Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good things in Ireland that arent appreciated generally?

• 11-03-2011 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭

Watching the quake in Japan got me thinking.

1) Our weather is OK. Alright we dont get much sun, but we dont suffer from earthquakes, volcanos, cyclone or tsunamis. The worst we might get a is good bit of snow every so often.

2) We live in a relatively safe country. Yes, we have a bad spots and our incidents, but compared to the murder rate in some countries, were pretty much OK. I'd rather live here than Mexico anyway!

3) The Phoenix Park is the largest enclosed urban park in Europe, and it has no charge of use. You can always find space handy for a ball of football or a picnic with the kids.

4) Ireland still ranks among the top 10% of the most prosperous nations on earth. (Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ireland-still-high-in-prosperity-league-147844.html#ixzz1GJqonWYw) We might be suffering in the IMF, but largely, were OK.

5) We dont suffer from a lot of pollution (China suffers a lot with this).

6) We have lots and lots of lush green grass once you head outside busy spots to enjoy.

Those are the ones off the top of my head, any more?

I know we complain about the Government, the IMF, lack of jobs atm, probably drink too much and have some begrudgery, but in general, it could be worse, and Ireland is a great country to live.

*Awaits a bashing saying how bad Ireland is :D*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭nomh

Ireland has excellent quality meat and dairy. I never appreciated it until I went to America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

In Ireland, first you get the potatoes, then you get the power, then you get the women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

We have Meanies. OM NOM NOM NOM NOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

barry's/lyons pisses all over pg tips and punjana every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

And WHAM bars! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

We shun UHT Milk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You can still chat to shop staff, even these days (usually!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Great Indian and Chinese cuisene.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Ironman76

Georgia F**king Salpa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

lack of natural disasters and general extreme geologic conditions and problems :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

galwayrush wrote: »
    Great Indian and Chinese cuisene.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

Never to far from a pub for a quiet pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭Cazale

No really dangerous wild animals such as snakes, spiders, bears etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Messi2 wrote: »
    Watching the quake in Japan got me thinking.

1) Our weather is OK. Alright we dont get much sun, but we dont suffer from earthquakes, volcanos, cyclone or tsunamis. The worst we might get a is good bit of snow every so often.

2) We live in a relatively safe country. Yes, we have a bad spots and our incidents, but compared to the murder rate in some countries, were pretty much OK. I'd rather live here than Mexico anyway!

3) The Phoenix Park is the largest enclosed urban park in Europe, and it has no charge of use. You can always find space handy for a ball of football or a picnic with the kids.

4) Ireland still ranks among the top 10% of the most prosperous nations on earth. (Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/ireland-still-high-in-prosperity-league-147844.html#ixzz1GJqonWYw) We might be suffering in the IMF, but largely, were OK.

5) We dont suffer from a lot of pollution (China suffers a lot with this).

6) We have lots and lots of lush green grass once you head outside busy spots to enjoy.

Those are the ones off the top of my head, any more?

I know we complain about the Government, the IMF, lack of jobs atm, probably drink too much and have some begrudgery, but in general, it could be worse, and Ireland is a great country to live.

*Awaits a bashing saying how bad Ireland is :D*

Are you serious with this?? Earthquakes, Tsunamis and Volcanoes aren't types of weather!!!

Similarly we've no dangerous animals, like unicorns, peagasus or Atari Jaguars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

We punch way above our weight in a fair few sports (see what I did there?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭ElectraX

Great chocolate-the Cadburys everywhere else is pants!!
    Great mountains, trails for outdoor sports, and all within easy reach:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Still a good sense of community, in rural areas anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Naikon wrote: »
    We shun UHT Milk.
    "There's no demand for it because its sh1te"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Messi2 wrote: »
    You can always find space handy for a ball of football

Shenanigans!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 red93

our irish mammys! LOL!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

We have the 'craic'

No word for it in any other language and it's not really a word used in any other country. Fact is that there's no better craic than being with a crowd of like minded Irish in good form, it can make the rainy days seem sunny :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Summer = Bulmers :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Lapin wrote: »
    Summer = Bulmers :cool:

Its like fecking vinegar. beamish any day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

A fantastic coastline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Ireland has no Abbo's and relatively few Roma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

No tsunamis, no earthquakes (to speak of), no droughts, no snakes, no mosquitos (worth talking about), no crocodiles, no human eating animals, no taliban .... sure it's the Promised Land

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭sagat2

Star Bars and Tayto.

Excellent rounded education - for all it's failings the Irish system creates very smart people with superb interpersonal skills it's astonishing how quickly most Irish people are moved into positions of power, trust and responsibility when working abroad.

Superb location - Gulf stream gives a mild climate, easy access to Europe and the US, not threatened by hostile neighbours (at least not in modern times)

A wealth of history to explore and enjoy.

Great tradition of music to be proud of and partake in.

A massive diaspora across the globe to sponge off.

We speak a very common language that allows us to communicate with people the world over and enjoy an abundance of entertainment in our native tongue.

We have our own little language to use when we don't want those smoking hot foreign birds beside us hearing or strategy for conquest.

