.

Herself is the standard issue 35 year old corporate go getter. Now they have two nice enough young wans ( no not Kian and Angelica, Jack and Sophia).

She is easy enough on the eye, so I have the odd yarn over the garden fence, so to speak.

So the topic turns to her little pride and joys, and she then tells me they are going to "piano lessons tonight". I say, "good, good, used to tinkle the ivories myself". Then herself says that they have golf lessons on Tuesdays, Thursday/Friday is "soccer", Monday piano, Wednesday Swimming and Saturday is "conservation Group". Sophia may start acting lessons next term.

Overkill, Can a child not just have it large and not be a "potential star in the making"?

So, they'll be fit, musically inclined, confident and able to debate?

Problem reality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with getting your kids to do a few activites and learn a few skills.

I played sports and did music lessons when I was a kid, not because my parents were pushing me to be anything but rather because they wanted me to broaden my horizons.

I'm glad I've got a bit of musical ability and I can take a decent free kick. When I was young it helped me make friends outside of my immediate classmates and even today I think it stands to me that I have a few interests outside of TV and drinking (although they're damn good interests too!)

Completely agree, my parents were exactly the same. There's nothing wrong with extra-curricular activities as long as there's a nice balance. OP, your neighbours are broadening their children's horizons and exposing them to different activities and experiences that will no doubt help them later in life. I'm very thankful my parents gave me the same opportunities.

Now should the child vehemently dislike a certain activity but is still being forced to attend, then there'd be a problem.

Westwood was World No.1 'til last week, Cabrera and Mickelson won at Augusta recently.
    Your point being??

RichieC wrote: »
    So, they'll be fit, musically inclined, confident and able to debate?

More likely to be seen tearing about the town with a bottle of bucky, as soon as Imelda backs off a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

OP = Lidl Pighead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I think that's all fine, as long as the kids are happy to do so and enjoy it. Putting pressure on a child to achieve all the time and to be extraordinary, that is not on, imo. Neither is pushing your child to do something that really you just wish you could do yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I think it is commendable these people give their kids the chance, but I don't think any kid should be forced to play a sport or musical instrument if they don't want to.

I absoutely adore music, both making my own music and listening to other peoples, and I know that if I was forced to play piano scales on sunny evenings when my mates were out knockin around on bikes and kicking a football I would despise both it, and my parents for making me do it.

I expressed an interest in drums when I was a kid and was permitted to buy a kit (with my own pocket money mind you) and they tolerated the horrendous din in a modestly sized house for up to an hour a day for the entirety of my teenage years and I am very grateful to them for that, they gave me a wonderful gift. I'm 28 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Sorry, at near world record pace.

Ya, I am, big deal?

I am really gonna need to see some links to this information or else i fear i shall be forced to call bull**** on thee.

You would not believe how hard I am looking. Anyhting with the words "Tiger woods" in it just turns up ****e

Running a marathon is a little more than moderately fit, surely. I mean actually running it, not just wandering the course in a wedding dress or some such?

A lot fitter than the average golfer, i'd reckon anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I know a few physically fit golfers. They're pretty young though, and there was absolutely a trend of golfers who were/are a bit flabby around the belly, but I think that's slowly changing. These days the up-and-comers seem to be much more keen on maintaining an overall level of fitness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I know a few physically fit golfers. They're pretty young though, and there was absolutely a trend of golfers who were/are a bit flabby around the belly, but I think that's slowly changing. These days the up-and-comers seem to be much more keen on maintaining an overall level of fitness.

I am not disputing that some golfers will be physically fit, especially at a pro level...I am basically trying to politely point out the enormous differences in training methodology and strain on the body between golfing and running a marathon, especially with a view to turning in a close to world class time as was implied by another poster.

Your point being??

To draw the unsuspecting into inane tit for tat nonsense.

Back o' the net :D

:D:D
    http://ezinearticles.com/?Professional-Golfer-Workout-Routine-and-Diet&id=4982412

As good as I could find

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

You're thinking of formula 1 drivers. the other gentleman's sport.. you can play golf at any half decent level of health.