Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another speed camera van burnt out.

• 13-03-2011 9:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭

I was just talking to a lad there and he was telling me he passed a speed camera van on fire on the old N11 between Gorey and Arklow. I presume somebody done it delibirately.

I have no link obviously as its only after happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Buck

I thought that the new type vans were manned while in operation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Buck wrote: »
    I thought that the new type vans were manned while in operation

They are but that wouldnt stop someone yhrowing a petrol bomb through the window...:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

-Corkie- wrote: »
    They are but that wouldnt stop someone yhrowing a petrol bomb through the window...:eek:
    Hope the operator got out ok and the fire burned strong and hot

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Hope the operator got out ok and the fire burned strong and hot

He got out OK allright.

In that case I'll get some marsh malllows and go and make use of the fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I think you mean SAFETY CAMERA mister :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Lets hope that the cowardly bast'rds that did it are caught. After all the operator only doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

johnayo wrote: »
    Lets hope that the cowardly bast'rds that did it are caught. After all the operator only doing his job.
    i'd say they will be caught, theres cameras front and rear seperate to the ones that take a pic of your reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

guil wrote: »
    i'd say they will be caught, theres cameras front and rear seperate to the ones that take a pic of your reg

Well, if someone petrol bombed it it is highly unlikely they rolled up in a car that can be traced back to them to do it.

Being honest nobody knows if it was petrol bombed. It could of been an electrical fault or maybe the operator was having a sneaky fag in the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭charlie1966

Well, if someone petrol bombed it it is highly unlikely they rolled up in a car that can be traced back to them to do it.

Don't be so sure. There are loads of idiots about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

johnayo wrote: »

As I read it they burned the van, not the operator, don't see how it's cowardly either :confused: Not saying I agree but I'm stocking up on marshmallows incase someone does it close to here :D

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Lavattack

In fairness how stupid are people. There are people in those vans with families like. It wont stop until some-one is seriously hurt. I bet these guys will get away with it and all. Makes me sick really. Morons:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Don't give vandals too much credit.

EDIT: Beaten to it by charlie1966 :)

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

bladespin wrote: »
    As I read it they burned the van, not the operator, don't see how it's cowardly either :confused: Not saying I agree but I'm stocking up on marshmallows incase someone does it close to here :D

Setting fire to a van with somebody inside it is hardly an act of bravery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,625 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

if that was my job I'd be looking at those cameras more than the speeding cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

I was just talking to a lad there and he was telling me he passed a speed camera van on fire on the old N11 between Gorey and Arklow. I presume somebody done it delibirately.

I have no link obviously as its only after happening.
    How did he know it was a gatso van?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

As much as I hate these cash cows for the Gov, fire bombing a van when some poor sod who is just doing his job and could have been in it at the time is a disgrace, I hope they catch the b*stards who did this..

pajero12 wrote: »
    How did he know it was a gatso van?

I didnt ask him.

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    As much as I hate these cash cows for the Gov, fire bombing a van when some poor sod who is just doing his job and could have been in it at the time is a disgrace, I hope they catch the b*stards who did this..

The last line of the link said there was no one inside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I wonder how many more will need to be done for the government to just give up on this project.

Bit of t-cut...b grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

doesnt look like a safety van looks like a peugeot boxer van low roof aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

According to reports van was unoccupied at the time of the attack. If this is the case and nobody was hurt, burn baby burn.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Garda press release:
    Gardai in Gorey who are investigating a suspected arson attack on a GoSafe operated marked Garda mobile safety camera van on the old N11 road wish to appeal to members of the public for their assistance.

At approximately 7.30pm on the 13.03.11 the van was extensively damaged by fire believed to be started deliberately. No one was injured in the incident.

Gardai would like to hear from anyone who may have seen anything unusual or suspicious in and around a Citreon Relay van registration 11 kk 491 between 7pm and 7.30pm on the 13.03.11. The van was parked approximately 1km South of Arklow on the Gorey Road, the old N11.

Witnesses or anyone who may be able to assist the gardai with their investigation are asked to contact Gorey Garda Station on 053-9430690, The Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

guil wrote: »

I can just see it now:
    Garda Murphy- Don't worry chief, there are special cameras that record front and back, so we'll get the feckers.
    Chief- Good job Murphy, where are the tapes now?
    Garda Murphy- Eh, in the van........Doh!

deaglan169 wrote: »
    doesnt look like a safety van looks like a peugeot boxer van low roof aswell
    theres one of them in newbridge all the time, well its the one that nissan peugeot and opel make versions of

Rather than burn the van out can we not just call the Gardaí and reort a van dealing drugs to kids or parked illegally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The first camera van that was taken away was forensically examined, the results didn't seem to come out in the public though and nobody was caught for it, starting to look all a bit fishy to me and I would say they should look for a fault with the vans as the cause. Considering the tiny amount of attacks on the fixed cameras that were around the country it seems strange that 2 which were manned have been burnt out in such short time.