We have a reputation for being charming so even when we are not people give us the benefit of the doubt assuming we are just having a bad day.

Strong livers that can take much punishment and pleasure.

Our knackers don't brandish Machetes and AK-47's like knackers in other parts of the world (yet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Are you serious with this?? Earthquakes, Tsunamis and Volcanoes aren't types of weather!!!
    Ah come on. You know what he meant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Castles, dolmens, ringforts, roundtowers, ogham stones, abbeys etc literally everywhere
    We don't even look at them but to a tourist it must seem like Lord of the Rings at times coming across these ancient stone structures. It's pretty damn cool when you think of all the activities that went on around us

Plus we have Ronan Keating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Cazale wrote: »
    No really dangerous wild animals such as snakes, spiders, bears etc

ooh and the flies! I always remember making a mental note when I was in Australia to remember how the flies pissed me off in case I became too rosy eyed when I came back. They'd even try to poke you in the eye a million times unless you killed it...but there were a few hundred ready and willing to take it's place.

No flies like that in Ireland, they're well behaved and will only annoy you once before getting the message :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

yeahimhere wrote: »
    ooh and the flies! I always remember making a mental note when I was in Australia to remember how the flies pissed me off in case I became too rosy eyed when I came back. They'd even try to poke you in the eye a million times unless you killed it...but there were a few hundred ready and willing to take it's place.

No flies like that in Ireland, they're well behaved and will only annoy you once before getting the message :D

Yeah I found the novelty wears off by about the time the 10th one has crawled up your nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Eddie Rockets tomato soup for €3 mmmmmm........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

A fantastic coastline.

Oh definitely

sagat2 wrote: »
    Star Bars and Tayto.

This
    Castles, dolmens, ringforts, roundtowers, ogham stones, abbeys etc literally everywhere
    We don't even look at them but to a tourist it must seem like Lord of the Rings at times coming across these ancient stone structures. It's pretty damn cool when you think of all the activities that went on around us

Plus we have Ronan Keating
    We have the 'craic'

No word for it in any other language and it's not really a word used in any other country. Fact is that there's no better craic than being with a crowd of like minded Irish in good form, it can make the rainy days seem sunny :D

Slasher, on the money as always. *High five*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Jean Byrne doing the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kingofburt

barry's/lyons pisses all over pg tips and punjana every time.

Sorry to ruin it for you but Lyons is just PG Tips rebranded for the Irish market, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PG_Tips#Products

But sticking on a food related theme, we have http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Football_special, truly the drink of champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Gaelic Games!

I think that it's fantastic that we have our own unique games to call our own!

You cannot help but get a sense of pride watching the All-Ireland in football or hurling with 80,000 packed into Croke Park and everything else that goes along with it...all the while the rest of the World are almost completely oblivious to what is going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

jeez, there's an amazing amount of positivity about Ireland today in AH! Is the new government making everyone happy or did they just put something in the water to drug us all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

The people. A sound Irish person (aka 'a daycent skin') is hard to beat :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

St. Patricks Day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Pubs that actually have a bit of a crowd every night of the week. Hate being abroad and feeling like going for a few on a tuesday but everyweres empty. Also people in pubs are generally more affable to getting talking to strangers then most countries.

Big thanks to the OP for having such a positive thread, nice for a change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭sagat2

Negativity, we thrive on it and as a natural resource we have an almost unlimited supply to keep us going well up to the next Ice Age at which point the glaciers will erase all evidence of our existence. Meanwhile our descendants will have a great time bitching about the feckin' glaciers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

The Irish sense of humour and our sense of decency. I miss these things more than anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

I no longer have to live there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Humans eh!

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Pubs that actually have a bit of a crowd every night of the week. Hate being abroad and feeling like going for a few on a tuesday but everyweres empty. Also people in pubs are generally more affable to getting talking to strangers then most countries.

Big thanks to the OP for having such a positive thread, nice for a change.

+1.
    Yeah a positive thread in AH is nice, but its early yet. The begrudgers coffins will open up shortly and they will stalk the forums in search of positivity....:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

sagat2 wrote: »
    Negativity, we thrive on it and as a natural resource we have an almost unlimited supply to keep us going well up to the next Ice Age at which point the glaciers will erase all evidence of our existence. Meanwhile our descendants will have a great time bitching about the feckin' glaciers.

So we is english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭spcw

Fishing on a spring evening

walking down grafton street watch the world

100's of miles of clean beaches

Motorways

Eddie Rockets

VUE cinema

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

You really can't beat the irish sense of humour. :)

And no flies, I forgot how much they annoyed me. Doing the 'Aussie salute' and shooing them away every 2 seconds is really frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

You really can't beat the irish sense of humour. :)

And no flies, I forgot how much they annoyed me. Doing the 'Aussie salute' and shooing them away every 2 seconds is really frustrating.

The ould midges can be a bit of a torment though certain times of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭crazyderk

Breakfast Rolls, Best thing to kill a hangover! and not available in other countries well at least the ones ive visited