Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Octavia diesel any down side ?

• 11-03-2011 7:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭

Thinking of buying octavia diesel any known problems things that might go ?looking at 05 or 06 any help appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Boot is a bit small!!!
    :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

its not all its cracked up to be :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭rilly99

Boot is a bit small!!!
    :p

Ha ha should seen that coming !! Seriously though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

As an Octavia Diesel owner myself, The biggest downside i can see is the mocking and gruelling you will get on here :D

Other than that I love the car ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭rilly99

vectra wrote: »
    As an Octavia Diesel owner myself, The biggest downside i can see is the mocking and gruelling you will get on here :D

No problems then

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

If you're worried about the boot buy a Yeti.
    According to Clarkson the best car in the world.............ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Harcrid

Yeah but don't you drive a VRS? Not quite your average Octavia and certainly mock proof if you ask me! :)

Celtxx wrote: »
    Yeah but don't you drive a VRS? Not quite your average Octavia and certainly mock proof if you ask me! :)

Still get a mocking and a gruelling over it..
    Funnily enough...it only happens on here :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I think the Octy jokes are getting a bit dry a this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

If ya didn't mention it at every opportunity I don't think you'd get such a doing

Mention what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭DanWall

A few years back I bought a 04 petrol Octavia with 60,000 mile up, from a Skoda dealer. I loved the car, the only problem was reliability. During the two years that I owned it, I had
    2 coil pack failures ( I know, it will not happen on a diesel)
    Headlamp motor failure
    Heat blower motor failure
    Rear wiper failure
    RH side passenger refusing to open
    Leaking windscreen.
    The last 2 points also happened to my neighbour, so it is not a once off.
    I lost confidence in it and wondered what would happen next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

Thats true. It drives me mad actually. I drive a Superb Combi and I am nearly ashamed to say it here with all the blabbering about the vrs..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Drove a 08 octavia for 2 years. Traded up for a toyota corrola this last year.

I miss the octavia....

I figure if taxi drivers use octavias they cant be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

The ma got rid of her 08 one today.

In the time she has it the only thing that gave trouble was the rear wiper motor stopped working. I was supposed to bring it in to get a new one fitted on warranty but I gave it a bit of encouragement and it stayed going after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Slidey wrote: »
    I gave it a bit of encouragement

That's what we used to do with dodgy TVs in the old days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mickob16

Best car ever made....FACT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Out of all my cars, the octavia was my favorite .Not sure why but I had it for 5 years and the only thing I had replaced was an engine Thermostat. As for the badge issue you try buying one in 99. I would buy one in a heart beat.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

It Hasnt really changed shape in 10yrs :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

Not many cars have , Ford Focus, Vw Golf for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Mention what?

Are you being serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Slidey wrote: »
    The ma got rid of her 08 one today.

In the time she has it the only thing that gave trouble was the rear wiper motor stopped working. I was supposed to bring it in to get a new one fitted on warranty but I gave it a bit of encouragement and it stayed going after that.
    I wouldnt be too impressed if my wiper motor packed in on a 3yr old car. I had an Alfa for 8yrs and no wiper motor problems, in fact no problems whatsoever. Had to change the wiper blades every now & again though

not a sign for things to come..wiper motor now, gear box next...the list goes on

Are you being serious?

Show me where I mentioned it last randomly.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭letsbehonest

I know somebody who had a 06 one and they say it was the worst car they ever owned.
    They liked there large boot.
    There was a problem with the rear wiper which caused a lot if water to leak into the boot and they were storing there daughter wedding cake in there for a log time. They weren't to impressed with there big boot when they arrived at the hotel.
    The central locking failed. Which either left you locked into the car or locked out.
    The rear electric windows could not be controlled by the driver's door.
    The stereo failed.
    The straw that broke the camels was on a Friday afternoon and they couple drove over a speed bump in there housing estate and the passengers airbag went off.
    They bought a focus in 08 and they love it! Only problem they've had with it was they had to replace was the handbrake cable.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

1/. Driven by cheapskates and tight people. Oh and by taxi drivers too.

skoda.jpg

2/. 1.9Tdi & 1.4 petrol engines. A tractor and sewing machine respectively.

That should reignite the thread :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

freighter wrote: »
    Thats true. It drives me mad actually. I drive a Superb Combi and I am nearly ashamed to say it here with all the blabbering about the vrs..:rolleyes:

Hey, don't worry. I drive a Cmax and get called a soccermum.
    And I'm a bloke...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭maddness

1/. Driven by cheapskates and tight people. Oh and by taxi drivers too.

