Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiger Woods 12 The Masters

• 10-03-2011 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭

i downloaded the demo yesterday and played a few rounds , tbh it just seems the same as the last two titles which in my opinion have been getting steadily worse , the multi player from 11 was just plain crazy , ie you could not view opponents stats , also if you set up a game to play a friend and another player jumped in you had no option to kick him .
    ive bought every Tiger from as far back as i can remember and always waited in anticipation for the next release , just this time after playing the demo it just feels meh ,
    has anyone else played the demo or thinking of buying the game , id really like to hear some views on this release.
    cheers all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

I buy Tiger Woods games on a two year rotation basis, have done since 2002, therefor:

2004, 06, 08, 10, 12 The Masters. So ill be buying it this year.

I find there are not enough features that change year by year, but every two years and you get a good balance, although I did rent last year to play the Ryder Cup. My 2 year rotation plan has been working out well so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭Dues Bellator

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    I buy Tiger Woods games on a two year rotation basis, have done since 2002, therefor:

2004, 06, 08, 10, 12 The Masters. So ill be buying it this year.

I find there are not enough features that change year by year, but every two years and you get a good balance, although I did rent last year to play the Ryder Cup. My 2 year rotation plan has been working out well so far.

ah so you missed the bug ridden lump of poo that was tiger 11 multi player , not joking mickey it was terrible . big drama searching for set up games , i always seemed to be chucked in to level 38s or level 1s it was very frustrating for me , i got to a level 22 then just packed it in as it was far too annoying , i might rent this year before i buy , add my xbox tag and we"ll hook up for a few rounds when it drops if ya like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Wasn't overly impressed by it, I can see the whole caddy expierence wearing off very quickly.

exactly what i was thinking , i was even looking for an option to turn the time waster off , the thing is when all the "new" features wear off im afraid ill just be stuck with a reboxed tiger 11.

I did enjoy TW11. However once I completedly all those challenges, there was nothing left to do, I actually never bothered with the ryder cup, brutal. Online was a disaster as well.

It is a repackaged version, I noticed all the beeps when you select something in the menus are the same as last year. I know its not big issue, but I imagine a lot of the game will be exactly the same from last year.

Also surprised no Kinect support.

Another thing I noticed that the caddy does not take wind into consideration. Once you pick one of his choices, you can't turn to move against the wind. Annoying.

Custom shot everytime.

Another thing I noticed that the caddy does not take wind into consideration. Once you pick one of his choices, you can't turn to move against the wind. Annoying.

Custom shot everytime.
    i feel these are just pointless additions for the new to the series player, to try make up for the loyal tiger players who left in there droves , the players that said were not going to be ripped off anymore ,
    i mean EA have been promising a dedicated server for multi player since tiger 08:mad:
    its gone beyond a joke with the tiger series.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭DY2011

almanu wrote: »
    i feel these are just pointless additions for the new to the series player, to try make up for the loyal tiger players who left in there droves , the players that said were not going to be ripped off anymore ,
    i mean EA have been promising a dedicated server for multi player since tiger 08:mad:
    its gone beyond a joke with the tiger series.

I agree with this,EA just care about the FIFA fanbase i think..its not on.. you start tiger woods and you should hear 'EA SPORTS...It was already in the game' lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭mccarrd2

Tiger Woods is a fantastic multi player game. 4 lads in a room, a few cans, a bit of a wager. Great fun for all ages. The one player game is ok, but once youve finished all the scenarios its more or less over as a one player game, find it hard to get into the Online play. The option to save a game mid round is a long overdue addition. I'll buy it again as always.

Anyone buy it yet? Any comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I have it, it's pretty frustrating but addictive.

I'd say it'll be good once I get better at it.

The putting is ridic annoying, but again, once my golfer's stats improve I might be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I bought it today so I've just played a few hours on it, but I have to say it's quite good so far.

I usually find TW far too easy, even on the most difficult setting, but it does seem more challenging this year.

if anyone is having there arse handed to them online can i suggest getting one of these http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/9240115.htm

these have been used online since tiger 08 and before that it was the Hori , dont flame me here lads its not cheating and im just trying to help people out here:D

if your playing anyone over a level one , you can be sure there using one of these , there available for ps3 also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Drakar

Thats just for putting on spin?