There was someone caught for burning the one in Cork. Afaik someone was caught for the Dundalk on aswell

it could be that the gosafe are much more regular and could be in a number of different places, i dont think i've ever seen a garda speed van but in the last 2 months i've seen a gosafe van 6 or 7 times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

ah... as was said, nobody inside. let it burn :)

That was just mere minutes from my house.

just wanted to be a part of the thread really :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,708 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

There was someone caught for burning the one in Cork. Afaik someone was caught for the Dundalk on aswell

Cheers, hadn't seen that. Also spotted now it's a different model van to the previous so unlikely a link.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

andyseadog wrote: »
    ah... as was said, nobody inside. let it burn :)

That was just mere minutes from my house.

just wanted to be a part of the thread really :D
    hmmm - where were you between 7 and 7:30 this evening?

kbannon wrote: »

Eating Marshmallows?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

in dunnes stores in cornelscourt :)

oh no, glad to see it burned out, but i wouldn;t have the balls to so something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

How much is a speeding ticket? €80?

That's 875 fines to be issued just to cover the reported €70,000 cost of replacing the van.

Some people have toasted marshmallows for brains...

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    How much is a speeding ticket? €80?

That's 875 fines to be issued just to cover the reported €70,000 cost of replacing the van.

Some people have toasted marshmallows for brains...
    I presume that it was a Gosafe van and therefore the number of fines collected doesn't affect the value of the van/ability to buy a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

My point is that the "government" doesn't pay to cover the cost of these attacks. We do, one way or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I presume that it was a Gosafe van and therefore the number of fines collected doesn't affect the value of the van/ability to buy a new one.

Someone has to pay and whether is through insurance ot higher contract costs itll make its way to taxpayers eventually.

Stupidity of the highest order and condoning it isnt far behind.

Maybe we should peteol bomb the revenue commisioners or customs offices too :rolleyes:

Someone has to pay and whether is through insurance ot higher contract costs itll make its way to taxpayers eventually.

Stupidity of the highest order and condoning it isnt far behind.

Maybe we should peteol bomb the revenue commisioners or customs offices too :rolleyes:
    Hey, don't shoot the messenger - my point was simply that the cost to replace the van has nothing to do with the number of tickets that will be issues. Speeding tickets paying to rectify the damage is not the same as insurance paying it or the taxpayer paying it.

Oh and can you please point out where I condoned it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hey, don't shoot the messenger - my point was simply that the cost to replace the van has nothing to do with the number of tickets that will be issues. Speeding tickets paying to rectify the damage is not the same as insurance paying it or the taxpayer paying it.

Oh and can you please point out where I condoned it?

I never said you did condone it. The first line was really the reply to the quote. The rest was a general reply to the thread :)

Its kind of the same thing in a roundabout way though ( how its paid for) and personally id rather if it did come straight from the Fine money, at lewst then it would be opt in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

"Chestnuts roasting on an open fire" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Where does it say it was unmanned? All I see in the press release is that nobody was injured. If it was in operation it would have been manned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

I think for health, safety and indeed environmental reasons all these vans should be withdrawn with immediate effect before someone gets hurt or there's any more damage done to the environment.;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Lavattack wrote: »
    In fairness how stupid are people. There are people in those vans with families like.

I doubt a family would fit into them, unless they are using SUV`s now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

father-ted-careful-now.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

We may all joke about these vans being damaged but at the end of the day I don't think any of us here would burn one out even if we knew it was totally empty.

It's pure vandalism; yobbery, stupid behaviour. Nothing more. And with someone inside, add attempted murder.

Let the person(s) responsible rot in jail tbh. I disagree with these things as much as anyone - they're toll collectors and nothing more, we all know that - but there are better ways to take out your frustration with inane laws.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭jamesr123

70k? :eek::eek::eek:
    sdonn wrote: »

Let the person(s) responsible rot in jail tbh. I disagree with these things as much as anyone - they're toll collectors and nothing more, we all know that - but there are better ways to take out your frustration with inane laws.

The thing that really annoys me is that a few (not all) hide or park where it's really difficult to spot them. Was in tallaght last week and one was parked and you wouldnt notice until your just passing it.. (very sneaky :mad::mad:)