[IMG]http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_EiztxZYQ8sI/SsuJb37mwdI/AAAAAAAAANo/lR0_X5KXbZs/s400/skoda.jpg[ 2/. 1.9Tdi & 1.4 petrol engines. A tractor and sewing machine respectively. That should reignite the thread :D[/img]

What do you drive then?

Octavia's have a good reliability record !

The biggest down side of all of VAG's cars is the horrendous noise of their PD TDI engines, the common rails are not that much quieter, but smoother all the same. Pd's have a lot better torque than the common rail from my experience, the 130 pd best VAG engine ever !

Biggest + is all Pd's engines 01-05 100-130 ps last for 300,000 miles easy with care.

Biggest downside to all VAG cars 05+ I believe is injector failure, especially on the 2.0 TDI 140-170 ps Engines and fuel pump failure. Even the common rails are giving trouble I believe, though my knowledge of them is not so good! Flywheel failure rampant and iffy dsg's, though most of them fail because people don't change the oil in them! Vag cars especially 02-08 flywheel failure very common especially after 60,000 miles !

I had the caddy van an 05 @15000 kms the flywheel failed and wheel bearing, 06 dsg caddy 56000 kms flywheel failed. Never again!

I will never go the Diesel route again, they are too complicated now and expensive, and expensive particle filters can give trouble !

I can't wait for Hydrogen vehicles, Electric drive much simpler, awesome amounts of torque !

Octavia's have a good reliability record !

The biggest down side of all of VAG's cars is the horrendous noise of their PD TDI engines, the common rails are not that much quieter, but smoother all the same. Pd's have a lot better torque than the common rail from my experience, !

PD's are rattly alright.. I will give you that.
    But to say the CR engine is not that much quieter is wrong.
    I was sitting at the traffic lights last week and a buddy of mine who has just bought a '08 BMW 520D pulled up alongside me, I opened my window to complinent him on his purchase I was taken aback..!! The engine sounded anything but quiet...
    It was quiet amusing actually as he used to laugh his head off when I drove a 1.4 tdi Cordoba.. ( A tractor he used to call it) this was before Nama stepped in and he drove a 3.0 tdi Q7:D

he had a fair sorry look on his face when I asked him to turn off the BM engine as i couldnt hear what he was saying...:pac:

The CR engine is dead quite in my mind.. Almost petrol quiet.

As for the PD engine having way more torque than the CR engine..
    Wrong again.
    They just work in a different manner.

2.0 - 170 PD engine:

168 BHP
    256 Lb Torque

2.0 170 CR engine

168 BHP
    256 LB Torque

How has the PD more torque than the CR ??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I was sitting at the traffic lights last week and a buddy of mine who has just bought a '08 BMW 520D pulled up alongside me, I opened my window to complinent him on his purchase I was taken aback..!! The engine sounded anything but quiet...
    It was quiet amusing actually as he used to laugh his head off when I drove a 1.4 tdi Cordoba.. ( A tractor he used to call it) this was before Nama stepped in and he drove a 3.0 tdi Q7:D

he had a fair sorry look on his face when I asked him to turn off the BM engine as i couldnt hear what he was saying...:pac:

Wrong again.

2.0 - 170 PD engine:

168 BHP
    256 Lb Torque

2.0 170 CR engine

168 BHP
    256 LB Torque

I've driven a Passat with the 168BHP Engine .. it was brutal .. you could make a cup of tea waiting for the turbo to spool up.

I dont have that in my one.
    Maybe the DPF was half clogged in the Passat?

But as I said already.
    The CR engine works in a different manner to the PD
    Both have identical BHP/Torque
    The CR is more linear in its power delivery
    The PD is all or nothing.

Wrong again.

2.0 - 170 PD engine:

168 BHP
    256 Lb Torque

2.0 170 CR engine

168 BHP
    256 LB Torque

I'm talking with experience of the 1.9 TDI 130PD and the 2.0 TDI 140 CR

130 PS 210 LBS torque V 140 CR 236 LBS torque

From driving the two cars the PD definitely has a lot more torque, the absolute surge in torque isn't the same at all in the CR 140.

Actually interestingly enough I noticed the 140 TDI PD hadn't got the same shove either!

I'm not in any way saying the CR it isn't a good engine, I'm just saying I much prefer the old PD 130 to drive. Apart from the Noise of course!

I said it is quieter than the PD which wouldn't be hard, but it doesn't match petrol quietness at all, again vag's tsi's are not the quietest if we are comparing vag with vag. They don't match Fiat's for quietness that's for sure.

Hey my brother even agrees that his A5 2.0 TDI doesn't have the outright shove of the TDI 130, he had an 08 TDI cr A4 too and an 130 PD A4.

