Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny has "strong words" with Sarkozy

• 11-03-2011 11:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Looks like there has been a row between Enda and Nicolas over Corporation tax at the EU summit. "Strong words" is a very diplomatic way of putting it id imagine.

If true that he has stood up to Sarkozy (and no one else seems to have the balls to in Europe) then more please! About time Sarkozy was taken off his box at least temporarily.

They want to genuinely bankrupt us by taking away the only part of the economy that is actually working.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Pretty impressive on Kenny's part if this is true. Where'd you hear this?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Pretty impressive on Kenny's part if this is true. Where'd you hear this?

RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Day 2: Enda attacks Sarkozy with a handbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

About time the whole lot of them EU bastards got put in their box and the lid closed with brown tape tbh.

Going around the place acting as if they are doing us a great favour by giving us these overpriced loans with high interest to 'discourage reckless borrowing' just so we can help keep their common currency afloat.

If we'd never signed up to the bloody Euro we'd be laughing now and not paying for the next 120 odd years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

According to RTE, "'Strong words' have been exchanged between the Taoiseach Enda Kenny and French president Nicolas Sarkozy over the issue of corporate tax".

It doesn't mean that Kenny actually stood up to Sarkosy. And in fact, knowing how much of a loudmouth Sarkozy is & how much of a pussy Kenny is, I doubt he did more than mutter a red-faced, few words in reply to a trademark Sarkosy tirade.

Link http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0311/politics.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm imagining that Fr Ted where Enda is the dude with the whistle- fup off zarkosy you fupping baxtard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Delighted. We certainly needed more people to fight for us than the defeated, lying, yes men that have just been voted out. More Enda please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭smithwicks

According to RTE, "'Strong words' have been exchanged between the Taoiseach Enda Kenny and French president Nicolas Sarkozy over the issue of corporate tax".

It doesn't mean that Kenny actually stood up to Sarkosy. And in fact, knowing how much of a loudmouth Sarkozy is & how much of a pussy Kenny is, I doubt he did more than mutter a red-faced, few words in reply to a trademark Sarkosy tirade.

Link http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0311/politics.html

What evidence do you have to prove that Enda Kenny is a pussy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

newsflash-enda kenny has balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Having a drunken vision of Inda whacking Sarkozy around the head with a hurley. It feels good :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

We should launch Padraig Flynn at the Elysee Palace, from a gunboat on the Seine.

Imagine that smashing past short-arse & Carla at the brekkie table.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Damn straight Enda, we can't take this tosh from the EU poster boys anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Head_Hunter

darkman2 wrote: »
    About time Sarozy was taken off his box.

I see what you did there :D

smithwicks wrote: »
    What evidence do you have to prove that Enda Kenny is a pussy?

Have you seen him?

The guy is a victim. The kinda kid that got kicked & bullied in school. Probably had the same stupid haircut back then & a "My Little Pony" lunchbox.

16 years in politics & he never got a sniff of power. Not even when the Fianna Fail boys had raped the country. Not even when they had pulled out & gipped all over the country's face. Not even when they scatted on us. Not even when they did it twice. It had to happen 3 or 4 times before Kenny got a look in.

The only reason he's our Taoiseach, is not that he's a good politician, a good speaker or debater, or even mildly charismatic, but that there were fuck all other palatable options that were available to the general public.

I'd say Sarkosy gave him a right bollocking & he took it like a little baby man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭smithwicks

If Bertie was there he would be cutting a deal.

Glad to hear someone is scrapping on our behalf.

The cheek of the French here is actually galling. They are giving us ECB money NOT to bail out our banks or us - but to bailout their own banks. They obviously think that we think they are simply kind strangers.

Hope he told Sarkozy that it is us gauranteeing the €600bn worth of loans and not the French. Be an awful tragedy for them if that went up in smoke. Be even more tragic for us of course but still we should push the point more. It's Irish taxpayers paying for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Have you seen him?

The guy is a victim. The kinda kid that got kicked & bullied in school. Probably had the same stupid haircut back then & a "My Little Pony" lunchbox.

Thought you were describing Sarkozy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

Have you seen him?

16 years in politics & he never got a sniff of power. Not even when the Fianna Fail boys had raped the country. Not even when they had pulled out & gipped all over the country's face. Not even when they scatted on us. Not even when they did it twice. It had to happen 3 or 4 times before Kenny got a look in.

The only reason he's our Taoiseach, is not that he's a good politician, a good speaker or debater, or even mildly charismatic, but that there were fuck all other palatable options that were available to the general public.

I'd say Sarkosy gave him a right bollocking & he took it like a little baby man.

we don't know -maybe he rode sarkozy's wife

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

M cebee wrote: »
    newsflash-enda kenny has balls

Get back to the other forum and help paddy with his aquarium:pac:

M cebee wrote: »
    we don't know -maybe he rode sarkozy's wife

If he did, I will change my opinion on him completely.

Carla Bruni is the goddess of MILFs.

Have you seen him?

Wasn't he part of the cabinet in a previous government in the 90s? Minister for trade or something like that. Maybe I'm making stuff up :pac:

You have to give credit where it's due: he brought a party that was on its last legs to where it is now. He may not be the most charismatic leader in the history books, but he seems to have that quietly confident leadership quality about him. He lays out plans and people follow them and stuff gets done. Give him a chance.

Sarkozy is an arrogant little twat. He probably isn't used to being told where to go, with all the other world leaders usually licking his arse. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

"Mr Sarkazstic, I'd like to discusss thet interest rate yokey wit ye"
    "Feck off and die, Enda"
    "Fair enuf Mr Sarkazy soor, sorry fur troublin ye".