Drakar wrote: »
    Thats just for putting on spin?

its stops you slicing and shanking , i used it on tiger 11 and got in to the top 10 for a few months , ended up skill level 28 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

I was going to buy this but saw Tiger 11 for a tenner in xtravision, same thing really.

multi player lobbys are empty , at least they where last night and today:(

I've an awful amount of grinding to do before I go near a multiplayer game.

lol i hear ya man:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

Hardly

I'd say it is, it's a golf game in which you play golf, using the same engine as the previous golf game that came out 12 months earlier.

You're wrong though.

Hope this helps.

Paying a tenner for 11 was better than paying 50 for 12 considering I hadnt played either. I'm sure 12 is a complete reboot of the golf genre alright, but I'll get the same golf fix out of 11 for now, thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭Barlett

Does Move make a massive difference for this or is the normal controller just as enjoyable?

Finally got the game yesterday (work is a b*cth) stuck it on last night when the gf went to bed . thinking to myself ah ill do a few little challenges and go to bed . 7 AM by the time i put it down:D that was just because i stared hearing the birds singing . first impressions are the game is totally different from TW11 (thank f*ck) really getting into it now and cant wait till i get my stats and clubs sorted so i can start spanking players online .

1 down side . in the sp mode when you move courses some you have to buy as dlc. good to see EA are still money grabbing so and so"s:rolleyes:

Yeah the way they build dlc into the season seemed more obvious in its moneygrabbing than previous TWs (essentially you'll find it hard to play the ingame 2012 masters if you dont buy the dlc for the dates before to give you more time to get the appropriate qualifing, forcing you to wait til 2013).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Seen the review of it.

There was a masons thread about EA and dlc with thus game. 250 eu worth of dlc on release. Well atleast some boardsis were defending it with this: it's extra content on top of the game.

Review said, that those dlc courses are actuolly mixed in into carrier. So it will be an eyesore with all this holes in carrier....

They could have dignity to put it as extra, not part of the game... Fecking EA....

Well you can still play the *career* mode without it, but you do have to explicitly tell it each time to skip each dlc event, and the points system seems engineered to make it difficult to attend the first Masters in the calendar unless you've gotten the extra points from the dlc. It may not be a big issue after the first few events (all the goals seem to be getting to 100th in the rankings and it looks like its not too hard after a few events).

Tigerwoodsonline seems to be the same, they had a subscription thing where you paid an amount per year (£35 or something) and that would give you access to all the courses, but now it looks like they are asking you to pay extra for many of them.

It does seem to be a better game than TW11, I'm happy I got it, but I'd be reluctant to buy TW13. It's cured me, yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Seen the review of it.

There was a masons thread about EA and dlc with thus game. 250 eu worth of dlc on release. Well atleast some boardsis were defending it with this: it's extra content on top of the game.

Review said, that those dlc courses are actuolly mixed in into carrier. So it will be an eyesore with all this holes in carrier....

They could have dignity to put it as extra, not part of the game... Fecking EA....

keep in mind that out of the 250 euro worth of dlc the courses are about 40 euro of it the rest is gear that you unlock through career mode anyway

guys if any of you are on the ps3 and want a DLC course (turnberry) pm me and ill give code to you . mix up with the lads in gamestop ,they gave me the ps3 version ,so i emailed them and they sent me the xbox one , first pm first serve ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Totally agree about the caddie never taking wind into consideration, so dumb.

Bought this on release, absolutely loving it.

Finished my first season last night, and won the Masters this morning.

I really like the caddie feature, in general I just like this one alot more than 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭TheTosh

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Bought this on release, absolutely loving it.

Finished my first season last night, and won the Masters this morning.

I really like the caddie feature, in general I just like this one alot more than 12.

Did you get a high five off shane-o-mac

TheTosh wrote: »

Hah I was wondering if that was him at the time

TheTosh wrote: »

Not only was Shane McMahon absent, but Padraig Harrington finished in 2nd, one stroke behind me.