But back to the original question I think the octavia would be a good choice shame the 130 PD was not available with this car to the best of my knowledge??? The 2.0 tdi I believe has to many problems, so the older 1.9 105 hp is a god bet. Even the local mechanic says the 2.0 TDI he wouldn't buy, nor would he touch BMW's diesels either, the amount of blown turbos and damaged engines as a result is a major reason not to buy BMW out of warranty !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

130 PS 210 LBS torque V 140 CR 236 LBS torque

From driving the two cars the PD definitely has a lot more torque

I didn't read the rest of your post after this bit.

You do know the bigger number means "more", don't you??

Maybe when inside it and crusing, Surely not actually almost petrol quite though.

Very, very close imho.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Maybe when inside it and crusing, Surely not actually almost petrol quite though.

it is very very very quiet even standing alongside it when ticking over

@ Mad_Lad
    As for the matter of the Fiat engine being quieter :eek:

Local Garda have a 150 Sri Vectra
    Some rattlebox of an engine in that.
    Also an Alfa GT around town with the 150 Fiat again.. Very noisy compared to my CR.

Just cam back from town. A guy approached me that has ordered a cr140 octavia Elegance.. I saw him standing looking at my car when I pulled in.. he came over to me when I was out of my car and said "Jeez the petrol ones are fair quiet"
    he looked surprised when I told him it was the 170CR engine.

Also

Your explination of "More Torque" makes me wonder :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭knifey_spoonie

Vecta- The OP aint going to be buying a car with the CR engine, so stop banging on about your car. We know you have TDI VRS, We know you love it to bits.

OP- As others have said the PD TDI engine is rattly and old but it still gets the job done.

Be aware of expensive timing belt replacment, also suspension arms can need to be replaced every so often, All in all a good option if your looking for a good size diesel car.

Vecta- The OP aint going to be buying a car with the CR engine

Fair point, let's discuss the specs/engines that are of interest to the OP please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

maddness wrote: »
    What do you drive then?
    I do believe it's a Fiesta...
    It actually is very quiet, although on start up it is definitely a diesel but far, far quieter than the old PD engine.

At work I used to have access to a 1.9 TDI PD A3, horrible machine tbh. Reliable but tractor like in noise and with a 5-speed gearbox it was pretty poor on motorways.

I own a new A3 2.0 TDI (168bhp) CR engine (probably exactly the same as in the Octavia VRS and it's beautifully quiet and when warmed up, yes it's almost as quiet as a petrol engine and not too far off on startup. Turbo lag in my car is not bad at all.

As for the OP, he'll be looking for an older PD engine so yes, it's reliable and will keep going and there's nothing essentially 'wrong' with it but he should be aware that it will sound like an older diesel. That said, it'll be more frugal than a petrol engine so if he's interested in economy that should be good for him too.

Vecta- The OP aint going to be buying a car with the CR engine, so stop banging on about your car. We know you have TDI VRS, We know you love it to bits.

I was merely correcting the misleading info being given by Mad_Lad

Perhaps if you read my post properly then you would have seen that rather than proving my point in my original post..
    ONLY on this forum :o

I am not banging on about anything
    How about you post something more relevant like telling Mad_Lad to stop providing misleading information .

Anyhow. as said above..
    OP will not be buying a CR according to his post but then again.. You never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Downsides - Looks poor IMO especially the 09 -> version.
    Flywheel failure on the diesel (like most other cars)
    Gearbox failure
    Gear selection issues

-Chris- wrote: »
    I didn't read the rest of your post after this bit.

You do know the bigger number means "more", don't you??

Yes Chris, I can count, my maths isn't the best but I can get it LOL :D

Look I don't care what the specs say, Vag's PD engine was imo much better than the CR power wise, I absolutely love that 130 PD .

I had an 02 Passat, biggest pile of Crap, but the Engine was great, I remapped it to 160 but under hard acceleration there was that dreaded judder under hard acceleration, I was afraid the flywheel would die so I put it back to stock, but it was amazing especially on those Continental premium contact 2's. I had drives go, suspension was fecked. the interior rattled like mad. After that and my Caddy van experiences I swore never VW again!

Got the A4 with 100,000 flogged it at 200,000 miles for a Prius :D:D:D:D:D:D:D The A4 was a great car.

Anyways rilly99 if you want to buy a Octavis Diesel, get the 1.9 105 ps I guarantee you if you look after it you will have it for 300,000 miles ! Don't buy the 2.0 TDI, if you plan to keep it. And belt, water pump, tensioner absolutely essential every 40,000 miles! I always used the long life oil and changed it every 15,000 miles, it's good stuff and works, My A4 wouldn't have reached the 200,000 if that was a bad thing to do. I proved there is absolutely NO need to change the long life oil every 5-10,000 miles like some do!