I'd imagine thats pretty much how it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

Carla Bruni is the goddess of MILFs.

She's a mother :confused:

Have you seen him?

He still won though.

Wasn't he part of the cabinet in a previous government in the 90s? Minister for trade or something like that. Maybe I'm making stuff up :pac:

You have to give credit where it's due: he brought a party that was on its last legs to where it is now. He may not be the most charismatic leader in the history books, but he seems to have that quietly confident leadership quality about him. He lays out plans and people follow them and stuff gets done. Give him a chance.

Sarkozy is an arrogant little twat. He probably isn't used to being told where to go, with all the other world leaders usually licking his arse. :pac:

Yes, he was Minister for Tourism & Trade.

OK, maybe I did take it a bit far, but my point is, that there is nothing in the report to say that Kenny "stood up" to Sarkosy. That's just merely speculation.

He may have or may not have.

My other point is that Fine Gael only got into power because Fianna Fail fucked things up so much. It had nothing to with how well Kenny or his party performed. The vote that swung the election in favour of FG wasn't for FG but against FF.

As a last resort we could probably invade France. they somehow always manage to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm shocked, we finally have a leader who actually cares about his country.:cool:

She's a motherfucking ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If Bertie was there he would be cutting a deal.

...Da-Da-Da Bert would be cutting a deal alright. Giving The Frogs the family silver....

I wouldn't mind being a mother fu4ker so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

@ the Begrudgers, try dropping the cynicism and give the guy a ****in chance.

http://euobserver.com/9/31977[/URL]

Looks like this is on the level and not just RTE sucking up to their new paymaster.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Eoin_Sheehy

Come on lads, let's face it he didn't have 'string words' with Srakozy, he can't even stand up to Vincent Browne, I've seen pieces of orange peel floating down the Lee that'd make better Leaders than him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

That's right enda you show him who's boss.

Daegerty wrote: »
    As a last resort we could probably invade France. they somehow always manage to lose
    We'd have to do a risk assessment first, and would probably end up in Belgium, due to over-runs etc

Yes, he was Minister for Tourism & Trade.

OK, maybe I did take it a bit far, but my point is, that there is nothing in the report to say that Kenny "stood up" to Sarkosy. That's just merely speculation.

He may have or may not have.

Yeah, the article was rather vague. We'll probably get a better picture over the next few days as the negotiations get underway.
    My other point is that Fine Gael only got into power because Fianna Fail fucked things up so much. It had nothing to with how well Kenny or his party performed. The vote that swung the election in favour of FG wasn't for FG but against FF.

Even so, they did pretty well in the last election too, considering where they came from. I would agree though that it was mostly because FF went tits up that FG got the support they did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

"F*ck you President Sarkozy! F*ck you!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

...and as a direct consequence it proves beyond a doubt that her husband's a motherfooker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

G'wan Enda, hit him!!

Solnskaya wrote: »
    We'd have to do a risk assessment first, and would probably end up in Belgium, due to over-runs etc

Nevermind that we'll just blast em with piss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

from the Times...Looks like Enda is throwing punches. fair play.

It has been reported that French president Nicolas Sarkozy and Mr Kenny clashed over Ireland's corporation tax rates.

Dr Merkel and Mr Sarkozy, a critic of Ireland’s 12.5 per cent tax rate, have said a common corporate tax base should be a condition for agreeing to ease the terms of the Irish bailout.

Mr Kenny last night said that creating such as rate would be "harmonisation of taxes through the back door."

stevejr wrote: »

QUOTE]

Yeah, the poor guys only 35 years in Politics, give him a chance, FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Hope he treats the little focker with the same contempt as Farage.

Have you seen him?

Looking at someone shows they got bullied? He must of deserved it so, if he was.

He definitely won because of FF`s loss alright, but thats their loss.

stevejr wrote: »

http://euobserver.com/9/31977[/URL]

Looks like this is on the level and not just RTE sucking up to their new paymaster.

Give him a chance?

Hang on a second. He's gone to Europe to look for what? Them to admit that this is not an Irish problem? That this is not a bailout for the country? That this is a European bailout? That we are taking it up the holes for no good reason?

Did he explain to them that the bailout of private companies by the EU is actually against the EU constitution, as is the use of natural disaster funding for problems that aren't related to natural disasters?

Did he fuck.

He went looking for a 1% reduction in the interest rates.

In relative terms, he was arguing over a 5p discount off a €50,000 car. I don't give a fuck if his head exploded with anger... he might as well be pissing in the wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

What's the effective corporate tax rate in France? 8.3% or something? Maybe France should raise its rate to be on level terms with us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

This guy has taken on his own people. What did Enda expect?

Enda's Mammy brushed his hair all slick and stuff, and even packed his toothbrush in case he had to stay over.
    Feck away the feck off, Enda Kenny is no more Irelands saviour than that daw off the Bulmers add. He was bullied at school and has a hair complex, and he's complete badger who got in because all the others were pants and he's just boxers.

He went looking for a 1% reduction in the interest rates.

In relative terms, he was arguing over a 5p discount off a €50,000 car. I don't give a fuck if his head exploded with anger... he might as well be pissing in the wind.

I dunno what 500e is in sterling these days but its still more than 5p (for now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Well at the very least we can take that he appears to be handling things efficiently thus far. That said I'm sure he actually is fighting for us.