So much for realism! :pac:

I couldn't see any Irish golfers in quick play, do you need to unlock them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

I rented this this evening just to see.. Jaysus I've never played such a terrible game in my life. It may as well be called 'Button pushing 2012'. Sure the Caddie in it plays the whole game for you. No decisions to make, weather doesn't seem to have any effect on anything you do. . Even the putting is practically done for you. And turning the caddie off doesn't make it any more enjoyable at all. This game has very little in common with real Golf. Being a boxing fan I have fight night champion aswell. Stalls every 20 minutes or so, along with all sorts of other glitches. How they get away with releasing a game that barely works is beyond me. The eejits that buy their stuff are worse. Shelling out small fortunes for pure rubbish that they obviously didn't spend much time on. Small updates every year and out onto the shelves in no time. I tell ya, give me the days of the PS2 and some of the earlier Tiger Woods titles anytime, 'cause they put this muck to shame. And don't even get me started on the Downloadable stuff. You could pay anywhere up to and over a hundred quid if you were to buy it all. EA are a disgrace.

Since the caddy doesnt seem to take the wind into consideration, I end up changing like 95% of the shots he suggests. Still dont mind him being there though. I'm still enjoying it but havent played online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

*phew* thank god for boards :)

I used to be a huge fan of this series, and almost bought this a couple of times, as I have not gotten it in a couple of years...

Its a shame the games have gone the way of tiger himself - but maybe they are true to life that way :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

Wow, Vagga, there's a blast from the past, how you been man? :)

I have a copy of Masters in my drawer in the office for review but with everything else that I have going on (only back from a week's holidays) as well as Crysis 2, Portal 2, Bulletstorm (which I haven't managed to get around to finishing yet unfortunately), Minecraft and Battlefield Play4Free, I'm over run with games atm :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭padr81

Drakar wrote: »
    Since the caddy doesnt seem to take the wind into consideration, I end up changing like 95% of the shots he suggests. Still dont mind him being there though. I'm still enjoying it but havent played online.

Even though he doesn't take wind into consideration his shots still go straight to where he says they will.

its like rather than take the time to program it, they decided the easier option was for the wind to disappear when you take a caddy shot. in fact once you level up and take the caddie shot you just look where its going to land add 2 to 3 touches of spin towards the cup and watch the ball fall in the hole. Easy to get between 20 and 25 under on this game using only caddie shots even with the wind on full.

padr81 wrote: »
    Even though he doesn't take wind into consideration his shots still go straight to where he says they will.

its like rather than take the time to program it, they decided the easier option was for the wind to disappear when you take a caddy shot. in fact once you level up and take the caddie shot you just look where its going to land add 2 to 3 touches of spin towards the cup and watch the ball fall in the hole. Easy to get between 20 and 25 under on this game using only caddie shots even with the wind on full.

What difficulty are you playing on?

Finally got my guy up to 100% across the board two days ago , started playing online yesterday , im up to level 4 at the moment . top 100 here i come:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Wow, Vagga, there's a blast from the past, how you been man?
    Still here, just on different forums these days :)

played rank 1 and 2 in the world last night , was 1 stroke up going in to last hole and game stays on loading screen, left it for a while (hour) then quit out , checked my pts lost 100 got dnf , checked theres no dnf plus the got 100 pts each , so bit sussy i checked out there stats the last week , 8 wins 138 losses one guy had , stinks to death . sent the no1 gut a tex saying whats the deal , sends me a tex back saying 50 quid and i tell you , reported straight away , nothing will be done as they already got our money .:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭smilerf

stuck it in tonight having not played a Tiger since 09. This game is a total pile of poo

smilerf wrote: »
    stuck it in tonight having not played a Tiger since 09. This game is a total pile of poo
    was not too keen on it first either ,but i really got into it after a while.try gey your stats up.

It gets better when you put in some effort alright.

IMO, turning the caddie off is absolutely vital, the putting still tilts me majorly, but it's just because I'm terribad at it. Some of my friends are very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭smilerf

tbh lads i'm just finding it too confusing on wat to do. Its so different from 09

smilerf wrote: »
    tbh lads i'm just finding it too confusing on wat to do. Its so different from 09

How do you mean "what to do"?

got in to the top 40 last night , if i can do it anyone can trust me , i aint that hot.
    http://www.easports.com/leaderboards/ranked/golf-tiger-12?platform=360

(EDIT)im Fat potatoes on xbox