The door seals can dry up so keep them lubricated with that stuff you get in halfords! You can get great spec Octavia's for decent money and don't worry too much about higher mileage, just make sure there is a proper service history to validate the mileage, if not run a mile.

You can remap it to 150 PS, but you risk killing the flywheel, but it flies!

LOL I never thought Id buy a Prius, what do I think of it? well lets say I'll never drive Diesel again and I'm thinking of installing a bigger battery for 150 mpg + much more the more I drive in EV mode. I got it for a real bargain! :D

it is very very very quiet even standing alongside it when ticking over

.................... "Jeez the petrol ones are fair quiet"
    he looked surprised when I told him it was the 170CR engine.

Also

Your explination of "More Torque" makes me wonder :confused:

that guy mustn't have a clue at all if he mistook a diesel for a petrol from outside at idle
    r3nu4l wrote: »
    I own a new A3 2.0 TDI (168bhp) CR engine (probably exactly the same as in the Octavia VRS and it's beautifully quiet and when warmed up, yes it's almost as quiet as a petrol engine and not too far off on startup. Turbo lag in my car is not bad at all.
    -Chris- wrote: »
    Very, very close imho.

Fair enough lads if that's what ye reckon, I had a newish CR A3 about 15/16 months ago for a few days over in the UK, no way on Earth could that be mistaken for being petrol quite (in my view) from outside the car or when the accelerator was squeezed. Without a doubt it's a huge improvement on what a traditional diesel sounds like but the diesel clatter is still heard.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

r3nu4l wrote: »
    I do believe it's a Fiesta...

Is that aimed at me? Yep I have a day to day Fiesta 1.6 Zetec S. Funnily enough it cannot be bought here anymore, but it does form the basis of the current Ford WRC car. I also have a tidy MkII Escort RS2000, and hope to have a quick bike before long too. I've owned and driven a wide range of cars, including some very quick ones, have have competed in various grades and guises of motorsport both here and abroad.

I think I'm entitled express a less than worthless opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭freighter

Octavias are crap to drive even that white yoke. I have a suberb 170 for work and it is noisy and its a 2011 so the DMF is fine.:)

I cannot understand people ranting on about how quiet a car is when its not..:rolleyes:

Its a Octy not a Veyron.

Fiesta 1.6 Zetec S. Funnily enough it cannot be bought here anymore, but it does form the basis of the current Ford WRC car..................
    I think I'm entitled express a less than worthless opinion.

The bit about your car forming the basis of the current Ford WRC car is no doubt true but it's akin to someone having a sh1tty ole 1.5 Impreza saying the same thing 10 years ago :) Laughable then, laughable now.

And yes I know, Rover are no more :pac:

The bit about your car forming the basis of the current Ford WRC car is no doubt true but it's akin to someone having a sh1tty ole 1.5 Impreza saying the same thing 10 years ago :) Laughable then, laughable now.

Incorrect. The base model 1.5 Impreza had very little in common with their superb WRC cars.

The Zetec S shares floorpan, engine blocks, suspension pickups and a few more bits and pieces.

Infact it's possible to convert a standard roadgoing Zetec S to an R2.

http://www.m-sport.co.uk/index.php/motorsport/the-rally-cars/ford-fiesta-r2

Incorrect. The base model 1.5 Impreza had very little in common with their superb WRC cars.

The Zetec S shares floorpan, engine blocks, suspension pickups and a few more bits and pieces.

The fact the floorpan, engine block and suspension pickups are the same does not alter the fact that your car has little in common with the WRC version ;) You are more than welcome to reckon otherwise yourself though :)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Fair enough lads if that's what ye reckon, I had a newish CR A3 about 15/16 months ago for a few days over in the UK, no way on Earth could that be mistaken for being petrol quite (in my view) from outside the car or when the accelerator was squeezed. Without a doubt it's a huge improvement on what a traditional diesel sounds like but the diesel clatter is still heard.

+1 to this, newer VAG diesels are great engines, but they still sound terrible and there is absolutely no mistaking them for a petrol, if within a 100 yards of them. no matter what anyone tries to convince themselves of.

To the OP, handles poorly, some reliability issues and car is pretty damn ugly. Otherwise not much of a down side.

The fact the floorpan, engine block and suspension pickups are the same does not alter the fact that your car has little in common with the WRC version ;) You are more than welcome to reckon otherwise yourself though :)

There are huge differences obviously but a 3 door Fiesta Zetec S is a very close relative of an R2, which is a very quick and competitive clubman rally car for current regs, amd also has a lot more in common with the current WRC leading cars than a 1.5 Impreza had with their RWC machine back in the day.

Stop being so petty and jealous.